• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pslim

Oh no, never saw this.
Thanks Investor!

Hi Pslim, i would suggest to still go to the developer and check with them in terms of pricing. Bro Teck21 has already given some good indication of prices.
Avoid agents where possible. Variance is there but places like HH tends to give you something slightly bigger at least to justify the rise in prices. If for
own stay with big family (or wives), then cluster or semi-d. If its for a small size family (4-5 folks max) then a terrace will do just fine. Terraces and Clusters are good for investment in my humble opinion.

Hi Wuqi,
You mean avoid agent for new launch or resale?
For new launch, whether through agent or go direct to the developer, i suppose the price is the same?
for resale, most of the listing are placed by agents, not easy to access to owner directly.

Thanks for the advice regards the investment value of cluster and terrace, but the semi-d...with golf view really give the "shiok" feeling.

teck21

I would like to ask, is there any hawker selling food nearby for HH ?
i used to just go downstairs <5 mins can get food easily in singapore, is that possible in HH ? lol ..

If that is very important to you, maybe want to consider the developments in Bt Indah? I think there can walk to quite a lot of food. But that is only my observation from driving around the area.

Dunno anything about wetlands lol.

geritan

Dear geritan,

My parents do not know how to drive. My parents have problem walking, therefore I dont think it is advisable for them to move around much.
My mother is with walking frame and my dad is with parkinson disease.

I am thinking to get a cheap SG proton car to allow them to come to SG once/twice per week and go back JB - just to get hold of the 'chop' and visit temple.

I have planned to have my kid to study in childcare in SG till age of 6 and see how it goes,

I have heard that the childcare in Singapore take them in as early as 8am and we must fetch them by 7pm.

I see, so in you case, they will only need transport when they need to visit their doctors. A place with a small garden would be nice for them to do their daily walk. My mun has parkinson too.

Just my personal view after visiting a few pre-school/childcare in JB. I feel that it will be ok to attend pre-school/childcare in JB as it give the child a chance to learn a third language, Malay. And their fees here is a little cheaper than Sin.

If I'm not wrong, childcare in Sin operates from 7 to 7. There will be a penalty if you pick up your child later than 7pm.

LGLab

Bros Here,

After seeing your comments, need some advice which is a good development for rental yield in JB. Budget is RM500000
Condo or landed is better.

Thanks

my budget is roughly 500k as well.. but im buying for my own stay..

leaving** SG for good..

LGLab

I see, so in you case, they will only need transport when they need to visit their doctors. A place with a small garden would be nice for them to do their daily walk. My mun has parkinson too.

Just my personal view after visiting a few pre-school/childcare in JB. I feel that it will be ok to attend pre-school/childcare in JB as it give the child a chance to learn a third language, Malay. And their fees here is a little cheaper than Sin.

If I'm not wrong, childcare in Sin operates from 7 to 7. There will be a penalty if you pick up your child later than 7pm.

normally how old can go child care?
My kid is only 3 months old yesterday. Haha..

my office, there is 1 place cater for childcare.. subsidize for the staffs also..

LGLab

If that is very important to you, maybe want to consider the developments in Bt Indah? I think there can walk to quite a lot of food. But that is only my observation from driving around the area.

Dunno anything about wetlands lol.

My mum is crazy for her wetland.. thanks to the waterlily..
haha..

Hmm... not actually important... if not my wife has to cook for the family if we move over.. not so convenient as in, go downstair and packet up!

LGLab

Yes many coffeeshops around. Not very walkable though unless you want to do like 20 mins one way.

If you count the tim sum place in HH then ok might be walkable as just saw a bakery also operating there today.
There is also a provisions shop there that opens until quite late. If more shops open there then yes it is especially for those living at the gateway.

Else, you have to drive down the hill to where the coffeeshops, etc are.

Bro Wuji,

you mind to advice if it is possible to get a unit at HH at the price of 500k? you have any lobang? ..
without going through agent, isnt that pretty hard? We are in Singapore, how are we going to get someone selling places when we are in foreign place.

checkers

I would like to ask, is there any hawker selling food nearby for HH ?

i used to just go downstairs <5 mins can get food easily in singapore, is that possible in HH ? lol ..

how about the wetland, is it within walkable distance?

Thank you.

Hi LG, it appears that you are not clear about the JB areas and the lifestyle there. You need to make a trip or a few trips down to HH or Bukit Indah areas to see for yourself if the place and the lifestyle suit you and your aging parents.

Driving is a necessity when living in JB. Don't expect it to be like living in Singapore when food, shopping and clinic are accessible just 5 min downstairs . You need to walk on roads which are without pavements (unlike SG roads) with hardly any pedestrian crossings and at the same time, holding tight to your belongings and looking out for snatch thieves on motorbikes. All in all, you need to be more vigilant than usual.

There is one new condominium (think it is SKy Loft by Setia) that is the nearest to amenties (TESCO and coffeeshops just across).

My advice is still GO SEE FOR YOURSELF! A picture speaks a thousand words. Wishing you the best in your search :smile:

greddy88

what's your plan when they reach schooling age... are u intending to send them to SG or JB primary school?
i have kids myself.. and i was stumbled when my wife questioned me this.. we prefer to have them study in SG, but traveling time will be horrendous.. not to mention also my wife cannot drive..
taking school bus may not be possible too.. cos they stay back in school for ECA a few days a week..

