• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

captainjones

The gold dust from Vcool is sufficiently reflective enough for the would be attacker to comb his own hair.

Haha... this is a gd one! really made my day. Cheers bro!

DREAMorACTION

Great info. Thanks bro!

For those who are looking around for their dream home in Iskandar Johor, don't miss the iProperty.com EXPO International Collection at the exclusive Sands Expo & Convention Centre on the 20-22 April.

Some featured developers include Mah Sing Properties, UEM Land, Horizon Hills Development, OZ Property Group, ECG Holdings, TSR Ocean Park, Mudra Tropika, Dijaya Corporation, CTL Group, Elite Forward, Hatten International, and Mahabuilders.

Here's the link http://expo.iproperty.com/expo/sands_expo_convention_centre_singapore2/

Kenken

bad news....

Govt may double minimum price of houses foreigners can buy
By DANIEL KHOO
[email protected]

RM1mil floor price?

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government is considering raising the minimum floor prices of houses foreigners are allowed to buy to RM1mil from the current RM500,000 in an effort to control the rise in property prices, sources said.

They said such a decision was “in the pipeline” and the implementation would be made by the economic planning unit (EPU) under the Prime Minister's Department currently headed by Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop.

“From what I understand, these revised guidelines have been discussed at the ministerial level and should this be enforced, it will mean that foreigners will only be allowed to buy properties priced above RM1mil. For now, the base price is set at RM500,000 for foreigners. This base price is a bit low looking at present circumstances,” a government source who requested anonymity said.

“The current trend in the property market indicates that prices are still continuing to climb despite measures by Bank Negara to curb property prices from spiralling out of control. We need to act before it goes further out of hand,” the Putrajaya source added.

Another source said the revised guidelines would also consider a slightly lower base price threshold of RM800,000 for residential properties in selected economic corridors such as Johor's Iskandar Malaysia to ensure the development and success of these corridor hotspots.

“This base price will also be subject to reviews by the Government from time to time depending on the inflationary situation of the economy and to keep overall inflation in check,” the source said.

Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Donald Lim had recently told the press that the Government would take “strict measures” to avoid a US subprime mortgage financial crisis after average house prices jumped almost 7% in the fourth quarter of last year despite measures announced by Bank Negara to rein in property prices.

“The Government is worried about property prices causing a bubble and we don't want banks to overlend to the property sector,” Lim said.

Industry sources surveyed by StarBiz said foreigners that tend to buy properties in Malaysia were those from South Korea, Japan, China and Singapore.

“This move will give an advantage to locals, especially those in the middle-income category as locals will not need to compete with foreigners. I am not surprised by this move, but our agency has so far seen mostly people from China and Singapore buying properties above RM1mil anyway,” a KL-based licensed real estate negotiator who did not want to be named said.

“However, we may see fewer transactions from the Koreans and Japanese. Westerners such as those from the United States and Europe won't usually buy. They prefer to rent instead,” the real estate negotiator added.

Meanwhile, the implementation of the higher floor price is expected to have a minimal impact on the property market in Malaysia as official statistics show that only 2.4% (worth RM1.45bil) of transactions conducted in the residential sector last year were worth RM1mil and more.

The Finance Ministry's Valuation and Property Services Department Property Market Report 2011 released last week showed there were 269,789 residential property transactions worth RM61.83bil transacted last year, the highest recorded in the last five years.

“Both volume and value recorded double-digit growth of 18.9% and 22.1% respectively. The All House Price Index surged to 156.9 points in the fourth quarter (Q4) of 2011 against 147.2 points registered in Q4 2010,” the report said.

The report said that landed housing was on a “general upward trend” in Malaysia and also attributed the rise in property prices to the Sungai Buloh-Kajang My Rapid Transit project.

“Across the board, terraced houses in KL recorded increases of 8%-13%. Increased prices of landed houses on Penang island were apparent. The highest transacted price of two- and three-storey detached (houses) were at RM2.05mil and RM5.15mil respectively,” the report said.

whoami

bad news....

