• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Japan had 1st Aircraft Carrier in 1921. China is refitting a Russian one due 2014

All real powers can make their own weapons.

When the military era changed with the invention of steel ship and aircraft, the Japanese went to the west to learn how to build them. The Qing Chinese went to the west to buy them.

As an island nation, the Japanese has a strong blue water naval tradition to begin with even before Ming Dynasty in China. Ancient China so-called naval battles were all fought on rivers. Admiral Cheng Ho sailed the south and west seas, difference for Japanese was that they were happy with their mastery over the east seas (Sea of Japan and Yellow Sea). Until they saw US Commodore Perry coming with giant steel ships carrying cannons, steaming and smoking and still could float and sail. They didn't ask how much that cost? They asked was that built?

sherrry

America build all their planes and missiles.

I agree that BAE from UK makes some of the stuff but when it comes to planes and missiles and carriers, they make their own.

Of course, copying is a start but China has been copying Soviet Tech for maybe 60 years and look what they have achieved? Nothing
building & assembling doesn't determine one's military might. for many years, soviets also were building & assembling, but not much is seen & heard of them.

china sent the rocket to the moon & back, japan can only watch & dream.

mind u, its not firecrackers that propel the rocket...

for china to wreck havoc, they need no military weapon. they just need to send 10-20% of the peasants. this island will sink.

Royalblood

If you notice, Cheng Ho was a genius and probably one of the very few navigator in the corrupt chinese dynasties.

BUT

How can you compare building those wooden ships to making an aircraft carrier????

The fleet of Admiral Cheng Ho belongs to the 15th century, and at that time it certainly was the greatest and most well travelled in the world. The barbaric Europeans then was just starting to experiment with sea exploration, still thinking that the world in square in shape.....

Aircraft Carrier is a product of the 20th century, easily 500 years away from Cheng Ho's Era. And as we all know, things get better as time goes on.

Bottomline:
Both are the best in its own respective era. So it is like comparing the best with the best if you hold constant the difference in time!

Your analytical skills sucks la!:oIo:
knn still dare to show off about ur American post-grad education....wtf
u must be a mediocre student:oIo:

In few year China will overtake the ranking of top ship builder.
This a a fact. So built carrier is just upgrade of improve the hull . Maybe China will install nuclear power reactor. Since they already know how to built and operate nuclear power station.

In few year China will overtake the ranking of top ship builder.
This a a fact. So built carrier is just upgrade of improve the hull . Maybe China will install nuclear power reactor. Since they already know how to built and operate nuclear power station.

In a sense for show of might and pride, the aircraft carrier is usefully impressive. But in real strategic terms, unless the objective is rule the waves and police the world like Britain and later US did, or Japan tried to do, it's just white elephant for 10/10 parade at sea. China already got 3 m. troops for defence and 200 nuclear warheads for deterrent.

limpeh2

Why should a home-owner learn to be a gunsmith & make his own firearms to protect his home when there's an easier, more timely option of buying some at his bankrupt neighbour's garage sale? Why reinvent the wheel?

As much as I dislike Ah-Tiongs, lets face it: trying to go toe-to-toe against Uncle Sam & splurging $$$ on showy military "innovations" & technolgies like the US, is what caused the ex-Soviet Union's economy to go bust in the first place.

Besides, military experts have conceded that in modern times, aircraft carriers're essentially no better than overpriced, gigantic seafaring coffins & actually obsolete. They're only good for trying to psyche out an opponent. A couple of anti-ship cruise missiles would sort it out. Each missile costing around a few tens of thousands of dollar is quite capable of sinking a hyperpriced coffin worth several billion dollars & there's no defense against these hypersonic nightmares. Definitely a worthwhile exchange at Uncle Sam's expense.

US panic at China's new ship killer

Pentagon warns US arms may be obsolete

New Chinese Missile Can Destroy US Supercarrier in One Go

I still keep my Sinkie Roots and grateful for my SG education. I quit for my own good.
In SG society, no one will take care of you unless you take care of yourself. The old man who coined the term "quitter" has a "quitter" daughter in UK. What does this tell you a lot about the meaning of "quitter"?

