• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TayJC

Hi TayJC sorry to bring this up and perhaps you didn't mean to but this comment came of as a little offensive to me (and I'm Singaporean). I'll overlook the saefty issues at NI as there have been cases raised before but I do wonder what you meant by not fitting in a neighbourhood where there are many Malays staying. Is it because you feel the Malay neighbours won't be able to tolerate you or vice versa? If you decide to live in someone's country (I presume you're non-Malaysian please forgive me if I am wrong) I would think that you'd be willing to interact and integrate with them?

Hi iamapseudoneem,

Actually, it was about me being insensitive and unknowningly offended my Malay neighbours. Just look at the mess I am in now with my posting. I am certainly willing to interact and integrate with my neighbour, whoever they are.

All brothers and sisters who are offended by me, I sincerely apologize. Please forgive me, ok?

jasonjst

Actually those "stock" gates provided by the developer also can install auto gates on it right? I'm thinking of just using the original gates... Possible?

Sure you can use the original gates , but they look cheap if you wont mind . I think most people change to some
kind of decorative gate, stainless steel is best since wont rust and dont need repainting . I have found that it is more cost effective to get good and lasting products so that you have more time to enjoy . Repainting iron grills for the whole house is no joke !

tutucake

Sure you can use the original gates , but they look cheap if you wont mind . I think most people change to some
kind of decorative gate, stainless steel is best since wont rust and dont need repainting . I have found that it is more cost effective to get good and lasting products so that you have more time to enjoy . Repainting iron grills for the whole house is no joke !

No lah...window grills will get better ones....but the main gate abit wasted if just change like tht...if no budget can use it for the time being... paint until TL liao then change it lor if got the money....
actually window grills is in door, should be not so easily rust bah....

crystal_tiong

Hey wuqi

The car workshop u recommend , does it to paint spraying ? My white beauty is hurt by me twice this week , paint came off and a few scratches.

Thanks

LeMans2011

Hi Narmi,

HH is at least RM1.1mil now.
I heard Nusa Idaman has safety issues. Also, many Malays are staying there. I am afraid that I might not fit in very well there.

Oops... siao liao you hit wrong button like i've done before... there are several Malay forummers here.
But don't worry, i lived in NI for 3 years and i got along very well with neighbours irregardless of race. In fact i attended a Malay wedding recently and i have regular Malay friends around here. Even the DIY shop i prefer the one run by the Malay auntie.

Unlike one or two forummer here who behave as if they own Malaysia, i assure you the locals are nothing close to that.

pasture8

iamapseudoneem;911650]As a member of NI Precinct 8, I welcome you to the neighbourhood! Can you enlighten me on how much of Phase 8B has been sold so far? I haven't visited the sales office for ages and am curious.

Thanks iamapseudoneem :smile:

Field Report:

We have not been to the sales office for quite some time till now... they have launched "courtyard 3" - a 24' terrace. We did not ask about the sales progress of 8b...

As for progression, from what we can see, jalan 8/8 houses facade is plastered and painted, jalan 8/10 is plastered w/o paint yet, jalan 8/11 bricks and roofing up :smile: took some photos, including the sales office 3D model of phase 8b.

We were there at around 5pm, left for dinner at Sutera and went back there at around 7.45pm...observed from the road as we drive towards precinct 7 a few houses with their home owners back (precinct 3, 4, 5, 6, 7), but can't see what was the occupancy like further into the precincts. We think that the home owners are still on their way back from work/dinner, maybe later at night we will see more 'lights'...unlike daytime we see more homes with gates/griles and laundries, etc (sign of occupancy)...as indicated on idaman website, quite a number of precinct/phases were 'soldout'...saw a car entering precinct 6, the guards raised the gate barrier to let the home owner in and lower the barrier after :smile: Been following a forum started by precicnt 6 residents, happy to see that the security issue has been looked into, kudos to precinct 6 residents, the developer and the security company (cannot take for granted that things will work magically - ).

The road leading to idaman was pitch dark, even though the road lamps were erected but somebody forgot to 'ON' the lights :biggrin: (again, do not take for granted that things will work magically) Feedback needed. :rolleyes:

Can anybody enlighten where does the road going down beyond precicnt 7 leads to ?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Actually those "stock" gates provided by the developer also can install auto gates on it right? I'm thinking of just using the original gates... Possible?

Yes, definitely you can use the stock. The stock is also lighter hence you can use the lower powered ones as well. For me, i just bought the higher end type so in case my wife wants to make me change gates, then lets see. So far she is pretty happy. I rather spend the money on other things like getting her another car.

