• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

hokkien

CMSMedia.jpg

19274.jpg
1,500 years of Thai art
by Helmi Yusof, The Business Times |03 December 2012 .

When you hop into a taxi in Bangkok, you may notice the many amulets of Buddha, Ganesha and Guanyin lined up on the dashboard or swinging from the rear-view mirror. Ask the taxi driver why he has so many and he'll tell you each one brings him safety, luck and good health.

This odd mix of religious icons from two different faiths, Buddhism and Hinduism, is but a taste of Thailand's unique blend of Buddhism, which incorporates many elements of Hinduism and spirit worship.

More glimpses of this intriguing mix can be found in the ancient Thai artefacts on display at Asian Civilisations Museum's latest exhibition Enlightened Ways: The Many Streams of Buddhist Art in Thailand.

Exploring 1,500 years of Buddhist art, the exhibition showcases 191 objects such as statues, stupas, jewellery and ceramics. Many are on loan from various Thai museums, some are being shown outside of Thailand for the first time, while others are the property of the ACM.

From a bronzed statue of a seated Ganesha found in Ayutthaya in the 14th century, to a candle holder boasting a Kala head surrounded by serpents, most of the artefacts have been well-preserved or restored to extol the beauty of Buddhist art.

One highlight of the exhibition is the intricately carved 16th-century bronze sculpture of Buddha seated in calm meditation while the huge armies of his enemy Mara are advancing.

Though not shown in the sculpture, the story goes that when the army shot arrows and hurled hot rocks at Buddha, the projectiles turned into flowers in mid-air - a charming sight, for sure.

Buddhism began around the 6th century BC and spread through India and Sri Lanka before reaching South-east Asia. It arrived in Thailand before the 5th century and became so widespread, it was declared the state religion in the 13th century.

Historians do not know for sure how the religion came to incorporate such strong Hindu influences.

Many historical records and religious texts did not survive the Burmese destruction of Ayutthaya, the capital city of the Thai kingdom, in 1767.

But several experts attribute it to the kingdom's strong trade ties with Indian merchants as well as the presence of many Indian artisans in the kingdom.

As ACM director Alan Chong points out, the interweaving of religious practices is not unique to Thailand: "You could say the same about the evolution of Christianity in Europe."

Similarly, the influx of Chinese immigrants in 1782 under the reign of King Taksin, a half-Teochew, half-Thai monarch, led to Chinese motifs appearing on some artefacts. One large elephant seat dating back to the 19th century features images of pear trees, flowers and birds reminiscent of Peranakan motifs.

Principal curator Heidi Tan says: "The elephant seat is probably a gift from a wealthy Chinese family to the Chiang Mai temple that owned it. By then, there were many Chinese craftsmen residing in Thailand, and there was a great deal of interest in Chinese culture among the Thai royal family members."

Another highlight of the collection is a 31-m long scroll which depicts the story of Buddha's past life as Prince Vessantara. Because of its extraordinary length, the museum displays only 10m of the scroll, while the rest can be viewed on a computer screen nearby.

The scroll details somewhat comically how Prince Vessantara - revered as a paragon of generosity - gave away all his earthly possessions. At one point, the prince gave away his children who became slaves for an evil man. When the prince told his wife what he had done, she fainted in shock. Soon after, he gave away his wife too!

Not all women today would approve of the prince's acts of unconditional charity. Yet the story of it is celebrated across Thailand, often with dance and drama performances, as well as festive parades and processions.

moolightaffairs

Hehehe. 10 storey and 16 storey, Margaret drive, ABC, Stirling road, Ghim Moh market and Ang Sua market got many gems in the past but not so sure now. Seems that everything change liaoz.

maybe when u and frog back from LOS together we can organise a walk about around the area like those political parties during GE, not to shake hands and win vote. but to makan! :biggrin:

Just got this lobang and pay not bad but I not free.

Temporary 2 week assignment (start next monday) for good Thai/Chinese translator for factory project in Rayong.

Accomodation : provided (min. 3 star hotel)
Food: provided
Transportation: provided
Job: assist in Chinese/Thai translation in machinery and equipment installation works.
Payment: Cash everyday and bonus at end of project.

Those interested can PM me.

Hungry, still not have dinner yet, so came out to have Penang prawn noodle and its almost midnight here now.
null-158.jpg

spotter542

Guess the temptation is too great to resist :p Made a trip across the Causeway last night :biggrin:
No prizes for guessing which establishment I patronized :wink:

Complimentary braised peanuts

Pork patty with salted fish

Salted egg and salted fish

Prawn omelete

Fried pork with garlic

Prawn paste chicken

Stout pork ribs

Dessert

Machiam Hurricane Sandy passed by , leaving it's trail of destruction :biggrin:

Was too engrossed with chomping , forgot to take pic of the kong bak ( fats literally melts in your mouth ) :biggrin:

spotter542

First half was very satisfying :biggrin: proceed to second half :eek:

Roadside luk luk stall

A wide variety to choose from

Ordered wild boar and ham ( all BBQ )

Alamak! Good food not available in LOS spotted. Siao Liaoz. OK, no fish prawn also good. Will be going to Mae Sri Ruen for satay and chicken noodle soup.

brekkie at mae sriruen now.

chicken noodle soup
20121204_104146.jpg

pork satay. here toast bread is the alternativr for ketupat.

20121204_105005.jpg

and finally fried popiah.

20121204_105005.jpg

Guess the temptation is too great to resist :p Made a trip across the Causeway last night :biggrin:
No prizes for guessing which establishment I patronized :wink:

Machiam Hurricane Sandy passed by , leaving it's trail of destruction :biggrin:

Was too engrossed with chomping , forgot to take pic of the kong bak ( fats literally melts in your mouth ) :biggrin:

Great meal Spotter. This 古早人 dishes looked a little like our Teochew porridge. I bet if eat this in Singapore say in Havelock road will surely cost you more than $50. So how much was this meal?

This one really old signboard liaoz. Still remember eating at this outlet 20 over years ago. Used to be cheap and aroi and standard should still be the same.

Joint started by Taiwanese MILF.........1st joint was in jalan sutera in Taman Sentosa and had another in Jalan Harimau just behind century plaza.....those were the days.

First time had wamton noodle in Indonesia. In a food court near my office call PIK that stands for Pantai Indah Kapuk.

[video=youtube;FrMgb2R-4LM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrMgb2R-4LM[/video]
Looks like Singapore ya?

null-160.jpg

bro joe,

i remember u posted b4 that u been to saiyko camp in the 80s. did u ate at the chicken rice stall beside the main canteen. that stall was the only stall there not owned by saf camp commandant. the granny served a toned down version of our chicken rice and chicken soup meehoon which i find very nice. while the rest of goondus headed for the canteen, i always go to this stall by the side with only 3-4 tables who main customers were the thai soldiers and saf perm staff. i tot that type of makan is common food until prove wrong as i cannot find anything similar in bangkok. even the coconut ice cream sold by the "mobile s4" also cannot find in bangkok.