Govt may double minimum price of houses foreigners can buy
By DANIEL KHOO
[email protected]

RM1mil floor price?

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government is considering raising the minimum floor prices of houses foreigners are allowed to buy to RM1mil from the current RM500,000 in an effort to control the rise in property prices, sources said.

Alamak!!!:eek:

Wahlou eh!! :mad:

2bFree

Huh...very interesting. This may end up pushing property prices even higher during this stage as opportunists over-leverage in the hopes of flipping down the road.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Ken Ken,

Thanks for sharing, this is mainly to curb would be speculators. Those in KL or even parts of Penang will not be affected as you will be hard pressed to find something even below 1m. Those in Johore, mainly will be affecting the smaller units like terraces, etc. Some semi-ds and clusters are already at 1m or close enough that it will not be an issue.

Elsewhere in between, this offers additional protection for the locals, its also good for their election campaign i suspect.

Some cooling measure is good but probably not like this, restricting to 1m as restricting it from the bank side is already effective enough. For me, most of my houses are for own stay or at most for rental so not too concerned.

It makes its harder for those speculating or for those wanting to buy their own weekend/retirement house here though.

For those buying for own stay should perharps do so soon.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Huh...very interesting. This may end up pushing property prices even higher during this stage as opportunists over-leverage in the hopes of flipping down the road.

Lets hope not as i don't wish to see it goes so high as to be unaffordable to the average Singaporean. I am glad most of my family and friends already have a house here. As it is, those that i recommend houses to buy, i always tell them to deal directly so that its cheaper for everyone in the end.

Kenken

Hi Ken Ken,

Thanks for sharing, this is mainly to curb would be speculators. Those in KL or even parts of Penang will not be affected as you will be hard pressed to find something even below 1m. Those in Johore, mainly will be affecting the smaller units like terraces, etc. Some semi-ds and clusters are already at 1m or close enough that it will not be an issue.

Elsewhere in between, this offers additional protection for the locals, its also good for their election campaign i suspect.

Some cooling measure is good but probably not like this, restricting to 1m as restricting it from the bank side is already effective enough. For me, most of my houses are for own stay or at most for rental so not too concerned.

It makes its harder for those speculating or for those wanting to buy their own weekend/retirement house here though.

For those buying for own stay should perharps do so soon.

Hi Bro Wuji,

Ya but I guess next time all the new launch will be at least 1mil..... which might not make sense for Singaporean to move to JB.
Not much cost saving and no longer cheap as well....

etstan

Thanks to all comments.. not sure why it happened since I did not install anything new..
when I am away only fridge & alarm drawing power..
If trip again will inform Setia but expect long troubleshooting process..

This is what ppl do to isolate the trip:

1. off all electrical applicances (lights/sockets etc), everything.
2. reset the RCCB/MCB
3. on one by one until the trip happens again (if its intermittent, then u got headache), best is you have the single line diagram from the project consultant, need to buy though.
4. if no fault found, find electrician.

actually electrician also other ppl's safety standard, best is you can do the checking. (my example is instant heater is working, only discovered the earth wire not connected when i do the checking)

spidey

Lets hope not as i don't wish to see it goes so high as to be unaffordable to the average Singaporean. I am glad most of my family and friends already have a house here. As it is, those that i recommend houses to buy, i always tell them to deal directly so that its cheaper for everyone in the end.

Bro, i think there could be a knock on effect - and cause the middle price houses to go up as well...just like the private Condo vis a vis HDB...and result in HDB going up and up..

Maybe later, those terraces in certain areas will fetch 1 million just to meet the Sporean demand!!! and the normal terraces in the so "normal" location will be asking easily 700-1 mio...:*:

Dunno...just my 2 cents, then again, Johor still got plenty of land...:-) ....again MY policy...say 1st...then think later...like the EDL...:biggrin:

2bFree

That's the main beef I have. The prices will just go up solely because of this legislation ceteris paribus. Doesn't it mean all potential buyers are suckers in this case? A property that was previously worth RM700k is now RM1mil solely to meet this criteria. It is the same for when the ceiling was raised from RM300k to RM500k....

