• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Mika14, so sorry to hear, whats the brand and model of your bike? Did you make a report? I know people will tell you its useless. I was told the same thing when i had the accident, now it looks like i have won the case as they found the guy and he didn't dare to turn up in the end after making us wait for him twice.

Skippy

Saw three puppies today on my way in, 2 Golden retrievers for RM 2k together. 1 Husky for RM 1.8k.
The 2 goldies are siblings so the shop owner reminded us not to breed them. I was very keen to buy
and neuter them but wife said no so in the end didn't buy

Wow Bro Wuqi... where did u see them... i also wanted to buy golden retriever... sadly my house still not ready yet... hmm.... though house not very big... but i love dogs.. hee hee.. hope all these can be in place soon... In sg.. i got 2 maltese... one passed away couple of years back... i hope when the hse ready.. i'll bring the current and also get one bigger dog...

Btw i think your wifey not ready.. or perhaps got baby she's more concern... well i'm sure you'll have chance to own one too...

Bro DOA... don hesitate too long... if you feel that right for the house you'll find peace with the bank. Hence wish you good news soon!

Cheers.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Actually i have been using SG CC to pump petrol for a while now, only for my MY cars though as my SG car is a bit older so i used the better octane for it anyway.
One can actually use SG CC to do it especially at night when you don't want to go to the counter.

Things i always do when overseas and pumping petrol at night:

1. Press the release button for your petrol door.
2. Look left, look right, look behind. Hold if you see a motorcycle coming fast.
3. Lock your car. Go to the petrol station counter or the pump.
4. Pump and keep a watchful eye, hand on the gun or pump. Ready to spray the eyes.
5. Finish pumping/paying, while going back to car, watch the backseat.

I will never stop if i hear metallic sounds and even if i do, i will lock the car
door before stepping down. Always close and lock your doors for any reason
if you need to stop and get off, even no matter how briefly

If you are stopped, first thing to do is not to fight but to run. Only if you cannot
run, then give your wallet away. After all, all that the person wants is your wallet,
not your life.

If its your life however and you have to be forced to defend yourself, prepare and
go all the way.

When in doubt, do remember your car has a lot of defensive and offensive items.

Always never open the car door if someone threatens loudly. If your car engine is running,
move off straightaway. Don't care if the person gets injured, after all, he is not concerned
about your safety is he?

If you can't move off, sound your horn and flash your lights.

You have at least 6-10 seconds to press the horn and get the weapons so make the
most of your time. If you have a remote and your car engine is off/cannot be turned on/cannot move off, then
use your remote control to lock your doors. That way, even if the glass is broken and they get your door open,
your alarm will keep sounding.

Everything can become a weapon. Press the horn and if you have tyre iron, steering lock or a fruit knife, you
already have your weapon.

For ladies going back home at night and if you get followed, then do not go to dark areas to avoid the person.
Go to any store and borrow their phones or use your mobile phone to call for help. Look at the face of the person
as most people will refrain from doing anything back once you see their face clearly. If there are nothing around you,
kick the door area of the cars as the alarms will sound. (Not too hard lest your dent innocent guys doors)

Always run, fight only at the last resort but when you are fighting, don't stay around to finish the job(unless you know
he is after your life), the minute the guy is down. Run.

Get rammed by a car from the behind for no reason and you saw from the rear view mirror that there are a lot of aggressive looking guys.
Do not stop, drive straight to the nearest police station and call for help. Even a petrol station would be good if you have nowhere else to
go.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wow Bro Wuqi... where did u see them... i also wanted to buy golden retriever... sadly my house still not ready yet... hmm.... though house not very big... but i love dogs.. hee hee.. hope all these can be in place soon... In sg.. i got 2 maltese... one passed away couple of years back... i hope when the hse ready.. i'll bring the current and also get one bigger dog...

Btw i think your wifey not ready.. or perhaps got baby she's more concern... well i'm sure you'll have chance to own one too...

