• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

geritan

something im pretty wary but i dont know if it is a common practise.

im taking loan with malaysia bank.

the agent told me that if my loan fails, the 2% downpayment will be confiscated by the seller.

is this true?

can any expert help ?

Thanks.

Submit application to as many bank as you can. Then choose one that offer you the best. Ask your agent to give you a bit more time to source for bank loan.

ODYSSEY

Najib hints at major announcement at next meeting with PM Lee
Published on ST Times, Dec 12, 2011 By Teo Cheng Wee, Regional Correspondent

....He (PM Najib) also announced a 942-strong auxilliary police battalion to be based in Iskandar Malaysia to boost safety and security - an issue that has been a concern for some investors here.

He handed out appointments letters to the first batch of 13 officers yesterday

I like reading this kind of news! Over the weekend when I was driving down from Cameron at Simpang Pulai, there was a road block. The police were stopping and checking on the drivers (of Malaysian cars) in front. As I approached, I noticed the policeman glancing at my car number plate. Imagine my surprise when the policeman, after seeing my SG plate, smiled at me and waved me on. I felt so privileged then. Is this a sign of better things to come for us, SG car drivers? Anyone else experienced this recently?

mathstub

Bro LGLab, sorry that I was mistaken because I was quite sleepy and it was rather late at night when I glanced through the posts here.

Bro teck21, thank you very much for clarifying and answering LGLab.

Absolutely. The importance of having a good lawyer protecting your interests cannot be understated. This clause and a whole host of other clauses designed to protect you, the buyer.

Clauses we wouldn't ordinarily think about because we don't buy properties very often (at least I don't lol).

Imagine not having a lawyer, or one who also represents the seller. They could just leave out all these clauses (another example would be how the premise must not be substantially different from the one you put the offer in, a wall has not collapsed or something) in the S&P and we would be done for if anything goes wrong.

Thanks Vincent for the answer to the seller not having a lawyer query as well.

Mathstub: LGLab is buying resale not from the developer.

Lab: I don't know about Malaysia, but in SG, yes the option fee you pay to the seller is generally not refundable according to the terms of the option. Buyers generally only put down the money if they are sure they want, and can complete the transaction.

mathstub

Bros, for pool view, which floor do you prefer your apartment to be on? Lower to mid floors (4-8th floor) should have better pool views while higher floors will not see the pool very clearly.

I agree, I read from a prop guru book that says condos facing a pool of water (swimming pool/lake/sea/river) have a very calming feeling (hard to explain), also chinese like to have water in front as we think it gives good fengsui. Green scenery views like park/garden/golf course are good too.

I do agree...when contemplating on which unit to purchase for Impiana, I was told by the SA that normally the pool view units will command a better rental and pricing when compares to units facing landscape or low lying housing...A simple research on some of those properties site also revealed similar conclusion.

Pool view usually more popular unless the alternative has a commanding view of greenery, landscape or impressive skyline..if its township/low rise houses..I would go with pool.
Some may have concerns about noise from children/swimmers, but I think those with pool views will be easier to rent out and provide better use of balcony. Obviously height from and proximity to pool will have impact on noise levels..but Ive seen angmohs spend hours sitting ouside pool facing balcony drinking/reading on weekends. Personally I prefer pool views and like the tranquility and water noises/reflections and views at night when pool is closed to swimmers.

mathstub

Bro Wuqi, I agree. Like what you said, one often gets loan approval from some bank. But then the loan margin can at time lower than what one needs, one has to give up buying. So in this case, it will still be treated as a case having loan approval (I think some sellers regard the buyer being not able to buy because of insufficient approved loan margin as the buyer's own concern and will not treat it in the same way as the case when the buyer gets zero loan approval). But then I agree with what you said it is negotiable depending on the seller.

Actually for car loans and property loans, normally its negotiable if the bank loan is really not approved. Then again, they will normally try multiple banks and types of loan and tenure before finally giving up. It will be quite hard for one not to be approved by all banks.

Whathefish

Bros, for pool view, which floor do you prefer your apartment to be on? Lower to mid floors (4-8th floor) should have better pool views while higher floors will not see the pool very clearly, right?

Personally think 7 to 8 floor is just nice for pool view. Not too near for comfort, yet can good view of whole area. Too high, then no point.

If facing greens and rows of landed prop which you mentioned, it has to be much higher (10++) so i can have views of more greens than rooftops.

Narmi

Najib hints at major announcement at next meeting with PM Lee
Published on ST Times, Dec 12, 2011 By Teo Cheng Wee, Regional Correspondent

....He (PM Najib) also announced a 942-strong auxilliary police battalion to be based in Iskandar Malaysia to boost safety and security - an issue that has been a concern for some investors here.

