• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

Couple of times i encountered this situation.

Just left the items at Check out.

I dunno i somehow love going TESCO

Yes, the price tagging can be trying many a time.
Usually, I will just not buy that item if it will take a long time to verify.
On certain week days, the replenishment of shelves are not being done on time too. We will just skip those items. :smile:

Analytical Professor

There are those who swear by KUMON.

And there are those like me who swear by parental help and assistance.

Nothing beats parental involvement in childrens academics. (except of course if you really dunno the subject like Mandarin and ME)

For your P6 child you need external help.

For your P3 boy still not too late. You can start helping him. Its so easy.

Really easy....

You will see his marks swell. Just be patient. Spend 2 hours a day with him. Dun bother about exam results. Not important. Lay a strong foundation.

He will learn to pick himself up and fly after that.

Still thinking of putting them up for Kumon lessons on weekends at ST or hire a tuition teacher to come to my house at ST on weekend to give my kids tuition.

avalon74

So do you take omneprazole or pantoprazole?
Ulcer caused by acidity?
Any diet restrictions you follow?

Dunno man.. all i recall was that it was most expensive drug I had then..
each costing ard $4.50 & I had 3 types..
SC mentioned that contrary to popular belief, ulcer is not induced by stress nor diet.. its actually bacteria within the system..
For most, they do not attack the system.. probably they din like me.. =(

Fortunately I discovered early, they say delay for any 3 yrs may lead to cancer.. (scary tots)

Analytical Professor

Wow you have planned lots of activities for your child.

I like what you said. My child should do what i did when i was young.

I am blessed with good neighbours in Spore.

Yet i could not help but amuse myself when my neighbours saw my kids walking barefoot in a short distance of about 20sq ft.

They asked my kids why were they walking barefoot.

I never found anything wrong with it.

Infact at ST around my precint its pretty clean. I walk bare foot in my garden and at times barefoot outside while watering the plants....

Whats wrong with the occasional prick? You are not going to die anyway... A bit of blood... Wash with water and apply isopropyl alcohol and it should be fine...

My son has Kumon, Wushu, PAL sessions in school, and he only entered Primary school this year.
For me, I want him to have a childhood like me, as much as possible, where I climb trees, run around bare foot, etc, but so far, I dun see it as a possibility in Singapore.
And seeing him having so many other activities, I really cannot bear to wake him up so early leaving home with me to go school.
So for me, I shape his character differently.

Not saying what others are doing is wrong, but rather each family has a different story to tell, and different way to handle things.

Analytical Professor

i think its the H pylori bacteria.

You are one of the lucky few who have this bacteria and easily treated by antibiotics.

But for many ulcer is caused by acidity (corrosive gastritis) which does not have a cure... Just medicines to contain the acidity.

SC mentioned that contrary to popular belief, ulcer is not induced by stress nor diet.. its actually bacteria within the system..

Fortunately I discovered early, they say delay for any 3 yrs may lead to cancer.. (scary tots)

Analytical Professor

Someone who has my childs interests at heart asked me "What does your child do to relax?"

Watch TV?

I said no. Then she asked what else? PSP, gameboy, xbox, nintendo etc?

I again replied no.

she was shocked.

I then said i want my kids to grow up doing what i did.

And i really admire what you said here below.

There are people who think like me in this world. Arent there?

For me, I want him to have a childhood like me, as much as possible, where I climb trees, run around bare foot, etc, but so far, I dun see it as a possibility in Singapore.

Not saying what others are doing is wrong, but rather each family has a different story to tell, and different way to handle things.

Narmi

And my feeling is that when you compare the 2 jams.... the ones at Tuas are scarier... Cause they hardly move.

But at Causeway it still moves somehow... And i really dunno or cant explain the whys and hows.

Its becoz at causeway the msian side has traffic police to catch queue cutters and also police to direct cars into the lanes at immigration. I ever got caught in massive jam at 2nd link for almost 4hrs!!! I swear to neva use 2nd link. From traffic cam looks clear but the cam neva cover the jb side wic is where the jam really is! So everybody happily go via 2nd link n paid more to be stuck in d jam. I really pity us who were caught in it.

That is why you need to give the Funds time to perform.

As an example if you look at ETFs the only way they can go is up despite the upheavels in the market.

Yes the index may go up and then down. The ETF will follow suit... But in the long term the index goes up and up. So the ETF heads north too.

So giving your fund time to perform is essential.

In my humble opinion one year is not a time frame to look at funds cause human errors do occur.

There are top funds that have recorded negative growth in certain years.

However in a 3-5 year horizon they may give you returns of 10%-15%.

Err I was referring to unit trust, not ETF leh...me no personal experience to share about ETF lah...oh but my friend in fund management industry did caution me there are some types of ETF that are not true ETF but underlying are non-ETF or even derivatives...something like that, a bit too complex for me to fully undertstand, anyway buyers beware and need to research to ensure it is real ETF before buying...