Kenken

Bro, i think there could be a knock on effect - and cause the middle price houses to go up as well...just like the private Condo vis a vis HDB...and result in HDB going up and up..

Maybe later, those terraces in certain areas will fetch 1 million just to meet the Sporean demand!!! and the normal terraces in the so "normal" location will be asking easily 700-1 mio...:*:

Dunno...just my 2 cents, then again, Johor still got plenty of land...:-) ....again MY policy...say 1st...then think later...like the EDL...:biggrin:

That what happen when they increased from 250k to 350k then 500k....

crystal_tiong

wow , 1 mil , serious or not ....

DOA
how ? cant buy for investment liao ...... i think u totally forgot abt the parnership thing liao ...

Set it free, but bird droppings are part and parcel. Clean with water and use those car polish to gently clean it up.
Expert paint guy told me ideally one must wash the car one has daily with just water and not the commercial type
of car wash as most will fade or spoil the lustre of the original paint eventually.

Me? I don't wash it at all. Only time i spray water on the car is to cool it off or to degrease the engine. Innards
sparkling, outside frightening. :smile:

I find that one easy way to clean the bird droppings is to cover with wet tissue paper and let it soak for few minutes, then gently remove using another piece of tissue paper.

It is bad enough that the Government pursues such a policy. Now the corporations are fully discriminating the locals.

Wonder if Astro will have Singapore Specials? :smile:

We deserve red card for expat package, says StarHub
Euro 2012 goodies now for first 2,000 who sign up for promotion, not just European fans here
By Jalelah Abu Baker & Kezia Toh
StarHub on Sunday apologised for running an expatriates-only football promotion that offered gifts worth $50.
In an attempt to placate angry Singaporean fans, the firm announced that the first 2,000 people of any nationality who sign up for the Uefa Euro 2012 television package will now receive the goodies. They include a travel bag, a mug, a portable fan and a six-can cooler bag.
The promotion, which started at the beginning of this month, was initially targeted at fans from England, France, Germany, the Netherlands and Spain. It was marketed directly to them through their clubs and association publications.
On Sunday, StarHub told The Straits Times it apologised for any ill feelings that might have been caused.

Astro Spore specials? wait long long..more likely to be levy for Spore customers :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Bro Wuji,

Ya but I guess next time all the new launch will be at least 1mil..... which might not make sense for Singaporean to move to JB.
Not much cost saving and no longer cheap as well....

I really hope that they don't implement this, have pity on those who have a real need to move here.
Those who are well heeled will not be bothered by raising this price to 1m in the first place.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
That's the main beef I have. The prices will just go up solely because of this legislation ceteris paribus. Doesn't it mean all potential buyers are suckers in this case? A property that was previously worth RM700k is now RM1mil solely to meet this criteria. It is the same for when the ceiling was raised from RM300k to RM500k....

I believe what some will do is to over declare when selling it. As in the seller declares a price in line with the new policy and then they pay back to the buyer the difference. Else 1m will be hard for some folks, i will email some folks tonight to (who are still thinking to buy here) evaluate and take appropriate (quick) action.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Again, i hope this doesn't come, as it is there are already so many who needs a place to stay. Then again rental here is still relatively at a good price but most asians prefer their own place at the end of the day.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I find that one easy way to clean the bird droppings is to cover with wet tissue paper and let it soak for few minutes, then gently remove using another piece of tissue paper.

Thanks for sharing your tips, always useful like DOA's/Arsenal.

tonto

Hello I am new to this forum (just joined but been reading the posts for the past two weeks). I just bought a unit at Bukit Indah with Setia but recently stumbled upon Senibong Cove. Does anyone know what is the resale price for a terrace unit there or do they still have unit direct from developer? Is that a nice neighbourhood area?

Status
Not open for further replies.