• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I was given only $9.50 for 18 days' work

Muthukali

ltpay.jpg

HOW would you react if you were paid $9.50 for 18 days of work?

That's the amount Mr Rafiq Miah Abdur Rahman claimed he got for hacking walls.

The 27-year-old construction worker claimed that his $259.50 pay for the month of January was reduced to just $9.50 following deductions for food expenses as well as for security deposit and loan payments to his employer.

Although the amounts he took back in subsequent months increase, his pay was a fraction of what he said he was promised by an agent in Bangladesh – about $1,200 per month basic, plus overtime pay.

Migrant worker welfare groups, Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (Home) and Transient Workers Count Too (TWC2), told TNP that migrant workers in Singapore like Mr Rafiq are often caught in a bind.

rodent2005

Why does TNP think this is Singaporeans' problem? Why didn't TNP should go after the Bangla agent and the employer for a more in depth story?

RonRon

this man do shitty hard jobs Sinkie dun want to do,anyone know how to contact him? I want to listen to the full story and help him to get back what he deserve

Those stupid NGO's people should not believe in these Banglas, once they get hear they become enterprising. They make money from being Money lenders ( or agent for), sell Phone Cards, sell food packets, sell whatever they can steal from their employers, sell illegal cigarettes & many other things. Those who come crying for help, are those who stupidly loose money or cheated their own fellow countrymen or others.

They are clever to go M.O.M., or straight to the Bangladeshi Embassy for help, All of them claim, they don't know what the sign with their Bangladeshi agents, before they come to SINgapore, all bullshits!:mad:

Cruxx

this man do shitty hard jobs Sinkie dun want to do,anyone know how to contact him? I want to listen to the full story and help him to get back what he deserve

Why don't you help Sinkies get back the CPF they deserve instead? Useless PAP dog :rolleyes:

U r right bro. these people are just scums,, siding with the Foreigners over locals. The thing is TNP should not have reported on this and more on the plight of Singaporeans,..also,,if they did interview the Bosses etc, the Media will make it sound like, its the bosses fault, or decline to comment etc,,,

To me,, the contract is signed between the worker and the employer,,if there are unfair terms,,settle it with MOM,,if MOM finds out its the Blanga that is lying etc,,deport them back straight away, NQA..that will make sure they dont cheat and abuse the system

With all these Transit Workers crap,,they stand up for the foreigners but do they stand up for Singaporeans? The ones that vote and do matter??? The ones that have a stake in this country??

No offense to Vincent Vijasingha,,or however u spell it,,,focus more on Singapore and Singaporeans issues,,this sort of foreigner things, Singaporeans dont care as they have their own rice bowls to worry about...

This Vincent guy makes good speeches during the Election, its time for him to buck up on helping Singaporeans,,,not all these left wing liberal crap

U r right bro. these people are just scums,, siding with the Foreigners over locals. The thing is TNP should not have reported on this and more on the plight of Singaporeans,..also,,if they did interview the Bosses etc, the Media will make it sound like, its the bosses fault, or decline to comment etc,,,

To me,, the contract is signed between the worker and the employer,,if there are unfair terms,,settle it with MOM,,if MOM finds out its the Blanga that is lying etc,,deport them back straight away, NQA..that will make sure they dont cheat and abuse the system

With all these Transit Workers crap,,they stand up for the foreigners but do they stand up for Singaporeans? The ones that vote and do matter??? The ones that have a stake in this country??

No offense to Vincent Vijasingha,,or however u spell it,,,focus more on Singapore and Singaporeans issues,,this sort of foreigner things, Singaporeans dont care as they have their own rice bowls to worry about...

This Vincent guy makes good speeches during the Election, its time for him to buck up on helping Singaporeans,,,not all these left wing liberal crap

Foremost, the Banglas, Indians are great liars. They would go to their respective embassies & seek refuge first then M.O.M., MOM would not be sending them back home so fast, for it is their 'cash cows'. They will make them remain here & calculate how much the employers are owing first, collect that, then it is the employer's responsiblity to get them off SINgapore.

Not that, there aren't any employers that abuses the workers, the higher percentage would be the so called, 'ignorant' 'poor thing' Banglas etc..

Our own SINgapore workers gets less support or even help from any body here..why are these NGO's so concern with these people??

Charity begins at home...

Foremost, the Banglas, Indians are great liars. They would go to their respective embassies & seek refuge first then M.O.M., MOM would not be sending them back home so fast, for it is their 'cash cows'. They will make them remain here & calculate how much the employers are owing first, collect that, then it is the employer's responsiblity to get them off SINgapore.

Not that, there aren't any employers that abuses the workers, the higher percentage would be the so called, 'ignorant' 'poor thing' Banglas etc..

Our own SINgapore workers gets less support or even help from any body here..why are these NGO's so concern with these people??

Yes you are right..too bad..in singapore these are lacking...we are getting more pathetic,.

even the vincent chap,,stand for election but support foreigners...sigh

HedgeTrader

Agree. Pity bangala believe bangala is most stupid. They borrow money for air fare and job agency fee. Now deduct back where got wrong? O$P$ where got wrong? They broke our biz izzit? Go back to bangala and ask their gov lah! We have enough problem with our gov already KNN

Their problems starts with their own people, right up to their government officials in Bangladesh or India or...who make money out of these migrant workers. We should not be burden with their so called stupidity, our workers have more than enough problems having to compete for work with the flooding ( not ponding) of FT!'s. They are the ones our own NGO's should be looking after first! The exploitation of local workers!

garlic

TNP should email the bangla agent, CC to Bangla MOM and BCC to bangla worker to show that something was done.