• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Prices of things have gone up by a lot today. Retailers using GST hike as an excuse to increase prices

Balls2U

Previously, a bottle of coke at Ang Mo Supermarket costs only $0.90. Cheapest among all the supermarkets. Today I went to buy, the price has shot up p to $1.20 per bottle. An increase of $0.30, which is far more than the 1% GST increase.

If you're into drinking bottles of Coke, you can try buying from them at those bargain stores e.g. ABC. Usually they parallel import them from Indonesia etc.

But daft Sinkies will continue to buy from supermarkets, especially a certain supermarket to whore for Linkpoints.

Hypocrite-The

Can U report the shop to authorities for profiteering?

searcher1

Thats why the Public kpkb ... not that simple as 1% increase ... it will trigger down & become 10 cents increase

So, do something about it. The pen is mightier than the sword.

What difference does it make? Nothing will change.
It is a legitimate query, CC the email to all the relevant agencies, associations etc. If nothing else it'll make them sweat a bit and scramble to find justification for the increase. Fuck with them, make their lives a bit difficult. That is, if you have the time lah.

bobby

If the price not good...you not happy then donch buy. Simple solution. Donch need kpkb at retailers.

batman1

Prices have gone up months ago. In some coffee-shops,Price of coffee-o have gone up from $1.00 to $1.20.

Willamshakespear

A common misconception over GST is that a 1% increase means just 1% in the price of a product you buy, eg - 1% of 90cts would only mean now the product should cost only 91cts at most. That's a fallacy because Goods & service tax increase of even 1% affects EVERY aspect in the manufacture / production of a product for the consumer:-

A)The manufacturer of the cola can would have to pay an increase for the material & EACH of the supply chain - mineral resource + logistics + wharehousing + labor costs, etc, & eventually it adds up to between 1 to 15% increase in the cost of cola can production.

B)The producer of liquid cola too would face similar increases of 1% in production within its eco-system of supply chains - water, chemicals, logistics, etc. 1 to 15% increases

C) The importer/retailer of cola too would face similar increases - wharehousing, logistics, marketing, etc. 1 to 15%

Thus, by the time the consumer buys the cola, he would face a whopping (A) + (B) + (C) increases = avg 10% X 3 = 30% INCREASE in price of cola. = $1.10 to $1.30cts. And that's just one can of cola consumer product.

EACH day, a consumer buys several products, and by the end of the month, his salary is left with little savings. It is not that biz entities are profiteering, but they are only keeping their usual profits INTACT by PASSING ON all costs to consumers. Eventually too, they would see their savings depleted as they are become a consumer too, & subjected to GST for their personal purchases which are often higher than the average salaryman.

Ultimately, GST is way to obtain revenue for a nation's social expenditure - govt services, security, health, education, public works, etc, or for its expansion when the population increases. Fortunately, Singapore is not a corrupt country. Each dollar obtained is for society's progress. Furthermore, the govt does look out for the welfare of the middle & poor classes by giving rebates in cash & services back to citizens, to cope with such increases.

In the end, the consumer is king, as he/she has a choice - to buy or not to buy products. We Singaporeans live in a Free Market economy, thus open competition will see profiteers suffer as the market can be brutal - only the best & the most innovative whom can give value to consumers will survive.

borom

when you are ruled by people who has the highest political salaries and pension in the world, they will be wondering why peasants complain about such " small" price increases.
the only way to make them wake up and come down from their ivory tower is to vote them out .

Singapore Dancing Spirit