• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

I have read somewhere earlier in this thread that foreign maids are RM$400 per month. Are foreigners with MM2H allowed to employ maids? Are there any foreign worker levy for maids? Anyone can help me with this query? Thank you in advance for replying. :smile:

Sorry! Typo. What I mean is 'are foreigners without MM2H eligible to employ maids?":p

niczap

I went to view the terrace show units yesterday, the terraces are really much bigger and grander than I've expected. Those units facing the garden between phase 7 and 8 enjoy unblocked view of the garden which is really big and the feeling of spaciousness is fantastic. The garden is so much bigger than the one in phase 2 which is an enclave of the more expensive semi-ds and bungalows.

Paying so much lesser for a terrace, compared .

Hi went to check out the EL harmony park showunits yesterday with family members. While enquiring at the main office, I happened to chat with a citibank representative for the project. According to his estimates, the international units at phase 8 were 50% snapped by professional johoreans working in Singapore and the other 50% comprise of foreigners like Koreans, Japanese, singaporeans alike plus others. Of course these figures exclude those who finance themselves without bank loans. It is interesting to note the demographics and it seems UEM land has succesfully promoted it's vision for east Ledang.

Coolsaint77

Hey Coolsaint77, thats probably because their houses are freehold. If its freehold, unlike 99 leasehold homes, you don't need to quickly get it done up and move in/rent out.

You can afford to take a much longer time and get the things you want done just the way you want. As a bro here once told me, even if you renovate 5 years later, there is no issue. You can even do it slowly, like improve a part of the house first and another part later if you have financial or time constraints.

Oh well... unless of course the house is costly and interest expense is being paid towards it, in which case i would rush to rent out

cathylmg

Oh well... unless of course the house is costly and interest expense is being paid towards it, in which case i would rush to rent out

One thing about Malaysians taking ages to renovate their house is that they would want to see people moved into the estate before they do. Its a matter of security. Nobody wants to live in an area which is too quiet. Prone to robbery.

Coolsaint77

Hi went to check out the EL harmony park showunits yesterday with family members. While enquiring at the main office, I happened to chat with a citibank representative for the project. According to his estimates, the international units at phase 8 were 50% snapped by professional johoreans working in Singapore and the other 50% comprise of foreigners like Koreans, Japanese, singaporeans alike plus others. Of course these figures exclude those who finance themselves without bank loans. It is interesting to note the demographics and it seems UEM land has succesfully promoted it's vision for east Ledang.

Yes the buyer mix is good. Apparently they surveyed the market both in Malaysia and SG and concluded bungalow units would be sellable at 3m plus, hence the plan to go ahead with more bungalows.

UEM is also fearful a higher mix of terraces leading to increased density lowers the image of the development. They are trying to emulate some successful high end developments in KL like Desa Parkcity, etc.

Without a doubt they have succeeded in the residential concept of East Ledang. They simply need to ride on the current momentum. What they need to do now is to push on the commercial development at a quicker pace. The whole concept of educity, medihub, Legoland, etc.

I was initially apprehensive about the open concept. But if you look at the high end developments in KL, you could perhaps understand why developers wish to build on this concept.

cathylmg

Apparently all developements and promotions are centred around Nusajaya. I wonder when the spill over effects going to trickle down to other parts of JB.

Coolsaint77

It has already trickled down to fringe areas like Nusa Duta, Nusa Idaman, etc. Prices have gone up substantially over the last 2 years. Horizon Hills is considered part of Nusajaya as well, in fact HH is the first of these developments that experienced the price surge due to the ready golf course and nearby Bukit Indah township.

It is the "old" Johor area with high crime incidences that is suffering a price stagnation or maybe decline. Places like Taman Pelangi, Taman Sentosa, etc are pretty cheap. You can still get a big bungalows at below 1m.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok, a general reply, foreigners can hire maids, some of my neighbours from SG already has maids and you definitely do not need MM2H.

Agents are good if you do not know anyone there or if no other alternatives are available. One thing to note though, normally the agents should just charge the landlord for commissions and not charge the prospective tenant.

Rental for 1.6, etc are normally for the smaller units amongst the terrace houses and also unfurnished. Those that my friends have that are fully furnished are now being rented out for 2.5 and above at least.

Units like semi ds are really going for above $6k now. One of the developer ladies told me recently she should have bought at the beginning but too many naysayers at that time.

Coolsaint77

Ok, a general reply, foreigners can hire maids, some of my neighbours from SG already has maids and you definitely do not need MM2H.

Agents are good if you do not know anyone there or if no other alternatives are available. One thing to note though, normally the agents should just charge the landlord for commissions and not charge the prospective tenant.

