• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP waves white flag in Aljunied

Singapore—Has the People’s Action Party (PAP) given up on winning at Workers’ Party (WP) stronghold Aljunied GRC? Having seen this year’s lineup from the ruling party, netizens are wondering why a minister was not sent to anchor PAP’s slate. Moreover, others are voicing doubts that the PAP is serious about winning the GRC back from the WP.

On its part, the opposition party brought out its big guns for the Aljunied fight. All five candidates have served in Parliament, with WP’s team headed by secretary-general Pritam Singh, party chairwoman Sylvia Lim, vice-chair Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Manap, all three of whom are incumbent Aljunied MPs; as well as two Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMP), Leon Perera (2015-2020) and Gerald Giam (2011-2015).

The WP team faces off against PAP’s candidates Victor Lye, Alex Yeo, Chan Hui Yuh, Chua Eng Leong, and Shamsul Kamar. Messrs Lye, Shamsul and Chua had also contested in Aljunied in 2015.

Mr Lye is an artificial intelligence fintech chief executive, while Mr Yeo is a lawyer. Mr Chua is a bank executive, Mr Shamsul is the executive director of the Centre for Domestic Employees, and Ms Chan is a marketing director.

OverTheCounter

The five lost by the narrowest of margins, 50.9%, in 2015.

That will not happen again in 2020. They will be whipped like primary school children and driven out of town.

millim6868

In my own view , the situation is very hislat for sg due to covid 19 mishandling n wrong decisions n u turn decision.Its slready worse with papigs, wat csn be more worse.Hope that opposition can take control n make the situation right but the oppsition will hv to take over a mess created by papigs if they won .Sad ...same as workplace money foreigners n PR tske , debts for sinkies , same as money papigs take , shit opposition take.sad world....

Sideswipe

maybe no minister wanted to contest 50-50 Aljunied. last election a gonna be discarded mp led the team.

moody549

Although the PAP team has put up a good fight in 2015, they should have sent a full minister if they're really really serious about capturing Aljunied. Looks like they're treating Aljunied like a sacrificial lamb - perhaps they're ok with one opposition GRC in parliament.

61615-CA0-1782-4-B07-8-B29-13-C9-D3-F79669.jpg

LOL and this clown went to a funeral to give long service medal.... How thoughtful of him.. probably more better also drape the coffin with a PAP flag...

whoami

The five lost by the narrowest of margins, 50.9%, in 2015.

That will not happen again in 2020. They will be whipped like primary school children and driven out of town.

Dont be over confident. Won by a thin margin of only 50.9%..a drop of @10% fm 2010 GE. Two heavy weight stepped down. Not a good sign.

Welcome back! Bro!

But my kakis at the kopitiam don’t get such vibes leh, we worried AJ may go back to MIW.
I second that. My kaki told me they are quite a few new citizens in bedok. All dying to throw their support behind MIW.

congo9

In a fully functional democracy, WP is being spared from total wipe out. Thank God defector TCB stand out and make his word count.