• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Also, medisheild covers you up to the age of 80. After 80 year old, you are on your own. Just when you need it most. And a lot of things are not covered under it. Like kidney dialysis, eye operations, cancer treatments...etc which are most commonly needed.

Getting extra coverage for yourself is also very very expensive. The premiums will deplete all your medisave funds as the years goes by because it gets more expensive as you age. And not 100% covered too. Only up to a maximum of 90% of your permitted claim. You gotta pay another extra which I feel it is sky high just to cover another 10% of the balance.

Thats why to be frugal and save up as much as you could during your healthy years is very important so as not to be caught off guard when you are old and needs money for medical treatments.

There a the saying of 'Can die but cannot fall sick!'

I agree with you although I do buy Incomeshield. I think all these shield plans don't cover outpatient treatment alone (without hospitalisation) which can be very expensive in the long run for chronic illnesses, even for visiting restructured hospital not private. So saving up is still required.

The website AP directed to states coverage upto 85 years old.

At the rate health cost is moving up, it would be difficult for majority of S'porean/SPR to save for retirement and medical for 2 person after paying off mortgage & kids education.

Though we are considered above average income earners, it is scary just to think of it. Keeping my fingers cross that an apportunity would pan out. Then I can stop worrying.

Don't understand how our ex-MOH pays only $8.80 for heart operation?

Had never used medishield so far. Based on your explaination it is clearly not enough and lifetime claim is only S$200,000.

On a separate note, have anyone of you opted out of eldershield?

Yeah lor medical costs can be very high, last time someone i know got heart disease and the medication was like one thousand dollars for a few months supply. Shield plan is a must i think to cover major illness.

Oh eldershield, heard from many people it is not worthwhile to buy becos the criteria is very stringent i.e difficult to claim, the amount that can be claimed is very low like low hundreds and the period that can be claimed is not many years. An insurance agent told me must upgrade in order to have less stringent criteria, higher payout and longer period of payment. Not keen on upgrading anything, so I'll probably opt out.

mallow

Hey AP and flens, it occurred to me a short while back and this seems confirmed after reading this and the other post about whatgoeson in Singapore, that there are many rightful advantages and perks available to us, even though we have chosen to spend most of our time in Johor. With this in mind, there are free cancer screenings for women etc. Then there is useful information on what needs to be done [e.g. if you did not vote and wish to be reinstated on the Electoral Rolls] and even sales and special offers.
With this in mind, I have added such to my weblog that was originally meant to inform those who have come here about Johor, info that keeps Singaporeans informed of the good stuff that becomes available in Singapore.
What do you think?
If you think so too, please feed me stuff to share with those of us who are here so we might be able to enjoy or take advantage of what is ours too?
Thanks! Drop a quick note to [email protected]

We are citizens of Singapore, and just minutes away there are several opportunities that we may miss to avail ourselves of such benefits because we may not be reading the ST, watching Spore TV or hearing about them - big and small, whether free cancer screening or the latest special offer from SIA.
Thought we should have a chance to choose if we want to have the opportunity - but can only do so if we know about it in the first place.
Sorry mallow missed this out in the myriad posts that have since come up. What exactly were you trying to get at?

Agree with you guys on this one.

Medishield from what i know is tied to class B2/C wards. I am not sure how many of us are comfortable visiting B2/C wards. Secondly the annual limit for Medisave is about 50k and lifetime limit 200k.

In B2/C wards generally you get trainee doctors operating on you. They can make a hash of the whole process as well since they do not have the experience.

You will be extremely lucky to get a Senior Consultant/Consultant to operate on you at these charges.

The other disastrous issue is whereby the premiums are capped at S$ 800 for CPF usage. The anamoly with this is if you have an elderly person at home then this entire amount is sometimes insufficient to cover the elderly person. Which means then, to cover yourself and your family including your kids you gotta do a cash top up.

Since Medishield is really insufficient, many years back i read up on all the service providers out there in the market and figured that the one offered by Income is still the cheapest with wide coverage.

So i got my kids onto the Preferred plan of Enhanced Incomeshield.

http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/EnhancedShield/coverage.asp

Remember one ailment is all it takes before the insurance guys make that an exclusion.

1) Eg if you are taking amlodipine you will have all conditions related to heart and circulation excluded.

Hence its best to subscribe to insurance when you are fully fit. Children do not realise the importance of insurance in their prime 20-35 and so when problems arise later on the insurance providers begin to make exclusions making your policy virtually useless.

So get on it as soon as possible.

Now i dun work for INCOME/nor am i a sales agent for Income.

From my limited knowledge and understanding this is possibly the best in terms of coverage and price.

OFcourse its good for most of us out here though some may still argue that annual limit/lifetime limits are not sufficient.

In such cases judicious use of ward/class will help extend your annual limit/lifetime limit.

If anyone has information of better service providers in terms of coverage/premiums i would love to make a comparison.

Why the Preferred plan only for your kids? Not for your wife and you?

I got the Preferred plan too. Previously was on Advantage plan but decided to upgrade to this plan few years ago. At that time already have some previous medical condition so got one exclusion when done the upgrade. So best to buy the highest plan and then downgrade if need be subsequently.

Tesco is currently my fav, followed by Carrefour. Less of Giant and Jusco.

Visiting market for the buzz and for a change too.

Jusco is my fav, I find Tesco a bit messy. Sometimes no price tag and ever come across twice the promo price indicated on the shelf is not the scanned price, first need to convince them there is a promo - second time it happened i took photo of the promo price and show them - then wait for them to check and can be quite a long wait...

Bro, I chose the Aviva using moratorium underwriting as I had previous medical issues.. Once I passed 5 yrs without medication & consultation, it would be covered. Pricing is more ex than NTUC but think their price will not escalate much as they had a last payer clause.. however compared to AIA, GE & Pru, its still cheaper based on accumulated premiums till age 62.

Wow sounds good leh, my Incomeshield exclusion (for the upgrade) looks like is for the rest of life, no expiry period indicated...

euphony

Signature kitchen? Friendly chaps.. they even introduce me to a nearby zhi cha which is quite nice..

so you also shop at Molek area? even though you're at SEG =)
i am not familiar with the bukit indah, nusa bestari area so keeping to where i know.

congo9

Will the price of RON 97 petrol drop to a more sensible price ? Currently it is RM2.90. it kind of crazy. The saint price will be at RM2.50.

LeMans2011

I hope those people spearheading nusajaya project will also work hand in hand with immigration to make traffic jam less painful than now. Most of the time it is on M'sia ends, so it is good to regulate with increase lane and clearing stations on peak holiday season. Yesterday jam at causeway is due mostly the design on roads leading to custom, merging traffics from more lanes to less lanes is bound to cause frustration. It was a good 2 hours from Pelangi to m'sia custom and a 5 mins thru Singapore custom.

Isn't it because of the finger printing? Madness.

Meng968

Hi AP,
From your posting, you don't seem to be too old. your posting is quite fast and furious (Exaggerate abit. :biggrin:).
Sorry, as i m still considered a newbie. All my posting has to be read my moderator before being publish, so abit slow in response. pls bear with me.

BTW. me and my wife has also opted out from the eldershield becos the payout is quite low. I might as well save up my premium myself for future use.

cathylmg

My heart sank whenever I drove happily along 2nd link expressway and spotted huge massive jams in front leading to Malaysian custom. I knew its at least a 1-2 hour wait at the jam. Actually there are enough space for the malaysian side to speed up the process and clearance. Wonder why they just cannot handle the sudden surge of visitors when Spore customs can clear them fast.

It used to be a breeze through 2nd link. People just don't go there because is sound so far away. Only those staying in the west like Jurong goes there. Tour buses goes there because it save them time. Some even shaun the place as it was so deserted. Now the tide has turned. You gets massive jams at peak hours with cars crawling at snail pace like bros and sis here have mentioned. What a great difference a few years make.

Meng968

Strange.... My previous post is missing or is it still under moderator.
I 'll try to repost.

Prepaid Daily Max Cap Revision
http://www.digi.com.my/aboutdigi/notices/index.do
Please note that the maximum charge for Pay-As-You-Use Internet will be revised to RM8 per day effective from 1 June 2011 for all DiGi Prepaid plans

Digi RM3 3G internet unlimited 3 prepain plan
http://www.digi.com.my/internet/3g/pricing_iu3.html
look under FAQ, question 15.
A15 - You can subscribe or unsubscribe for a maximum of 6 times within a calendar month.(Sorry my mistake, not one year).

Analytical Professor

I was thinking about the price going down as well and then came to the same conclusion as yours.

Huh? Without the GE coming up, they would have increased the price of RON 95 by 20sen.. You still think they will reduce RON 97 when majority of the users are foreigners and rich malaysians? Dont think they will leh

Analytical Professor

Thanks for the links.

Hmmm .... So when i log in tomorrow into the Digi Network il be surprised with a higher fee?

Well have to pay and move on....

Looks like i will have to start surveying the prepaid internet market all over again!

Strange.... My previous post is missing or is it still under moderator.
I 'll try to repost.

Prepaid Daily Max Cap Revision
http://www.digi.com.my/aboutdigi/notices/index.do
Please note that the maximum charge for Pay-As-You-Use Internet will be revised to RM8 per day effective from 1 June 2011 for all DiGi Prepaid plans

Digi RM3 3G internet unlimited 3 prepain plan
http://www.digi.com.my/internet/3g/pricing_iu3.html
look under FAQ, question 15.
A15 - You can subscribe or unsubscribe for a maximum of 6 times within a calendar month.(Sorry my mistake, not one year).

Analytical Professor

Fast ofcourse sia...

But not furious la:o:o. Sometimes i end up rubbing forummers the wrong way with my choice of words. No ill intention though.

Its just that as i reply pretty fast.... Dun have much time to think if the words i am using could have been replaced for something nicer....

You mean we are all auto-included in Eldershield eh? So where do they deduct this premium from? How do we opt out?

Can help out?

Hi AP,
From your posting, you don't seem to be too old. your posting is quite fast and furious (Exaggerate abit. :biggrin:).
Sorry, as i m still considered a newbie. All my posting has to be read my moderator before being publish, so abit slow in response. pls bear with me.

BTW. me and my wife has also opted out from the eldershield becos the payout is quite low. I might as well save up my premium myself for future use.

Analytical Professor

And my feeling is that when you compare the 2 jams.... the ones at Tuas are scarier... Cause they hardly move.

But at Causeway it still moves somehow... And i really dunno or cant explain the whys and hows.

My heart sank whenever I drove happily along 2nd link expressway and spotted huge massive jams in front leading to Malaysian custom. I knew its at least a 1-2 hour wait at the jam. Actually there are enough space for the malaysian side to speed up the process and clearance. Wonder why they just cannot handle the sudden surge of visitors when Spore customs can clear them fast.

Status
Not open for further replies.