Rental for 1.6, etc are normally for the smaller units amongst the terrace houses and also unfurnished. Those that my friends have that are fully furnished are now being rented out for 2.5 and above at least.

Units like semi ds are really going for above $6k now. One of the developer ladies told me recently she should have bought at the beginning but too many naysayers at that time.

Its true unfurnished is a lot cheaper, that's why i chose one to rent. How unfurnish? No aircon, no water heater, no GRASS, no fridge, no washer, no oven, no bed, no dining set, no sofa ... these few things cost me about MYR 12k... amortised over 2 years now its about MYR500 per month ==> hence i still prefer unfurnished

My estimate of furnishing is about MYR 500 to MYR 1000 per month depends on quality and number of items provided and size of house. Can be more for bigger house.

Investor

Actually quite (very) surprised soooo many buyers for projects that have open concept...

Really so many can accept this kind of concept without any fencing?

Maybe I still too conservative... but personally, I still prefer to have some fencing for security reasons.

No offence to EL, LH, etc buyers, cheers!

Actually it's just mindset, normal fencing is not for security purpose but for privacy and clear-cut marking of your own land. It provides zero security purpose unless you have fencing like those of a high security prison :biggrin:.

A more proper security against house-breaking is to install security grills for all windows and door.

Investor

Seems like many Malaysians have confidence in their government on Iskandar Region, or maybe just Nusajaya city as it's a much smaller but key flagship area to be developed.

Who knows all these Malaysians who bought these ultra expensive properties in Johor are actually government related people who have confidence of Nusajaya :smile:

Investor

Apparently all developements and promotions are centred around Nusajaya. I wonder when the spill over effects going to trickle down to other parts of JB.

When key area prosper, spill over to cheaper areas around it will definitely happen but at a later stage and lower percentage of increase as compared to key area.

Coolsaint77

Seems like many Malaysians have confidence in their government on Iskandar Region, or maybe just Nusajaya city as it's a much smaller but key flagship area to be developed.

Who knows all these Malaysians who bought these ultra expensive properties in Johor are actually government related people who have confidence of Nusajaya :smile:

I guess the most common pool will be Malaysians SPR working in SG. Most would still want a retirement home in MY for fear of costs in SG escalating beyond affordable living at old age. These group of buyers want some standards comparable to SG hence chose EL or HH. They are also more acceptable to level of risk in Malaysia (in terms of politics, ethnic issues, crime rate, etc), since they grew up in Malaysia. Bravos to Singaporeans who are gutsy enough to explore hinterland JB, my best wishes to you all :smile:

My sales guy has an intermediate terrace from the very earliest phase and presently resides in EL, being a bumi he also bought it real cheap. He is a bit young hence not able to afford the more costly properties.

Coolsaint77

Actually it's just mindset, normal fencing is not for security purpose but for privacy and clear-cut marking of your own land. It provides zero security purpose unless you have fencing like those of a high security prison :biggrin:.

A more proper security against house-breaking is to install security grills for all windows and door.

I have been trying to understand why developers opt for open concept in high end properties in KL, and here. I suppose it is for aesthetic purposes. Try visualizing... how would the whole place look with those concrete fencing? In fact even the thin metal fencing does spoil the looks in some ways.

It is quite a hassle to maintain an autogate. I like the thought of driving up the car porch without the frustration of an autogate which works sometimes, and not others. I want privacy, i prefer not to let anyone or animal step on my lawn, but there is no comparable properties in the vicinity for now. Neverthelss it is indeed a mindset thing. The concept has taken off well in a few high end developments in KL, that could have given developer the courage to try this out.

It always reminds me of those western movies where criminal could drop in from your chimney :-p

Alarm system helps, anti-shatter glass will also be good. But i am dead against grilles...

In Singapore, we cant rent out our condo without supplying bed, electrical applicances, oven, washing machines etc leh. Its only mudland boleh!

But what is going to happen to all these sofa or dining sets once u move back to singapore?

The sinkie govt wanna suck you dry to use their properties to earn some buck, People should protest such ruling. BUt as i know sinkies are totally ball-less to the core, they just get sinkiely screwed, some without even knowing it. Pathetic!!!

cathylmg

In Singapore, we cant rent out our condo without supplying bed, electrical applicances, oven, washing machines etc leh. Its only mudland boleh!

But what is going to happen to all these sofa or dining sets once u move back to singapore?

