• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bigfatfish

Since you mention this, i shall take a foto or a few fotos of a place i know here in Sinkieland. This person has been planting for around ten years. I can only drip salivia and envy his really beautiful painstaking garden. it's such a beautiful garden, secret garden.

But its a long process bro....

Need to prepare the land like a farmer like that.... Ofcourse can do short cuts like prepare the land only where you are planting so life gets a tad easier... He he.....

Then once you plants start to grow watch out for measly bugs and caterpillars. They can wreak havoc to your plants....

so organice insecticide is a must and repeated spraying.

Bigfatfish

For now i do mine along the corridor, not as extensive as how i wish it to be. I gave up my entire garden and donated to a friend's dad. 2 lorry full of plants. very heardpain but at least once HH is ready, i will go over back to his place and do transplant on the plants bit by bit. eating our own produce gives us full satisfaction. :smile:

Bro Bigfatfish wish you luck in ur endeavour as well. AS Jason said gardening is quite relaxing....

Surprisingly a lot of men seem to be doing it... he he.... staying away from their wives? an easy get away from wives without having to do indulge in vices?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Yeah its relaxing as jason said and to watch the plants grow and fruit is highly satisfying....

Although i could still say its cheaper to buy from the market than growing our own produce... cause our own produce is so organic that its so so expensive also...

Bigfatfish

Hi Mallow

for sure would like or need your help for the worms. Did you buy the blue worms or other type? i would like some then can bring them back here.

Hi AP
I posted to your flattering award on my gardening two days ago, and somehow it did not get uploaded. Thank you! My husband does the hard work while I swan around looking countrified. In return for your flattery, send me yr snailmail address and I'll send you some super kacang botor seeds. Others willing to send stamped envelopes also can get free seeds.

Clayey soil is a problem for most of us. Here is some advice from the net:

1. Add coarse sand to the clay soil, after it has been dug down and tilled over. Helps break up the clay. Use sparingly and see how the effect is first. Some peole think it almost makes concrete.
2. Do you need to lime and how much to lime – measuring pH
Measuring Soil Acidity (pH level)
You can buy various types of test kit, often you mix a soil sample with water then compare a colour change to a chart, but this is a bit of a pain for taking more than a couple of samples. I use an electronic meter, which is much easier just requiring polishing and inserting into wet soil.
Whichever kit you use, it will come with instructions and will give you a reading. Never make a judgement on the basis of just one test. You may have hit a spot particularly high or low pH. Take samples or test from a number of spots and this will give you a much better general view of your soil’s acidity level.

Agricultural Lime or Garden Lime is made from pulverized limestone or chalk. As well as raising the pH it will provide calcium for the crops and trace nutrients. Some recent experiments are indicating our soils may well benefit from the addition of rock dust, adding trace nutrients to the soil. Dolomite Lime is similar to garden lime but contains a higher percentage of magnesium.
3. The first thing you have to do in order to turn your clay soil into fresh-smelling, enriched dirt is to rototill the ground. There is no getting around it; the ground has to be plowed and tilled before you can mix in organic matter. Anyone who has rototilled clay soil will tell you to be prepared for a workout because it will feel like you are trying to till through concrete. Waiting until after a good rain when the ground is softer is not going to help with clay soil because water only makes clay clump more.
4. Enrich the soil - the main objective is to improve aeration and drainage. Add organic compost to your soil. Compost will add nutrients to the soil, but the most benefit it will have for clay soil is to intersperse air into it. Plant roots need air. Clay soil's composition is dense with little air. It can actually suffocate a plant. Compost allows water to drain more freely. Clay soil holds on to water and causes root rot in many types of plants. Layer approximately 2 inches of compost over the top of the worked clay soil. Mix it in thoroughly.
Conduct the ball squeeze soil test. Grab a handful of soil after the compost enrichment. Squeeze the soil and then open your hand. The soil should break apart easily. If the soil holds the shape of your hand, it needs more compost. Layer an inch over the top and work it in. Redo the hand test. Add more compost, if necessary.

erm ... a compost heap is TERRIFIC. For neat gardens, get one of the plastic ones with a handle to turn the stuff: in goes all the kitchen veg and fruit peelings, newspaper and other paper stuff. Uses up all this stuff and makes great soil.

