• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bosses should take wage cut - Does this apply to Government Ministers?

mwjng

Bosses should take wage cut

Thu, Nov 20, 2008
my paper

SENIOR management of companies that need to cut employees' pay should lead by example - by reducing their salaries earlier, or accepting similar or deeper cuts.

This is because 'the principle and spirit of leadership by example should prevail' when the need to trim costs arises, according to guidelines issued yesterday, recommending cost-cutting steps companies can implement during the downturn.

Companies should also maintain close consultations with unions and be transparent.

The guidelines, issued by the Manpower Ministry, Singapore National Employers Federation and the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), are an updated version of the Tripartite Guidelines on Managing Excess Manpower, launched in 2001.

One measure in the revised guidelines is the Monthly Variable Component, which forms part of the basic pay. It allows firms to adjust wages quickly, without having to wait until the end of the year.

As with the 2001 recommendations, these guidelines urge companies to consider retrenchment only as a last resort.

Businesses that have excess manpower as a result of insufficient work are advised to adopt alternatives, such as redeployment, a shorter work week, flexible work schedule or flexible- wage system.

They should also send excess workers for skills training. Said NTUC deputy secretary- general Heng Chee How:

'This economic crisis will test not only the survival instincts of companies and workers, but also their core values.'

Welcoming the move, Mr Ian Fong, managing director of accredited advertising agency Sirius Art, told my paper that in a crisis, all in a company should take wage cuts, but senior staff should volunteer a higher cut.

'If I could contribute 5 to 10 per cent ofmy pay to save an employee's job, I would,' he said.

======================================

Just wondering if this 'manpower doctrine' also apply to our country leaders so that the "the principle and spirit of leadership by example should prevail", or do they adopt another typical "behind-the-scene, not privy to the general population" rule?

Or through other grossly twisted mindset, we should consider giving our leaders a raise in their wages to motivate them to pull us out of this recession?

By the same argument given by the town council and the ministry of finance, the exposure to risky investments is 'peanuts' and represent only a tiny faction of the overall investments'. Hence even by increasing their salaries by another 50%, this would only represent a tiny faction (a few %) of our budget and hence it would be well worth it.

Somehow this twisted self-protecting mindset is very worrying. There is not a shred of moral high ground left in the men in charge.

We are really at ground-zero now. Sad but true.

sherrry

Their salary & perks are pegged to the top earners in the private sectors, on top of that, they also enjoy benefits of civil sectors. Receving the best of both worlds.

As examplified many times over, they have infinite immunity for any form or responsibility and/or obligation to make sacrifices, for the better of the country & countrymen.

Einfield

HQ want me to cut my head count, I call all my guys in, we decided to take part of our wages to pay those on the chopping board, keeping them employed, the best part is, we are still a profitable outfit, we fight back and tell HQ screw you. Mess with us some more, we will all resign and start a company next door taking away all customer giving them 50% discount.

Those who contributed to the company will not walk out of the office with a paper box in hand and a bow head.

Don't think that NTUC, Dirty Harry or Clown prince will come to your rescue, you have to rescue yourself and those under your care. Sinkies have no guts to fight the real fight, only act big when their opponent is smaller and weaker.

VeryWise

Don't think that NTUC, Dirty Harry or Clown prince will come to your rescue, you have to rescue yourself and those under your care. Sinkies have no guts to fight the real fight, only act big when their opponent is smaller and weaker.

Yes, never count on them. Seriously, except for local SMEs, I don't think the major MNCs will take them seriously. If a corporate decide to cut, each region will be allocated some headcounts to reduce, no matter what the government can do. Unless the government pays for the salary of the allocation, the axe will be executed. I was retrenched recently although my boss tried to save me. However, our region die die has to come out with one head. Btw, my company is still making money but less.

DIVISION1

Come on, the government of Singapore has been doing a stellar job. We should not penalize them. Replacements like them are difficult to find and there are good jobs waiting for them in the private sector.

Pek Kim Lui

hq want me to cut my head count, i call all my guys in, we decided to take part of our wages to pay those on the chopping board, keeping them employed, the best part is, we are still a profitable outfit, we fight back and tell hq screw you. Mess with us some more, we will all resign and start a company next door taking away all customer giving them 50% discount.

Those who contributed to the company will not walk out of the office with a paper box in hand and a bow head.

now this is what i call leadership! Kudos to you bro! :smile:

Cthulhu

HQ want me to cut my head count, I call all my guys in, we decided to take part of our wages to pay those on the chopping board, keeping them employed, the best part is, we are still a profitable outfit, we fight back and tell HQ screw you. Mess with us some more, we will all resign and start a company next door taking away all customer giving them 50% discount.

You are very noble. I hope you don't kena backstabbed by ingrates when the situation is reversed.

Einfield

You are very noble. I hope you don't kena backstabbed by ingrates when the situation is reversed.

When I go head on to clash with my ang moh big wig years few ago , I'm prepared to get chop.

I told them more then once, they are most welcome to shut us all down.

I have Plan B and Plane C in place, I make sure when that day come, we will continue.

I have very loyal workers, I won't let them down.

Einfield

now this is what i call leadership! Kudos to you bro! :smile:

Good people don't deserve to be treated like shit, my Ang Moh counterpart is treated very badly in his own country.

He reported to work as usual and was ask to pack and leave on the spot, escorted by his Manager. He served the company for 16 years. He keep asking the HR guy what he did wrong and the HR guy just pat his back and smile.

When I go back to HQ, which I hated, I was very touched when a few of the old staff, all ask to leave recently, drove more then an hour just to come meet up with me.

I brought then a good dinner and had a good chat with them, they are all very good people who are skillful and build the company from ground up.

Unfortunately, it is those newly hired Managers who don't know the business calling the shot.

That is why I have no respect for my Ang Moh Boss and he is afraid to talk to me, he know I don't give a shit about him and I don't follow his leadership.

lifeafter41

Come on, the government of Singapore has been doing a stellar job. We should not penalize them. Replacements like them are difficult to find and there are good jobs waiting for them in the private sector.

They are not being penalise. They are our leaders, they should lead by example. Isn't it?.

In fact, they should even forgo all the bonuses as the economy is not doing well, as in some of the US financial companies, where the top 7 chiefs of the company is doing that. Don't you think so Div 1?.

2lanu

Not lead by example but their heads must roll... How Lee Regime going to justify US$50B paper loss? I guessed the whole economy here add up dun lose that much.

2lanu

Unfortunately, it is those newly hired Managers who don't know the business calling the shot.

That is why I have no respect for my Ang Moh Boss and he is afraid to talk to me, he know I don't give a shit about him and I don't follow his leadership.

There are many kinds of reasons that can be conceived just to get the staff to exit. But I tend to think it in a way that, "who is holding the knife by the handle, while another holding the blade."

DrPanacea

Yes agreed they HAD done a stellar job, but that was in the PAST. But in the last 2 decades they have cared more for themselves than their countrymen.
Why do we need to have the world's highest paid ministers when they cannot create jovs???????
It's time for change to have a new set of more capable people in power.

sir cum-a-lot

if there really were jobs waiting for them in the pte sector, then why bother including the 2 already should be retired blokes on the pay roll?