In fact, I try to help many Sinkie grads in US here

In a small way, I try to help develop them so they can go back to help SG

Bashing some local sinkies is a necessity to wake them up and make them stronger, more eager to go strike out for their own. In the end, it's for their own good

theres nothing wrong being a quitter . At least we have choice to chose which countries is best for us . home is not a place where you are born , rather its a place where you feel comfortable . :smile:

haha, agreed. if japan were to build their new aircraft carriers today, they will appoint tamiya to do so at 1:1000 scale. their sinking funds will continue to sink. in no time, they may even resort to scrapping their aircraft carriers to reuse the steel.

in due time, expect jap whores to work in our legalized brothels too.

even if japanese whore were to work in singapore , do you think you could afford it ( at the rate your goverment bringing FT , soon you will be out of job ) ? stick to your PRC is more realistic ...:rolleyes:

Haha, Try harder. I have houses in US, not Malaysia. You should just stick to your pigeonhole. Have you even been to US? I can recommend you some here, if you can get a VISA to come here

he dont even have cash to take a ferry to batam ...:wink:

You have houses in the US? LOL. Apparently they forgot to teach you how to write.

Visa?? If you have a Singapore passport you should know we are visa free to US for 6 months. :rolleyes:

Pigeon hole? Yeah. HDB Mansionette, double story pigeoncage.

That is why I was thinking of buying land in your country as a holiday house because it is cheap there. So which part of Johore is good?

so you feel proud staying in HDB MANSIONETTE ? :wink: . you should really step out of singapore ...:biggrin:

Don't need to step out of Singapore.

Go Bukit Timah 6th Ave. can see 3-storey mansion (not maisonette).

Equalisation owns it and lives there. But he can't climb storeys.

He usually hangs go Cold Storage and buy beer or hang around coffeeshop drink beer.

His favorite brand is Tiger. He owns quite a lot of APB shares.

Don't need to step out of Singapore.

Go Bukit Timah 6th Ave. can see 3-storey mansion (not maisonette).

Equalisation owns it and lives there. But he can't climb storeys.

He usually hangs go Cold Storage and buy beer or hang around coffeeshop drink beer.

His favorite brand is Tiger. He owns quite a lot of APB shares.

the only time mehmeh55 step into 6th Ave is when he send pizza to those home owner ...

why you know so much about Equalisation ? :confused:

longbow

End of day depends on country with the money and economy resources. At this poiint in time I think it is Chinese with the $$$ not the Japs. So with money they can buy what they want - including Japan Gov debt!

No point in reinventing wheel. Buy used carrier, flatten the learning curve. In 10 years they will be exporting carriers (ski jump type).

You are wrong with Chinese per capita GDP numbers. Perhaps you are refering to the other other 3rd world "democracy".

What nonsense are your sprouting?

How can you have a strong country without the best weapons built by yourself and having your own cutting-edge technology?

China only buys antiquated technology at a high price and fuck their own workers by giving them a pittance for toiling.

Their ports only reflect the large amount of junks they export every year.

the future of naval air power belongs to drones. the current cvn aircraft carrier system of the usn is fast becoming obsolete. the whole concept of carriers today is to create a huge mobile platform to transport/support hundreds of pilots and dozens of aircraft. with more powerful and agile multi-role drones coming onto the scene, the pilot support eco-system is no longer required on the future carrier. future carriers will be smaller, faster to produce, easier to manage and man, and packs more punch at more places than you can imagine. operational times are shortened due to lack or absence of naval pilot training, which remains the archilles heels of naval air operations.

jimmyfallon

the future of naval air power belongs to drones. the current cvn aircraft carrier system of the usn is fast becoming obsolete. the whole concept of carriers today is to create a huge mobile platform to transport/support hundreds of pilots and dozens of aircraft. with more powerful and agile multi-role drones coming onto the scene, the pilot support eco-system is no longer required on the future carrier. future carriers will be smaller, faster to produce, easier to manage and man, and packs more punch at more places than you can imagine. operational times are shortened due to lack or absence of naval pilot training, which remains the archilles heels of naval air operations.

Drones still need a base to operate and have no inflight refueling capability. Thats the whole point of a carrier, the ability to deploy quickly and project power.

if you have an iota of reading comprehension skills, i'm talking about drones operating from a carrier, albeit a smaller one, and replacing navy pilots.

manokie

End of day depends on country with the money and economy resources. At this poiint in time I think it is Chinese with the $$$ not the Japs. So with money they can buy what they want - including Japan Gov debt!

No point in reinventing wheel. Buy used carrier, flatten the learning curve. In 10 years they will be exporting carriers (ski jump type).

You are wrong with Chinese per capita GDP numbers. Perhaps you are refering to the other other 3rd world "democracy".

China is rich now but note that they were even richer in Qing Dynasty as compared to other nations at that time.

And what happened? :rolleyes: