• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

crystal_tiong

Yes, things are truly moving very fast! When I was hunting for my humble house in HH the adverts coming in were quoting prices higher and higher by the week. Each day I wake up praying that we will find our house this weekend. I also selfishly wished that people and the media will stop reporting and publishing on new developments thats going to happen around Iskandar area, haha. I am ashamed......

haha , i have the same thought as u .... now my developer just told me the new phase price has increased a lot and the current phase which i am eyeing will be selling fast ...

Skippy

Well said Skippy! Keep your chin up!

Jiayou Skippy, you are a fillial daughter, most won't even care about their parents. I know of relatives who have 4 kids. All of them have cars and drive. Yet none of them take her out on the weekends. All these are educated people and 2 of them at least have presidential scholarships. When their mum couldn't walk and had to see doctor, my dad even had to use his car to send her.

I may not be of much help but anytime you need any advice or simply an ear, most of the bros/sisters will be glad to listen.

Got, there are those who they hated and didn't love at all.

1. He still bought them houses and smiled when other neighbours thought that it was them who gave houses to him.
2. He just smiled when a relative said, you are lucky as your dad loves you so much, he must have seen you through to
university unlike my two sons whose dad just beats them up and never sent them to university.
3. He didn't say a word when his younger sister told him that he doesn't have a future after 30 years of age and should give up his
chance of furthering his studies so that she could. He continued to support the family while this sister goes after degree after
degree yet complains no one supports her and she has to study and work full time.
4. He took his parents to more than 6 countries so far including US and Korea
5. He paid 90% of all his fathers debts. Redeemed all the things that were taken away, before he upgraded his tv set, got his dads house a 50" one
6. Lions share of his dad and mum's household bills. 100% of utilities, phone and petrol all bourne by him.
7. He went to find his ancestors grave, hired men to clear the forest and renovated the grave. Only his younger sister chipped in.
8. He still pays the most out of every single trip to the doctors, joss stick shop and shopping plus pays the bulk of every big and small expenses that are related to relatives and extended family.
9. He brought his grandma and extended family out almost every week for 2 years straight. Most of the meals and expenses paid by him.

Despite all this, the dad remarked to his son's staff recently, i thought my son would never amount to anything as he is too softhearted,
hence i didn't groom him, i still hope my 2 daughters will be more successful as they are way smarter than him.

Despite hearing that, the son still took the dad and family for a holiday recently and still planning for another one as he had promised his
mum he will take her to Japan. He still remembers that promise.

This is not being fillial, this is doing the duty as a son and as a only son, thats what he must deliver.

Thanks Bro ODYSSEY & Wuqi....
I wouldn't dare to claim i'm being fillial... i also feel that this is my duty as a child. I can't take the illness from him (i told my mom if i can i would rather be the one having the disease)... all i can do minimally is to ensure that his comfort, both TCM and hospital medical bills, fetching him for all treatments and general expenses are all taken care of. I told him not to worry instead all he needs to know and remember is to get well and get ready to shift into our new house. I told him i know i've not been a good gal... even how i dun wan him to worry. It's very important that he needs to go for treatments and follow ups even to see TCM. I dun have the luxury of siblings hence it's all on my shoulders. My side of the story would be i dun have the enjoyment of getting pamper... Dad always tells me if you wan to study, you pay for yourself. So since Poly days... i learnt that i need to make my own $$ if i wan to further my head knowledge and paper qualifications. (actually i started partime since sec school days during the school holidays). As said i'm not the smart alec and earning powerful pay checks... i come from a humble small family however in the eyes of our extended family... my parents has always been pin down becos NO $$, NO big house, No car. i told myself to work hard and if i would to have all these one of these days, i would not end up and become proud but instead share the joy and be glad of my blessings. Planting is a long process.... u need a lot of patience... plough the soil... feed the soil and plant seed by seed... but when harverst... that's the time pple awe at your hard work... even then some may still say nasty remarks (wow so few fruits only ah) and doubt at you... all i know is i grow them with my bare hands, see it grew and now share my joy moments... like that i can say i've live w/o any regret.. at least i've tried my best.

