• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Regret moving to Australia

What kind of shit life is that? So what if it is in Australia?!

1/3 goes to taxes
1/3 goes to rent

1/3 is what that clown can spend. Haha

Semaj2357

I don’t think they managed to blend in with other cultures but for sure, their ‘beat die never run’ attitude deserves respect. Ditto Malaysians.

HKies will continue to stick to themselves unlike Indians who assimilate much better with the Ang Mos.
actually knew few honkies (before they moved to states / canada) at my in-law's place in bishan - they were culturally attuned to our local tradition in worship, festivities / exchange of gifts, language and also attended the wake with lai-see, hence easy assimilation and preference for sinkieland.
as for congregating amongst themselves, most people will prefer that, wherever possible :cool:

Loofydralb

Thought this is the best place to live...10 months living in Sydney now wanted to go back home. Feeling lonely. Accomodation is so expensive. Starting a new life is not easy. Australia is a beautiful country. But, I missed PAP badly, 1/3 of the salary goes on tax. 50% of the remaining 2/3goes on rent. Electricity is very expensive...Can any one recomend a good shipping company to send our personal effects back to Singapore?
Can't anyone get his sarcasm?

Australia is not Sydney. Its bigger than that. I know someone who worked there and earned big bucks but he eventually came home. He started a paging company. This was before mobile phones. And sold it.earned big buck, went to hong kong. Then i think he started a mobile company in malaysia with a local businessman.

Asterix

WOW you must be making tons of money to be paying 33%. Most of my ex-colleagues in Australia not paying that much and for those who are they simply could afford it.

https://www.ato.gov.au/rates/individual-income-tax-rates/

Any income above 37,000 AUD per annum will be taxed at 32.5% or higher. Not hard to become high taxpayer down under. Salary income very difficult to hide, salary is paid to you after deducting tax. Investment income from accounts maintained abroad and opened with a different country’s id documents are another matter.

nightsafari

Any income above 37,000 AUD per annum will be taxed at 32.5% or higher. Not hard to become high taxpayer down under. Salary income very difficult to hide, salary is paid to you after deducting tax. Investment income from accounts maintained abroad and opened with a different country’s id documents are another matter.
that's a low ceiling for a high bracket.

What kind of shit life is that? So what if it is in Australia?!

1/3 goes to taxes
1/3 goes to rent

1/3 is what that clown can spend. Haha

Depends what you get back from the 1/3 you pay in taxes. If you get free health care, education, unemployment insurance, pension, then your 1/3 going to taxes is cheap stuff.

bobby

Depends what you get back from the 1/3 you pay in taxes. If you get free health care, education, unemployment insurance, pension, then your 1/3 going to taxes is cheap stuff.

Also if you want to live the same lifestyle as in Singapore eg own 2 nice cars, stay in freehold bungalow, pay cheaper petrol, eat cheap meat and drink cheap wine & beer, you will end up paying more than 1/3 tax through acquiring this same lifestyle in Singapore.

Plus donch forget, your CPF contributions which you donch get back when you are alive.

nayr69sg

Staff member

https://www.ato.gov.au/rates/individual-income-tax-rates/#Residents

It is tiered.

First 0 – $18,200 is not taxed at all

$18,201 – $37,000 taxed at 19% ( you pay $3572 if you earn $37,000 a year )

$37,001 – $90,000 taxed at 32.5% ( you pay $3572+$17,225= $20,797 if you earn $90,000 a year)

$90,001 – $180,000 taxed at 37% ( you pay $3572+$17225+$33,300=$54,097 if you earn $180,00 a year)

Every dollar earned above $180,00 you pay 45% and that is added to the $54,097 from the first $180,000.

So let's say someone earns $40,000 a year their taxable income is $37,000-$18,201=$18,799. That is then taxed at 19% $3572. The remainder $3000 is taxed at 32.5% ie $975. Hence total tax is $4547. Which means actual overall tax rate is 11.4%

If you earn $60,000 your total tax is $7797. Effective tax rate is 12.99%

If you earn $90,000 a year your total tax is $20,797. Effective tax rate is 23.1%

Is that really THAT BAD?