ODYSSEY

I have decided to print in full the PM I send to Pslim for the benefit of others in the same situation. To all the kind bros and sis, pse feel free to add or correct what u think is not right : )

Hi Pslim,

First of all, are u a foreigner? Foreigners are only allowed to buy houses that meet the following conditions:

1) The value of the property must be over RM500,000.
2) Must have at least 2 storeys
3) If buying from sub-sale (resale) ensure that it is ïnternational Lot" and not a "Bumi Lot"; unless u r a muslim. Best advice is to avoid them no matter what the housing agent says if buying from sub-sale (resale), to avoid complications later.

Secondly, do u intend to buy from developer or from sub-sale? From the developer? go to their show and sales office at the HH Golf & Country Club. They have sale executives waiting to serve u. From sub-sale? The resources I suggest you use when looking are (in order):

1) http://www.iproperty.com.my
2) http://www.mudah.com.my

Other websites to search are those run by the realty agencies themselves. The 2 main players in HH are OAP Realty and Tophills Realty - just google for it.

Thirdly, pointless leaving them email enquiries as MOST of the time they dont respond - maybe too busy. Most efficient way is to CALL them direct! - tis is not the time to be cheapo! if u really want to see the house, you've got to call. Dont bother using sms or watsapp as they dont respond also. Later, after you've made contact with them and they know u, you can use sms or watsapp all u want to them.

From the websites, u should be able to know the price range to expect for resale terrace, cluster, 2 or 2.5 storey semi d. U will find that its cheaper to buy thru sub-sale. Presently, HH is into its 3rd precinct, which is the HILLS, and the terraces are going for Rm800k by the developer.

But if u buy fm developer, they may waive certain fees and throw in the social membership for HH, valid for 50yrs. Go to the HH Club house to find out whats the latest waivers. Having said that, there are some newly completed sub-sale units that comes with the social membership too, eg HH Golf terraces phase 1B9 and later. But then, the social membership is only Rm10k to buy.

If u buy from sub-sale, u will need to spend more time looking at houses. Sometimes u need to make as many as 5 to 6 trips before find the one u like. Also, there is the risk of the owner backing off fm the deal after u place the earnest deposit. It has got its pro and cons.

It will help a lot if u can provide us with more details like: whats ur budget and what kind of house, terrace, cluster, semi-d, etc

Please feel free to ask all the questions u want in the forum. All the ppl here are very nice and ever willing to help, cos we all started just like u - blur blur.

Happy house hunting and welcome to the forum!

odyssey

investjb

hi Guys,

any one can recommend a good/price reasonable shop for kitchen cabinet, window grill and painting service? thanks.

greddy88

thanks for the info..
3) If buying from sub-sale (resale) ensure that it is ïnternational Lot" and not a "Bumi Lot"; unless u r a muslim. Best advice is to avoid them no matter what the housing agent says if buying from sub-sale (resale), to avoid complications later.

could u also share how can we check for ourselves whether that is a bumi lot? dun think we can trust the agent 100% even if he says its not..

avelc

normally how old can go child care?
My kid is only 3 months old yesterday. Haha..

my office, there is 1 place cater for childcare.. subsidize for the staffs also..

Mine only 4 months! Heard wuqi's wife opened a childcare centre there, discounts too if you show your SAF 11B, perhaps u can PM him or arrange to visit the centre...

ODYSSEY

Hoo Hoo, just received news fm the lawyers last evening that the owner had signed on the dotted line of the S&P (breathe breathe)! This is one of the anxieties one is subjected to when one buy fm sub-sale and not fm the developer (breathe again, swipe forehead, heave a sigh of relief). Now to relax and wait patiently while the lawyers get the state authority consent and other legal stuff done. In the meantime........plan what to do to the house. Hmmm ....should I dig a hole thru the floor to make a basement? or create a hole thru the ceiling to make ur very own sky roof? Just kidding!

To all the bros and sis here, thanks for all the invaluable advice you've given me! Without you all, and our great leader, Wuqi, I don't think I would have the ardor and the courage to pursue this dream of owing a property in JB. Thank you, thank you

crystal_tiong

My mum is crazy for her wetland.. thanks to the waterlily..
haha..

Hmm... not actually important... if not my wife has to cook for the family if we move over.. not so convenient as in, go downstair and packet up!

With your budget , maybe u wan to consider N.Idaman? Hee , a few of us bought there , if we stay closer , we can help u whenever is possible.
Dun worry abt the food , Bro Wuqi mentioned before , the nearby coffeeshops can do a delivery service with extra RM1 or RM2 , so no prob ....
The current Phase 8B will take 1.5-2yrs to complete , so during this time frame , faster get yr driving license. I heard the promotion -10K from sales price has extended till end Dec.
Go and see for yourself and feel whether u like the place or not , no pt asking so much , seeing is believing ....

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
With your budget , maybe u wan to consider N.Idaman? Hee , a few of us bought there , if we stay closer , we can help u whenever is possible.
Dun worry abt the food , Bro Wuqi mentioned before , the nearby coffeeshops can do a delivery service with extra RM1 or RM2 , so no prob ....
The current Phase 8B will take 1.5-2yrs to complete , so during this time frame , faster get yr driving license. I heard the promotion -10K from sales price has extended till end Dec.
Go and see for yourself and feel whether u like the place or not , no pt asking so much , seeing is believing ....

Agree, yes you can get food delivered from the nearby coffeeshops for 1RM. No minimum purchases.

Status
Not open for further replies.