Bro DOA... don hesitate too long... if you feel that right for the house you'll find peace with the bank. Hence wish you good news soon!

Cheers.

Really tempted, price and the cuteness. One keeps barking as if pleading with me. Feel heart strings being pulled. I used to have several dogs.
2 types i love. Large breed poodle and Golden retriever. Very good experience.

One became my bolster and pillow as i slept on the floor when young.
The other, super obedient and will put any MP to shame with its discipline.
My Russian friend (who gave him to me) always said its Spetnaz standard.

DREAMorACTION

Thanks sis. Won't let the house go for sure. It's just some other things bothering me...

Cheers.

greddy88

Actually i have been using SG CC to pump petrol for a while now, only for my MY cars though as my SG car is a bit older so i used the better octane for it anyway.
One can actually use SG CC to do it especially at night when you don't want to go to the counter.

2. Look left, look right, look behind. Hold if you see a motorcycle coming fast.
4. Pump and keep a watchful eye, hand on the gun or pump. Ready to spray the eyes.

I will never stop if i hear metallic sounds and even if i do, i will lock the car

If you are stopped, first thing to do is not to fight but to run. Only if you cannot
run, then give your wallet away. After all, all that the person wants is your wallet,
not your life.

If its your life however and you have to be forced to defend yourself, prepare and
go all the way.

Always never open the car door if someone threatens loudly. If your car engine is running,
move off straightaway. Don't care if the person gets injured, after all, he is not concerned
about your safety is he?

You have at least 6-10 seconds to press the horn and get the weapons so make the
most of your time. If you have a remote and your car engine is off/cannot be turned on/cannot move off, then
use your remote control to lock your doors. That way, even if the glass is broken and they get your door open,

Everything can become a weapon. Press the horn and if you have tyre iron, steering lock or a fruit knife, you

For ladies going back home at night and if you get followed, then do not go to dark areas to avoid the person.
Go to any store and borrow their phones or use your mobile phone to call for help. Look at the face of the person
as most people will refrain from doing anything back once you see their face clearly. If there are nothing around you,
kick the door area of the cars as the alarms will sound. (Not too hard lest your dent innocent guys doors)

Always run, fight only at the last resort but when you are fighting, don't stay around to finish the job(unless you know

Get rammed by a car from the behind for no reason and you saw from the rear view mirror that there are a lot of aggressive looking guys.
Do not stop, drive straight to the nearest police station and call for help. Even a petrol station would be good if you have nowhere else to
go.

yes, that is a good survival guide, not only for use in jb, but anywhere else in the world!

Drops of Jupiter

Thanks spidey for the tips. My friend says to avoid driving along the road shoulder as village boys put nails to trap motorists. True or not, i don't know.

Am driving after sunrise tomorrow, can't wait for the break!

Separate qn: I bought a Celcom SIM card in KL last month and was told it will expire in March if not topup. However after a few topups the expiry date still didn't extend. Anyone has any idea how to keep a prepaid simcard valid for a few months ??

Digi has a 'long life' plan - 30 RM for 1 year. Can just sign up thru your phone
http://www.digi.com.my/prepaid/reload.do

arsenal

Haven't tried BHP.. Is the fuel good?

Actually i use mainly BHP, only Petronas when i am in a rush for time or when i am tired as BHP is quite far from where i live. One new BHP station is opening soon, opposite side of the road of Perling Mall.

Grago

Cheers.

just wondering.. anyone keep guard dogs?
any rules towards that, like size, noise, must be restrained, etc.

I think in your DMC it would state whether one could have pets........ HH DMC has a clause that does not allow pets!!!!

Ha ha.. Ok peace..

