• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Old Dud: Singapore was a BARREN island in 1965. True?

Fook Seng

If you look at every city 50 years ago, you will see the "barren" look, lacking in skyscrapers and only shop-houses, except NY and Chicago.

Shop-houses were the architecture of the day and if you want anything newer, it would be Art Deco, like some of the older cinemas and Tiong Bahru.

Singapore did have a good number of good quality colonial buildings, not only those you now see around the Padang. The whole of Raffles Place and Collyer Quay, land side, were colonial buildings.

The first to go was the old Medical Hall, where Bank of China is today. Then sometime in the early rule of the PAP they pulled down everything reminding them of the British rule - including all the buildings around Raffles Place and Collyer Quay.

I can still remember the Hongkong and Shanghai Bank, Maritime Building and Ocean Building and at Raffles Place, other than John Little and Robinson's Buildings, the Mercantile Building. The entire heritage was demolished in a surprisingly short time, with no room for contemplation, together with the Raffles Institution site which had survived more than a hundred years before that.

You can say that 50 years back most cities will look like that with some good quality colonial buildings and the rest were mainly shophouses. Shanghai too had its share of colonial buildings in those days fronting the Bund. They have the good sense to keep these until today, amidst the skyscrapers, giving the city a unique waterfront, especially imposing at night viewed from a cruise. Although Shanghai has overtaken NY as the city of skyscrapers, it maintains its rich cultural facade.

In contrast, Singapore is often called a cultural desert. Yes. A desert is often barren. For Singapore, we could have done more.

Kohliantye

The next thing you know, it will be accepted as scientific fact by MSM that prior to 1965 that nothing existed at all and it was by his will alone, the universe came into being on 9th August 1965 via the Big Bang

How Singapore Was Founded (Untold Story)

Date: 8 August 1965.

A boat packed with sailors in white who had been banished from Malaysia headed towards Singapore in a stormy sea.

They were told to pack off from Port Swettenham (now Port Klang).

At about 9.30 pm, their rickety boat (MV PAPAPAP) was now off Pulau Pisang, Johore.

It was at the mercy of 2 metres waves and was bobbling like a cork.

All on board were frightened and huddled togather.

But their Captain was ready to fight all odds as he had to have a home to survive.

Surely he did not want to go down the choppy, unfriendly and un-charted waters.

He reassured them and offered everyone on board Duty Free State Express 555 cigarettes and alcohol.

The sea was now becoming a little calmer and soon the badly battered boat reached Labrador Park opposite the notorious Blakang Mati Isles.

The Captain immediately ordered the rickety boat to be moored below a hill.

The crew rushed to shore and eased themselves on a rocky out-crop. The crabs finished their stinking discharge.

The Captain, midshipman and two able-bodied men headed to the top of the hill to find a more secure place for themselves.

The Captain was armed with a metal ring. It was close to midnight and a new day would soon dawn as 9th August 1965.

There were bolts of lightning from the skies above and one such bolt from the blue rammed into the metal ring carried by the captain.

The force of the strike knocked off the captain and his "disciples"

A Big Explosion was then heard. The skies opened up and the sea started to churn furiously.

Oblivious to the crew below and the captain and his men who were knocked unconscious above, land mass suddenly appeared.

It became a BARREN LAND void of vegetation and life.

The dashing and swashbuckling buccaneer then ragained consciouness and violently kicked his loyal companions.

The trio rushed down and met their shivering sailors (comrades) in white.

The captain shouted that they will survive against all odds and make the barren land into a fertile one.

It will become a Garden city and an oasis for all its people.

The Captain then told one frigthened and shaken sailor who met a zombie called ANSON, "Jangan Takut" or "Don't Fear".

All of them shouted "Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka" in unison.

The Captain cried that day. It was a cry of extreme happiness. He had found his home and his dreams came through...

The sailors in white remained behind and within 47 years made SINGAPORE into a First World Nation complete with Garden by The Bay, Casinos, F1 Race, GST and COE.

That was how Singapore was born on a cold, mysterious and frightful 9th Aug 1965.

Many people came from China, India and Middle East and settled here.

In the last 15 years, more started to come - peidu ma's, karang-gunis, unholy skirts, frauds, cheats, molestors, murderers, curry-haters and other opportunists.

The population is fast growing and life is starting to become unbearable for the original settlers.

From 2 million to 5.26 million and an eventual 6 millions.

MRT, Buses and other facilities Not enough. Land Not Enough..Money Not Enough, Jobs Not Enough, Homes Not Enough, Everything Not Enough Leh...