I did a comparison between renting out a terrace house in malaysia and a flat in Singapore. Furnished and unfurnished. ROI more or less same except slightly lower for some parts of JB. Except one in Ringgat and the other in Singapore Dollars. As usuals, those with beds, electrical appliances, oven, water heater, washing machine etc...commands better returns, both same for JB and Singapore.

1 hdb flat is about 2.5 terrace house in JB. But rental return of 2.5 terrace house is also equivalent to a 5 room hdb flats. There are only 2 differences. 1 is hdb is 99 year lease while jb terrace is freehold. The second difference is that for Singaporean, hdb flats can use CPF to pay, whereas terrace house in jb can only use cash.

So my verdict is that if can't invest in condo in Singapore, better start small in jb first.:cool:

cathylmg

Hey pple,

I went for a medical checkup yesterday at a place called Jalan Harimau, near custom. Wanted to put coupon when the nurse advised me to put but I got no coupon.

Then I saw one warden walking around.

In singapore, I would have dashed out to stop him from fining me and cutting my points.. Somemore the fine is Sing dollar $100 on average

Over there, I calmly watch the warden go to my car ( parked at the side and not in parking lot ) and he inserted a pink slip onto my windscreen.

Surprisingly, I dint feel shocked. Cos I know the penalty is "only" RM ( S$13 ). I have parked thousands of time in mudland for FREE and over the past decades, I have saved at last S$10,000 in parking fees.

Life is really good in mudland. Even tio summon one can smile and keep calm. In Singapore I would have thrown my shoes at the FT warden!

Wah! Like that also can ah?:biggrin:

niczap

Without diverting too far from 'living in JB', may I enlighten fellow forum readers that property prices in new Johor/iskandar/ nusajaya are in fact comparable to other cities in Malaysia like Kota Kinabalu (Sabah). Both Johor and sabah states are major palm oil producers. In the last 10 years, these landowners and planters were quietly growing 'money' on trees (palms of course ). It used to be that those sabahan palm oil wealth goes to Australia/UK/HK, but recently these wealth was being retained back home causing housing costs and land value to surge. A property of similar calibre to EL or HH cost RM500 per sq ft (although quality no way close to EL/HH). The trend in Johor could be only slightly different; confidence and sentiments have improved. I only hope for a gradual and steady rise in value ; I still want to enjoy the best Singapore and malaysian have to offer in this lifetime. cheers

Coolsaint77

Why not? There are people who prefers to rent unfurnished. It is worse if you already have the furnishing, and your tenant wants to rent unfurnished. I suspect partially furnished would be most popular, ie furnishing the very basic. But yes you are right, i cannot move the MYR3k i incurred on the carpet grass and some plants that are rooted in the garden

It is costly and not worth moving things back to Singapore, i heard you need to pay undertable. The trouble is MY custom does not have a clear written rule so you are at their mercy. I suspect it costs maybe S$2k to move things back, hence i am unlikely to move them.

In any case if i were to rent a furnished house it would have costs me more than MYR1.5k p/m, hence i chose to purchase myself since i can choose what i like and not some garage sale furniture.

Coolsaint77

I did a comparison between renting out a terrace house in malaysia and a flat in Singapore. Furnished and unfurnished. ROI more or less same except slightly lower for some parts of JB. Except one in Ringgat and the other in Singapore Dollars. As usuals, those with beds, electrical appliances, oven, water heater, washing machine etc...commands better returns, both same for JB and Singapore.

1 hdb flat is about 2.5 terrace house in JB. But rental return of 2.5 terrace house is also equivalent to a 5 room hdb flats. There are only 2 differences. 1 is hdb is 99 year lease while jb terrace is freehold. The second difference is that for Singaporean, hdb flats can use CPF to pay, whereas terrace house in jb can only use cash.

So my verdict is that if can't invest in condo in Singapore, better start small in jb first.:cool:

HDB flat has much better investment return compared to condos, provided you can get approval to rent them out. A S$500k 4-rm HDB flat probably fetches S$2.5k a month? That's 6% returns. Does resale flat have any income ceiling requirement?

If you purchase an MYR500k terrace, i think you probably fetch MYR2k p/mth for partially furnished. So the HDB returns are better isn't it? But from what i know if you purchase the more high end HH or EL, say a semi-D at MYR1.2m, you probably fetch MYR5-6k per month. This is due to the different group of tenant whose rental are paid by company.

So on the face of it HDB is a comparable investment with good JB properties, but condos in S'pore will have a lower return.

But don't forget your landed properties are freehold whereas HDB is 99 year leased, and the obvious fact that SG properties be it HDB or private are already very highly priced, whereas your EL or HH are still not far from infancy.

Status
Not open for further replies.