• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore government very upset over human trafficking claims by US

SNAblog

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...ing-claims-upset-singapore-20100615-yd72.html

Human trafficking claims upset Singapore
ROBERTO COLOMA
June 15, 2010 - 8:54PM

Singapore has reacted indignantly to a US government report putting it on a human-trafficking watch list and bluntly told Washington to examine its own record on immigration.

The 2010 Trafficking in Persons (TIP) report by the State Department listed Singapore, a staunch US ally, along with Thailand and Vietnam as countries that failed to prevent women from being forced into prostitution.

"We have read the latest TIP report. It is rather puzzling because the US has not satisfactorily explained how it had arrived at its conclusions," Singapore's foreign ministry said in a written reply to media queries on Tuesday.

"The Singapore government is committed to tackling the TIP issue, and our efforts in dealing with this issue have certainly not weakened since last year. We will respond in detail as appropriate in due course."

Thousands of women from poorer Asian countries such as China, the Philippines and Thailand work as call girls and bar hostesses in wealthy Singapore, a bustling port city where prostitution is legal in designated zones.

Explaining the downgrade for Singapore to the "Tier Two Watch List" where it sits alongside impoverished countries, the US report said some women were tricked into coming to the city-state with promises of legitimate employment but coerced into the sex trade.

The report said that while Singapore launched "some significant new steps" against trafficking, there were no "quantifiable indicators" that the government was identifying more victims or prosecuting more culprits.

In its reaction, the Singapore foreign ministry said the annual US report "is more a political ritual than an objective study".

"How, for example, can the US rank itself in Tier One when it is well known that the US has been unable to stem a flood of illegal workers, many of whom are trafficked by organised criminal gangs?" the ministry said.

"It has not been able to cope adequately with the problem and that is among the reasons why immigration is such a hot political issue in the US.

"The US should perhaps examine its own record more carefully before presuming to pronounce on other countries. Then its reports may be more credible," the Singapore foreign ministry added.

US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who has made women's and children's rights a signature issue, called human trafficking a "terrible crime" as she presented the annual report on Monday.

"All of us have a responsibility to bring this practice to an end," she said.

The report estimated that 12.3 million people were the victims of trafficking in 2009-10, although it said there had been progress over the past decade.

The State Department added a number of Asian nations to its watch list - Afghanistan, Brunei, Laos, Maldives, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Bangladesh, China, India, Micronesia, the Philippines and Sri Lanka stayed on the list, unchanged from a year earlier.

North Korea, Burma and Papua New Guinea remained at the bottom level of countries that do not even meet the minimum standards on human trafficking.

© 2010 AFP

Tiu-leh-see-fart

Very funny, these PAP people becoming less creative, using refuse chambers to smear potong pasir and hougang, and try to win more votes !

Now that the US condemns Singapore , and they got upset about it.

Eating their own medicine buay song ! Talk bad about others they are happy !

These bastards simply dont go away , arent they ?

garlic

Probably they knew about the US listing them, so conducted so many raids.. in the end, same...

borom

A 86 year old once said "if you do not sue them, than it must be true".
So waiting for them to sue the US Govt in the International Court.
Until we do that, just have to accept it as true.

Einfield

Since he don't dare to sue uncle sam, he may sue you for saying he don't dare to sue US.

Royalblood

For once, Singapore dared to speak up against the biggest imperialist of the 21st century! We should do this on a regular basis.

Fuck you Uncle Sam! Look at ur own track record before you start pointing fingers at others. Setting up some kind nonsense watchlist like this when you are the biggest violater tells the whole world that you are number 1 at manufacturing hyporcrisy!

Human trafficking......i am not very sure of the standard definition, but i believe some form of coercion must be involved. Look at the chickens, hostess, walking the streets of Singapore, how many of them are coerced to come here to make quick and easy money?

If the fucking USA is so concern about "human trafficking" of this form, they might as well do what they do best: deploy their war mongering US army to bomb the shit out of those pooerer countries so that the girls will stop coming to Singapore to sell themselves.

lifeafter41

It is our FT policy they are talking about la

So called FT policy, bring in all sorts FTs, lock, stock and barrel. Now kena watchlist claim puzzle why in the list.

Just go to GL, the pubs, massage palours and you get your answer there.

1. aiyoh! easy and simple.
2. just take a stroll to orchard towers or geylang.
3. all of the questions are answered.
4. sheep are deaf to criticism, you know.
5. sheep should take on the big boy if it can.

kingrant

The U.S. is right in bringing Singapore to task for its Trafficking in Persons. S'pore govt can call it liberal immigration policy, but fact is, the SIN govt has brought in humongous hordes of PRC, Vietnamese, Burmese, Thai and Pinoy women here to fulfil their quests for that pot of gold under the rainbow, and for deluding these foreginers with glowing GDP reports that Sinkieland's streets are paved with gold. Every foreign women here looks at the Ah Peks here as ATMs. Locals are marginalised in favour of aliens, from housing to schools to jobs to recreation.