He handed out appointments letters to the first batch of 13 officers yesterday

I like reading this kind of news! Over the weekend when I was driving down from Cameron at Simpang Pulai, there was a road block. The police were stopping and checking on the drivers (of Malaysian cars) in front. As I approached, I noticed the policeman glancing at my car number plate. Imagine my surprise when the policeman, after seeing my SG plate, smiled at me and waved me on. I felt so privileged then. Is this a sign of better things to come for us, SG car drivers? Anyone else experienced this recently?

Yup bro odyssey :smile:
just recently was on my way up fr the hiway towards Genting. There was a roadblk and ALL msian vehicles were stopped n checked but sg plates were waved on with a smile. N yday while we got lost in unfamiliar Kulai area on our way to JPO (some gd bargains btw) we were at d same time not worried cos there were many mini police posts and even got rd direction to JPO by a smiling police officer manng d mini police post :smile:

tutucake

Actually Im not holding my breathe about having good responsible jb polis overnite... i find all these smiling and politeless very superficial... one day they take pocket money from u...next day they become the smiling and helpful polis officer that gives you a helping hand? Come on....really??
It could be a case of the higher commissioner gives specific instructions to them to be nice to singaporeans (for now) as jb needs these singaporean investors for the growth of iskandar malaysia........ OR.... it could be juz me being too skeptical...

vincentck

For me i prefer a bit of either the morning sun or afternoon sun into the house...not too much tho...this wil help sanitize the furniture etc...a house that has very little sunlight coming in is a good breeding ground for pests - things that can be seen...as well as things that cannot be seen...too ying.

Balance is always the key.
Agree with you, bro. My previous HDB flat near Little Guilin in Bt Gombak was prone to having mold/fungus on the wooden furniture and luggage bags. And the bedroom will have a musty smell if we don't open the windows once in a while.

vincentck

Good day everyone, been reading this thread for a couple of months, really informative, helpful and encouraging... have committed on a freehold at NI8b :-)
Hi Pasture8, welcome to the forum and welcome to NI8. There are a few of us here with units in P8B. What's your unit type and how much was your unit? Did you get a good loan package?

no lah, im not looking at buying anything now. I just want to start looking and studying market trend so that when I am ready to commit more in a few years time, I know I have seen enough and will be ready to spot a good opportunity. Rather than start looking only when I am ready, I start now. It is fun to check out new places and developments every week.
Bro, I keep telling my wife we should still look and know the market even though we're not buying. When we're ready, then we'll know the history and trend of the place. Good for you!

pasture8

Hi Pasture8, welcome to the forum and welcome to NI8. There are a few of us here with units in P8B. What's your unit type and how much was your unit? Did you get a good loan package?

Thanks Vincent. End-lot. RM5xx,888 :wink:
Any latest updates from NI8b? Sales? construction progress?
cheers.
:-)

ODYSSEY

Our case was different. Paid the 2% initial option fee with the agent who recommended the subsale property which would be placed as confirmed sale. And another 10% of the agreed price after having to sign all the documents pertaining to the sale on another day with a lawyer whom we did not appoint. The verbal understanding communicated to us was that upon agreement by seller after signing the SPA on a later day, all relevant documentation pertaining to the sale would be submitted to state for approval. We will only have to release the money held in trust inclusive of another 10% to the seller only upon state approval. That is the reason I refused to give in to the 10% as demanded by the seller when he purportedly was there to sign the SPA. It was a significant risk. I was even told in the presence of my family members that should the buyer backed out after signing the initial OTP, we can claimed compensation of RM12,000/-. On hindsight, I should have engaged a good legal representative and should have read and scrutinised all details in the clauses on the huge heap of documents pertaining to the sales and not accept it as face value. My fear was what would happen if for some reasons the state did not approve...that's why I am just happy to lose a small sum of legal fee charges amounting to RM3,000/- and loss in foreign exchange rate. Just sharing with all brothers and sisters out there to heed the advice given by Wuqi. Anyway, I never met the seller except the OTP that acknowledged him as the owner, and all relevant documents pertaining to the sales at the agent's premises at HH. I am glad my son is wise.

Hi Sobrielo, sorry to read about ur son's bad experience. It may be time to change the housing agent. From what I read, the agent and the lawyer seemed to side with the owner. Since you r the one who's going to pay the lawyer, u should appoint ur own lawyer to ensure that ur interest takes precedent and is protected. In this case, ur son did the right thing! Remember not to use this lawyer again.