Yeah unit trust performance goes up and down in line with market, the peeve is still need to pay annual expense whether they perform or not, so might as well ownself buy shares and the price goes up and down in line with market and the best is it is free from annual expense :biggrin:

Oh you got any views on the technology unit trust sector? I've been keeping my tech unit trust under my pillow for more than 10 years and see the price recovered from lowest one third to half price and stagnant there..wondering whether to finally cut and return the few thousands to CPF...

euphony

Bro, where is your place? agree that Molek is not exactly near SEG.. but would likely visit there again for the makan.. heard the ba kut teh not bad also..

LF. =) planning the works but not shifted in yet.
there's a lot of nice hangouts in an around the area. including a very majestic Peking lou.
Never went in try I hear its expensive.

Went to Tesco at Bukit Indah once, and I gave up going there to buy fresh stuff since then... variety is not there (for fruits and vegetables).. and not as fresh as JUSCO

i like the fresh vegs at the Jusco organic section, used to be much cheaper than Cold storage but in the recent months their prices have increased by alot like 30% or more and so now not as cheap as before (still cheaper though)...as for fresh fruits, i find the fruits in Singapore cheaper and nicer like apples at NTUC are much cheaper and better...

euphony

i hear that nusa duta has a condo project in the works. with so many condos and landed properties in and around bukit indah this may very well become a bustling area in time come as the projects TOP. and some of you with plans to open up eateries in the future... we might yet create a JB version of dempsey enclave =)

euphony

Its becoz at causeway the msian side has traffic police to catch queue cutters and also police to direct cars into the lanes at immigration. I ever got caught in massive jam at 2nd link for almost 4hrs!!! I swear to neva use 2nd link. From traffic cam looks clear but the cam neva cover the jb side wic is where the jam really is! So everybody happily go via 2nd link n paid more to be stuck in d jam. I really pity us who were caught in it.

i am very happy the q cutters get caught. better yet send them all the way back to queue again.

Yes, the price tagging can be trying many a time.
Usually, I will just not buy that item if it will take a long time to verify.
On certain week days, the replenishment of shelves are not being done on time too. We will just skip those items. :smile:

Hehe cannot don't buy that item leh becos both times the promo item was the only thing i bought at Tesco (although i bought like 6 packs, btw it is Dettol handsoap in case anyone interested to look out and buy next time), if i know need to wait so long i would have bought 10 packs...btw waited patiently hor, never made noise type :biggrin: This reminds me i ever see someone buying a full trolley of instant noodles at Tesco...they do have good promo price for some items sometimes...

euphony

i like the fresh vegs at the Jusco organic section, used to be much cheaper than Cold storage but in the recent months their prices have increased by alot like 30% or more and so now not as cheap as before (still cheaper though)...as for fresh fruits, i find the fruits in Singapore cheaper and nicer like apples at NTUC are much cheaper and better...

NTUC finesse has even more beautiful fruits. so does the medi-ya at liang court. sigh i guess we can't have such fruits and eat it too. =(

euphony

Hehe cannot don't buy that item leh becos both times the promo item was the only thing i bought at Tesco (although i bought like 6 packs, btw it is Dettol handsoap in case anyone interested to look out and buy next time), if i know need to wait so long i would have bought 10 packs :biggrin: This reminds me i ever see someone buying a full trolley of instant noodles at Tesco...they do have good promo price for some items sometimes...

speaking of which, they do have very good prices over most other provisions. like UHT milk. i prefer them to pasteurized fresh milk. always wait for the 3/4 pack deals to buy in bulk. I once swiped so much I saved over RM$30 from the milk alone! =p

Exclusions is a problem.. I had stomach ulcer during my uni dayz.. even after medication treatment, the SC said that there is a 5% recurrence in next 20 yrs.. so better cover such known problems..

Oh dear u got stomach ulcer during uni days so no chance to have earlier coverage that included it...yeah think the Aviva one is good...

NTUC finesse has even more beautiful fruits. so does the medi-ya at liang court. sigh i guess we can't have such fruits and eat it too. =(

yeah one of my friend likes the fish at medi-ya and say it is more fresh than other supermarket..

i also can't remember the name but know which medicine is that becos i took this medicine too when i had acid reflux...remember this price of $4.50 per pill and paying $650 for two or three months supply...had the same bacteria too..

yeah got to take care bro, stomach cancer is very scary and often no symptom until the late stage...my father passed away from stomach cancer many years ago...

speaking of which, they do have very good prices over most other provisions. like UHT milk. i prefer them to pasteurized fresh milk. always wait for the 3/4 pack deals to buy in bulk. I once swiped so much I saved over RM$30 from the milk alone! =p

yeah the Anlene milk powder is quite good price too compared to Singapore..

Status
Not open for further replies.