Shall we take over Batam Island on a 99 years Lease?

Poort Suharto is long gone. Cannot discuss with SBY.................

do you know that raffles was actually a governor of bencoolen (present day bengkulu, indonesia) when sg was founded? sg was only a trading post as part of the british east india company, and the agreement was signed by abdul rahman sri maharajah the temenggung, sultan hussein shah and raffles. sg was headed by two british "residents" from 1819 to 1826, and not raffles. however, she came under the umbrella of bencoolen. in 1823, sg was transferred from bencoolen's shadow to the control of calcutta under the bengal presidency. it was only on nov-19, 1824 that sg was ceded to the beic by the temenggung and sultan in a signed treaty with calcutta. the treaty was ratified by calcutta on mar-4, 1825.

moral of the story: sinkies should thank the british and banglas for bullshitting away the island from the bumiputras. :p

greedy and cunning

those photos posted by the cock suckers are still very clear despite being very old.

these photos cannot be from personal collection.
it can only come from sPh archive.

it means those cock suckers are carrying a name card with sPh on it with a title like senior xxx.
this is their cover only.
we have secret dept in sPh and Porlumpar Association.
no wonder only another hyena can be the chief there.

this means - those cock suckers are carrying a name card with sPh

those photos posted by the cock suckers are still very clear despite being very old.

it means those cock suckers are carrying a name card with sPh on it with a title like senior xxx.
this is their cover only.
we have secret dept in sPh and Porlumpar Association.
no wonder only another hyena can be the chief there.

why are you so obsessed with cock sucking
are you a specialist yourself
dont be so vulgar okay
sekali i infect you than you know..
dont anyhow call people coke suckers..
now be good....dont be so obscene ok. good boy!

Agoraphobic

I arrived in Singapore long after Sang Nila and it was a barren as they come. Mr Lee is spot on in his analysis.

Sam, if Sg was like what Mr. Lee claimed it to be before 1965, from where then did his family gather the monies to send Harry to England for his education in his earlier years?

ilovesingapore

these photos cannot be from personal collection.
it can only come from sPh archive.

you are so bloody idiotic. anyone can assess to these photos if only you know where to find them. why must these forumers be sph staff...you damned idiotic to call them cock suckers....ilovesingapore and i keep all these old photos for my own use....so i cocksucker meh....i porlumpar meh....you damned idiotic and shitty head!!!...i say this to you....FUCK YOU!!!!!!!FUCKEEEEEEE YOU!!!!!!!!!

apogee

If there is no special definition provided, then any word must carry the dictionary meaning.
OED says in respect of its application to land means "too poor to produce much or any vegetation".

The old fart was using the term "barren" to mean "unproductive"...ie land not put to any use.

[h=2]bar·ren[/h]  <embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://static.sfdict.com/dictstatic/d/g/speaker.swf" width="17" height="15" id="speaker" align="texttop" quality="high" loop="false" menu="false" salign="t" wmode="transparent" flashvars="soundUrl=http://static.sfdict.com/dictstatic/dictionary/audio/luna/B01/B0119400.mp3"> [bar-uhn] Show IPA
adjective1.not producing or incapable of producing offspring; sterile: abarren woman.

2.unproductive; unfruitful: barren land.

3.without capacity to interest or attract: a barren period inAmerican architecture.

4.mentally unproductive; dull; stupid.

5.not producing results; fruitless: a barren effort.

apogee

I think his vocab is becoming muddled. He used "repent" instead of "regret". Repent is just to feel regret.

The Old Man is trying to claim credit for the development of Singapore. I just wonder why the comparison with a sleepy fishing village is not brought up again and instead a barren land is used?

Cruxx

Singaporeans are so ungrateful. 50 years ago, Singaporeans didn't even have iPhones. Now leh? Who should we thank if not the PAP? :rolleyes:

Sideswipe

during the 1970s, the average standard of living in many countries rises and improves significantly due to high industrialization. the PAP govt would be stupid and incompetent not to follow the world trend and achieve rapid economic growth in the 1980s.

Till today nobody mentioned how much money in the Treasury the British handover to them.

The british handed over USD400 million when Singapore merged with malaya, sabah and sarawak. But LKY refused to share the wealth with others.

Singaporeans are so ungrateful. 50 years ago, Singaporeans didn't even have iPhones. Now leh? Who should we thank if not the PAP? :rolleyes:

Indeed. 50 years ago, there were no Meh-donnas and Kuhn-tahkees in Sinkieland. Thanks to the PAP, they are now all over the island.