As many bros & sisters here... i'm again thankful for your kindness and encouragements. I'll try my best to keep up and keep it going. The battle has just begin.... i know at the end it shall be a beautiful and bright. Keeping in my mind and spirit.

LeMans2011

I'm a bit puzzled by the JB resale market... for obvious reasons (eg. very high transaction costs) i believe most Singaporeans are still adverse to it and would rather get direct from developer.

I've seen ads put up at iproperty for ages and the same house advertised 6 months ago is still there. There is no "market price" as the agents are listing prices at their whims and fancies. Built up and land size information were frequently inaccurate. Information on the house model is also not given, eg. the East Ledang semi-Ds: they don't tell you if it is type 3,5 or 7.

I am amazed how people can do business like that? Could this be opportunities for our more savvy Sinkie agent to come in???

ODYSSEY

Bro ,
In the course of your recent house hunting , will you mind sharing what is your perception/ price trench of the various tamans that you being through ? Seem like there are still real gems to be found in the resales market ? Are the resales now on par with developer offering ? Look like house hunting in JB is getting tougher ? Thks for input , if any .

Thanks for asking Jason, it is my personal feeling that the prices are creeping north.

To tell you the truth, we had put in the deposit for our house last Sunday but we are still keeping our fingers crossed that the deal would be sealed soon – as the owner is out of town and wouldn’t be back till tomorrow to sign the option form. We are praying hard that he will not renege on the sale, lured by a higher offer from other people.

We have seen Nusa Duta but we preferred HH more because the feel is different. For the price we are going to pay for a ND semi-d, we can get only a terrace in HH: ( I am not saying that ND is not good, so please don’t shoot me for it (different strokes for different folks, I guess) haha.

When we first started, we short-listed some properties and we emailed and left sms messages with all the agents to ask if we can view the houses, and none replied. After more than a week, we were quite desperate. So we PM’ed our good bro WUQI, hoping to tap on his huge network, and asked if he knew of anyone selling his place at HH. We also did an appeal in this thread asking for the same. A number of you replied to us that we need to call directly, which was what we did! Thank you to all these bros. Thank you too Jason for your bit of encouragement during those time.

Bro WUQI eventually referred us to someone, one of his good buddies, who is selling his terrace. It was at the Golf precinct. We liked the location very much but we didn’t get to see the inside as it was a last minute call and it was rude of us to intrude upon his tenant unannounced. We were scheduled to view it last Sunday actually but this didn’t materialise as his buddy had to be away for the weekend:(. Because of this, we went along with an agent (whom we called directly and he responded, phew!) to see some houses at Gateway and Golf. We felt in love with the units we saw and signed the option form that same day - afraid that the house may slip from our hands.

While we felt sorry for not being able to see the earlier house, we were also quietly confident that Wuqi’s buddy would be able to get a higher price for his property as the market is getting hot. It will be a blessing in disguise, and we also think his buddy secretly knows it too :smile:

Looking at our the thread right now, there are now more writings on finding the right place to buy a house for investment or own stay now than before. To all those who missed the SG property boom the last time round, what excuses can we give ourselves this time. Just my 2 cents .....

lastresort

Thanks Bro ODYSSEY & Wuqi....
I wouldn't dare to claim i'm being fillial... i also feel that this is my duty as a child. I can't take the illness from him (i told my mom if i can i would rather be the one having the disease)... all i can do minimally is to ensure that his comfort, both TCM and hospital medical bills, fetching him for all treatments and general expenses are all taken care of. I told him not to worry instead all he needs to know and remember is to get well and get ready to shift into our new house. I told him i know i've not been a good gal... even how i dun wan him to worry. It's very important that he needs to go for treatments and follow ups even to see TCM. I dun have the luxury of siblings hence it's all on my shoulders. My side of the story would be i dun have the enjoyment of getting pamper... Dad always tells me if you wan to study, you pay for yourself. So since Poly days... i learnt that i need to make my own $$ if i wan to further my head knowledge and paper qualifications. (actually i started partime since sec school days during the school holidays). As said i'm not the smart alec and earning powerful pay checks... i come from a humble small family however in the eyes of our extended family... my parents has always been pin down becos NO $$, NO big house, No car. i told myself to work hard and if i would to have all these one of these days, i would not end up and become proud but instead share the joy and be glad of my blessings. Planting is a long process.... u need a lot of patience... plough the soil... feed the soil and plant seed by seed... but when harverst... that's the time pple awe at your hard work... even then some may still say nasty remarks (wow so few fruits only ah) and doubt at you... all i know is i grow them with my bare hands, see it grew and now share my joy moments... like that i can say i've live w/o any regret.. at least i've tried my best.