When I heard the word "hai sio.." I couldn't stop find it very amusing.. I didn't think of dirty things.. I just find Taiwanese are so creatively in coming out with words like that... All in all nothing dirty or abusing pictures come into my mind... I asked Yong bro to apologize because I think for small matter like this, apologise to the lady first.. From our experiences with our wife, we all know when woman are angry, they don't talk logic... Small matter give it to them.. Big matter like buying house or building road, we got to decide..
For sis ginfreely, I think she is an upright person and those that willing to fight for people.. Me too.. I always fight for people that I think nobody care... We feel for the poor folks in Singapore and angry that govt is always in denial... After last election, thanks goodness.. They really do a bit more for the poor.. I am glad and count my blessing.. However I don't mind words like " hai sio.." I laugh when I see the word.. Me definitely not dirty old man.. However as in forum there are people of all kind..got to give them some space because everyone see things differently from their scope and their experience in life..

Sammyboy is a notoriously dirty web site.. But can't be bothered duh... When you go to European countries and see the kind of crude channels broadcast in the evening to all audiences... "hay sio" is nothing.. Just for a laugh....

Thank you for your compliment. I just thought that by keeping this thread clean, more ladies can come in to gain knowledge and share about living in JB and won't be deterred by any crude remarks. They will then be supportive of their husbands' big decision to buy house in JB or maybe buy one themselves. Huat ah!

Cheers.

Last time I saw GlobalPets at Bestari got sell golden retriever, not puppy but five month old one. Saw a bulldog on sale, it was more than a year old already. They also had one German Shepherd then.

wufucheng

not your life.

go all the way.

about your safety is he?

go.

When U come out from the Bank, make it a habit to check your car tyres b4 driving off

Chillout

Will u be able to find out more from your mortgage manager? If its that good, I wanna consider them too. Yours is BLR-2.4?

I took my loan with UOB. Flexi-loan and I pay interest only on the difference of the loan and my deposits. Interest always sets in the moment the first dollar is disbursed. I see many forumers not happy with UOB bankers but I am very happy with the service of my banker, which is not a norm in Johor. Everything is done in Singapore. Even my lawyer brought the docs for me to sign. PM me and I will get my banker to contact you.

toyohon

Najib unveils 27 EPPS, 32 quality living projects in Iskandar Malaysia

Business
News
http://www.mysinchew.com/node/71184
2012-03-09 15:06

JOHOR BAHRU, March 9 (Bernama) -- Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak today announced 27 Entry Point Projects (EPPs) and 32 Quality Living Projects to be implemented in the Iskandar Malaysia economic corridor.

The projects are expected to woo RM139.3 billion in cumulative domestic and foreign investments, he said.

To be implemented between this year and till 2020, the projects would contribute RM25.57 billion to the Gross National Income (GNI), said Najib, who is also Finance Minister.

The EPPs and Quality Living Projects, which formed part of the Corridor Transformation Programme and Quality Living Project, are expected to create 68,000 jobs in tourism, education and oil and gas sectors, he said when launching the programme and Iskandar Malaysia City at Persada Johor here.

Najib's wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, and Menteri Besar, Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman, were present.

Najib said the programme was "hatched" by the City and Corridor Laboratory between September and November last year under the supervision of the Performance Management and Delivery Unit (Pemandu) in the Prime Minister's Department.

The prime minister said the 27 EPPs in Iskandar Malaysia entails three economic sectors -- tourism, education and oil and gas, with the targeted GNI of RM25.3 billion until 2020.

He said eight of the EPPs are in the education sector as part of efforts to enhance schools, private and international tertiary learning institutions' participation.

The move would also transform Iskandar Malaysia into an excellence centre for innovations and research and development, he said.

Najib said 13 of the EPPs were planned for the tourism sector, particularly to ensure tourists' movements into Iskandar Malaysia were not hampered by traffic congestion and lack of infrastructures.

"One project to be implemented immediately is the road upgrading to ensure smooth entry to Iskandar Malaysia for all modes of transport," he said, adding that more hotels would also be built to accommodate tourists.

Najib said the government would also create unique tourism attractions and world-class theme parks besides entertainment in the form of shopping complexes and sports events.

