• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Just now went to Adda Heights, so many SG cars at the Showhouse. Counted 2 BMWs, same number but one black and one white. Add Heights houses are quite ok.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Just now did something silly on hindsight, there was a young lady, about 14 i think, her boyfriend dumped her by the roadside and she was crying outside a bank. I was waiting outside as just happened they were doing something to the machines inside, so i asked her what happened. Turned out that she was dumped (literally) and her parents were in Tesco. So i volunteered to send her to Tesco since she couldn't reach them.

So i asked her to wait and went in to draw some money and then drove her straight to Tesco. Then went quickly back to finish the makan with my family. Wife was a bit upset as i took so long and when i shared this with them, they chided me for being too helpful as it could have been a trick to rob me, etc.

Still, i just did what i could as she was a young lady and in need of help and she had no RM on her. Just paying forward and in a way back to society.

(I got help lots of times from kind hearted cabbies and lorry driver uncles who drove me when i was lost, got injured, etc) Sometimes, the ordinary man in the street may be much better to you than your own relatives.

I remembered one time i called a senior relative as i had a fall outside my Secondary school(one minute from her HDB) Instead of helping me, she cursed me and asked me to solve my own problem. It was a cabbie (who sent me for free) and my grandpa who came and sent me to the hospital, she didn't even care.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wow that would be great Wuqi if you can get a repeater to boost the Spore signal which means your area will have access to faster Spore signals costs aside.

Wish i could do that at Setia Tropika.

Please let us know how you achieve success here. That would be great.

How much does a repeater cost?

If you could get a signal there, then you definitely can do it. It works for all 3 telcos as long as you can get a signal. The basic cost for one is just about 300 plus and single band and cheaper types from HK, you can get for 100 plus (Pricing in SGD)

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi wuqi, will the Repeater work for my starhub mobile?

It would definitely work, i can get all 3 signals in different parts of HH. On my 2nd floor, i can get M1 and Singtel reliably. Around the back area, i can get M1 and Starhub. At the road infront of my house, Singtel is super strong.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Horizon hills it should work i guess as long as can pick up signal and boost the signal strength. (They have built in signal amplifiers right?)

I studied electronics for 2 years during my JC as one of my special subjects.

However have since forgotten everything.

Wished the signals could reach Tropika.... But alas no where in sight....

Prof, you are definitely right, with the Telcos dropping pricing for roaming soon, this situation would get better. There are also ways to divert or forward calls. Can you get any signal at all there at all out of all 3 SG telcos? I think those in Nusa Sentral, Nusa Bayou, Eco Setia and East Ledang/Ledang Heights/Leisure Farm would get even stronger signals. A friend with Singtel can get 3-4 bars consistently at his home. I tried to see if i can get a signal at Nusa Duta recently, was quite surprised i could get an SG signal although its a Singtel line.

Singtel signal really steady, best in JB too it seems.

Disclaimer: This is not a paid or compensated advertisement for any telco.

Grago

Just now did something silly on hindsight, there was a young lady, about 14 i think, her boyfriend dumped her by the roadside and she was crying outside a bank. I was waiting outside as just happened they were doing something to the machines inside, so i asked her what happened. Turned out that she was dumped (literally) and her parents were in Tesco. So i volunteered to send her to Tesco since she couldn't reach them.

So i asked her to wait and went in to draw some money and then drove her straight to Tesco. Then went quickly back to finish the makan with my family. Wife was a bit upset as i took so long and when i shared this with them, they chided me for being too helpful as it could have been a trick to rob me, etc.

Still, i just did what i could as she was a young lady and in need of help and she had no RM on her. Just paying forward and in a way back to society.

(I got help lots of times from kind hearted cabbies and lorry driver uncles who drove me when i was lost, got injured, etc) Sometimes, the ordinary man in the street may be much better to you than your own relatives.

I remembered one time i called a senior relative as i had a fall outside my Secondary school(one minute from her HDB) Instead of helping me, she cursed me and asked me to solve my own problem. It was a cabbie (who sent me for free) and my grandpa who came and sent me to the hospital, she didn't even care.

Good on you Bro Wuqi, Your family were quite right to worry for you as it could have been not what it seem but a scam!! Fortunately it wasn't. It can be frightening at that age(...14 yrs.) and also being a female at any age to be left alone without means to get help!! In saying that it's a frightenening at any age to be left without any means to get help. My hat off to you Bro.

If you could get a signal there, then you definitely can do it. It works for all 3 telcos as long as you can get a signal. The basic cost for one is just about 300 plus and single band and cheaper types from HK, you can get for 100 plus (Pricing in SGD)

Where would one get a signal repeater from ...... Funan or Sim Lim Tower?

If one can get a SG telco signal in JB and one makes call and Data connections, is the charge one of 'local usage' i.e. as if in SG, depending on the plan subscribed, it would be "FREE" or would it charged as International roaming....... as one is in J.B. while connected, though it's through a SG telco signal. Sorry if it sounds a silly question?? I hope Bro Wuqi or one of the other Bros. can enlighten......

Analytical Professor

Previously i used to get the M1 signal at Thistle hotel, at JB City Square and a couple of other places. And i used to make calls. Even in indonesia in Batam, the charges are local call charges (as in singapore local call charges)

Since you are hooking on to your home base operator.... the charges will all be local. If you have a local Data plan (ensure that you have turned off roaming for data). This effectively means that you can only hook on to your home base operator. Therefore charges would be local again.

If one can get a SG telco signal in JB and one makes call and Data connections, is the charge one of 'local usage' i.e. as if in SG, depending on the plan subscribed, it would be "FREE" or would it charged as International roaming....... as one is in J.B. while connected, though it's through a SG telco signal. Sorry if it sounds a silly question?? I hope Bro Wuqi or one of the other Bros. can enlighten......

Analytical Professor

Bro Wuqi, your wife was right in getting upset. You could have gotten yourself into a deeper mess if it was a scam... And if the scam turns out to be whats in my mind... The girl is underaged... You could have been wrongly accused of anything.....

It would have been a case of humanitarian work gone wrong....

Thankfully nothing happened to you and you are still around for all of us.

Good on you Bro Wuqi, Your family were quite right to worry for you as it could have been not what it seem but a scam!! Fortunately it wasn't. It can be frightening at that age(...14 yrs.) and also being a female at any age to be left alone without means to get help!! In saying that it's a frightenening at any age to be left without any means to get help. My hat off to you Bro.

Grago

Previously i used to get the M1 signal at Thistle hotel, at JB City Square and a couple of other places. And i used to make calls. Even in indonesia in Batam, the charges are local call charges (as in singapore local call charges)

Since you are hooking on to your home base operator.... the charges will all be local. If you have a local Data plan (ensure that you have turned off roaming for data). This effectively means that you can only hook on to your home base operator. Therefore charges would be local again.

Thanks Prof. You in J.B. or have you come back into SG?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
HH, i meant to say that its the strongest in certain areas of my place, it may differ for you and might even be better. I was referring to the new ones. Quite nice but yes its a bit deserted for now. Guess you are right as the robbery did happen at that place.

Thanks bro AP and Grago, yes on reflection did a silly thing but glad it came out alright.

Hi Grago, it will be local in SG, as in its as if you made the call in SG itself. Ordering from overseas as the ones in SG need licensing, etc etc.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok i need to find Yews Cafe now.

Thanks Wuqi for the tip. Ali Cafe i think i have seen it but was not sure good or not so did not go in.

Thanks for Pearls Cafe as well...

Sure, Ali cafe last order is before 12mn as i found out too late previously, the coffee and tea with tongkat ali is pretty nice. Their fried rice is nice too and their nasi lemak even has 3 versions. Sometime back, they served jap style food too.