In terms of security wise, Its always the weakest link that thieves and robbers will exploit hence no matter how solid the gate is, people can just bypass (by climbing over this or other fences) or work on the lock if need be.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thanks for sharing pasture8, i am sure NI is getting better day by day. Welcome to the neighbourhood.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi iamapseudoneem,

Actually, it was about me being insensitive and unknowningly offended my Malay neighbours. Just look at the mess I am in now with my posting. I am certainly willing to interact and integrate with my neighbour, whoever they are.

All brothers and sisters who are offended by me, I sincerely apologize. Please forgive me, ok?

Hi TayJC, i am sure you didn't really mean it. The learned bros and sisters here are slow to anger but quick to forgive especially since you have already apologised.

To me, first and foremost, 11B and then pink IC counts, not skin nor religion. I would mention all factors to friends of mine when bringing them here but everything else is up to them. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey wuqi

The car workshop u recommend , does it to paint spraying ? My white beauty is hurt by me twice this week , paint came off and a few scratches.

Thanks

I am sorry to hear, how bad was it? Satu Malaysia man will get you a good spray painter probably. You can check with the one in the back lane near to them. Look for an Ah Poh. Really reasonable spray painters. They have lots of panel beaters/painters there. Rest, prices not really so good though. Best is in Kulai where there is an expensive spray painting company (still reasonable as compared to SG) where Toyota sends their cars to be done up.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
its that one lor ... which only offer me 90% loan ....
nvm , 3 yrs later i kick them off n change...

Oh no, i am sorry to hear. I wouldn't touch them still with a ten foot pole. Whats done is done though, i am glad you made it through all the obstacles. You have more guts than some of my male friends. Steady.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
To all,

As there may always be agents approaching you, some even online or even on this forum, if at anytime you find an agent unethical or you think something is questionable, please feel free to share so that others may avoid being "chopped". Of course, only if its something serious, not if its something that is small.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
my wife is a LTVP holder. she has got 11 months of multiple visa entry approved from Malaysia. Since her LTVP with singapore is almost 11 months valid.

I am desperately in need to get hold a driving license. so at least, i will be able to renew the chop for my parents.

but in the meantime, if i cannot get hold my my license yet, and after everything is settle and we moving within 4 months. I am thinking how am I going to get their passport chop renewed.

That is my major concern now..

LGlab, MACS will still be the best bet for the parents as it only costs 30MYR and you don't need a chop after that, (last chop on the day you exit Malaysia after getting MACS) at least from then on until 1 year later. let me know how it goes as they have extended until end of the month.

I am pretty tied up with work/business/managing tentants/helping relatives with their questions and renovation/my own renovation and my wife is pregnant plus i have young kids. Most importantly, i am just a nobody BUT if you need help getting transport, etc. Let me know. There are also vans you can hire cheaply. Another way is to get MM2H for either mom or dad so that way they can get like 10 years VISA straight. Medical wise is also good for them.

My wife and son had medical emergencies recently and had a chance to test out the hospitals ER here first hand. Both experiences though harrowing to me (one middle of the night, one in the very early hours of the morning (just 1 hour after i finished work and fell asleep) was good as the experience and service was positive.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Dont you think it is easier to climb over the fencing ? But I think the advantage of stainless steel gate is maintainance free and long lasting , but look quite ugly actually.
BTW anyone know how much different in price between a stainless steel gate and those normal steel gate ?

It definitely is, circumvention is the easiest means of access in most of such cases. Yes it does and actually use of stainless steel is pretty common amongst many races. It costs about 30% more but then again, if you need to change gates, you will have to spend more regardless. Unless your Stainless steel gate is hollow inside, otherwise, if its design is heavier, you may have to upgrade your autogate motor, etc.

pasture8

Hi TayJC sorry to bring this up and perhaps you didn't mean to but this comment came of as a little offensive to me (and I'm Singaporean). I'll overlook the saefty issues at NI as there have been cases raised before but I do wonder what you meant by not fitting in a neighbourhood where there are many Malays staying. Is it because you feel the Malay neighbours won't be able to tolerate you or vice versa? If you decide to live in someone's country (I presume you're non-Malaysian please forgive me if I am wrong) I would think that you'd be willing to interact and integrate with them?

Myself as well. Never had any issues with them. Someone other than HH also told me that they will also be more inclined than most to help you if they see a neighbour in distress.

i have no issue. Despite me from a tun-nang primary school (SAP school) :cool:

Remember i was doing the 1990 population censors, going to peoples' houses in HDB flats, i find our Malay residents welcoming and chatty. Strange. :smile: as compared to the tun-nang ones haha...

