• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FAP Allow PRCs to Depress Wages to $500 PM; Strike in the Making

[h=2]Over 100 PRC workers at Panasonic’s Singapore start a petition[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
August 21st, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

A group of over 100 PRC workers at Panasonic Refrigeration Devices Singapore Pte Ltd have started a petition, drawing attention to their grievances. They started the petition after negotiation with their management failed.
The petition originally written in Chinese was addressed to the Managing Director of Panasonic Asia Pacific, Yorihisa Shiokawa. It was signed by 118 PRC workers. They are also urging others who face similar issues to join in the petition:
pana.jpg

Some of the grievances highlighted in the petition include:
(1) They have requested to have a copy of their employment contract from the company many times but claimed that their requests were turned down.
(2) Their basic pay of $500 is too little. They said they have to work illegally, exceeding the legal limit of 72 hours of overtime a month before they can earn a decent salary to make a living.
(3) Insufficient overtime notice was given to workers resulting in them unable to plan their own activities properly.
(4) To get the job, a lot of the them have paid $6000 fee each to an employment agency, purportedly designated by the company. They could not understand why Panasonic, a renown international company would want to deal with such an ‘illegal’ agency.
(5) They have tried to discuss these issues with their immediate management but their immediate management did not treat them seriously.
Panasonic, a Japanese multinational corporation posted an operating profit of $618.99 million in the first quarter of 2012. Its Asia-Pacific headquarter is in Singapore.
Meanwhile, Jolovan Wham from the Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (HOME), an organization dedicated to providing assistance to migrant workers and victims of human trafficking and forced labour, posted a note on its Facebook:
“In the last few months, I have been approached by over one hundred migrant Chinese women and men who are factory workers in Panasonic’s plant in Singapore. My colleague and I spoke with the management but we were unable to achieve anything out of the discussions. The workers also failed in their negotiation for better working conditions. Finally, they have decided to send in a petition.”
At $500 per month salary, it’s no wonder employers in Singapore would want to ‘pressure’ the Ministry of Manpower to give them more foreign quota so that they can employ more foreigners to work in their companies. It is also no wonder that our labour productivity continues to be low.
What we are seeing is nothing more than our local employers indulging in a modern-day form of ‘human slavery’, supported by our Govt’s liberal policy in the last few years.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

seesuatah

Wah SGP GDP is one of the highest in the world.

Still give this kind of developing countries standards?

Those people still can sleep so peacefully at night?

Are they stoned with alcohols or drugs?

Are you kidding me? Panasonic refusing to show contracts , $500 etc. Sounds like their HR is pocketing the some or most of the $6K.

Cruxx

Even when it comes to fighting for rights and freedoms, Sinkies still need to rely on foreigners. Pathetic, really. What exactly are Singaporeans good at? :rolleyes:

kingrant

Sure sounds like the chickens are coming home to roost!

PRCs are a pain in the ass to hire as workers and can be very difficult to handle. The people who hired them now deserve the treatment. They are not"kan tan".

Indians, on the contrary, are more subservient and ingratiating. You know they will "sir" you here and "sir" you there? Indian companies and their bosses hire them not for nothing. These Indian workers know they can be kicked back to India at the drop of a hat if they make noise. Remember that injured Indian worker who was left to die in the drain? Someone else whistle blew on the Sinkie Chinkie boss, who has now been indicted.

So Indian bosses are smarter than Sinkie Chinkie bosses. Unfortunately.

I_Hate_Pappies

Even when it comes to fighting for rights and freedoms, Sinkies still need to rely on foreigners. Pathetic, really. What exactly are Singaporeans good at? :rolleyes:

KNN! Sibeh true. Need these FTs to teach them how to fight for rights and freedom.:rolleyes:

1. bro, all daft sheep are very good, oops! excellent at following instructions from its grand masters to the dot!
2. get it!

moolightaffairs

that is why i keep saying the same thing in the forum. pap like FT and keep on letting them in. they do not grow up here, they dont give a damn for anything here. make money and go back even given pink ic. once all these FT kena the same shit we kena, they will be the first to make noise and take action. trust me, first revolution in sg not by true blue singaporean but FT. sadly, it is going to cost us dearly because this is where our root is. the only way to stop all these from happening is to vote pap out. pls give your vote to any oppositions than pap. thanks.

cowpehcowbu

Are you kidding me? Panasonic refusing to
show contracts , $500 etc. Sounds like their HR is pocketing the some or most of the $6K.

It is open knowledge that these are modern day slavery, these poor workers have to pay exhorbitant agency n processing fees up to 15 months of salary,,n romors that a lot of kick back happened in this cheap labour market.....