• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LGLab

LGlab, MACS will still be the best bet for the parents as it only costs 30MYR and you don't need a chop after that, (last chop on the day you exit Malaysia after getting MACS) at least from then on until 1 year later. let me know how it goes as they have extended until end of the month.

I am pretty tied up with work/business/managing tentants/helping relatives with their questions and renovation/my own renovation and my wife is pregnant plus i have young kids. Most importantly, i am just a nobody BUT if you need help getting transport, etc. Let me know. There are also vans you can hire cheaply. Another way is to get MM2H for either mom or dad so that way they can get like 10 years VISA straight. Medical wise is also good for them.

My wife and son had medical emergencies recently and had a chance to test out the hospitals ER here first hand. Both experiences though harrowing to me (one middle of the night, one in the very early hours of the morning (just 1 hour after i finished work and fell asleep) was good as the experience and service was positive.

Hi Bro wuqi,

you meant that by getting MACS for my parents they can stand within malaysia without going past the custom to 'renew' every 30 days?

they can stay in the country as long as their MACS remain valid.

Is that what you are trying to tell ?..

There is 1 remarks:-

This sticker remain valid until DD/MM/YYYY

Social Visit Pass issued upon entry is valid for 30 days. Any form of employment is strictly prohibited.

30 days ? so we have to leave malaysia and re-enter again like the chop even we have MACS?

Hmm..

LGLab

Wesbite :- http://www.imi.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=377&Itemid=75&lang=en

I have come access:-

Category B: Issued to Long Term Immigration Pass Holders

Issued to non-Malaysian daily trippers (involved with the development of Iskandar Region projects) that have been endorsed with long term immigration pass (i.e: Employment Pass, Professional Visit Pass, Student Pass, Temporary Working Visit Pass) in order to work or provide related services that shall benefit and contribute to the development of Iskandar Region.

This sticker is also issued to Citizens and Permanent Residents of Singapore that have been endorsed with long term immigration pass (i.e: Employment Pass, Temporary Working Visit Pass, Student Pass, Professional Visit Pass) in order to frequently travel for the purpose of working, studying and staying in Malaysia.

so does this mean that my parents can stay in malaysia with the CAT B applied?

It seems mine is the CAT A type huh?

solowt

List of forummers who have purchased or intend to purchase property in Johor. Hope those guests who are following this thread actively will also create their own account and join 'The List'. (Copy the whole list including this heading. Click 'Reply to Thread'. Paste it in your reply and add your nick and nationality to the list.)
# IMPORTANT - For new members, please try to make your first 10 post anywhere else before adding your nick to this list.

1. Wuqi256 (Singaporean) - The Gateway, The Golf, Nusa Duta.
-Sisters (Singaporean),
-Sister's BF (SPR, East Malaysian [Kuching, Sarawak])
-Relatives (Singaporean),
-Friends (Singaporean, Malaysian (Malacca, KL, Kedah, Pahang, Kelantan [Tenant]), German, Australian, Korean)
-Colleagues (Singaporean, Malaysians, soon to be Italian and UK)
-Total 29 bought so far in Nusajaya
2. Investor (Singaporean) - East Ledang's Phase 2 and Phase 7.
3. Analytical Professor (Singaporean) - Setia Tropika
4. Sanur - Leisure farm's Polo View
5. Sanur's mum - Leisure Farm's Bayou Water Village
6. Sanur's SIL - Leisure Farm's Polo View
7. Jasonjst - Sutera Utama
8. Tansi - Leisure Farm
9. relaxmannn (Singaporean) - Nusajaya
10. nusajayaphile (Singaporean) - The Hills Precinct, Horizon Hills
11. Mahesh - Leisure Farm's Pinggiran Bayou
12. East539 (Singaporean) - Nusajaya
13. East539's Sis & Bro in law (Singaporean) - EL/LF
14. JazJoz - Horizon Hills
15. Lynn - East Ledang
16. TheGolf - Horizon Hills
17. Grago. - Horizon Hills
18. Arsenal (British, North London, home of the gunner) - Horizon Hills
19. Vincentck & Wife (Both Msian, Vincent from Ipoh, Perak; wife from Selangor) - NI
20. mathstub- Horizon Hills
21. ShawnLow (Malaysian, JB Skudai) - Bestari Heights - Astoria
22. Skippy - Horizon Hill The Golf
23. LastResort Family (Singaporean) - Horizon Hills, The Gateway, The Hills & Fairway Suites
24. Kaeel - Nusa Idaman , Hill side Semi D
25. Lord Aragorn - The Straits View Residences, Permas Jaya
26. cathylmg (Singaporean) - Kempas
27. captw (Singaporean) - Bukit Indah, Amelia 1
28. mallow - Nusajaya
29. IskandarRocks (Indian, Sg PR) - East Ledang, Imperia@Puteri Harbour
30. euphony - LF & mt. austin
31. narmi - NI
32. maxpark - Fairway Suites, Indahwalk3
33. Avalon74- Setia Eco Garden
34. Yonglip - Bestari Heights
35. AbuGumGum - Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru
36. 2bFree - HH
37. Aisanbo (Singaporean) - Sky Gardens Residences @ Setia Tropika
38. 29ers - LF
39. Weetabix - HH
40. SeriAustinian - Seri Austin, HH South Golf
41. iamapseudoneem - Nusa Idaman
42. Puteri Harbour (Singaporean) - Imperia@Puteri Harbour
43. Odyssey - HH-Golf
44. darrkie.y - taman molek
45. Leisure - KIV leisure farm pinggiran bayou, east ledang or 1 medini
46. avelc - Nusajaya
47. linked (Singaporean) - East Ledang
48. investjb (Malaysian, Sarawak) - Impiana, Ujana, Casa Almyra, Golden sands, horizon residence
49. limmcd (Malaysian, Johor, Sg PR) - HH, BI, Ujana, Fortune Point, Nusa villa, Horizon Residence
50. spidey (Malaysian, KL, Sg PR) - Bandar Dato Onn
51. Icyraine (Malaysia, Born in Penang, Grow up in KL, Work in JB) - HH (going to seal the deal on coming monday!), Sri Samudera, Golden Sands
52. Blue_S (Malaysian, Sarawak, SPR) - Ujana, Horizon Residence
53. fairies (Singaporean) - Ledang Heights
54. Fairwaysuites (Malaysian, Penang, SPR) - HH Golf and Fairway Suites
55. Ray2104 (Singaporean) -D'Esplanade Residence @ KSL City
56. Crystal (Singaporean) - Nusa Idaman

LGLab

Cat B appears to be for those with Employment Pass, Temporary Working Visit Pass, Student Pass, Professional Visit Pass which probably your parents will not have. Your parents look like they will need to apply for Cat A.

The description of Cat B seems a bit silly, but MACS is not designed to confer on the holder the right of indefinite residence in Malaysia, I think it's merely to facilitate the immigration-clearing process.

As Wuqi said, your best option is to apply for the MM2H scheme and list your entire family as dependants. Then they can stay there without passport worries and never need to leave Malaysia for the next 10 years.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BTW, dear fellow forummers, I have started a new forum just for people who live in, have invested in Johor, or may be thinking of doing so. I hope it will provide more information and the support of you guys is greatly appreciated.

It can be found here: http://iskandarliving.com/forum/index.php and I hope those of you with the relevant expertise can contribute to especially topics that tend to be of a FAQ nature. Thank you!

hmm... ok...
then i still have worries to have my parents' passport to 'chop'..

MM2H requires citizen above 50 to have 300,000 RM into their bank account as FD equal to $125,000 singapore dollars.

then can apply for leh.. not very easy..

pasture8

Hi Pasture
Thanks for sharing the info , my unit is at 8/8 , tomorrow I will go n have a look too . Where is your unit?
The road leading to idaman is open 7am-7pm , so no light. I asked my sales before she metioned that road will manage by the developments building there.

Hi crystal, ours at 8/11, u seen the triangular island? Din realise the size till we see for ourselves on site :smile: huge! I think can even accomodate a playground n some garden benches. We also like the wide garden backlanes...but we have to anticipate misquito breeding issue, need to work on this as a precinct.

crystal_tiong

Hi crystal, ours at 8/11, u seen the triangular island? Din realise the size till we see for ourselves on site :smile: huge! I think can even accomodate a playground n some garden benches. We also like the wide garden backlanes...but we have to anticipate misquito breeding issue, need to work on this as a precinct.

Oh , that time i heard the end lots that all full thats y didnt choose there and also nearby there is TNB ....
but now my sales told me unit 591 is release out again coz loan didnt approve for that buyer....

Batok Seri

Unlike one or two forummer here who behave as if they own Malaysia, i assure you the locals are nothing close to that.

Yes I'm sure you shared with all your Malay friends and neighbours how you were buay song when not allowed to bring your dog to some places and what a letdown it is to see only tudung headed people at Danga Bay. The locals will surely love you more.

vincentck

Vomit and die

This monumental exercise was all for less than S$1500. I tremble to think how long it would have taken for a big sum.

Having vented this on my weblog and here, I am more settled. Easier amidst affordable green space.

Merry Christmas everyone!
hi Mallow, based on your description, I believe the Sg bank has a branch in Msia, right? If you wanna vent further or at least help to ensure that the bank improves the service, please report the matter to the Malaysia National Bank (BNM-Bank Negara Malaysia). There's just too much apathy in the service line in Msia.

Thanks.

LGLab

Hey bro and sisters, remember the guy who is charged 12k by Singtel, please remember to turn off roaming when in JB.

i wonder what the he doing?

the best is dont bring singapore line into JB ..
or use a prepaid card in JB..

this kind of roaming thingy, very hard notice one..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Bro wuqi,

you meant that by getting MACS for my parents they can stand within malaysia without going past the custom to 'renew' every 30 days?

they can stay in the country as long as their MACS remain valid.

Is that what you are trying to tell ?..

There is 1 remarks:-

This sticker remain valid until DD/MM/YYYY

Social Visit Pass issued upon entry is valid for 30 days. Any form of employment is strictly prohibited.

30 days ? so we have to leave malaysia and re-enter again like the chop even we have MACS?

Hmm..

LGlab, just came back from doing a U turn at Tuas side.

For MACS, You might want to consider other visa options but with the MACS, they will still need to be seen
to have left MY (even doing a U turn after clearing is fine) I have just done that just to test again for you.

One thing to note about MACS is that cuts down on the whitecard/stamp plus doublechecking of passport that we have
to go through without it.

Another thing to note here is that there are no stamps/chop required on the passport and sometimes they don't scan as well.
Just treat it as a day trip for them to see some sights, get a van (cheaper than taxi) and take them out and u turn back.
There are good 2nd hand cars available at www.carlist.com.my and i have seen cars by this company called Carwins, very good aftersales service, even covers the warranty up to 6 months.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey bro and sisters, remember the guy who is charged 12k by Singtel, please remember to turn off roaming when in JB.

Thanks for the good guidance, here will definitely not be as bad as in travelling in countries like Taiwan but still good to turn off when not in use. Especially now when both countries Telcos are working closely together.

greddy88

Not to worry TAy JC. As you can see one or two forummers will appear to bring you onto the straight road once you veered off course. They meant well even though sometimes they could be a little bit too harsh. But you have to recognise the fact that you are welcomed. Afterall, I find that if you are friendly towards everyone ( in SG, Malaysia or elsewhere ), 99.9% of the people will be friendly to you. When I first ventured to Malaysia for business 10+ years ago, I got this feeling that the locals simply hated Sporeans and CHINESE in general due to the misconception I was given when I read the newspapers in Spore. However when I got to JB and interacted with them with my very basic bahasa melayu, I find them ultra friendly and down-to-earth. But of course, you have to take the first step to smile.. like how you would smile to a sexy and lovely lady who walk past you.

just to share a pleasant experience in desaru.. (i don't stay in jb or anywhere yet.. just for holiday).
i was driving my sg plated car in the evening after dinner back to the resort, it was raining slightly.
unknowingly, i drove through a huge pothole which dented my rims and punctured my tyres.

i stopped at the roadside, which was in total darkness other than lights from cars. i noticed there were about 5 cars stopped as well.
i came out (should not have.. but in that situation, can't simply sit in the car till day break right?), inspect the damage while 3 abangs approached.
they offered me help as they were also victims of that pothole, waiting for spare tyres (strange they don't carry spares in their boot).

i was pleasantly surprised.. they were not at all hostile, but friendly and helpful.
and btw, i spoke no malay and they spoke no english.. and in the end, they helped me changed my tyre while the other guy shone his torch (and i just watched :-P)

all we hear about robberies and ambushes on sg plate cars are probably rare unlike they report in the 154th

curiouscat

Actually, it was about me being insensitive and unknowningly offended my Malay neighbours. Just look at the mess I am in now with my posting. I am certainly willing to interact and integrate with my neighbour, whoever they are.

All brothers and sisters who are offended by me, I sincerely apologize. Please forgive me, ok?

This is one of the dangers when you are seen as "different" (so the outsider in whatever group it is). When you are in a group of people like you they will just say you messed up. They will not say you are treating us x way because either you think you are better than us or are discriminating against us or... I can understand why people are sensitive around here about being discriminated against or that people would judge them not by their conduct and character but by there outward appearance (since there are so many examples - when looking at job postings, renting a house where they specifically rule out certain people just for what group they are in).

One of the things this can cause is people are then uncomfortable around others when they are different - because the slip ups they make will be attributed special weight. This is sad, because then it can make people reluctant to spend time with others who are different. Because the person has to be worried if they don't know what people will be offended by they can upset people when they were trying to just be nice and open and share with others.

I think the best thing people can do is to assume others are being kind and may slip up and say things in a way that might not be exactly how you would until you have evidence that the person actually is being inconsiderate and rude. It seems to me there are more times when people get upset because they think someone is thinking less of them or looking down on others when really the person just was acting in a way that wouldn't be an issue with those they normally associate with (or where they are most comfortable or whatever). It is important to try and pick up on what makes others uncomfortable and avoid those things. But to me the bigger issue is people not assuming that because another said something that if they said it would mean ... Often the issue is not in what the other person is thinking or doing but it what people assume based on their beliefs of what it must mean. This is actually true with groups of people that are all the same (or even in families) too.

I think by looking for the best way you can take what someone said or did, you will do more to improve how everyone feels than everything else.

And then for those you are close to, let them know when they are missing signals. So if you see they are making others uncomfortable, take them aside and share with them the issue you see. Tell them that they are being too direct. Or when they criticize some activity people are thinking they are criticizing, not the activity, but the whole category of people. Or that they are being rude by ignoring...

I tend to want to be very open and say what is on my mind and tell people if I think they made a mistake or whatever. But for some people this is very disconcerting. When I am in a group of people like me it is just seen as me being me. When I am in a group not like me then it is seen in worse terms. This even happens just say if someone is the youngest (at work say) and they associate with people that are older by and large and then they behave differently it is seen not as their personality but them not showing enough respect, these young people are all x way, the young don't understand...

Often the diversity is exactly what is best for everyone in many different ways. But that diversity can also cause misunderstandings and some discomfort. But by gaining experience we will see that most people are good and want to help. And with experience we can all gain and also reduce the misunderstandings and discomfort. There are a few jerks in every group (no matter how you divide things up - age, education, citizenship, religion, ethnicity, wealth, gender, what football team they like, where they live...). But don't let those few jerks color your opinion of groups of people. And for people you are not as familiar with (in any of those groups above or any other) it is safest to hold off deciding someone is a jerk (it is pretty easy to know those who are almost identical to you in every way but for others there are so many things that make it hard to judge until you get much more experience with them). It most likely is you just are mis-understanding what they meant or meant to do.

euphony

I am glad that the issue is brought up from TayJC's inciting post. And that the discussion has been fairly civilized without much potshots being thrown about. Rather than chastising JC whom has been apologetic (kudos to you), I guess it's also an opportunity to allow us to rethink our attitudes as well. How exactly tolerant and harmonious are we really? Having an anecdote or example of a Malay neighbor that is the 'safe' zone. But once out of that boundary will we still be that tolerant and harmonious?

This concept is taught in schools over and over since we're young. In fact we say it in our pledge everyday for at least 10 over years first thing in the morning or last thing of the school day. But how many of us have been bullied, ridiculed and led miserable lives when we were young (I'm raising my hand) in school with teachers and school management turning a blind eye toward the untoward events...

Based on justice and equality? We realized that some people are more equal than others.

Just something cooking in my brain after observing the happenings and broadsheet reportage recent and past as we march towards another year on this Living in JB thread. I wish all a happy christmas and a merry new year ahead of time.

ODYSSEY

just to share a pleasant experience in desaru.. (i don't stay in jb or anywhere yet.. just for holiday).
i was driving my sg plated car in the evening after dinner back to the resort, it was raining slightly.
unknowingly, i drove through a huge pothole which dented my rims and punctured my tyres.

i stopped at the roadside, which was in total darkness other than lights from cars. i noticed there were about 5 cars stopped as well.
i came out (should not have.. but in that situation, can't simply sit in the car till day break right?), inspect the damage while 3 abangs approached.
they offered me help as they were also victims of that pothole, waiting for spare tyres (strange they don't carry spares in their boot).

i was pleasantly surprised.. they were not at all hostile, but friendly and helpful.
and btw, i spoke no malay and they spoke no english.. and in the end, they helped me changed my tyre while the other guy shone his torch (and i just watched :-P)

all we hear about robberies and ambushes on sg plate cars are probably rare unlike they report in the 154th

I m being racist here! I love mixing with malays; they are very gentle people, friendly, helpful, easy-going and humble - not in their nature to show-off. I think we should try to emulate how they greet each other; that's lots we can learn from them. Unlike some tun-nang I know who a bit only want to fight - kwa see meek! Knn! lol

arsenal

We strive to be good neighbours and hope to live among nice people.. Nationalities and races doesn't matter.. Most malays are very nice people as they are contended, courteous and friendly..and we know there are many unkind people around us living currently in our big city..

I am glad that the issue is brought up from TayJC's inciting post. And that the discussion has been fairly civilized without much potshots being thrown about. Rather than chastising JC whom has been apologetic (kudos to you), I guess it's also an opportunity to allow us to rethink our attitudes as well. How exactly tolerant and harmonious are we really? Having an anecdote or example of a Malay neighbor that is the 'safe' zone. But once out of that boundary will we still be that tolerant and harmonious?

This concept is taught in schools over and over since we're young. In fact we say it in our pledge everyday for at least 10 over years first thing in the morning or last thing of the school day. But how many of us have been bullied, ridiculed and led miserable lives when we were young (I'm raising my hand) in school with teachers and school management turning a blind eye toward the untoward events...

Based on justice and equality? We realized that some people are more equal than others.

Just something cooking in my brain after observing the happenings and broadsheet reportage recent and past as we march towards another year on this Living in JB thread. I wish all a happy christmas and a merry new year ahead of time.

ODYSSEY

My wife and son had medical emergencies recently and had a chance to test out the hospitals ER here first hand. Both experiences though harrowing to me (one middle of the night, one in the very early hours of the morning (just 1 hour after i finished work and fell asleep) was good as the experience and service was positive.

Hey Wuqi, I hope they are well now. Take care.

jasonjst

Good points Cat, confrontation is never the way to bridge differences of a cultural or ethnic between people.

Will pointing the gun at a Jew-hater and forcing the person to state that he or she is not one make this person not hate Jews after?

Gredy88: That's a goos story, unfortunately will never appear in the newspapers lol.

del , replying to a wrong post bro.

Status
Not open for further replies.