• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News! 200 SMRT bus drivers went on strike!

Fishypie

Good to see the misunderstanding resolved. The air has been cleared. There was an obvious breakdown in language as the PRC Mandarin used differs from Singapore Mandarin. There was no refusal to work. As they were not union members, proper representation was not possible and no fault of them or the employer.

Singaporeans should act responsibly and not spread malicious rumours.

"CNA spoke to one Ryan Chang Wen Bao who is a PRC driver and part of the group who stood outside the Dorm at 4am. Ryan Chang said we were all ready to work and we were all wearing out uniforms. When the shift buses came to fetch us at 4am, my colleague asked the driver if he could relay a message to talk about our pay as we did not understand the new structure. Anyway I cannot speak more on this as we were told that this is confidential"

Bro, you are a dangerous man.You basically whipped up all the fervour; and now you are the very one to play that very opposite role.Dont ever play play with a guy like you..:eek:
Wah sibei heng never one to be involved into any politickings; not with people like you stirring things around.:cool:
You have shown me today what i feared most.

Public announcement:
If any of you have stock holdings in one or both public transport operators, please be mindful about the possibility of further wage/benefits negotiations with unionized staff and its impact on the bottom line of their respective holding companies. I can't say I know exactly how things will develop from here.

Extremist

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7yDv2r783Tk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>..........

Extremist

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/m3pmOJIg0dA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>............

Extremist

Transport operator SMRT has just released this statement on the mainland Chinese bus drivers who did not turn up for work this morning:

"This morning, 102 of our Service Leaders (SLs) for our buses who were recruited from China (PRC) did not show up for work. As a result of their absence, a number of our bus services were affected. We apologise to commuters and the public who were inconvenienced by the affected bus services.

In recent salary adjustments for our SLs, SMRT gave salary increment to all SLs who joined the company before July 2012. These 102 PRC SLs were not happy with their increment. We regret that they chose to express their unhappiness about their salaries in this manner, especially when our lines of communication with them are always open.

Talks between our management and the SLs started this morning and ended this evening at about 6 pm. This group of PRC SLs will be returning to work tomorrow.

We thank Ministry of Manpower and Ministry of Home Affairs for their assistance in this matter.

Once again, we apologise to commuters and the public for the inconvenience caused."

Bro, since you are new, will help you. Go google "satire". In good satire, you mist leave a clue. In this case its the name "Ryan". Ryan Goh was the SIA pilot that was behind the strike and he was crucified by the old man at the Istana.

What do think happened that resolved the situation so quickly and why the one week? The clue is in SMRT statement thanking MHA which has nothing to do with Transport or labour matters. They are going to get a rocket for thanking MHA.

Note how the press toed the line faithfully. The family that owned Nanyang Siang Pau is now in Canada after the brother who was the general manager was released from detention.

Welcome to Singapore and the press as we know it. It is indeed a strike. You go anyone in the world and everyone will say its a strike. It is not even grey.

Bro, you are a dangerous man.You basically whipped up all the fervour; and now you are the very one to play that very opposite role.Dont ever play play with a guy like you..:eek:
Wah sibei heng never one to be involved into any politickings; not with people like you stirring things around.:cool:
You have shown me today what i feared most.

Char_Azn

Indeed. What good is it to be unionized under the NTWU if transient workforce is essentially getting the same perks and benefits as the 'locals'? (which is loosely defined as SG, SG PRs and Msians)

If transient are getting the same perks and benefits as locals than there is no incentive for companies to hire foreign workers. The best thing MoM can do for locals is to ensure Foreigners are paid the same as locals.

Logisex

If the Ang Chia there were to use tear gas and water cannons to disperse the crowd, the PRCs back home will attack Sinkies and their properties.

watchman8

If transient are getting the same perks and benefits as locals than there is no incentive for companies to hire foreign workers. The best thing MoM can do for locals is to ensure Foreigners are paid the same as locals.
You sound like pap. With your solution the result will be low pay for drivers, to the extend that only young drivers from poor countries will want this job. Road safety be damned.

MBSSLOTS

yep. local join union for what?
pay union fees to go cheaper chalet and discount at ntuc supermart.

PAP HAS MAKE A MOCKERY OUT OF NTUC.

watchman8

yep. local join union for what?
pay union fees to go cheaper chalet and discount at ntuc supermart.

PAP HAS MAKE A MOCKERY OUT OF NTUC.
The notion of of tripartite arrangement is the workers to be gang raped by pap and employers. NTUC is actually CUNT, aptly named for their role. PAP believes that workers has to be raped as this is only way for everyone to make a living.

Char_Azn

You sound like pap. With your solution the result will be low pay for drivers, to the extend that only young drivers from poor countries will want this job. Road safety be damned.

That can be easily solved with a quota on FW in place. Oh wait it is!!!!!

Please use some common sense.

If U are paying so low that the local bus drivers are not able to survive on that wage, they will not be doing the work simply because they cannot survive. There are many other jobs out that will let them earn a better living. U go setup a bus company offering only 1K a month to bus drivers. See if you can get anyone to sign up.

If they are paying the local bus drivers and bus companies are forced to pay the same wage to FW as they do foreigners than they will not go to look for foreigners unless they really have to because they no longer have the incentive of getting cheap labor. In fact it is more expensive to get a foreigner. Why than would U want to get a foreigner over a local?

If the Ang Chia there were to use tear gas and water cannons to disperse the crowd, the PRCs back home will attack Sinkies and their properties.

Made sense. Like Japanese company in China.
Sg dare not to provoke PRC. Whole Suzhou will be in trouble.

MBSSLOTS

The notion of of tripartite arrangement is the workers to be gang raped by pap and employers. NTUC is actually CUNT, aptly named for their role. PAP believes that workers has to be raped as this is only way for everyone to make a living.

PAP is Poke And Poke? :smile: