• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

Causeway gets jam relief as new system breaks down

Most wait just 1 hour or less as biometric system fails for most of the day
By Fiona Low

At 6.45pm yesterday, the Causeway was almost empty in both directions. When The Straits Times drove through, it took just half an hour to go in and out of JB.

TRAVELLERS crossing the Causeway were yesterday spared the gruelling jams that have plagued the checkpoints for the last two weeks - after the new biometric system that has been causing the chaos broke down.

The system - in which every person has to spend time having his or her fingerprints scanned - was out for a large part of the day, said Malaysian checkpoint officers.

They said it was being fixed, and would be up and running again by today.

Travellers who spoke to The Straits Times said they took between half an hour and an hour to clear Malaysian immigration and customs yesterday evening.

This was a far cry from the seven-hour wait reported on Saturday.

When The Straits Times drove through the Causeway at about 5.30pm yesterday, traffic was smooth and it took about half an hour to go in and out of the neighbouring state.

I wish for more frequent breakdowns.... :smile:

karmabear

Agreed. I dun even allow my family members to be alone around the foreign workers area/lifts/desolate roads cause these things are happening in Spore right now.

The Downtown murder and slashing case and so many others are case in point...

With this, let me publicly apologize to you. Hope you realise that I am just messing around with my karmabear persona. All my posts on Sammy is very irrelevant but have some truisms. I am concerned for the fellow moving back to SG because I felt that he gave up too fast and more importantly, it is not a guarantee that there will be no crime. But is guaranteed is cost of living is higher. To me, does not make sense. Of course, he is welcome to his decision and I empathize about the wife. This sounds a bit MCP but generally, men worry about cost of living, future earnings, job security etc. Ok peace out. I am going to whack PAP dogs in the politics section. Take care all.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thank you so much bro Bear, i know you meant well. Thanks for your contribution, you are welcome here, i am sure bro AP, always being the gent that he is understands where you are coming from.

Analytical Professor

Thanks dude.

With this, let me publicly apologize to you. Hope you realise that I am just messing around with my karmabear persona. All my posts on Sammy is very irrelevant but have some truisms. I am concerned for the fellow moving back to SG because I felt that he gave up too fast and more importantly, it is not a guarantee that there will be no crime. But is guaranteed is cost of living is higher. To me, does not make sense. Of course, he is welcome to his decision and I empathize about the wife. This sounds a bit MCP but generally, men worry about cost of living, future earnings, job security etc. Ok peace out. I am going to whack PAP dogs in the politics section. Take care all.

the same pinoy look up to Ang Moh you know....

Even broke ang moh they still consider superior. As long as ang moh can already.

People idolize ang moh mah, actually there are all kinds of ang moh...ever met very uncivilized ang moh too...many years ago on a long flight and i got an aisle seat but one ang moh took my seat and refused to move despite my requests and some more so fierce. I asked the stewardess who also couldn't get him to move and she got the steward to finally get him to move.....another time at the cinema also same thing, got to ask the cinema staff to get two ang moh off the seats....incredible huh

I agree with Ginfreelys signature and yes Wuqi i agree with you too.

I am surprised why no police report has been made yet? Why no action taken yet?

Low pay or whatever ($400 a month is what they earn + annual increment of maybe $50 max.... So yes its low pay... But they get free food + accom

And moreover they agreed to work for that pay. No one placed a gun to their head and asked them to come and work here.

Stern action must be taken.

Yeah lor, don't know why the ministers paid so highly cannot understand how to tackle simple problem like this.

The day we can see reports like these is the day they are really serious about accountability, else, everything is hogwash and a smokescreen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTOQm6Ls6Ks

Singapore, i still want to believe in you, not just because of what the people have sacrificed in the past for you but for the sake of the many people who still believe in you, now and in the future.

It is our forefathers and not PAP who have sacrificed and made this place successful. It does not take a genius to know that massive import of low quality foreigners at such a short time will wreak havoc to the society. I hope they really do something about it.

cathylmg

Yeah lor, don't know why the ministers paid so highly cannot understand how to tackle simple problem like this.