I am happy to share worms and info with anyone who wants to start a home worm farm - cannot find the worms except in Penang. Amazingly good fertiliser in clean worm pee and castings. Anyone?

Bigfatfish

Forgot a message. If anyone is interested in a corner unit at Setia tropika, can let me know and i will ask owner to contact you. nicely done up already. selling at around 500 plus plus . pls contact owner direct. you can pm me for the number.

jasonjst

For now i do mine along the corridor, not as extensive as how i wish it to be. I gave up my entire garden and donated to a friend's dad. 2 lorry full of plants. very heardpain but at least once HH is ready, i will go over back to his place and do transplant on the plants bit by bit. eating our own produce gives us full satisfaction. :smile:

Wow , you guys damn pro and serious man ! Possible that we buy a plot of cheap agriculture land in JB and start a plantation ? I heard plam oil is good profitable biz leh .
Say we buy a plot of land for 400K + 100K working capital , we invite 50 member here to join the investment , can work or not ? Additional space can plant some durian , mangos for sales to sinkie visiting during weekends ! Can appoint Mallow our expert in agriculture and wuqi for sale and marketing lor ! We can make the farm like a tourist spot for Sinkies too . Only 10K per share lor , who know can grow into big biz in 5 to 10 yrs times ?

Bigfatfish

A friend of mine who stays in johor is asking me to do something like this but very vague. might be meeting him agian to check it out again. can't remember how much he told me the land was.

Wow , you guys damn pro and serious man ! Possible that we buy a plot of cheap agriculture land in JB and start a plantation ? I heard plam oil is good profitable biz leh .
Say we buy a plot of land for 400K + 100K working capital , we invite 50 member here to join the investment , can work or not ? Additional space can plant some durian , mangos for sales to sinkie visiting during weekends ! Can appoint Mallow our expert in agriculture and wuqi for sale and marketing lor ! We can make the farm like a tourist spot for Sinkies too . Only 10K per share lor , who know can grow into big biz in 5 to 10 yrs times ?

jasonjst

A friend of mine who stays in johor is asking me to do something like this but very vague. might be meeting him agian to check it out again. can't remember how much he told me the land was.

Can someone do a feasible study and maybe a biz plan so that ppl here can invest in it lor. Imaging 1Kg of Mao Shan durian sell rm22 to sinkies , one haverst can be few tons leh !

mallow

Wow Mallow , this is just too much for us to handle .... thanks anyway . Look like very difficult to plant veg hor

Sorry - may have been too cheem and detailed. Speaking to a Prof what, so cannot anyhow chin chye reply.

Short form: Add a little lime and coarse sand to the clay soil, plus lots of organic material. Dig in like crazy [hire two happy grunts to dig on their day off]. Be patient and for each plant, dig a hole a bit deeper, to fill with good soil and organic fertiliser. Chuck in your seeds and keep watered sufficiently. Talk nicely to the plants. God and the sun will do the rest.

You cannot imagine the joy of the first shoots pushing vigorously through the soil. Then when you pick your first bean or ladies finger, your pride will know no bounds!

Simply try it. Who the heck will know if a snail came along or you forgot to water the plants and no rain helped out so they all wilted and could not recover? Try again, and this time you will know better and have even more luck.

mallow

Hi Mallow for sure would like or need your help for the worms. Did you buy the blue worms or other type? i would like some then can bring them back here.

There are two types of worms, far as I can tell - earth worms, which I cannot find anyone to supply [there were some for RM$5 in the fish shop wriggling around in a plastic container of black earth - I bought two and released them and never saw them again - hope they made it! The other is a particular type for vermiculture that I have just written to a flen in Ipoh to help me source. Will keep you informed. A friend in Perth kept hers for years and was thrilled with the quality of the fertiliser produced.

Analytical Professor

No i am not using the electronic sprinkler yet. Just using a normal one.

still need to get wifeys approval to buy the electronic one. She is doing her DD on it now.

I hv not studied the electronic ones yet... She said what if the timer fails.... then we may have a flood in the garden....

Dun have an answer yet to that.

Please help...

Where you gets those electronic sprinkles?

I am going to get my house pretty soon..maybe another 3 months? However, kid still studying in Singapore so cant live in JB all the time and thus need some electronic to help me watering plants... Btw I bought a Ramba robot from ebay to help cleaning the floor.. US is selling at 290... Singapore is selling at 995.. How to live in Singapore when everything is so expensive?

Analytical Professor

i think i know which one.

That one small bottle right? Damn strong one... All insects die one... actually if you put a bit stronger .... ur leaves will burn and turn brown as well

yeah not organic.. cant use it for cultivation..

hope we are talking about the same one. cause i initially bought mine there as well next to the temple....

BTW AP , I bought my insecticle at the nursery at the temple alone Bestari , very effective and I dont think is organic.

Analytical Professor

Agree she wont complain one ah... Imagine u tell her u wanna go gambling/ktv etc. Sure die one....

Gardening she sure wont mind one.... BTW why all men seem to be doing this? Thought its women who must be doing this?

BTW regarding the bold part below u may be a bit too optimistic:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

The only hobby which wife can’t complaint lor ... . After a hard day work in the garden, she may even pamper you on the bed
haha!

Analytical Professor

Bro jason take a video upload on youtube and give us the link... i think this is possible right?

Imagine all of us visit you... your beautiful house... gone ready
and surely ur wife let u sleep in the car porch.....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Wah! thank you! very interesting.. Will visit your house one day!

Bought at ebay usa , like this can liao http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-GILMOUR-950...520?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19c581a1d0 , buy simple but good one hor ! Have been using this for 2yrs no problem so far . First must lay all the pipes to watering pts , maybe about 1 to 2m per point . All this goes to your timer which is conected to your tap which must be on at all time . Use sprinkle head like this http://cgi.ebay.com/Toro-Lawn-Genie...931?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item25658787f3 will work well . ( Not all sprinkler nozzles will work ) . Also make sure water presure is pretty high otherwise sprinker nozzles will not rotate hor !
Oh yes you can lay pipes under ground if you wish , look neater but if you wanted alteration became very difficult liao . If you want to see actual working of these sprinkles can visit me at my house lor ..
All pipes and fitting can easily get at JB hardware shop , whole setup should be less than 350 buck lar . BTW AP , I bought my insecticle at the nursery at the temple alone Bestari , very effective and I dont think is organic.

Analytical Professor

Mallow thanks for your beautiful posting... My uncle who visited me during EASTER saw my lil garden and was flabbergasted. Soil was clayey... Plants were not growing. Despite my maid who is a farmer tending to it for 16 months.

After a lil bit of advice from him i started personally supervising all the garden work. And now its a lot better. Stil a long way to go...

He suggested preparing compost exactly the way you suggested. But the thought of worms makes me squirm... So while i am preparing compost now from all the dead/rotting leaves/peeled veg and fruits... i am hoping the worms dun arrive...:smile::smile:

erm ... a compost heap is TERRIFIC. For neat gardens, get one of the plastic ones with a handle to turn the stuff: in goes all the kitchen veg and fruit peelings, newspaper and other paper stuff. Uses up all this stuff and makes great soil.

I am happy to share worms and info with anyone who wants to start a home worm farm - cannot find the worms except in Penang. Amazingly good fertiliser in clean worm pee and castings. Anyone?

Analytical Professor

Just checked out my pine trees. The weather was unbearably hot past few days. So my wife and i drove down to water the plants.... Checked out my pines... they are atleast 6.5-7ft. did not measure exactly. they were much shorter to me in september when i had brought them. now they are much taller. i have to look up to them while they look down on me....

I am hoping to plant more pines in my precint once SETIA TROPIKA RC hands over charge to local committee.... I dun mind sponsoring them as well...

Giving back to nature bro.... But then i am not alone... need approval from fellow members before can do anything... As usual many may suggest fruit trees. then how?

Ah... il tell them sure got bird problem later...must remember this point...

AP is going to plant 2 Mao Shan durian tree and invite all of you for durian session few yrs time .. can charge us 22 per kg lor / I think pine tree is less useful

Status
Not open for further replies.