• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

whoami

whoami

Boss, you must have missed quite a few posts. Applied so many times, even using talentcorp but no use. Only MM2H is the viable option.

I had mentioned many times. Even I, a Malay, also find it quite tough to get PR. My BIL is a Msian. Who said abang sure give in to adek? No such thing in Msia. Maybe in Sinkieland. Majority give in to majority.

Boss, you must have missed quite a few posts. Applied so many times, even using talentcorp but no use. Only MM2H is the viable option.

The 10 year
i also thought about mm2h over 6.9 years ago but it's limited to 10 years and then subjected to renewal. it's not a pr but a long-term visa. what's the point of a non-permanent visa or long term visa which does not guarantee a path to pr when one intends to invest myr669k and above for a "home" towards retirement? and if the gov changes or rules keep changing the mm2h program may also be in jeopardy. what if they don't renew after 10 years? to me. it's baiting you to spend money there and then switching on you to tell you that you will not be granted a pr, which means at the end of your visa you either balik kampung to sg and try to liquidate your assets in jb or continue to be a victim (and sucker) by living in the twilight zone on short term stays and hoping for the best (which we know doesn't happen or exist) - i.e. economy booms, demand outgrows supply for housing, prices double or appreciate to profitability, rent shoots up, sellers' market, etc. even if you enjoy your stay and life is great there, the constant fear and nag of zero path to permanent residence and no sight to full retirement in ml can zap your life and mental health away. if you start to hear random firecrackers at night you will know your mental health is being impacted.

For fucks sake. One of my relatives is an agent for the MM2H programme. So what if its for 10 years? The plan is geared towards retirement expats. A lot of Japs take advantage of this. They go there, buy a property, import their car tax free, start a small business or not. By the time the 10 years is up, they are already in their 70s. One foot in the grave. If the Malaysians don't renew, so what? Just balik back to Japan. They have already saved a lot of money in a low cost country for 10 years, and also had a better and spacious lifestyle. Malaysia population is always growing. So what if you have to sell your house after 10 years or more and move back? U will lose money meh? Bullshit lah. So scared of the rules then why bother considering moving? Why don't you just say you are also scared of change in govt in the US and now got rascist zenophobic govt.? Better fuck off from the Bay Area too lah. Dumbass.

Wahlou eh. 1.5K? Sekali now and then breakdown...jialat man. :roflmao:
The cheap cars are usually Protons. Break down is also cheap to fix. If you know something about vehicles, u will also know how to choose the right one.

Heres some math. I calculate a 4% return on the deposit you need to put in for mm2h? So its about 2k ringgit return every month? A room is just anything from 300 up. You can easily live here. And the principle can be withdrawn at a later date. Can people with mm2h tell me the numbers?

With a room, you re just giving the money every month to the landlord. U get nothing from it. If you buy it, at least you paying down the principal every month and u own it, especially if its freehold. Also, I believe what you stated for MM2H is not complete. There is additional information that makes your calculations invalid.

If you are under 50 the deposit is RM$300K, and for lao chiows like me, its $150K. If you are under 50, you can withdraw up to $150K after one year to buy a property. That leaves you with only $150K in the deposit. U only need to leave this $150K deposit in there after year 2 onwards.

The 10 year

For fucks sake. One of my relatives is an agent for the MM2H programme. So what if its for 10 years? The plan is geared towards retirement expats. A lot of Japs take advantage of this. They go there, buy a property, import their car tax free, start a small business or not. By the time the 10 years is up, they are already in their 70s. One foot in the grave. If the Malaysians don't renew, so what? Just balik back to Japan. They have already saved a lot of money in a low cost country for 10 years, and also had a better and spacious lifestyle. Malaysia population is always growing. So what if you have to sell your house after 10 years or more and move back? U will lose money meh? Bullshit lah. So scared of the rules then why bother considering moving? Why don't you just say you are also scared of change in govt in the US and now got rascist zenophobic govt.? Better fuck off from the Bay Area too lah. Dumbass.
you think for sinkies so easy to pack up and fuck back to sg huh? by the time sinkies are forced to balik kampung it will be impossible to buy a roof or ceiling over head. property gets stuck in jb and can’t liquidate to pay down on a flat in sg. will end up homeless and sleeping at void decks. the reason why i was interested in johor was because of its proximity to sg. can relax in johor for 3 months with the space and without the crowds. and then scoot over to sg for visits and meetings with friends and family when necessary. bay area is still the main base. no need to worry about “racist” trump gov since i’m on his 2016 and 2020 erection committees. i’m more worried about the libtards, commies, socialists, and multiculturalists who govern californicate. they are running (and ruining) the state to the ground. just in case they pull a 69% tax stunt on state residents i still have nevada or arizona to run to. 10 years go by very fast. soon my dog will be old dog at 6.9 years and 3 more years will make him a very old dog.

