• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Mandarin Campaign 2011

S

suicidalpap

Speak Mandarin Campaign 2011 aimed at engaging youth

New initiatives of this year's Speak Mandarin Campaign are geared towards engaging youth in the language from a younger age.

The annual campaign kicked off today with a new tagline: "Mandarin. It gets better with use."

Tapping on digital media platforms, the Promote Mandarin Council hopes these will serve as fun ways to engage youths.

They include a Theme Song Contest and Short Video Clip Competition. Youths also have the option of participating in the Chinese Challenge, in which they will be quizzed on topics such as Chinese pop culture and literature.

The council also hopes to change the perception of Mandarin as a "second language" to Mandarin as a language for our daily communication.

Echoing that was Minister for Transport and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr Lui Tuck Yew, who officiated the event held at the Asian Civilisations Museum. He said: "In order to speak Mandarin well, we have to use it in our daily lives and learn, over time to use it better."

Ash007

I thought there are a lot of Ah tiongs in Singapore already. Still need speak Mandarin campaign?

Sideswipe

IMO Mandarin wrong term, it is 官话 in Chinese.
we should call it 北京话, Ah tiongs in Singapore will feel more at home.

Lestat

This campaign is for us to speak in a manner which the ah tiongs will understand us. :p

S

suicidalpap

I thought there are a lot of Ah tiongs in Singapore already. Still need speak Mandarin campaign?

We still need more Ah Tiongs. That's probably the scums in white trying to tell sinkies.:rolleyes::mad:

S

suicidalpap

This campaign is for us to speak in a manner which the ah tiongs will understand us. :p

Traitor PAP wanted sinkies to integrate with the ah tiongs instead of them integrate with the sinkies. Why only speak Mandarin campaign?

Last edited by a moderator:

mollusk

Soon we will have "Speak AhTiong Campaign", "Speak AhNeh Campaign" and "Speak Tagalog Campaign".

Equalisation

Teacher: Little Johnny, speak a sentence in mandarin.

Little Johnny : Woh yau cher ni der sia mian ....

**&^%$ .... Teacher slap Little Johnny.

Little Johnny : Why? I only say I want to eat your prawn mee ...

Teacher : Ooops .... sorry....

saratogas

How cum they get a Transport Minister to launch the speak Mandarin campaign & not the Education Minister?

Maybe during his public transport recces, he heard commuters scold gahment in dialects...

lianbeng

How cum they get a Transport Minister to launch the speak Mandarin campaign & not the Education Minister?

Maybe during his public transport recces, he heard commuters scold gahment in dialects...

lianbeng not surprised he kana cho jialat jialat by chinamen but couldn't quite understand them: "cao ni zu zong shi ba dai.":biggrin:

1. aiyoh!
2. no porn is pretty useless and free mah.
3. eat full, nothing to do and very free.
4. also scores points leh!