• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why not make MRT trains longer ?

GoFlyKiteNow

Serious, technical question.

Why don't they make the MRT train longer.?
Instead of 6 units, make it 10 to increase the peak passenger capacity by 70% per train.

Of course, one technical issue would be that the platforms have to be made longer to accommodate the longer trains. But if the 2 font and 2 lead carriages are internally resigned for seating, then people from the rear and front can move easily to the main 6 segment of the train for boarding and de boarding.

Then the train can still stop within its present designated position
of six carriages, without the need to do any mod to the existing platforms.

The other major technical issue would be the increased loading current,, for which the present electrical conductors may not be able to handle. A simple solution would be to have an ON DEMAND onboard small generator ( 2 MW ?), to provide the additional booster power during start up from the station or elsewhere.
Alternatively, increase the present 750 Volt supply to 1000 volts, with appropriate step down mod on each carriage motor. Which is not that difficult or expensive.

These trains can be used during peak hours, and for non peak hours, the normal 6 unit trains can be run.

Any techie here to discuss ?

dey shud hv double-deckers ...

if volume persists, simply extend skywards la ...

Ash007

dey shud hv double-deckers ...

if volume persists, simply extend skywards la ...

you mean like this?

sydney_03_17.jpg

More seats then standing room. Most people can ride comfortably in them.

hairylee

With the present 6 carriage many commuters are already reluctant to move to the centre of the carriage, do you think they would want to move to a carriage that does not have doors.

Z

Zombie

the suggestion sounds like
if my pants is too tight
just hang my balls outside... :biggrin:

Char_Azn

you mean like this?

sydney_03_17.jpg

More seats then standing room. Most people can ride comfortably in them.

You can find a lot of this in Europe and some in Australia. However they are not used in the city areas, they are usually used for transporting from City to the Suburbs.

I've taken a number of them during my travels in Europe and I can tell you 1 thing, when its full(which is just about all the time), most pple will cluster F at the entrance. So you end up having a lot of problems getting on and off trains. To add to that problem, in Europe you have to press a button before the door opens so every time the train stops, there is a freaking mad rush to get out on top of that, because its trains to the suburbs, they only come like once every 30min. If you think SG is bad, you guys should check out Europe

GoFlyKiteNow

With the present 6 carriage many commuters are already reluctant to move to the centre of the carriage, do you think they would want to move to a carriage that does not have doors.

right now during peak hours, they are running trains at almost one minute intervals. even then the people rush is heavy.

PLS LEH, YOU THINK SO EASY TO MAKE MRT TRAIN LONGER MEH? IT MEANS THEY ALSO HAVE TO MAKE THE MRT STATION LONGER, WHICH MEAN WE HAVE TO PAY FOR THE UPGRADING OF THE STATIONS!!!!

STOP GIVING THE GOV IDEA TO SUCK MORE OF OUR BLOOD PLS!!!!!!

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

This is a real train. If you've ever been to either Sydney or Rome Airport and taken the public transport, that's the train U need to take!!!!!

Sorry, but that picture looks fake, compare the guy's head on the left and the people sitting on the right, the right side are Hobbits? :confused::confused::biggrin::biggrin:

This is a real train. If you've ever been to either Sydney or Rome Airport and taken the public transport, that's the train U need to take!!!!!

photoshop pic lah.. the man standing at the door is much bigger than those sitting..

also if u see carefully, the floor level for the man standing and the man sitting does not tally..:biggrin:

hairylee

PLS LEH, YOU THINK SO EASY TO MAKE MRT TRAIN LONGER MEH? IT MEANS THEY ALSO HAVE TO MAKE THE MRT STATION LONGER, WHICH MEAN WE HAVE TO PAY FOR THE UPGRADING OF THE STATIONS!!!!

STOP GIVING THE GOV IDEA TO SUCK MORE OF OUR BLOOD PLS!!!!!!

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

That's called long term planning.
First you build flat with lifts that does not stop at every floor with the long term view that they could then upgrade in the future to score political points.

Simondale88

Thank You for the post. I love to read interesting post that has knowledge to impart. I hope to read more posts from you.

Ash007

Got a lot of toads in wells in here

MaynardAtRomeAirportTrain-320x240.jpg
RomeAirportTrain-320x240.jpg

http://billstclair.com/rome0010/index.html

These trains are fairly common in Europe!!! Anyone who have been there backpacking will tell U that

Wahhaah was about to find more info and pictures of the trains here to prove its the real thing. Guess you beat me to the punch. Its typical sinkie mentality, just because sinkies have not seen it means its fake. I remember when I first studied in Sydney all the Sinkies complained about how old the trains looked, how big Central station is with 40 platforms. What they forgot is that trains have been running here for hundreds of years. Since 1800s Lets look how MRT would be like in a hundred years time.