• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

2bFree

You sir have my respect.

I am finishing up my 10yr ICT cycle soon and looking back, I had lots of great times/memories with my buddies but frankly, many of us are disappointed on how we have been treated by the so-called population we serve and govt.

Suffering from bad knee and lower back pains which I have to remedy out of my own pocket and live with it plus the lost opportunity and time wasted to go for RT, ICT and serving 2 1/2 yrs of full time NS...

I am really sorry to hear. Definitely 11B holders have a place in my heart. We need to support them rather than laugh, sneer or doubt their efforts to serve the nation. Sisters, if you don't/can't/won't support NSF/NSmen, at least don't belittle their efforts, please.

Everytime i see groups of our NSFs walking for long distances especially in the rain when booking out (when i am back in SG), i would wish to ferry them but my wife and sometimes parents wouldn't as they think the car will be dirty. The next time i see an NSF, i will ask him where he is going, as long as on the way, sure will take him.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
You sir have my respect.

I am finishing up my 10yr ICT cycle soon and looking back, I had lots of great times/memories with my buddies but frankly, many of us are disappointed on how we have been treated by the so-called population we serve and govt.

Suffering from bad knee and lower back pains which I have to remedy out of my own pocket and live with it plus the lost opportunity and time wasted to go for RT, ICT and serving 2 1/2 yrs of full time NS...

Respect to you and to the rest of the NSFs/NSMen. NSMen especially should be further honoured as they did their NSF stint and still serving the nation. I am so sorry to hear man. I wish i could do more. There should be a fund to help NSMen with recuperation or follow up treatment for real accidents caused during NS. It can be run or governed by the government to ensure proper governance.

After all, folks up there already acknowledged that despite the availability of help, true blue Singaporeans tend not to ask for help, preferring instead to depend on themselves as much as possible. Asians are different from other cultures as there is the face issue, hence crutch mentality may not have as much widespread effect.

Many times i try to help aunties, had to really ask more than twice or have to push to get them to accept the money. One time, at Chong Pang, literally push money and run back to my car. So its really not true that helping people = they become lazy.

Its always easy to scoff at others when you are in a comfortable ivory tower asking others if they want food in hawker centres, food court or restaurants. That is the one statement i will never forget.

teck21

Definitely 11B holders have a place in my heart. We need to support them rather than laugh, sneer or doubt their efforts to serve the nation. Sisters, if you don't/can't/won't support NSF/NSmen, at least don't belittle their efforts, please.

Wuqi bro, I many many years never see my 11B already. but still doing ICT (just finished a hugh-key 2 weeks ago), qualify for discount or not?

Show SBO/helmet can? Lol

Jogs1

You can call Allan from Perodua, tell him no one recommended you and tell him he can save the recommendation money and pass the savings to you +60 1276 27625

If he really insists, PM me, i will pass you a name and you will just tell Allan that this person has no need for commissions. He will understand.

Thank you, bro wuqi.

aangsc

Sis crystal, do update us the new JPO if u going this Friday. Many Of us undoubtedly very excited to know more!
Yeah man ! waiting to spent some bonus on CNY clothes and office clothes for 2012 ! Most of all, just want to get away from the mad crowd at home, A slow pace shopping where I don't have to squeeze and being rush even though shopping isn't exactly my cup of tea. Hope it live up to its name .

aangsc

Respect to you and to the rest of the NSFs/NSMen. NSMen especially should be further honoured as they did their NSF stint and still serving the nation..
Always feel that the job of Iskandar ambassador suit you best, now look like you should be the minister in charge of NS men welfare, at least half the nation will be behind you from the sincerity of your words. Well done bro, ! Somehow after so many years running the army , our miw still couldn't figure out how to get the lao and siao lian peng to support them in good and bad times. Sometime, it takes just a little token of appreciation such as your suggestion of discount for NS men to win people over but it seems like such a hard thing to do for miw. Sigh .

iamapseudoneem

thank u , finally .... its a big step for me .....
thanks to all the bros and sis , who has helped me in any way to purchase a msia house ; )

Hi Crystal welcome to Nusa Idaman! Maybe yours, vincent's and my families can take turns sharing tea at our respective gardens and enjoying some sweet mangoes from vincent's tree soon :smile:
I have also planned to plant a mango tree (and a rambutan tree) in our garden but still weighing the pros and cons!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
i tore my tendon.. also ownself pay.. damn sian one..

