• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Too 'singaporean' is not good for you

IWC2006

- Singapore though is a developed nation but still is perceived as a Asian city. In the eye of employers the Singaporean experience is still below Hongkong and Japan which have a larger and complex market size.

-If u are just armed with Singapore education system from high school to university, it's not as well received as those who have gone though a western, abroad education system

- Similiarily, if you have only 'Singaporean' work experience, this may hurt your career advancement because Singapore is perceived as a tiny market and workplace culture is still very much Asian even though English is widely used.

- Your Thick Singaporean accent could also give people impression you can't speak the language well thus has also drag down the perception of your Comm and interpersonal skills.

All in all, u should have attained an oversea education or work experience in your life.

axe168

- Singapore though is a developed nation but still is perceived as a Asian city. In the eye of employers the Singaporean experience is still below Hongkong and Japan which have a larger and complex market size.

-If u are just armed with Singapore education system from high school to university, it's not as well received as those who have gone though a western, abroad education system

- Similiarily, if you have only 'Singaporean' work experience, this may hurt your career advancement because Singapore is perceived as a tiny market and workplace culture is still very much Asian even though English is widely used.

- Your Thick Singaporean accent could also give people impression you can't speak the language well thus has also drag down the perception of your Comm and interpersonal skills.

All in all, u should have attained an oversea education or work experience in your life.

Yes, totally agree.

senatorabudelai

Sorry to burst your bubble, but if you have a full education in Singapore (ie from Primary to Uni all in Sg schools), you are already MUCH MUCH more attractive to Western English speaking employers worlwide as compared to Hong Kong and Japan. Why? Because you can write in fluent English, they can't. You can produce your Cambridge O,A levels ceritificate, showing you have been examined to Cambridge standards in all subjects in English.

The education in HongKong is very competitive and world class. No doubt about that.
But the standards of English in Hong Kong is very low. Even amongst their universities which are "English medium" their students struggle with English. They are a Cantonese speaking city and don't forget they are Chinese citizens and part of China, Chinese will always be their language, not English. Many of their University graduates have the English standards of a Primary 3 Singaporean student. Only 3% of Hong Kongers speak English as their first language daily (mostly expatriates). In Singapore, I think 50% speak it as their first language, those that don't also have to use it in school/work all the time.

As an English speaking employer, would you hire a professional who cannot write a simple report in proper English? Would you want to proof read and edit every one of his work? I don't think so. Singapore is the ONLY country in Asia that uses English as their first language. Malaysia, India, Phillipines all use English as their second or third or as a foreign language. And you have an advantage over many other English speaking countries such as Jamaica, African nations such as Ghana, South Africa, because the education standards in Singapore are higher.

Your work experience in Singapore, for the same reason above, is also much valued than in HK and Japan to Western Employers. And with China rising, your billingual education in Singapore is even more valuable now. You can be the man they depend on to liase with factories in China and source for competitively priced materials. Singapore's education will soon be more attractive than USA/CAN/AUS to Westerners and Asians alike because the rise of China will demand English speaking professionals who are fluent in Chinese as well.

As it stands right now, Singapore's education is ranked numer 1 in terms of Math and Science, much better than America or any other English speaking country. There are tons of Europeans/Americans etc in Singapore right now working for rather little salary because they want the Singapore working experience on their resume!

QXD

Sorry to burst your bubble, but if you have a full education in Singapore (ie from Primary to Uni all in Sg schools), you are already MUCH MUCH more attractive to Western English speaking employers worlwide as compared to Hong Kong and Japan. Why? Because you can write in fluent English, they can't. You can produce your Cambridge O,A levels ceritificate, showing you have been examined to Cambridge standards in all subjects in English.

Yes, but please stay in your little shithole Singapore and never find out your true potential because you are afraid to leave SG.

The education in HongKong is very competitive and world class. No doubt about that.
But the standards of English in Hong Kong is very low. Even amongst their universities which are "English medium" their students struggle with English. They are a Cantonese speaking city and don't forget they are Chinese citizens and part of China, Chinese will always be their language, not English. Many of their University graduates have the English standards of a Primary 3 Singaporean student. Only 3% of Hong Kongers speak English as their first language daily (mostly expatriates). In Singapore, I think 50% speak it as their first language, those that don't also have to use it in school/work all the time.

Pathetic how typical Stinkies like you have the "Ang Moh lumbar one" complex. Having to constantly sing the praises of English and forgetting your roots only shows how stinkies have been brainwashed by the their frog-in-the-well complex through years of being fed propaganda.

As an English speaking employer, would you hire a professional who cannot write a simple report in proper English? Would you want to proof read and edit every one of his work? I don't think so. Singapore is the ONLY country in Asia that uses English as their first language. Malaysia, India, Phillipines all use English as their second or third or as a foreign language. And you have an advantage over many other English speaking countries such as Jamaica, African nations such as Ghana, South Africa, because the education standards in Singapore are higher.

The world is becoming bilingual, hordes of people of learning to speak Chinese to deal with China, only pathetic stinkies like you still hold on to colonial ideals that English is one and only.

