• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Money changers “sold out” after mad rush for low ringgit

canonfairy

lai ah lai ah lelong leong ah

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/money-changers-“sold-out”-after-mad-rush-for-low-ringgit-065155553.html

Singaporeans’ mad rush to change their money for Malaysian ringgit has left several popular moneychangers completely ‘sold out’ of the currency.
“We cannot meet demand for ringgit, and have to turn away many customers who still try their luck,” said Rafffles Place moneychanger Mr R Tang, 46, who displayed a prominent sign at his shop stating “Ringgit Sold Out” when he ran out last Friday.

M.M Shariff Traders at The Arcade was seen turning away customers with loud announcements of “no more, no more ringgit!”
Driven by the ringgit falling to an all-time low against the Singapore dollar, small-time speculators and holidaymakers have been rushing to take advantage of the favourable rates and are stocking up on the currency.
The Malaysian ringgit has slumped to as low as 2.79 to the Singapore dollar this month, hurt by its 1MDB political scandals and signs of Chinese economic weakness.
As of Tuesday, 16 June 2015, most moneychangers were trading the ringgit at 2.78 to the Singapore dollar.
When Yahoo Singapore headed down to the popular stretch of moneychangers at Collyer Quay’s The Arcade on Tuesday afternoon, three shops were completely out of the currency while others told us they were running low.

Singaporeans’ mad rush to change their money for Malaysian ringgit has left several popular moneychangers completely ‘sold out’ of the currency.
Singaporeans’ mad rush to change their money for Malaysian ringgit has left several popular moneychangers …
By 5pm, small queues had started forming at almost all the shops as office workers lined up to change their money – and eight out of 10 of them were there for more ringgit.
“I’m going for a holiday to Malaysia this weekend, I’ve been changing about $200 every day for the past three days and it just keeps getting lower and lower,” said bank officer Raymus Wee, 34.
“At this rate, I think I will be changing more, have to take advantage while it lasts.”
Administrative executive Julie Yeo, 37, was also in line to change about $1,000 to ringgit, getting about RM$2,780 in return. The mother of three travels across the Causeway at least once every two weeks to buy milk powder, diapers and groceries for her family.
“This is really good for us, suddenly everything is so much cheaper. Milk powder is much more expensive here, making the trip over is very worth it," she said.
“Keep now, spend it later also can,” said retiree Tan Kok Keng, 69, who has been spending his afternoons around The Arcade checking rates and speculating with his friends about whether the ringgit will continue to fall.
“I have never seen the ringgit so low. Imagine, at one time not so long ago, it was RM2 to 1 Singapore dollar,” he said in Mandarin.

This is what happens without the PAP.

Dumb sinkies kept harping just a few months ago how the Malaysian EPF was so much better than the CPF because it paid more than twice interest. Fat lot of good that does when your currency plunges and inflation far outstrips the interest rate.

Thank goodness the Singapore $ is strong and stable thanks to LHL and his capable team.

looneytan

Stupid Sinkies ...:mad::mad:
Next week it will be 3.50 ringgits per sing dollar

No wonder some fucktard stays away from sinkies :oIo:

Even if currency is cheaper,wont prices go up to keep with inflation?in the end the only people who benefit are the middle man,the money changers,dumbfiak sinkies.

Only peasants hanker after one particular currency, the smart elites have a basket of currencies. :biggrin:

Dumb sinkies kept harping just a few months ago how the Malaysian EPF was so much better than the CPF because it paid more than twice interest. Fat lot of good that does when your currency plunges and inflation far outstrips the interest rate.

Thank goodness the Singapore $ is strong and stable thanks to LHL and his capable team.

Yes especially that fucktard jiu hu kia Tonychat, try to glorified the EPF.

at 6.5% compounded interest guaranteed,it only takes 10 to 12 years for your money to double.assuming one starts work at 21 in malaysia,by the time a m&d is 30 years old,he would have 100k ringgit.doubling that every 10 years plus contributions,he would have 300k when hes 40,700k when hes 50 and 1.5mil when hes 60.every m&d would retire a millionaire negating the effects of even the worst inflation.

amplifying the effect,a mudlaysian worker can work in singapore and convert sing dollars into malaysian ringgit and investing in the epf,the triple earning power plus the high compound interest has a exponential effect,causing a explosive growth curve in his portfolio,by the time a m&d reaches retirement age,he will be a multimillionaire,enabling him to live like a sultan.and he will be a real millionaire since u are allowed to withdraw everything from ur epf unlike the CPF ponzi.

Asterix

All these queuing goondus never heard of multi-currency bank account izzit?

Besides it does not necessarily reflect well on the PAP. What it simply means is that PAP is doing somewhat better than a THIRD WORLD country. When measuring the PAP's performance it is always necessary to compare with Swiss or other First World countries.

BU6 corner super link terrace (3,000 plus square feet) fully furnished only MYR 3,500 per month, plus expenses for two add up to say roughly MYR 10,000 outgoings per month. Within walking distance to One Utama, the world's FOURTH LARGEST MALL, some more.

http://www.1utama.com.my/AboutUs.aspx

Just do like what Jim Rogers did when he was a Rhodes scholar in UK and change your needed MYR every month using your multi-currency bank account. Nowadays can do online some more - if needed in your underwear from Stockholm. Only useless idiots will queue!

https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-banking/deposits/combinations-account