• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sanur

HDB has stepped up its efforts against illegal subletting (TODAY PAPER)

Owners who try to circumvent the HDB's rules by locking up one room n subletting the rest of d flat without physically staying in it will be regarded as having engaged in u authorized subletting of the entire flat.
HDB have been stepping up enforcement against unauthorized subletting, besides conducting checks n planned inspections . Unauthorized subletting - including imposing financial penalties or compulsorily acquiring their flats
Bro n sis, do take note.

Sanur

Owners who try to circumvent the HDB's rules by locking up one room n subletting the rest of d flat without physically staying in it will be regarded as having engaged in u authorized subletting of the entire flat.
HDB have been stepping up enforcement against unauthorized subletting, besides conducting checks n planned inspections . Unauthorized subletting - including imposing financial penalties or compulsorily acquiring their flats
Bro n sis, do take note.

nickyu

No need buy cd ler. Will install hdd system. Cheapest starting from rm1k. Hi end bat rm3k that can be controlled via ur own tablets.

Yup. I m extending bathroom with glass. All hacking work done. Glass track installed by tomorrow. Followed by tiles work.

Hi bro bbbear,

You seems to be very knowledgeable in audio system, are you familiar with "black record player"? Any recommended brand to look for? My uncle looking for one for his entertainment room...thanks

Black record player.jpg

Investor

It is not correct to simply say increase in demand = increase in price.
More correct to say increase in price will happen when demand outstrip supply.

Also increase in investor demand (not residence demand) = increase in price volatility.

Only when there is increase in residence demand with limited supply, then will there be steady price increase.

Agree that I shouldn't have just simply stated 'demand' factor in the last sentence. I stated earlier saying that 'if all other factors affecting demand remain constant'. You've stated it accurately.

Funds Transfer

20120730_213837_july3012_boschler.jpg

Size of campus a big draw

S'pore PR to move his kids to M'sian branch of English public school Marlborough College. -TNP
Zul Othman

Tue, Jul 31, 2012
The New Paper

When the Malaysian branch of the English public school Marlborough College takes in its first batch of students next month, Mr David Bochsler's two children will be part of the pioneer batch.

The Canadian, 40, will move the kids - aged eight and six - to Marlborough from the Canadian International School Singapore, which they are now attending.

Until recently, they commuted to the campus in Lakeside, Jurong West, from their home in the Johor district of Nusajaya.

Mr Bochsler - a Singapore permanent resident since 2007 - moved to Johor Baru about three years ago because of his business, Exhale Group, which designs luxury homes there.

He says he needed to be closer to the builders and clients, although he commutes to the physical office in Robinson Road every day.

He tells The New Paper on Sunday: "My roots are still in Singapore because that is where I work. But we decided to move our children over to Marlborough because of the facilities and the size of the campus, which is located just 7km from where we are now."

He says he is attracted by the name of the school and the type of education it offers.

Malborough's 36.4ha campus in Iskandar, Malaysia, is the elite English school's first overseas campus.

Targeting children of locals and expatriates in Malaysia, Singapore and elsewhere in the region, its fees range from RM56,000 (S$22,000) a year for the youngest to RM126,000 a year for boarding seniors.

The fees, Mr Bochsler adds, is not much different from the $20,000 a year he pays for each of his children at the Canadian International School.

"The standard of living in Johor is much lower, so I save some money, but Marlborough, I felt, had a lot to offer for my children's education," he explains.

He knows that there are other parents from his children's school who are moving their kids to Marlborough College as well.

Other expatriate parents are considering the move, too.

Some, like Australian marketing consultant James Webbs, are even moving to Johor to be near the school.

He relocated to Johor last year so that his eight-year-old son, who studied at an international school here, could be enrolled in Marlborough College.

"They are very big on student and teacher interaction... plus there will be an added focus on languages, music and sports, which was a pull for us when considering the school," adds the 45-year-old. Marlborough's primary-level programme - which Mr Bochsler's children will attend - will be an English- based preparatory school curriculum.

The curriculum will be supported by a wide range of academic extension and enrichment activities through lectures, debates, poetry readings, conference and concerts aimed at producing a "well-balanced educated person".

While it could not provide exact figures, Mr Robert Pick, the master of Marlborough College Malaysia, tells TNPS in a telephone interview that about half the inaugural batch of 300 students, aged five to 15, will comprise children living across the Causeway.

Most are children of expatriates based in Singapore.

The rest are Singaporeans who will commute to the school, he adds.

"The dominant student population will be children of expatriates from around the world," adds Mr Pick, who was the deputy principal of Marlborough College in Britain.

"At last count, we have students holding 60 different kinds of passports, thus making us a truly international school."

It will eventually enrol up to 1,350 students, he adds.

The parent school began exploring the idea of expansion in 2005.

Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India and Malaysia had previously expressed interest in hosting a branch.

But Mr Pick says that the parent school chose Malaysia because it could provide "a large piece of land and they believed in education and were not in it to make money".

Mr Pick admits that the expensive price tag won't be for everyone.

