• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lawrence Wong, let me tell you the real reason behind why fertility rates are dropping and people are not getting married

Boliao

Property prices will not slow down as PAP is ramping up importing foreigners. They do so to compensate low birth rates but in turn, forcing birth rates even lower. It's a vicious cycle.

The recent big push on foreigners is affecting private property prices. What you used to be able to own 2 years ago is now out of your reach. This forces a large number of HDB upgrades and condo sellers to move towards HDB resales. Along with those who cannot qualify to buy direct from HDB due to income cap, you now have 20-30 families vying for each unit, sold within 1 week of posting at >$100k~$200k COV

The demand for HDB resale have not slowed but in fact, increased despite recent measures announced. Come'on LW, half fuck measures are destined to fail. If you're not sincere, please don't wayang lah. I used to think LW may be different but I guess they are all the same.

Upon marriage and getting a baby, PAP should give one free COE.
Sinkie economy is boosted by expats, PR and new citizens.
Price of HDB purposely boosted to enrich current owners. But enslave new ones. More hdb's csn be built if roads meant for cars are eliminated altogether.
The city planners must design a integrated hdb without cars do land use can be maximise and residents need not drive to schools, shops or hospitals. Just walk.like in ancient cities before cars were made,

birdie69

Upon marriage and getting a baby, PAP should give one free COE.
Sinkie economy is boosted by expats, PR and new citizens.
Price of HDB purposely boosted to enrich current owners. But enslave new ones. More hdb's csn be built if roads meant for cars are eliminated altogether.
The city planners must design a integrated hdb without cars do land use can be maximise and residents need not drive to schools, shops or hospitals. Just walk.like in ancient cities before cars were made,
Why not give 3rm hdb fat free for a baby, 4rm flat free for 2 babies and 5rm flat free for 3 babies?

nightsafari

Really? That's good to know.

A lot of oppies like to complain about the prices of HDB and when they can fully pay off the housing loan, or needing $700k to buy a $700k. That reeks of complete ignorance of financial leverage or never having once bought a home.
or risk averse. 700k down for 700k home in a recession with rising inflation is not a joke.
Most of the land, is actually owned by the HK government. When the HK government wants to allocated more land for housing, converting forested land to public housing, they've historically faced lawsuits from environmentalist groups. And these lawsuits drag on for years before construction can even start.

7% of HK's land is allocated for housing, and 74% allocated for nature parks and reservoirs. With such limited supply, property prices remain high. And unlike the PAP government, HK government derives a lot of their budget from land sales and high property prices.
The HK govt is bought and paid for by either the HK property robber barons so worshipped by hongkies or subject to mainland control. Either way, neither have the hongkie population's well being in mind. The less we talk about HK property as any kind of decent market the better.
Sinkies must make money from HDB property just like people must breathe. Don't make it sound so bad.
It's great that they do, but the circumstances that allow them to make money hand over fist are transient in nature rather than structural. Adequate caution should be exercised.
Back in the days when sinkies were earning $500 a month, they could buy a HDB flat costing $30k by putting down a small deposit. But that small deposit makes them the legal owner of a $30k flat. You can't put down $1 deposit at a supermarket and walk off with $50 worth of groceries.
that's what made it great. The simple calculation is that a gross salary of $6000 would nominally payoff the flat in 5 years. Try that number now.
Nearly everyone makes use of financial leverage when they buy a house or a car, whether they stay in Singapore or overseas.
alright, let me summarize. HDB was great. It's now going down the wrong path. A 5 year nominal payback vs 10-20 year (wild guess on my part) nominal payback for government subsidized housing is not exactly great. If this was private property hey who cares, but this is last resort housing for the masses.

As always, good discussing with you.