I can't understand the pension part. All the civil servants pensions have been replaced by the cpf scheme except for the ministers. Why do we need to pay them so much and continue to pay them after they retired? Like this our government overheads will get too heavy for our tax systems to cope. No wonder our gst and the coes needs to increase and increase....

abugumgum

Bro abugumgum, no problem. If it helps, i can help you find a place with absolutely no strings attached. I am good for it.

In fact, you should give it one more go at different places. If you have a place to park your car, then you won't be needing to sell your car so urgently. Whether you sell now or 3-4 months later, you will likely get back the same amount of money.

Give it another chance man, it is your life though, whichever you do, i respect your decision.

I nearly got mugged on the very first day i arrived in US, being so new to the place, thinking back my SLR camera nearly cost me my life.
In the end i did not give up,

Stats tends to always side with people who persists - Original quote. :smile:

Indeed, without COE here, there is not much difference in the resale value within a few months.

I have asked a few more friends to help ask around for potential buyers. If all these don't pan out, then I will trouble you for the interim, thank you once again for your kindness.

Hi there. I posted an earlier message enquiring abt Casa Almyra but you may have missed it. You mentioned your neighbors curse abt that project. Care to elaborate what the issues are? Thanks in advance.

Your thread has been most informative. Your pm is always full. You can pm me too.

Hi I have viewed this place too, there is a waste treatment pond right next to the estate. It is pretty big and open air type.

aangsc

Probably we should either got to the HH or EL clubhouse and get a small room with food and drinks.

Clubhouse would be good for gathering , the host can remain anonymous and leave some privacy behind. Sound like a mystery party ; how to guess which of the sammyboy forumer turn up ? But the minority race like eurasian will be a dead give-away, same for the women, there are just a handful here.

Dear all,

It is not my aim to affect or discourage people from living in johor. You can read it just as "another" story in the newspaper.

However, do step up security measures immediately ( as Mallow has kindly shared). Do not wait or hesitate (if you are still considering for whatever reasons).

Sure, it is not 100% foolproof, however, the deterrence will be helpful as well as slow down the burglars if they come, giving more time to react. We have to protect ourselves.

Yes Mallow, we are thankful not to bump into the burglars (we were in the estate and away for 1 hour from the unit).

I have to take care for my family's well being and interest, not everyone is built with same threshold, hence the first and foremost thing to do is to pacify her and reassure her safety.

It is certainly not because I did not expect crime, not because we did not have taken security steps, nor it is because this is not Ang Moh Country (so that we cannot accept).

We have just become part of the statistics that's all. Our break-in is just one day after the Permas Jaya case, with similar operations. Just tough luck to happen so early in our stay here (we are settling in and very happy)

Maybe we will be back again in Johor one day.

Hi I agree with your wife to move back first for the time being. The last thing people want to hear when bad thing happened is the thing happened because the victim didn't take enough precautions.

aangsc

I can't understand the pension part. All the civil servants pensions have been replaced by the cpf scheme except for the ministers.

That's a clear double standard. It should be scrapped altogether. With such high pay as minister/MP, why do they need pension ? But it is unlikely for any MP to bring up , not even opposition MP because they also a get pension if meet requirement.

I can't understand the pension part. All the civil servants pensions have been replaced by the cpf scheme except for the ministers. Why do we need to pay them so much and continue to pay them after they retired? Like this our government overheads will get too heavy for our tax systems to cope. No wonder our gst and the coes needs to increase and increase....

Yeah lor they grant themselves exception, not just that, their pension start at age 55 some more ...

cathylmg

Yeah lor they grant themselves exception, not just that, their pension start at age 55 some more ...

Which is why ministers who don't get elected can just quit totally. After a certain number of years in service, even if not elected, they will be paid anyway.

aangsc

Took this route from office in Senai to Desaru on Friday evening. Nice drive and roads. Surprised to see so many SG plate at all the Desaru resorts. Had a good seafood dinner at Sungai Rengit after.

However do note that there is toll. It is only toll free from PG to Desaru, not Senai to Desaru.

Tried the expressway yesterday afternoon but sadly was force to u-turn back as a jam built up about 40 km from desaru. Some accident along the way on single lane some more , I saw ambulance speeding there later.
Now with this road, Desaru will be a popular destination for short breakaway.

Status
Not open for further replies.