As many bros & sisters here... i'm again thankful for your kindness and encouragements. I'll try my best to keep up and keep it going. The battle has just begin.... i know at the end it shall be a beautiful and bright. Keeping in my mind and spirit.

Skippy sis, didnt know you had such a hard time during your childhood days. You're definitely more filial than most people I know, I am sure many people feel touched by what you've done and your thoughts, your father definitely has done well in raising such a good daughter. Family bonding is something we cannot buy. People nowadays are getting more materialistic and they forget the most important things in life cannot be valued by money, this forum group really attracts a lot of nice hearted people. I believe people who have the intention to live in JB see things differently from other Singaporeans. Hope your father will get well soon and so he can enjoy living with you in your new home.

Be Strong! If you can go through this, everything else would be ok. :biggrin:

lastresort

Just random thoughts:

I seriously don't mind looking for a JB/Ipoh/KL wife next time if my generation of Singapore girls have so high expectations. My simple criteria for future wife is someone who doesn't mind living in JB, and someone who can cook! :biggrin:

ODYSSEY

Checkers: "forgive me ....u don't sound a bull ...u sound like an agent ... just joking"

Haha, my wife also said the same of me......... :(

lastresort

Checkers: "forgive me ....u don't sound a bull ...u sound like an agent ... just joking"

Haha, my wife also said the same of me......... :(

haha, it's normal! I have felt like a bull too! I am sure more people have felt the same way but might not have expressed their happiness completely.

abugumgum

Same here, the info can be fuzzy most of the time.

Prices are listed but they are not the actual price. Sometimes the asking price can even be higher when you are keen on the property after viewing. Some are negotiable and the range can be quite wide.

Buy with a clear head, as far as possible.

I'm a bit puzzled by the JB resale market... for obvious reasons (eg. very high transaction costs) i believe most Singaporeans are still adverse to it and would rather get direct from developer.

I've seen ads put up at iproperty for ages and the same house advertised 6 months ago is still there. There is no "market price" as the agents are listing prices at their whims and fancies. Built up and land size information were frequently inaccurate. Information on the house model is also not given, eg. the East Ledang semi-Ds: they don't tell you if it is type 3,5 or 7.

I am amazed how people can do business like that? Could this be opportunities for our more savvy Sinkie agent to come in???

checkers

Just random thoughts:

I seriously don't mind looking for a JB/Ipoh/KL wife next time if my generation of Singapore girls have so high expectations. My simple criteria for future wife is someone who doesn't mind living in JB, and someone who can cook! :biggrin:

Very hard to say when it is about love ... for all you know ...you will be lured back to Singapore because of love ... and you do all the cooking because of love :biggrin:

LOVE is not simple ...k?

Sanur

Very hard to say when it is about love ... for all you know ...you will be lured back to Singapore because of love ... and you do all the cooking because of love :biggrin:

WhahaHahaha aha, checkers! That's really funny! N that will be lastresort, lastresort!

arsenal

Hi last resort,

After buying house, next you are thinking of getting a wife, even before the completion of your education. Really mature for your age.
If you want pretty Singapore ladies that Like to live in JB, there are plenty in this forum.. Don't need to look further.. Some even have houses here..

Cheers

Just random thoughts:

ODYSSEY

cockcansing: "That will be the East. Im at pinggiran 6 "

Eh thanks. See lah, buy house also dont know Golf East or West (shy) ..... tsk tsk
Hope to bump into you sometime.

checkers

Hi last resort,

After buying house, next you are thinking of getting a wife, even before the completion of your education. Really mature for your age.
If you want pretty Singapore ladies that Like to live in JB, there are plenty in this forum.. Don't need to look further.. Some even have houses here..

Cheers

got meh? thought mostly men - rich men! :rolleyes:

Status
Not open for further replies.