But the price tag comes with facilities that include equestrian sports, multiple tennis and squash courts, and a lake for canoeing and fishing, among others.

Mr Pick says the long-term plan is to establish a global network of Marlborough schools with the intention that students can exchange between the schools.

He adds: "I am hoping the first student exchange between the two colleges will happen next year... These culture exchanges will be very important for our students because it will enhance the opportunity for the young person to be truly global."

Source:
http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Edvantage/Story/A1Story20120730-362342.html

bbbear

Hi bro bbbear,

You seems to be very knowledgeable in audio system, are you familiar with "black record player"? Any recommended brand to look for? My uncle looking for one for his entertainment room...thanks

View attachment 5864

Ha.. my knowledge is jus merely entry level... I dun even have a hi-end system.. jus trying to get decent sound within my budget.

For this vinyl record player.. guess u really need to seek for experts. Sorry, i can't help much here.

nickyu

Ha.. my knowledge is jus merely entry level... I dun even have a hi-end system.. jus trying to get decent sound within my budget.

For this vinyl record player.. guess u really need to seek for experts. Sorry, i can't help much here.

haha okay...guess at least u know more than me :smile: thanks anyway

Investor

It is not correct to simply say increase in demand = increase in price.
More correct to say increase in price will happen when demand outstrip supply.

Also increase in investor demand (not residence demand) = increase in price volatility.

Only when there is increase in residence demand with limited supply, then will there be steady price increase.

Oh by the way, is your Buddha quote meant for me?

Stevewish

Bro n sis, do take note.

FYI, the HDB officers do checks even during odd hours and irregular intervals. They may conduct spot check at 1am and follow by another at 5am the following day. Normally on weekdays and mid night base on past experience. On one occasion, they waited more than half an hour to check on us.

crystal_tiong

FYI, the HDB officers do checks even during odd hours and irregular intervals. They may conduct spot check at 1am and follow by another at 5am the following day. Normally on weekdays and mid night base on past experience. On one occasion, they waited more than half an hour to check on us.

huh , wake ppl up @ 1am wee hours to do spot check ????

Investor

huh , wake ppl up @ 1am wee hours to do spot check ????

I guess they did that in a response to a complain. They can't be performing random checks at such wee hours right? If they do, they'll definitely receive many complains from all those innocent citizens.

crystal_tiong

I guess they did that in a response to a complain. They can't be performing random checks at such wee hours right? If they do, they'll definitely receive many complains from all those innocent citizens.

ya lor , doesnt make sense ...

Stevenwish

is it yr neighbours complain u ?

Newbie2012

Oh by the way, is your Buddha quote meant for me?

No lah, it is not for you. :smile: Started including my signature in other threads when I thought that some forumer might need some spiritual help.

It is okay to make mistake, to be purely mistaken and even bias but purposefully spouting the untruth with ill intention will need the "care" of Budhha.

Investor

ya lor , doesnt make sense ...

Stevenwish

is it yr neighbours complain u ?

Maybe Steven is a big time landlord :biggrin:

By the way Crystal,
Just in case you've missed our their post, FT and Abugumgum have confirmed that there's no daily deposit limit if we deposit with cheque into a foreigner's account in Malaysia.

Investor

No lah, it is not for you. :smile: Started including my signature in other threads when I thought that some forumer might need some spiritual help.

It is okay to make mistake, to be purely mistaken and even bias but purposefully spouting the untruth with ill intention will need the "care" of Budhha.

You scared me ah :biggrin:

crystal_tiong

Maybe Steven is a big time landlord :biggrin:

By the way Crystal,
Just in case you've missed our their post, FT and Abugumgum have confirmed that there's no daily deposit limit if we deposit with cheque into a foreigner's account in Malaysia.

cheque from malaysia ? if sg cheque , the rates very lousy ....

toyohon

Published: Tuesday July 31, 2012 MYT 2:10:00 PM
Updated: Tuesday July 31, 2012 MYT 2:46:45 PM

New ferry service between M’sia and S’pore by end 2013, says Kong
By MOHD FARHAAN SHAH

:smile:

KOTA TINGGI: A new ferry service between Malaysia and Singapore will be introduced by end 2013 linking Tanjung Belungkur and Changi, said Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha on Tuesday.

The Roll-On Roll-Off (RORO) service for vehicles and passengers would make travel between both countries, he said adding that the distance between the two ferry terminals was quite short.

This would be the first modern RORO service between the two countries, he said.

"The RORO service is similar to the one in Penang. Johor is being developed, with many mega projects, especially in southern Johor such as in Pengerang or in Mersing," he said.

Investor

cheque from malaysia ? if sg cheque , the rates very lousy ....

Yup I meant cheque from Malaysia. For example when your developer issue a cheque of say RM20k to you for compensation of late delivery, you can bank in the cheque to your account(foreigner's name) and it'll not be subjected to the daily RM10k limit. Reason is that the deposit is by cheque and not cash.

siacw

is there any deposit limit for cash?

deposit using machine I think is 20K per day but over the counter I don't think there is any limit. Bank can't be so stupid to reject your deposit right?

Status
Not open for further replies.