• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You will Regret not learning Mandarin well ! You believe the bollocks ?

Man in the streets

History tells USA and Japan and the British make many countries rich and their people richer.

May be now they are a bit on the downside, but do we just shift side when they are down ?

China rising is influencing , yes, but what can China do to the world ? You ever do business with the Chinese before ?

China has millions and millions of poor and hungry people waiting to be fed, you think you learn mandarin and your kids learn mandarin can bring you to the highest good ? Earn big money ?

Legalised MLM also cannot go in China...you people know ?

You as a chinese will regret not scoring the Mandarin well ? You bite these bollocks ?

China good economy can spill over Singapore and make local singaporeans rich ?

What china company looks like Motorola and eveready or union carbide where salaries were good before the FT madness by PAP ?

China companies in singapore are keen to employ their mainland people so to speak ! But where are they ?

So far, PAP people have invested so much money in China, making any good for the local singaporeans ?

LKY dressed in his chinese costume and say the things he likes to hear....but who is the PM of singapore....what future we talking about....so we rush to speak mandarin and write mandarin so we have a future in China?

Now we listen to PM or MM or SM ?

Why not drag the island to near China ?

So Modern singapore should follow the ancient-relic theory and thinking ?
We still expect the young to live in the past on how we become an outcast of malaysia ?

The so-called PM should give up the post and let others call shot
!

no lah, learning simple mandarin of course cannot go rich lah !

But can go Geylang and gambling dens to bargain for a good PRC fuck !

tell you, PRC meiemeis at geyalng sebei sweet ! see cannot tahan ! The legs also sebei white can lick !

no speak mandarin how to get a cheap and good fuck in sinkapore,young some more. veri tight....you cannot tok mandarin while she go under your skin.

you no spek mandarin, they say you "lao why", no discount !

Lao lee mean good for you to enjoy, of course do businness with china wait long long.....only rich PAP can only.

I always take anything they say with a pinch of salt.

In the early 80s everyone was learning Japanese. Failure to learn the language would be economic suicide exclaimed the soothsayers.

Nobody knows what tomorrow will bring. Just learn the languages that tickle your interest and all will be well.

kopitiam boss is collect ! (collect vs correct)

during the 80s, school boys and school grils squealed over learning Japanese becos HONDA and TOYOTA were everywhere in sinkapore....tangible...you learnt well you earned more !

What about the Malay language ? No mudland, sinkapor mati very ugly man !
I bring you people to earth...again.....no learn malay language, yu die your business....this is where they got fresh water, got food , got real cheap shelter.

hubris kill sinkapore.....no learn mandarin you regret ? you god ?

What about the Malay language ? No mudland, sinkapor mati very ugly man !

I'd consider learning Malay a lot more important than learning Mandarin.

Singapore is surrounded by more than 200 million Malays. Add to that the fact that Sinkieland will probably return to Malay rule sooner rather than later and the ability to speak Malay becomes all the more important.

BTW it's also the sinkie National Language. ;)

leongsam is wise guy!

if you people can live another 50 years, sinkapore will be under the malay rule !
This is destiny and reality !

concrete jungle cannot tahan without the motherland !

You see, the old man trying to change the destiny but he will fail before he mati !

Bahasa Mudland bagus !

The bigger picture of learning Mandarin:-

Eat Chicken say Chicken sweet , Eat duck say duck sweet !

Sit where it gives warmth !

<< But can go Geylang...for a good..fuck !>>

heng Lee Kong Yeow kan.

Leongsam try to laugh at Soothsayer but he himself try to be one, that is wise?

Singapore will NEVER go back to Mudland without bloodshed.
Old fart tried to hint and he kana back lash from the ground, he then quickly backtrack, coward as always.

leongsam is wise guy!

if you people can live another 50 years, sinkapore will be under the malay rule !
This is destiny and reality !

concrete jungle cannot tahan without the motherland !

You see, the old man trying to change the destiny but he will fail before he mati !

Bahasa Mudland bagus !

I regret never learning Hokkien, Teochew well enough. Its only through interest that I learned them in Australia.

Leongsam try to laugh at Soothsayer but he himself try to be one, that is wise?

Nobody can forecast which nation is going to dominate the world in 50 years time. There are too many factors involved.

However, when it comes to predicting Singapore's future, it's a lot easier because the titchy Island can't change its neighbours by relocating somewhere else.

Singapore is part of the Malay Peninsula by virtue of its position. It's an independent nation at the moment as a result of an aberration in history involving the Tengku and the old Fart. One is long gone and the other will meet his maker sooner or later.

Once Singapore starts to decline, the govt of the day, be it the PAP or someone else, will have no choice but to negotiate a return to the fold. City states never last. There is no reason why Singapore will be any different.

I'm sure that day will come, where we have to face many questions, on where are are heading as a Nation, old fart did a great disservice to the nation, he is like Mao, hang on to power till the day he die and left the country in turmoil.

He can never be like modern day great leaders, like Chu Rong Ji, when he step down, he really step down.

Sinkies lack the intelligence to face such complex questions because they are trained to think simple, like vote base on HDB upgrading.

The social fabric will be torn apart even faster made worse by the latest FT policies, where interest group will joist for power after old fart up lorry.

Those who possess skills that are mobile, they can always leave, those can't will have to face the reality.

When old fart is gone, there will be a period of confusion, confrontation, mistrust, some true leaders will emerge, Singapore will have to go through a makeover, not hardware but the Software.

If Successful, we will be a great nation.

Nobody can forecast which nation is going to dominate the world in 50 years time. There are too many factors involved.

However, when it comes to predicting Singapore's future, it's a lot easier because the titchy Island can't change its neighbours by relocating somewhere else.