For anyone buying from sub-sale, the earnest deposit is currently 1% and u shouldnt be paying more than this. If the agent were to ask for 2% or more, they r usually trying their luck and acting on the instruction of the seller. The norm is 1% - and they know! So, try not to give in. But I know this is hard to do; especially when u've found ur dream home. lol

When I bought my house, I made my earnest deposit in an SG cheque made payable to my lawyer - NEVER to the housing agent! The amount to write is the equivalent after conversion to Sing Dollars. I then passed this cheque to the agent to pass to the lawyer. An agent worth his salt would know how to get in touch with the lawyer. Ensure the agent issued u a receipt for this.

Sign the option form provided by the agent. Usually, u will not get to meet the seller so, please dont expect to. After u hv signed, the agent would then bring the same form to the seller for his signature. Depending on the time of day u signed the form, and how hardworking or busy the agent is, the option form can be signed and completed by the seller within the same day, or if not, by the next day. Request a copy of the option form, after all the signatures had been gathered, from the agent, via email. After this, the agent would hand the completed option form with ur earnest deposit to the lawyer.

The lawyer would then call/email u to let u know that they have received the payment and the option form. If u do not hear from ur lawyers, u can call/email them to check. : ) Give them something like 10 days (plus minus a day or two) to get the Sales & Purchase Agreement drafted. Some can get this done very fast (copy from template only wat!). Once the S&P is ready for ur signature, the lawyer's office would usually get in touch with u. Ask for a copy of the S&P to be emailed to u to read first before going down to their office to sign.

Spend some time to read the draft, pen down any questions u have, or concerns u may want to raise with ur lawyer. At this point, u can get ready to remit the balance 9% (10% less the 1% earnest deposit u paid earlier) of the purchase price to ur lawyer. I did mine thru my SG bank's Telegraphic Transfer facilities, the method used is up to u. Make an appointment with ur lawyer to sign the S&P, usually at the lawyer's office.

Before u sign, the lawyer should go thru each point on the S&P with u and this is where u ask those questions that u have prepared earlier. If the lawyer didnt go thru every point with u clearly, u would know instancely if u hv got the right lawyer haha. Whatever......, get the lawyer to go thru and explain every point with u. Sign the S&P.

If u r taking a loan from the bank, the lawyer would also have prepared a Loan Agreement for u to sign during that same visit, thus saving u an additional trip to his office.

After the signatures are all done, the lawyer would then pass u the statements for their Professional Charges (bill lah). Usually the "bill" would have two parts: Legal Fees and Disbursement. There is nothing much u can do about the Disbursement part, but u can certainly ask for a discount on the Legal Fees. If u dont ask they wouldnt give, hurhur. As a guide, be prepared to pay 4.5 to 5% of ur house purchase price to cover the Legal Fees and Disbursement for the S&P (this cost include the State Authority Consent Levy and relating fee for foreigners); and about 1% for the Bank's Loan Agreement. U r not expected to pay this yet till u pick up the keys to ur newly purchased house at the lawyer's office - which can be 3 to 4 months down the road. For foreigners, this may be longer cos of the State Authority Consent.

What next?

After all parties (buyer and seller) had signed on the S&P, if u r a foreigner buying, the lawyer would proceed to submit ur application for the State Authority Consent. This is estimated to take about 1 to 2.5 months.

What next?

Wait for ur keys lor, which may take about another 3 months. In the meantime can start planning what u want to do to ur house.

Disclaimer:

This is just a guide and is based on my recent experience buying a house in JB thru sub-sale. Yours may vary and can be better than mine. Wuqi, r my above points correct? All good bros, pse feel free to add or correct. Thanks and all the best to all in the process of Living in JB!

TayJC

Hi Brothers and Sisters,

I am looking at getting a landed property in JB. Preferably, the amenities include parks so that my kids can run around. I visited East Ledang last week but was disappointed that all properties are sold out.

Do you have any recommendations?

Best regards.

Aisanbo

I was there for the concert too. 1st impression they let me feel it is 2nd HH,environment wise very nice,due to the good weather it isnt hot at tat nite and can feel the good cold wind blowing~house very pretty,i have to thumb up to my friend who work in setia marketing,very good campaign indeed.

It is just the house is toooo far from 2nd link and pasir gudang highway is always jam...too bad..if they implement such great project in iskantar area, that place will be hot sales cake!

I was there too. Great cooling night and saw e moon eclipse too.
With EDL, hopefully the traffic would be smoother into Singapore and perhaps cater to people working in north, north-east, changi business park area.
I also think if MRT come true in 2018, then traffic jam is not really an issue anymore.

lastresort

I was there too. Great cooling night and saw e moon eclipse too.
With EDL, hopefully the traffic would be smoother into Singapore and perhaps cater to people working in north, north-east, changi business park area.
I also think if MRT come true in 2018, then traffic jam is not really an issue anymore.

brother, how about mount austin area compared to indah area. in terms of traffic, distance to causeway and amenities.

Status
Not open for further replies.