It's people like you that have been left behind in Singapore that will be doomed to lead a monolingual life to extinction.

And the sooner it happens to losers like you, the better for Singapore

Ash007

Your work experience in Singapore, for the same reason above, is also much valued than in HK and Japan to Western Employers. And with China rising, your billingual education in Singapore is even more valuable now. You can be the man they depend on to liase with factories in China and source for competitively priced materials. Singapore's education will soon be more attractive than USA/CAN/AUS to Westerners and Asians alike because the rise of China will demand English speaking professionals who are fluent in Chinese as well.

你妈的臭屄,你中文这么好你写中文啊?干吗没胆写是吗?整天说新加坡中文好。新加坡华文水平很够烂好不好。你连回答都回答不了还干说。你去肏你妈去吧。

Try answering this and we will see how well the Singapore bilingual education really is mate.

QXD

你妈的臭屄,你中文这么好你写中文啊?干吗没胆写是吗?整天说新加坡中文好。新加坡华文水平很够烂好不好。你连回答都回答不了还干说。你去肏你妈去吧。

He must be furiously cut and pasting 1 word at a time to post here from babelfish.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

senatorabudelai

Yes, but please stay in your little shithole Singapore and never find out your true potential because you are afraid to leave SG.

It might break your heart to tell you this but I am rather well travelled. :biggrin:

Having to constantly sing the praises of English and forgetting your roots only shows how stinkies have been brainwashed by the their frog-in-the-well complex through years of being fed propaganda.

Lets see, my roots. The Republic of Singapore is an English speaking country where the laws, education, government, working language are all in English. As a Singaporean, how can you not grow up speaking fluent English as your first language?
You have to try really hard to not speak English well in Singapore. You have to drop out of school without completing O levels, refuse to get an education, refuse to speak English etc. Some like you do try really hard. :biggrin:

So many Chinese, European Koreans are rushing to learn English. They pay obscene amount of money just to speak to a English native speaker. Even the Russians, Chinese and French are learning English these days. Even Nicolas Sarzoky knows how to speak English! It is such an important language! :biggrin:

The world is becoming bilingual, hordes of people of learning to speak Chinese to deal with China, only pathetic stinkies like you still hold on to colonial ideals that English is one and only.

Why not launch a campaign to ask all the Americans and Australians to stop speaking English as well since most, like 80% of them are not even of English roots but other European origins? I love English so so so much.

fishbuff

Or busy doing things with his mum as suggested. :biggrin::biggrin:

this reminds me of this sg presenter, attempted quite pathetically to speak french and act with this air of frenchness. and just to imagine that this chines chap cant even speak mandarin!!

Ash007

this reminds me of this sg presenter, attempted quite pathetically to speak french and act with this air of frenchness. and just to imagine that this chines chap cant even speak mandarin!!

Exactly, he kept harping about how great the bilingual program is in Singapore. How important it is to know mandarin in HK,China etc. How its an advantage having been educated in Singapore, yet he can't even answer a simple question in Mandarin. FYI, some of the words in the original passage I learned them in Australia! They don't teach you how to write stuff like that in Singapore for sure. I'm picking up Korean, Japanese, Tagalog etc in this great country. Stop being short-sighted about English/Mandarin, the world is an amazing place.

senatorabudelai

Singaporean, my friend, not Chinese. Look at the map, it might help. Why would I speak Mandarin when I grew up with English? :confused:

senatorabudelai

Exactly, he kept harping about how great the bilingual program is in Singapore. How important it is to know mandarin in HK,China etc. How its an advantage having been educated in Singapore, yet he can't even answer a simple question in Mandarin. FYI, some of the words in the original passage I learned them in Australia! They don't teach you how to write stuff like that in Singapore for sure. I'm picking up Korean, Japanese, Tagalog etc in this great country. Stop being short-sighted about English/Mandarin, the world is an amazing place.

Ha ha, that is what they always say when they can't speak English well. "We know more languages than you" ha ha. Too bad you can't write properly in anyone of them to save your life. Jack of all trades, master of none. :biggrin:

IWC2006

U are very foolish la, do you know Hongkong is also a formal british colony and they also adopted the British A level system. Though its not sent to Cambridge for marking, the HK A level is regarded as even more difficult then the British A level exam! Since you rely on wiki so much, you should have a read to have a better understanding of the Hongkong Education System. HK's Chinese University of HK and Hong Kong University have also been consistently ranked among the best in Asia and ahead of NUS/NTU.

Japan? Japanese has one of the toughest education system in the world and just see how many Geeks they produced every year? Hey, they have won 16 Nobel prizes in total, the most amongst all Asian countries!

Yes I agree in general Singaporeans can speak better English than the Japanese and Hong Kongers ( exclude those who went abroad for many years who speak a very thick western accent), but the Singapore English/Singlish accents don't fare very well with the western employers leh! So how ar? are you going to change anything?