If you earn $120,000 a year ie $10k per month your total tax is $11,100+ $20,797=$31897. Effective tax rate 26.6%. $88,103 is after tax income. $7341 per month.

In sg if you earn $120,000 per year your total tax is $7950. Effective tax rate is 6.6%. After tax income is $9337.5 per month.

So between someone in Oz vs Sg both earning 10k a month salary after tax disposable income difference is $1996.50 higher for the Sinkie.

I think both would own a car. The sinkie probably will need to pay $20k or more every 10 years on his COE.

So in the end is about the same lah. Unless you dont own car in sg lah.

Oh and I forgot....sinkie got to pay CPF correct? 20% cut out every month. So the sinkie who earn 10k a month also got to contribute 2k to CPF. Meaning his actual money in pocket is only $7337.50 per month. Which is less than the Ozzie. Well we can say year can use CPF pay for house. Also employer top up 17% also. But your CPF money yours or not?

You go figure lah.

Asterix

https://www.ato.gov.au/rates/individual-income-tax-rates/#Residents

It is tiered.

First 0 – $18,200 is not taxed at all

$18,201 – $37,000 taxed at 19% ( you pay $3572 if you earn $37,000 a year )

$37,001 – $90,000 taxed at 32.5% ( you pay $3572+$17,225= $20,797 if you earn $90,000 a year)

$90,001 – $180,000 taxed at 37% ( you pay $3572+$17225+$33,300=$54,097 if you earn $180,00 a year)

Every dollar earned above $180,00 you pay 45% and that is added to the $54,097 from the first $180,000.

So let's say someone earns $40,000 a year their taxable income is $37,000-$18,201=$18,799. That is then taxed at 19% $3572. The remainder $3000 is taxed at 32.5% ie $975. Hence total tax is $4547. Which means actual overall tax rate is 11.4%

If you earn $60,000 your total tax is $7797. Effective tax rate is 12.99%

If you earn $90,000 a year your total tax is $20,797. Effective tax rate is 23.1%

Is that really THAT BAD?

If you earn $120,000 a year ie $10k per month your total tax is $11,100+ $20,797=$31897. Effective tax rate 26.6%. $88,103 is after tax income. $7341 per month.

In sg if you earn $120,000 per year your total tax is $7950. Effective tax rate is 6.6%. After tax income is $9337.5 per month.

So between someone in Oz vs Sg both earning 10k a month salary after tax disposable income difference is $1996.50 higher for the Sinkie.

I think both would own a car. The sinkie probably will need to pay $20k or more every 10 years on his COE.

So in the end is about the same lah. Unless you dont own car in sg lah.

Oh and I forgot....sinkie got to pay CPF correct? 20% cut out every month. So the sinkie who earn 10k a month also got to contribute 2k to CPF. Meaning his actual money in pocket is only $7337.50 per month. Which is less than the Ozzie. Well we can say year can use CPF pay for house. Also employer top up 17% also. But your CPF money yours or not?

You go figure lah.

Yappadi yappadi da ........ all these already well known ... CPF can be a source of future income, if you live beyond 65, the longer the better, if the system is still financially sound by the time you qualify.

Paying tax to fund transfer payments to useless white trash is against my religion, so I will go to great lengths to avoid paying any tax. Only a small amount of money collected by governments actually go towards paying for truly essential public goods and services.

IPA from czech? or beer from czech? I didn't know famous Czech IPA. only pils...
not ipa. pilsner. this one.
4BD7A2A8-DF34-45B0-B57C-A606A382C847.jpeg

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yappadi yappadi da ........ all these already well known ... CPF can be a source of future income, if you live beyond 65, the longer the better, if the system is still financially sound by the time you qualify.

Paying tax to fund transfer payments to useless white trash is against my religion, so I will go to great lengths to avoid paying any tax. Only a small amount of money collected by governments actually go towards paying for truly essential public goods and services.
What religion is that?