• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

contra

From today's Business Times Singapore editorial...

Since the Tanjung Pagar KTM handover, almost everyday got some good news about Singapore being closer to Iskandar...

Editorial
Published July 5, 2011

Prospects for win-win deals with Malaysia

WITH the chapter on the railway land deal closed in the Malaysia-Singapore story, the path now seems clearer for both countries to look into new avenues of cooperation and collaboration. As leaders and officials on both sides look back at a diplomatic triumph, they will also realise that they now have a window of opportunity to leverage on goodwill and trust to achieve new milestones.

But before they embark on any new ambitious project, it would perhaps be more useful that they focus on reaching more realistic and attainable goals. That is, pick the 'low-lying fruit' that are already within reach. Later on, if all goes well, it might be feasible to look at bigger deals - such as a comprehensive economic agreement, which would have more wide-ranging benefits.

A clear area of collaboration in the short term is the Iskandar region in Johor. The jewel of Malaysia's new economic plans, the Iskandar project can potentially offer interesting win-win possibilities. Malaysia would undoubtedly benefit from greater Singapore participation - which would help catalyse investments from elsewhere - while Singapore companies would gain from accessing a low-cost hinterland with good infrastructure less than an hour's drive away.

While there have been some investments from Singapore companies, there is clearly room for more, particularly in areas such as health care, education, and high-technology ventures. Some of these can be joint ventures, with Malaysian and/or third-party entities.

An initial endorsement from a Singapore government-linked company that invests in Iskandar would probably be the confidence booster that other Singapore businesses need to follow suit.

As for Malaysia, it makes sense to reach out to Singapore to help boost the profile and appeal of Iskandar to a global level. Singapore's success in attracting investments could also serve as a blueprint of sorts to Iskandar as well. But for that to happen, there are two things in particular that Malaysia will have to address - security and regulations.

Although the Johor police may have stepped up their efforts to battle crime in the state, safety is still topmost on the minds of many Singaporeans who may look toward investing there. Intensifying security efforts in a visible way would do much to encourage more participation in Iskandar - and not only from Singapore.

Many Singaporean companies also still seem unsure about the regulatory environment in Malaysia, especially given the host of new economic programmes and incentives rolled out over the last year.

Malaysia should look into expanding its outreach efforts in Singapore and explaining the benefits and features of its new economic initiatives. What most Singaporeans would like to know, especially, is the extent to which the economic and regulatory frameworks in Iskandar and elsewhere are insulated from the vagaries of Malaysian domestic politics.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/views/story/0,4574,446091,00.html?

Analytical Professor

Thanks contra.

Agreed spore has one of the best curricula in the world.

Just irritated by the CCAs which take up a huge amount of time

Welcome back AP! Singapore schools curriculum are the best. Why even think of home schooling? .... Will miss out socialising big time.

As for RT's neighbour, the more he describes, the more something doesnt seem right. RT, time to move.

Analytical Professor

Lehman Bros i enjoy calling u Lehmann Brothers hehe.

Im soon gonna start complainin about irresponsible pet owners. No offence to you. K?

C. . . Im not against pets. Im only against irresponsible pet owners who enjoy soiling any place in the neighborhood but their home

Analytical Professor

Ha ha so u went there ah?

Did u c the miniature Jaz beers?

Yeah bro i dun recommend Monsta unless u wanna allow ur kids to run amok while u enjoy ur Jaz.

Yews is good bro

AP, tried Monsta on Sat with family. Only good item was the Jaz beer. Taste is good BUT price..... Definetly OFF my list.

Grago

Ha ha so u went there ah?

Did u c the miniature Jaz beers?

Yeah bro i dun recommend Monsta unless u wanna allow ur kids to run amok while u enjoy ur Jaz.