Singapore is part of the Malay Peninsula by virtue of its position. It's an independent nation at the moment as a result of an aberration in history involving the Tengku and the old Fart. One is long gone and the other will meet his maker sooner or later.

Once Singapore starts to decline, the govt of the day, be it the PAP or someone else, will have no choice but to negotiate a return to the fold. City states never last. There is no reason why Singapore will be any different.

When old fart is gone, there will be a period of confusion, confrontation, mistrust, some true leaders will emerge, Singapore will have to go through a makeover, not hardware but the Software.

I do not doubt that some true leaders will emerge and that's exactly what is going to cause Singapore's downfall. There'll be a Chinese leader, a Malay leader, A Christian leader, a heartland leader, an intellectual leader, a foreign sponsored leader and host of others.

The Singapore that emerges after the period of turmoil will have no choice but to swallow its pride and return to it's rightful place as a state of Malaysia.

Knowing chinese is useless If you are a bloody bee worker in China

They have 1 billion worker ready to take any job and there 6 million university graduates each year. Do you think they need another Sinkie??

If you know Chinese and you got the Capital/Connections to do business, then that will be HELPFUL.

wahlaneh...
mandarin should be kept at home lah.
try applying job using mandarin and english - which 1 will employer consider 1st?

Whatever he talks will not work . You need to keep the money flowing into everyone 's hands .

no lah, learning simple mandarin of course cannot go rich lah !

But can go Geylang and gambling dens to bargain for a good PRC fuck !

tell you, PRC meiemeis at geyalng sebei sweet ! see cannot tahan ! The legs also sebei white can lick !

no speak mandarin how to get a cheap and good fuck in sinkapore,young some more. veri tight....you cannot tok mandarin while she go under your skin.

you no spek mandarin, they say you "lao why", no discount !

Lao lee mean good for you to enjoy, of course do businness with china wait long long.....only rich PAP can only.

All you need to know is, "duoshao", "keyi "jiandi" ma?....she will first entice you with, xiansheng, ni yao ji xia mian ma?:D

That is all the Chinese we need to know... ha ha ha

History tells USA and Japan and the British make many countries rich and their people richer.

May be now they are a bit on the downside, but do we just shift side when they are down ?

China rising is influencing , yes, but what can China do to the world ? You ever do business with the Chinese before ?

China has millions and millions of poor and hungry people waiting to be fed, you think you learn mandarin and your kids learn mandarin can bring you to the highest good ? Earn big money ?

Legalised MLM also cannot go in China...you people know ?

You as a chinese will regret not scoring the Mandarin well ? You bite these bollocks ?

China good economy can spill over Singapore and make local singaporeans rich ?

What china company looks like Motorola and eveready or union carbide where salaries were good before the FT madness by PAP ?

China companies in singapore are keen to employ their mainland people so to speak ! But where are they ?

So far, PAP people have invested so much money in China, making any good for the local singaporeans ?

LKY dressed in his chinese costume and say the things he likes to hear....but who is the PM of singapore....what future we talking about....so we rush to speak mandarin and write mandarin so we have a future in China?

Now we listen to PM or MM or SM ?

Why not drag the island to near China ?

So Modern singapore should follow the ancient-relic theory and thinking ?
We still expect the young to live in the past on how we become an outcast of malaysia ?

The so-called PM should give up the post and let others call shot
!

Ur arguement is flawed.

China's booming economy has already spill over positively to some countries that are lucky enough to be well endowed in natural resources. One big example is Australia. A country at the right place at the right time. Because of its natural resources and the booming Chinese manufacturing sector's demand for natural resources, Australians can keep getting higher wages without justification and its government can spend the shit out of the coffer and still get the buffer. Basically the booming mining industry, which is essentially a positive spillover from the Chinese side, cause an extensive resource movement and spending effects that is making Australia so damn rich for nothing.

The next in line to benefit from China's boom is some of the African countries, as China seek to diversify its supply of natural resources in the face of monopoly prices from Australia.

Like you mentioned, China has a huge population. It can be a curse as well as a blessing. Right now it is more of a curse as China is still relatively poor. However if the vast majority of the Chinese population can reach at least lower middle-class level, then the demand level will increase and we should see a massive increase in the wealth of China and massive economies of scale taking place in Chinese firms. As these Chinese firms become successful at home, they will definetely take the MNC route to expand and diversify. Singapore's open and foreign investor friendly economy will surely stand to benefit from a stronger Chinese economy.

Lately, China has been moving towards innovation rather than being just the world's manufacturing plant. The Chinese are doing what the Japanese did 30 - 40 years ago. Tearing apart current technology, learn how to build the stuff and sell them at below world price. Give China some time to learn and to improve on their quality control. China will eventually grow richer/ more innovative and realize her potential as the world's next superpower.

So yar la! I really regretted not learning my mandarin well! So many opportunities (and chio PRC xmm) in China but limited by my Chinese language ability!

I do not doubt that some true leaders will emerge and that's exactly what is going to cause Singapore's downfall. There'll be a Chinese leader, a Malay leader, A Christian leader, a heartland leader, an intellectual leader, a foreign sponsored leader and host of others.

The Singapore that emerges after the period of turmoil will have no choice but to swallow its pride and return to it's rightful place as a state of Malaysia.

Singapore will never go back to the mats. :oIo:

Singapore is a small open economy fueled by foreign investors. If there is any country booming and their firms seeking to expand for revenue or diversification reasons, then Singapore will definetely stand to benefit. What Singapore needs to do is to further improve productivity levels and keep the country rich and spending. In that way, more foreign investment will be attracted which will further make Singapore richer.

U mentioned that "City states never last". There aren't many city state in this world. I can think of 2 right now, and they are Monaco and Singapore. Both still alive and booming leh!