I would consider MM2H for East Malaysia rather than the MM2H for West Malaysia. The one for East Malaysia allows you to stay anywhere and the programme is much more stable and less changes than the one for West Malaysia.
if you have poured your heart and soul into johor for so many years yet they screw you no point going to east ml. disadvantages and challenges are too many especially when you still need to visit sg often and regularly.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wahlou eh. 1.5K? Sekali now and then breakdown...jialat man. :roflmao:

Get a couple then. Or get a trusted foreman to come with you and then check it. Or prepare 3-4k to fix it. Either way, for around 5k, not too hard to get something usable.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
The 10 year

Don't understand this. If you are referring to MM2H, most of my funds are locked in to properties and the businesses here have always been a drain for my finances.
That and always helping those around me has been a constant worry. Since October last year and after getting things finally in order, i am focusing on getting back on my feet. Have helped so many yet in whatsapp groups, people pick on whether your dogs ran out, you give rides to strangers etc.

You can't please everyone but there are really many people who turn around and bite you. Asking why can't you station yourself at points to drive everyone up and down daily. We all have regular jobs and family to feed.

Really a lot of people disappoint me but i just leave it. There are a lot of good people and kind hearted souls as well.
Now focusing on my kids education and aging parents, hope i can finally be a good father and a son to them.[/QUOTE]

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
The cheap cars are usually Protons. Break down is also cheap to fix. If you know something about vehicles, u will also know how to choose the right one.

Absolutely agree on this one, just get something local such as Perodua or Proton, get a foreman to check and confirm the main parts are sound. Replace the oils and timing belts/water pumps. Replace tyres with something newer (good treads are nice but also always check the year of manufacture). Never use retread tyres even on cars your enemies will drive.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
if you have poured your heart and soul into johor for so many years yet they screw you no point going to east ml. disadvantages and challenges are too many especially when you still need to visit sg often and regularly.

Its still viable somewhat, lets see if next year June things really changes, else i am just selling my stuff here and keep it to 3 at maximum for properties. Tearing of my kid's passport and barring of my wife's entry was really disappointing. We applied for so many years, paid tax and employed so many locals. We should have just gone down the MM2H route when we first arrived or just get a work permit instead.

Will look further at Thailand or Indonesia. Did consider China at one time as many business friends there.

whoami

If you are under 50 the deposit is RM$300K, and for lao chiows like me, its $150K. If you are under 50, you can withdraw up to $150K after one year to buy a property. That leaves you with only $150K in the deposit. U only need to leave this $150K deposit in there after year 2 onwards.

Above 50 deposit is 150K. After one year, can withdraw 50K leaving balance of 100K in FD.

Another requirement is u need to have minimum income of 10K a mth. Looks like one need to work and draw above @S$3.5K a mth.:frown:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Above 50 deposit is 150K. After one year, can withdraw 50K leaving balance of 100K in FD.

Another requirement is u need to have minimum income of 10K a mth. Looks like one need to work and draw above @S$3.5K a mth.:frown:

That is for West Malaysia (Peninsula Malaysia), East Malaysia is different.

Screen Shot 2019-11-19 at 11.22.27 AM.png

https://www.sarawak.gov.my/web/home/article_view/221/279/

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
East Malaysia and West Malaysia have different policies on MM2H. I would apply for East Malaysia one, not that far away from 50 as turning 43 next year.

rushifa666

East Malaysia and West Malaysia have different policies on MM2H. I would apply for East Malaysia one, not that far away from 50 as turning 43 next year.
Yes. There is that fascination in owning property that is very sinkie. I know peooke whi have rented for 10 years. There ia no difference to him if he dies tomorrow. Retirees are not trying to make a quick buck. So far no one i know has been kicked from their rental himes here. If anything i only hear owners losing month eveey month as rental tanks with unrealistic pricing of the homes nosedive

rushifa666

Not to mention taking of loans, another sinkie hobby. Rental in 2 weeks i moved here. if there are probelms i just move again How much time you are going to waste if you are loooking to buy property? Every day in sinkieland you are just throwing money away. Even horizon hill the hottest new kid then has been tanking in price. No one in their mright mind puts money into an oversaturated bubble

sunriver

With a room, you re just giving the money every month to the landlord. U get nothing from it. If you buy it, at least you paying down the principal every month and u own it, especially if its freehold.

LKY also famously used similar logic. Actually both of you are wrong. The right comparison is not renting vs buying but what you do with the capital you have, which you can always invest instead of buying residence.
So you should compare:
1) Buying property: No need pay rental but got to pay mortgage, maintenance, legal fees etc
versus
2) Investing capital in other non-property assets but need to pay rental etc.

Compare your expected net returns for (1) vs (2) and see which one is better.

For SGreans retiring overseas, you should always hedge your risks and keep a SG property (even if its just HDB 2room) in case things dun work out and you hv to come back to SG.

Status
Not open for further replies.