Yews is good bro
Tried the minature first then had a the normal size ones, after when saw the bill had a headache:biggrin::biggrin:
Will give Yew a try and by the way if you are going to sink your teeth into pet owners...... of the irresponsible kind .... means I'm off your radar:smile:

euphony

anyone been to Senibong cove? Is it freehold? any idea if prices like EL/HH?

yes and yes. pegged at EL prices somewhatish. Finishing of the show rooms not bad. Semi-Ds and bungalows only in new launches no more terraces. water literally perfuses the new phases very unique. They sell the waterfront lifestyle just as HH sell the hills. Ideal location with the EDL and permas bridge in the finishing stages. Jusco is within sight from development. Condos in future launches too. A thing about the development, it is quite a bit lower than the main road entering the development. Water cleanliness since it will literally come into your backyard.

euphony

I drive a normal car, looks and dress ordinary.. Wonder what they want? End up look-see my entire interior and check my driving liscence etc etc and kept telling me "tak boleh this" tak boleh that"

Damn pissed.. I act blur and stupid in front of them cos they were trying to waste my time for more than 10 minutes. End up they cant get my bribes and asked me to go.

There are 1-2 cars around at any point in time. Great place for the police to find their own commission

those hungry ghosts... tsk.

RafflesTiger

My experience tell me it is no use. If people bother, when management office talk to them, they would have changed their behavior, if they don't bother, whether you talk to them personally or not doesn't make a difference.

The fellow seems to be very oblivious to other people.. He would bang the gate at 6am in the morning.. Normal people would surely try to open the gate a little softer in consideration of others... The management clerk girls said the security must catch the noise and submit a report.. I don't think they spoke to him also.. Things like this hard to prove... The fellow can just say the pail dropped or the gate is made a certain way so its noisy etc.. Even if all the neighbours can affirm the fact that he is noisy, he can still deny.. He would never admit he is disturbing others.. Its not easy to prove someone made noise.. And the security guards are not private detectives, they are paid 700rm.. Why would they bother? One of the fat security staff apparently said "Noisy then move out lar."

hangyong

Bro hangyong, I don't understand why do you bring up the issue of delay and suing HH? Care to explain?

too many page updates suddenly, eh? :-)

actually someone here was saying that he just bought a property at The Hills in HH, and he hopes that there will not be delays.
So I replied saying that HH will not delay handing over the keys because if they delay, we can sue them, as stated in the S&P.

g3abc

Good Day LeMans2011,

thanks,...

1. any idea what price Ujana was at launch and current price ?

2. Is East Ledang tha name of an estate, say, like "watten Estate" singapore and is positioned as "the premium" estate in IDR, in other words, Issit true that East Ledang prices are the highest (say higher than the area surroundinf the Johor Sultan's area ?

3. Does anyone have a boundary map of East Ledang ? IDR map, everywhere, but specifically East Ledang,..I can't seem to find.

kum sia, terima kasih :smile:
Do have a nice Day

austin_hts

Hi east539,

I have book a unit too at The Hills and I actually do not mind the wait..... more time to save more, can take less loan or purchase other properties.... ;-)

Btw, the last time I was there, six rows of terraces and two rows of clusters have been launched. What is the latest? Thanks.

thanks for the welcome, actually currently we have only signed the booking form, as for the S&P, it stated in the booking form we have agreed & allowed HH for a period between 6 to 9 months before we are call to sign the S&P, but that also give lots of time to look for our preferred home loan package from various banks.

austin_hts

I actually do not mind lizards - they help to eat spiders and other insects ;-)

I have somehow solved the roaches issue. Every time when we leave the house after the weekend stay, we spray Bygone (insecticides) into the water drainage pipes in the toilets .. ;-) Works well so far ...

Have u guys seen the Anti Lizard spray?

About rm 16?

Does not kill lizards but does not allow them to come in either as it makes the surface slippery

cathylmg

I heard from the radio this morning. Malaysia launching some kind of online appraisal for public service. Starting from the police department. Only Malaysian can appraise them and need to have the officer's number. I think they wear it on their uniform?

I do hope they can extend this service to us Singaporean as I'm afraid that their 'attention' might be rechannel to us instead. Neverthelessly, it is still a step forward in curbing corruptions and in helping to improve their standard of performance. :smile:

Status
Not open for further replies.