Now i am entering a forbidden controversial territory (tun tun tun tun - Beethoven 5th symphony for sound effect) - you know all this talk about "merger"? IMHO, i don't see this happening anytime soon say, for that next 10 days... me was born after the racial riots (RR) thingee and grew up in a Singapore where racial issues are very officially-sensitively handled and controlled to the point that you don't know what the "other" is TRULY feeling and vice versa for all parts of your life from childhood to adult existence post RR.

You think, well...we can....maybe....try again? Recently i visited a Malaysian Army Museum... and i came away deep down, the racial thingee,... cannot be solved (i hate to sound like somebody). All we can do is to manage it. That is the best we can do (and that is really damn good already):*:

Another personal experience (i.e. insignificant to others) - now i am really entering a territory that is probably having their key words scanned and monitored by the MIB (Man in Black) :cool:

My wife had a miscarriage and it fell on THE September 11, yes. A coincident :( Our first. As i sat in front of the TV till wee hours, seeing George W Bushie making his speech in the Yankee stadium...i drifted into a state of half conscious half sleep mode...then the various religious leaders came on and gave their prayers... wah so many religious representatives. The Islam imam's turn and you hear him pray in a sing-song hymnal fashion which i don't understand a word (obviously)...in my half awake state, strangely, i felt the "prayer" comforting, even though i don't understand the words! I felt a sense of peace... I put this down to psychology 101. It must be the lallaby beautifully recited intonation that somehow calm my brainwaves in a half awake state that is most susceptible to suggestion! i have never tell anybody, not even my wife, but only annonymously here. Now don't you go telling this to my church pastor hor ! Haha. But i am sure most church pastors' are also human (i.e. in their personal capacity) and this logic goes by extention to other religious leaders.

We understand, we will help each other and we will do our best to manage this ....thingee. Have to keep working at it, balancing it, from time to time it will seem almost going to fall off, but we will help each other to balance it. Some world problem we may not be able to solve, but we can help our neighbours, just next door only wat. Malaysia and Singapore is just too insignificant in the greater scheme of things. But we can work together and complement each other, even with all the attending suspicions, dagger behind the back (who are you kidding, really?). Never say never, who knows, maybe one day, we can be 1 again - SATU Malaya (oh dear, hope this does not worry our indon neighbour leh)...did i mention that my great-great grandmother is bumi from Medan...

Typing geopolitical nonsense feel so satisfying in my half awake state now :*:

crystal_tiong

I am sorry to hear, how bad was it? Satu Malaysia man will get you a good spray painter probably. You can check with the one in the back lane near to them. Look for an Ah Poh. Really reasonable spray painters. They have lots of panel beaters/painters there. Rest, prices not really so good though. Best is in Kulai where there is an expensive spray painting company (still reasonable as compared to SG) where Toyota sends their cars to be done up.

Wuqi

Thanks for the info , I will check it out tomorrow .

crystal_tiong

Thanks iamapseudoneem :smile:

Field Report:

We have not been to the sales office for quite some time till now... they have launched "courtyard 3" - a 24' terrace. We did not ask about the sales progress of 8b...

As for progression, from what we can see, jalan 8/8 houses facade is plastered and painted, jalan 8/10 is plastered w/o paint yet, jalan 8/11 bricks and roofing up :smile: took some photos, including the sales office 3D model of phase 8b.

We were there at around 5pm, left for dinner at Sutera and went back there at around 7.45pm...observed from the road as we drive towards precinct 7 a few houses with their home owners back (precinct 3, 4, 5, 6, 7), but can't see what was the occupancy like further into the precincts. We think that the home owners are still on their way back from work/dinner, maybe later at night we will see more 'lights'...unlike daytime we see more homes with gates/griles and laundries, etc (sign of occupancy)...as indicated on idaman website, quite a number of precinct/phases were 'soldout'...saw a car entering precinct 6, the guards raised the gate barrier to let the home owner in and lower the barrier after :smile: Been following a forum started by precicnt 6 residents, happy to see that the security issue has been looked into, kudos to precinct 6 residents, the developer and the security company (cannot take for granted that things will work magically - ).

The road leading to idaman was pitch dark, even though the road lamps were erected but somebody forgot to 'ON' the lights :biggrin: (again, do not take for granted that things will work magically) Feedback needed. :rolleyes:

Can anybody enlighten where does the road going down beyond precicnt 7 leads to ?

Hi Pasture
Thanks for sharing the info , my unit is at 8/8 , tomorrow I will go n have a look too . Where is your unit?
The road leading to idaman is open 7am-7pm , so no light. I asked my sales before she metioned that road will manage by the developments building there.

Status
Not open for further replies.