I hope that one day they will do something for medical injuries recorded or sustained during NS.
All it needs is some support, doesn't have to be much, even just waiving the Medisave/Medishield
part that is required for follow up treatment would be better than nothing.

It doesn't cost them much yet shows that they care and fulfilling a duty of care for those injured
in the course of duty. Even FTs doing menials jobs have workmen comp.

Vincent77

I encountered 1 incident when I went to pump petrol at the shell station just after the Woodlands checkpoint. This Indian man on his motor drove up to me and asked.. "You Singaporean?" I was driving a SG car but I answered say no Msian working in SG. If I had answered otherwise, what would have happened? And what was he intending to do ah you guys feel? Quite a burly Indian chap with a big stomach. After that, I saw he went to disturb another car.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wuqi bro, I many many years never see my 11B already. but still doing ICT (just finished a hugh-key 2 weeks ago), qualify for discount or not?

Show SBO/helmet can? Lol

Can, no need SBO/helmet. Show your old SAF100, its good enough for me. My wife, formerly working in NSPC, told me back then there were so many people volunteered to serve reservist that she felt that a lot of patriotic old souls were still out there. Not everyone is a chao geng person.
Some come back for friends, some come back for a change of environment/mood. All came back to serve the nation.

As for 11B, I would suggest to get and keep your 11B when going to US, some businesses in US supports ex military men, even from overseas armies like us. We will not get as much as their own vets and servicement but its still about 10%.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I encountered 1 incident when I went to pump petrol at the shell station just after the Woodlands checkpoint. This Indian man on his motor drove up to me and asked.. "You Singaporean?" I was driving a SG car but I answered say no Msian working in SG. If I had answered otherwise, what would have happened? And what was he intending to do ah you guys feel? Quite a burly Indian chap with a big stomach. After that, I saw he went to disturb another car.

Probably asking if you could take something for him or buy something for him in Singapore. Encountered one time, funny guy, asked me to buy some kind of "Happy Call" pan in Singapore for him.

cathylmg

Probably asking if you could take something for him or buy something for him in Singapore. Encountered one time, funny guy, asked me to buy some kind of "Happy Call" pan in Singapore for him.

Oh! I know the happycall pan. Looks very good on TV. But must call and deliver to your house. Not selling in any shop. The fellow must be trying to please his wife lah....LOL!

Vincent77

ok.. guess i was too paranoid.. I thought he was going to rob me. :biggrin:

pslim

Hi,

I intend to buy a unit in horizon hills. How should I go about it? Search listing by agent or go through one agent.. I am not sure about the practice here. Is the price variance between new and resale big? What's the reasonable resale price range to expect for semi d, terrace or cluster?
Hope to get some qdvice here.
Many thanks

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Always feel that the job of Iskandar ambassador suit you best, now look like you should be the minister in charge of NS men welfare, at least half the nation will be behind you from the sincerity of your words. Well done bro, ! Somehow after so many years running the army , our miw still couldn't figure out how to get the lao and siao lian peng to support them in good and bad times. Sometime, it takes just a little token of appreciation such as your suggestion of discount for NS men to win people over but it seems like such a hard thing to do for miw. Sigh .

I am just a nobody and a "wu ming xiao zu" but i feel more could and should be done. Even buying a HDB for example, say normal guys get grant from government when buying a flat right? Ex NSF/NSmen should be able to get more. Doesn't have to be a lot but a token that says something like
"Hey you serve the nation, thank you and heres a little recognition for your time."

Seeing something tangible that is given to those who served could be seen as something more palatable and as an overdue recogition. Its just a number and statistic to the guys on the top but means a lot, much more than just dollars and cents to the guys below.

Of course, many will say more is better but then Singaporeans are so used to helping themselves that many will recognise that small token as a recognition.

The wives certainly will then see some economic benefit that the men received as a result of their blood, sweat and tears. Instead of jeering or scolding them every time they go and serve the nation, they may then start to realise the real extent of what the men are really going through.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Oh! I know the happycall pan. Looks very good on TV. But must call and deliver to your house. Not selling in any shop. The fellow must be trying to please his wife lah....LOL!

Is it really that good??? So many asking. Is it Korean as they claimed?? I might buy one for my wife too

Status
Not open for further replies.