The prime minister said six EPPs would be implemented at the state-level oil and gas sector until 2020.

He said the projects would not be confined to Iskandar Malaysia only but would also include Pengerang in south-east Johor.

The projects entails construction of terminals and petroleum support service hubs in Tanjung Langsat, a petroleum terminal in Tanjung Bin, another petroleum terminal and an integrated industrial complex and a petroleum trading hub in Pengerang, he said.

Najib said the 27 EPPs would contribute distinctly to Iskandar Malaysia's rapid growth.

He said the Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) would continue to develop the economic sectors -- petrochemical, oleochemical, electrical and electronics engineering, foodstuff and agriculture produce processing and services sectors -- at Iskandar Malaysia.

The prime minister said the City and Corridor Laboratory has identified three areas that needed immediate action to improve the quality of life in Iskandar Malaysia.

They are crime prevention, road and urban public transport, city rejuvenation, besides 32 quality living projects identified, he said.

Najib said the quality living projects need RM24.5 million for implementation, with RM14.2 billion or 58 per cent borne by public funds, while the balance RM10.3 billion or 42 per cent by the private sector.

He said 10 quality living projects would be implemented under the crime prevention initiative and 12 projects would be carried out in Iskandar Malaysia under the road and urban public transport programme.

For the city rejuvenation project, Najib said the laboratory has listed 11 projects to infuse "new breath" and upgrade Johor Baharu City's landscape to provide a fresh charm and regain its past glory.

The prime minister said he believed the Iskandar Malaysia City and Corridor Transformation Programme would drastically change the landscape of Johor Bahru, Pengerang and Mersing.

"I dare to say here the transformation agenda being implemented by the government was far better than from reformation," he added.

toyohon

Published: Friday March 9, 2012 MYT 10:22:00 PM
Updated: Friday March 9, 2012 MYT 10:25:26 PM

PM: Govt finalising EDL toll issue
By NELSON BENJAMIN and YEE XIANG YUN

JOHOR BARU: Those who do not use the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) will not be required to pay toll charges.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said Friday the Government was finalising some technical issues over the link and would make an announcement in two weeks.

He acknowledged that the Government was aware about this issue which affected the people.

It was previously reported in The Star that the 8.1km EDL, which is almost completed, would force motorists travelling to Singapore via the Johor Causeway to pay about five times more than the present RM2.90 paid for both ways to PLUS Bhd.

Motorists would have had to pay the proposed RM6.20 toll charge if they entered the Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) Complex using routes other than the EDL, since the toll booths would be located within the complex.

A trip to and from Singapore would see motorists forking out RM15.30 for the journey.

The link, which costs RM1.1bil, links the North-South Expressway to the Johor CIQ, and was developed by MRCB Bhd.

arsenal

I saw the golden retrievers, husky too.. It is at one of the shop facing the main road outside Nusa Idaman..
I also saw the green snakes, lizards etc. the collections is as good as a mini zoo.. I love dogs.. My korean friends also love dogs.. I find dogs lovely... They find dogs delicious...

Last time I saw GlobalPets at Bestari got sell golden retriever, not puppy but five month old one. Saw a bulldog on sale, it was more than a year old already. They also had one German Shepherd then.

avalon74

Caltex petrol good? Do you know where is caltex in bukit indah/bestari area?

Besteri din see Caltex.. to me no diff at all since I do not feel any improvement from Shell fuelsave..
For me, will drive to pelangi to pump prior exiting from causeway..

avalon74

Thanks bro for sharing. If 0.5%, the impact will be small, I agree. In this case, it's 1.5%, quite a big gap leh. Cannot accept le ...

[/I]

Can check with banks do they provide current acct & online access.. I can do payment to SAJ (water), Tenaga Nasional (electricity) & MPJBT (cukai) hence easier to manage.. understand some banks dun

Status
Not open for further replies.