That doesn't stop them from churning out top Enterprenuers and senior executives. Also, you can't generalise all of them can't speak good English,Hongkongers may speak with thick Cantonese accent, but the wester ners tend to understand them better than Singaporean accent. FYI, Hong Kong 'trained' Managers are very well regarded because Hong Kong has long been regarded a very competitive society and they know how to lead and manage a business. There's heaps of HongKongers holding very senior positions, some in the west as well. The former mayor of Melbourner is a Hong Konger, though he speaks with very thick Cantonese accent. National Australian Bank, the 3rd largest bank in Australia, has recently appointed a Hong Konger into its board of directors panel. Sadly I haven't seen any Singaporeans stepping up yet!

You seem to suggest people in other Asian countries would only study in their own countries. The fact is many of them study abroad and especially those go through the high school system in the western countries can write or speak English, equal or even better than Singaporean educated in the local system. All else equal, Singaporeans will not stand a better advantage just because 'they are the only Asian country adopts English as first Language', as I mentioned earlier, Singapore is still not regarded as a English speaking country , thus for immigration and academic requirements, they still are not exempt from taking the language test (unless they hold a undergraduate degree conducted in a English language country), in this case even a NUS graduate will not be considered. This is the sad truth, so you better tell the Spore gov to do something about it. haha.

Na, Hong kong belongs to China now, and many of them have picked up Mandarin. Hongkongers are high regarded in China and many of them are sent to China as expats because of their strong business skills , Language skills can always pick up later.

China though has a long 'love and hate' relationship with Japan due to their ancient history centuries ago, have always admire the innovation and the worth ethics of the Japanese. Go to Shanghai or Beijing, you can see how smiliar their buildings and architecture so similiar to Tokyo or Osaka.

Singaporeans, can only rely on their English and Chinese language skills 10 years ago but guess what, its no longer a competitive advantage. The Chinese can speak better Mandarin and those who are educated abroad, can speak very very good English with thick American accent. So, better open your eye and see the world! U are at least 10 years behind time..haha

As it stands right now, Singapore's education is ranked numer 1 in terms of Math and Science, much better than America or any other English speaking country. There are tons of Europeans/Americans etc in Singapore right now working for rather little salary because they want the Singapore working experience on their resume!

Boring, keep repeating this for fxxx? So what if Sinapore is good in Math and Science - are they better than the Japanese when it comes to science & technology? Have Singapore produced any groundbreaking product that impact the world? No, they still have not won any nobel prize to start with.

Again, your stupid assumption, tons of Europeans/Americans/Aussies working in Spore now because of low tax, fat salary,and getting in Singapore is chicken feet (as long u are white and know how to BS); and many of them could not compete in their own countries thats why they landed in the Little Red dot! Brain dead in Spore is very true because once they earn and play enough, they will go back or move to another country offer them better perks and lifestyle! hahaha

senatorabudelai

But the Singapore English/Singlish accents don't fare very well with the western employers leh! So how ar? are you going to change anything?

The cultivated Singaporean accent sounds much clearer than any accent except for GA or RP and a few others. Definitely much better than the Australian one. You won't know this because you are obviously a heavy Singlish speaker struggling with proper English. You even type in Singlish, see above.

Also, you can't generalise all of them can't speak good English,Hongkongers may speak with thick Cantonese accent, but the wester ners tend to understand them better than Singaporean accent.

Ha ha yes keep trying harder.

The former mayor of Melbourner is a Hong Konger, though he speaks with very thick Cantonese accent.

Ha ha yes, tell me about it. And according to you, Hong Kongers who are educated abroad speak perfect English' and "Westerners" understand his speech better than someone like Lee Kuan Yew or Tharman. ha ha

The fact is many of them study abroad and especially those go through the high school system in the western countries can write or speak English, equal or even better than Singaporean educated in the local system.

Ha ha yes, now tell me about the 95% who are not educated abroad in seconday schools.

Go to Shanghai or Beijing, you can see how smiliar their buildings and architecture so similiar to Tokyo or Osaka.

The achiterctural style of Japan was imported from China, and not the other way around. The same applies to their language, which is why they have a lot of Chinese words in it. Perhaps a history lesson is in order for you son?

The Chinese can speak better Mandarin and those who are educated abroad, can speak very very good English with thick American accent.

And the jokes keep getting funnier. And the thing with accents is, the thinner ones are better. not the thicker ones. You are going the wrong way son

Your ability to ruminate mentally is really very low ICW. Low low low. You cannot think logically or reasonably at all. All you are capable of sprouting is rubbish. I really pity your employer because he hired a shithead incapable of basic reasoning and thinking. I hope you are blue collared because that is all you are good for.

In fact, after reading a few of your posts and how warped and illogical your arguments are, I am beginning to suspect you are suffering from some mental illnesses. Maybe bipolar or schizophrenia.

axe168

The cultivated Singaporean accent sounds much clearer than any accent except for GA or RP and a few others. Definitely much better than the Australian one. You won't know this because you are obviously a heavy Singlish speaker struggling with proper English. You even type in Singlish, see above.

Please define cultivated accent? You mean Singlish English ? Pls don't confuse a diploma holder..

I remembered LHL once said "technical recession'.. knn, a t. recession is a recession.. or a "honest mistake" is a mistake.. no matter how you touch up or patch up.. a layman can identify the defects easily.