• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee give up liao!

Modern urban societies also just do not need so many children. In backward countries, infant mortality rate is high so people make lots of babies to hedge their bets ('diversify their investments') so that at least a few can survive till adulthood. They also need plenty of kids to help out at the farms and labour-intensive businesses etc.

What the PAP govt is doing now, is blaming the people for not breeding more well in advance so that it can get plausible deniability should the economy go tits up in future.

butoh6050

The "stop at 2" policy was a failure which will be etched into the history books in singapore.
Alot of children was aborted and women were sterilized due to this policy. Everyone was stopping at 2. If you have another kid , you are frowned upon by society.

Then came the "Have a gap between the 2" campaign. My friend's parents followed it and he was 27 years old and his younger brother was only 6.
Now they give up.

yellowarse

Study after study by the UN and international agencies has shown that money is the best contraceptive. As the per capita GDP of a nation goes up, as a country becomes more industrialized, fertility drops. The 'Stop At Two' policy merely accelerated this process.

Throwing money per se at the problem won't help. But providing social safety nets for parents, state support for pregnant and nursing mums, and implementing flexi-work arrangements and gender-equal policies (like shared paternity-maternity leave) can help raise the fertility rates even in advanced countries.

The Scandinavian countries are a good example: they have brought their fertility rates up to close to replacement level with enlightened policy-making.

escher

Study after study by the UN and international agencies has shown that money is the best contraceptive. As the per capita GDP of a nation goes up, as a country becomes more industrialized, fertility drops. The 'Stop At Two' policy merely accelerated this process.

Throwing money per se at the problem won't help. But providing social safety nets for parents, state support for pregnant and nursing mums, and implementing flexi-work arrangements and gender-equal policies (like shared paternity-maternity leave) can help raise the fertility rates even in advanced countries.

The Scandinavian countries are a good example: they have brought their fertility rates up to close to replacement level with enlightened policy-making.

Smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY and PAP maggots cockroaches treated sinkies as their captive cash cows screwing and fucking us of 700++ billions into LKY stinkapore sovereign funds and their own fucking payoffs for themselves , their kangaroos and civil serpents and pet paper generals, all to maintain and be fattened on the backs of sinkies

Sinkies do not feel that they have any future in such system and neither do they want to see more of their kids into a system bastardised by LKY to their cash cow just for them

Smear of shit on sole of shoe caused this degeneration of a wonderful country to a place where Gallup polls found to be the most miserable place on Earth.

No wonder that we all praying and waiting for smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY to go eat joss sticks fast fast fast
And to see the inevitable implosion of PAP cemented together only by the rotteness and money grubbing self serving vicious rotten bastards into a free for all back and front stabbings

The "stop at 2" policy was a failure which will be etched into the history books in singapore.
Alot of children was aborted and women were sterilized due to this policy. Everyone was stopping at 2. If you have another kid , you are frowned upon by society.

Then came the "Have a gap between the 2" campaign. My friend's parents followed it and he was 27 years old and his younger brother was only 6.
Now they give up.

Is it? My friend's mother fuck care and give birth to 4 kids..later fine..but they show govt the middle finger ..they are now staying at worker's party ward..

When you have balls. U have rewards..now his brothers and sister are doing well..

political correctness aside, muslim immigration en mass helps to boost scandinavian rates.

there are 2 segments of society in the u.s. that i intentionally ignore in my earlier post, but i'll mention here. black women are shooting out babies like their men are shooting bullets in the streets. the problem with the black community is that their high mortality rate among their youths (from being randomly shot) offsets the high fertility rate (from being randomly fucked). the other "unmentionable" segment is the muslim community. they are becoming a political force in the u.s. just by sheer weight of immigration, war patriation as refugees (iraq and afghan wars including conflict refugees from pakistan), and high fertility rate.

very good and enlightening post. thank you.

political correctness aside, muslim immigration en mass helps to boost scandinavian rates.

there are 2 segments of society in the u.s. that i intentionally ignore in my earlier post, but i'll mention here. black women are shooting out babies like their men are shooting bullets in the streets. the problem with the black community is that their high mortality rate among their youths (from being randomly shot) offsets the high fertility rate (from being randomly fucked). the other "unmentionable" segment is the muslim community. they are becoming a political force in the u.s. just by sheer weight of immigration, war patriation as refugees (iraq and afghan wars including conflict refugees from pakistan), and high fertility rate.

excellent post!!! the Nordic themselves are struggling to reproduce themselves for they enjoy the freedom and the very high standard of living. Nobody wants to work anymore. But they do need immigrants and that's where the trouble starts. On the surface, everything appears nice, good and peaceful. But the under-currents of race hate are there. The Utoya Massacre is just a sign of the great disenchantment of the people, expressed through a desperate and angry young man. The Swedes themselves are struggling to fight off racism and the whole Nordic region is waking up to the dire consequences of more immigration.Singapore , being a small country, is feeling the pain faster and with more intensity.

kiwibird7

PM Lee's should have tried incentives that won't cost his govt any cash expenditure to entice young couples to produce babies.
1. A COE given out FOC for each baby produced. The govt won't lose money as the kiasu bids for the remaining quota left each year would still rake in the $$$$
2. Young married couples should be encouraged to rent HDB flats first and the moment they produce a baby, they would get priority to purchase choice HDB flats. Childless couples would automatically get pushed to the bottom of the queue.

Tuayapeh

It's not money cannot solved problem , its not enough money that can't solved problem ....:biggrin:

There's plenty of money, but they prefer to spend it on fat salaries for themselves and worthless military toys with little practicality, just a lot of hot air on 'operational readiness'. :rolleyes:

Tuayapeh

There's plenty of money, but they prefer to spend it on fat salaries for themselves and worthless military toys with little practicality, just a lot of hot air on 'operational readiness'. :rolleyes:

I mean pap have not given enough money for couples that's why couples don't want to have babies ...

Spock

No one has any idea why the low birth rate? I don't have the solutions but I know the causes.

1) Women want to have a career.
2) If they take a few years off to be a stay-at-home mom, there is no way for them to get back to their previous positions career-wise.

Solving either of the above 2 points will solve the issue. Any solution that does not address the above points will bear no results.

Fook Seng

Monetary incentives cannot solve the problem but change in the cost of living can as its effect is several folds larger. The only problem is whether he is willing to do it or not.

welcome to the forum FS
long time no see
happy to read your posts once more

HK14K

Actually the SG govt contradict themselves not only on birth rates but on other issues as well.

Like before the 2010GE, to obtain more votes for themselves. They easily grant PRs to many and until when they found that the locals are complaining, they stopped and tighten the immigration guidelines again and those who later has a genuine case can't even be granted just because of those before that, even construction worker can be given a PRs. The best example was my dad's part-time cleaner. Came from China with the husband. The husband is a construction worker and managed to be granted a PR and later together with the whole family.

Casino! He said " As long as I'm alive one day, SG shall have no casinos". As time progress and he saw that many Asians gamblers are going to Macau, Genting, he bowed to the society and agreed to casinos.

Racing! I remember my mum telling me when she was young, there was racing at the old upper seletar or upper pierce reservoir road (pardon me if i'm wrong). The govt stop it trying to promote SG as a healthy nation, and then later bowed to the situation again and allow F1 to be held in SG because of money rolling in.

Indeed SG govt has contradict themselves on some issues but nevertheless we cannot be blinded and not recognised their merits

bushtucker

you want more kids? simple. give up your million dollar salary and switch to social welfare and heavily subsidised healthcare. not some silly ponzi scheme like medisave and cpf.

**only applicable to born and bred singaporean citizens. not for converts, PRs and FTrash.