• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition winning a GRC?

I am in Aljunied GRC and I hope this time we get it right and vote in WP.

Me too. Yes, vote WP. SL needs encouragement. After her sacrifices and yet if rejection this time, no one can be sure she will continue to play an active role. Let's give her one chance and I am sure she won't disappoint.

THE_CHANSTER

Thanks for all the comments.
I think Aljunied GRC is the best bet for the WP. They seem to have a potentially strong team under Sylvia Lim and George Yeo is going to have a tough time defending this GRC.

On a separate note, the major difference between this election and previous ones is that votes will be heavily influenced by what is discussed in cyberspace/online social media portals.
A lot of the first time votes will be netizens who use internet forums such as Sammyboy, Temasek Review, Online Citizen etc to make their judgement.
Politicians take note - never underestimate the power of the internet. One only needs to read about the hoo-ha over a certain Tin Pei-Ling to underline this point.

evry1 in sg got internet, but a lot of ppl dun go 2 internet 2 read news n views ... dey oni read dat useless 154th 4 info ...

n wen dey go 2 internet, dey dun go 2 ze 'correct' sites 4 info n views ...

stil remember during ze last erections, me told my fren about ze huge turnout @ opps rally ... he din believe me n even asked me how cum it wasnt reported in 154th ...

me wen 2 sbf, still in delphi den, n showed him ze images ... wen he saw dem, he was stunned ... n speechless ...

he immediately printed a copy n showed his frens ...

but til 2day, he stil dun visit sbf, tr or toc wen he's online ... he stil juz continue happily reading his 154th ... :rolleyes:

juz gotta 2 spread ze word ...

Sideswipe

but til 2day, he stil dun visit sbf, tr or toc wen he's online ... he stil juz continue happily reading his 154th ... :rolleyes:

I have a friend, early 30s, university graduate, don't surf internet at all, read his 154th religiously.

the internet world only represent a portion of the electorate.

I have a friend, early 30s, university graduate, don't surf internet at all, read his 154th religiously.

U got tell him to cum here or not?
If not, it's your fault. :(
I bet you those uncles and aunties eating kaya toast and drinking kopi also never come to internet and only read ST and Zaobao.

leoman

yes lah. agreed.
unfortunately, smc joo chiat's going 2 have a 3-corner fight. sayang.

hope opp party / independent can come 2 a compromise

if they co-operate, chances r "expect d unexpected" will b kick out.

After the new boundary lines hv been drawn.. What wld be possible if oppositions fielded strong candidates vs non-ministerial opponents. Therefore SMC is more possible than GRC. Good luck !

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Let's do some simple math. There are 16 k forum members. Take away the clones , maybe left about 8 k. 8 k ten times the lurkers add up to about 80 k. 80 k divide by 87 constituencies, we have less than 1 k per constituency.

No chance! :biggrin:

Let's do some simple math. There are 16 k forum members. Take away the clones , maybe left about 8 k. 8 k ten times the lurkers add up to about 80 k. 80 k divide by 87 constituencies, we have less than 1 k per constituency.

Why u never take away the pappy dogs? Like ............................ :biggrin:

Sideswipe

U got tell him to cum here or not?
If not, it's your fault. :(
I bet you those uncles and aunties eating kaya toast and drinking kopi also never come to internet and only read ST and Zaobao.

he don't even surf internet, no way I can get him to visit political forums. :biggrin:

asked him once who he voted for last GE, he never revealed his choice but started kpkb both pap and oppositions. think he voided his vote.

Sideswipe

8K real members? how many regulars - 50-70?

btw, I also have 3/4 clones. :biggrin:

Velma

WP will win one GRC, me thinks. It is quiet but has been solid so far. No major cock-ups. Even the PAP have to give credit that WP is their biggest threat.
As for NSP in Tampines GRC, it is a 50-50 situation. GMS has been working on the grounds (though sometimes he used to spend too much time here). However, his lack of experience and naivety is a big minus.

konstandy

I am in Aljunied GRC and I hope this time we get it right and vote in WP.

the only way opp going to win is everybody in aljunied doing their part: those supporting WP MUST convince everybody they know staying in this GRC to vote Opp or else it would be a repeat of last GE ...

for example my elderly mother WILL never vote opp even if PAP murders her (don't know y: some ppl are born retarded) ... :p

leoman

its not WILL WIN. ..... chances of win.
unless , last min ..... they dont screwup 'emself.
unless, d papians dont comeout with antoher 'dirty trick'.

hope 1 or 'em win ....

WP will win one GRC, me thinks. It is quiet but has been solid so far. No major cock-ups. Even the PAP have to give credit that WP is their biggest threat.
As for NSP in Tampines GRC, it is a 50-50 situation. GMS has been working on the grounds (though sometimes he used to spend too much time here). However, his lack of experience and naivety is a big minus.

gerard126333

Those folks in Tampines better dun complain if they get screwed after erections, nobody will pity them.... :mad:

Velma

its not WILL WIN. ..... chances of win.
unless , last min ..... they dont screwup 'emself.
unless, d papians dont comeout with antoher 'dirty trick'.

hope 1 or 'em win ....

You underestimated the naivety of Singaporean voters.

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - 200k New Shityzen Voters or 10% Increase</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:57 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>47783.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD id=msgtxt_1 class=msgtxt>2006:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singaporean_general_election,_2006
All citizens at least 21 years of age, based on the Registers of Electors, were eligible to vote. The Elections Department had completed its revision of the Registers and made them available for public inspection from 17 January through 30 January 2006.<SUP id=cite_ref-registers_5-0 class=reference>[6]</SUP> There were 2,158,439 eligible voters.<SUP id=cite_ref-ed_17feb06_6-0 class=reference>[7</SUP>

2010:
<SUP>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/3518/topics/415088?page=1</SUP>
SINGAPORE: About one-third of the more than 2.3 million people on Singapore's register of electors are under the age of 35 and some one hundred thousand of them are first time voters.

<SUP>=> So what if 50% of Sporns Vote against the FAPee TRAITORS? The 10% increase in New Shityzens will quickly restore these CCBs' mandate back to 60%! No wonder they are totally unafraid of Sporns' 'noise'! Unless 60++% Sporns are brave enough to do the right thing! Tall order indeed!</SUP>
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>