Sinkie govt's reaction to the US to desist until their own record is clean is like saying one must be an Einstein before one can call another stupid. S'pore govt has some credibility issue too because it does business with the Burmese junta, Iran, etc. so I don't blame the US if we havent been good boys ourselves.

For once, Singapore dared to speak up against the biggest imperialist of the 21st century! We should do this on a regular basis.

Fuck you Uncle Sam! Look at ur own track record before you start pointing fingers at others. Setting up some kind nonsense watchlist like this when you are the biggest violater tells the whole world that you are number 1 at manufacturing hyporcrisy!

Human trafficking......i am not very sure of the standard definition, but i believe some form of coercion must be involved. Look at the chickens, hostess, walking the streets of Singapore, how many of them are coerced to come here to make quick and easy money?

If the fucking USA is so concern about "human trafficking" of this form, they might as well do what they do best: deploy their war mongering US army to bomb the shit out of those pooerer countries so that the girls will stop coming to Singapore to sell themselves.

soIsee

Since he don't dare to sue uncle sam, he may sue you for saying he don't dare to sue US.

No he can't.

Just like TT Durai, he wasn't going to bear all the supposed damages in the suit alone so all his kakis also got it!

Must be the last thing Richard Yong then, even in his wildest dream would be able to famthon that even he could be pulled into it!

Call them Sun shine friends! :biggrin:

wikiphile

Well considering that our own courts system is based on "Presumed guilty until proven innocent" i suggest we follow our own doctrine and happily be guilty that we are a major playa in the human-trafficking trade until proven otherwise :biggrin:

kingrant

That is a very valid point!

The Sinkie govt often badmouths others; it's time they taste their own medicine.

They suppress dissenting views from people who are helpless against them. Now they face somebody much stronger who is disagreeable. Bullies must face up to other bigger bullies. This govt is so capable that it has stood for 50 years and it doesnt need any of its own weak citizens to speak for itself.

Well considering that our own courts system is based on "Presumed guilty until proven innocent" i suggest we follow our own doctrine and happily be guilty that we are a major playa in the human-trafficking trade until proven otherwise :biggrin:

ponzii

Very true leh. I over here in europe and US for 6 month contract now. I can tell you the western country very different from Singapore. Over here they view drug taking as no big deal but prostitution as major crime. You speak to some Ang moh here about prostitution they all say is terrible and when some local city discover there is prostitution you can see big police case raid and televised on TV like is terrorist plot. Somemore those convicted of sex crime in USA is forever label as "sex offender" for life. those must by law register at local police office and offender picture is posted on website and pasted on all libary and school. those offender not allowed to live nearby children and police watch these offender 24/7. In Singapore we have very different mentality.

Of course Singapore got case of trafficking. Geylang, OT, all got what. Singapore also known by ang moh as sex hub. Prostitution in Singapore always turn blind eye because of economy and good for tourism so now Singapore caught with pants down so many cases of those girl come to Singapore for sex sell and government know but allow due to economy what.

I criticise SG government. Why when good for economy anything can. But when that time geylang shut down due to AIDS scare everyday raid until almost close shop. SG govt only want money and upset when pursuit of money tarnish reputation. Ptui to SG govt.

fishbuff

Very true leh. I over here in europe and US for 6 month contract now. I can tell you the western country very different from Singapore. Over here they view drug taking as no big deal but prostitution as major crime. You speak to some Ang moh here about prostitution they all say is terrible and when some local city discover there is prostitution you can see big police case raid and televised on TV like is terrorist plot. Somemore those convicted of sex crime in USA is forever label as "sex offender" for life. those must by law register at local police office and offender picture is posted on website and pasted on all libary and school. those offender not allowed to live nearby children and police watch these offender 24/7. In Singapore we have very different mentality.

Of course Singapore got case of trafficking. Geylang, OT, all got what. Singapore also known by ang moh as sex hub. Prostitution in Singapore always turn blind eye because of economy and good for tourism so now Singapore caught with pants down so many cases of those girl come to Singapore for sex sell and government know but allow due to economy what.

I criticise SG government. Why when good for economy anything can. But when that time geylang shut down due to AIDS scare everyday raid until almost close shop. SG govt only want money and upset when pursuit of money tarnish reputation. Ptui to SG govt.

even an eygptian who migrated here in oz years ago, told me that he love to go to sg because of the cheap prostitutes. oh the shame!

Ash007

Very true leh. I over here in europe and US for 6 month contract now. I can tell you the western country very different from Singapore. Over here they view drug taking as no big deal but prostitution as major crime. You speak to some Ang moh here about prostitution they all say is terrible and when some local city discover there is prostitution you can see big police case raid and televised on TV like is terrorist plot. Somemore those convicted of sex crime in USA is forever label as "sex offender" for life. those must by law register at local police office and offender picture is posted on website and pasted on all libary and school.

Eh, you which Europe country? Try Holland, Amsterdam lah, prostitute there display themselves on window 1 leh.