Grago

HH, i meant to say that its the strongest in certain areas of my place, it may differ for you and might even be better. I was referring to the new ones like Yellow Horizon. Quite nice but yes its a bit deserted for now.

Thanks bro AP and Grago, yes on reflection did a silly thing but glad it came out alright.

Hi Grago, it will be local in SG, as in its as if you made the call in SG itself. Ordering from overseas as the ones in SG need licensing, etc etc.

Thanks Bro. Did a quick search on Amazon.com, quite a few listed. But problem is the voltage.... 110v as compared to our 240V. Got some 110v stuff like routers, lucky have step up/down transformer or had to ditch my 110v elcetrics. But very troublesome unless can convert those 'electrics' to 240v.....

Sure, Ali cafe last order is before 12mn as i found out too late previously, the coffee and tea with tongkat ali is pretty nice. Their fried rice is nice too and their nasi lemak even has 3 versions. Sometime back, they served jap style food too.

Wow, not a bad kopitiam to get late supper and with 'Tongkat ali' ....

euphony

i think i go back only after mid nite

saw the monstrous snaking jam on camera just now

I checked skycam at tuas sometime in the evening and for the 1st time i saw the malaysia side queue stretched all the way to singapore side and can be seen on camera?!! my goodness that's how many km of traffic jam i hope no one here got caught in it. wonder if i should go on from tuas later or just give up and make camp in sg already... anyone traveling back to SG these few hours from tuas? can update?

mallow

So i asked her to wait and went in to draw some money and then drove her straight to Tesco. Then went quickly back to finish the makan with my family. Wife was a bit upset as i took so long and when i shared this with them, they chided me for being too helpful as it could have been a trick to rob me, etc. ...
Just what my husband would do too, and you are both lucky nothing bad happened to you ... VERY sorry to say that, and may it be that soon this would be the only and correct thing to do.
It is now about 10.20 pm, and are any of you enduring loud explosion sounds, with some actual rattling of grilles, from live firing practice?

Narmi

Hi

The jam at both links is madness fr the cam view at this hour! Maybe will subside at 5am n continue jam again fr 7am.

Analytical Professor

My update below..... yes thats how bad it was....

I saw the 3km signboard a while after i was in the jam. Which means i have traversed atleast 3.5 km of the jam.

Sometimes in life you dun have a choice do you? I had to come back today.... Nothing urgent...

Just that i really wanted to come back...

Kudos to my wife for making the 3.5 km only an hour an ten minutes.

I checked skycam at tuas sometime in the evening and for the 1st time i saw the malaysia side queue stretched all the way to singapore side and can be seen on camera?!! my goodness that's how many km of traffic jam i hope no one here got caught in it. wonder if i should go on from tuas later or just give up and make camp in sg already... anyone traveling back to SG these few hours from tuas? can update?

Analytical Professor

As Wuqi said as long as you get some signal from Starhub anywhere in your home, you can then install a booster. That will amplify the signal and make it available for a certain radius around the place where you position it.

Serves as a mini base station...

Hi mine is under starhub and for my business, i expect calls to come in anytime from singapore. What would u suggest? Cos u mentioned that starhub can only be received at certain part of the house.. that means i cant use it anyway in my house?

euphony

My update below..... yes thats how bad it was....

I saw the 3km signboard a while after i was in the jam. Which means i have traversed atleast 3.5 km of the jam.

Sometimes in life you dun have a choice do you? I had to come back today.... Nothing urgent...

Just that i really wanted to come back...

Kudos to my wife for making the 3.5 km only an hour an ten minutes.

I was a bit luckier. I left about 12am and via 2nd link. Knew it couldn't be smooth so I crawled from clementi on AYE slowly towards 2nd link challenging myself to conserve fuel. Reached SG side totally clear. Reached m'sia side spent about 15minutes. Still much better than causeway i suspect.

Status
Not open for further replies.