• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You die, your business

8,984 views Apr 25, 2024
25apr2024 3jan2024 0036hrs Cantonment Rd #SNM1858B bmw m4 hit & run on pedestrian quoted
Please share this post. I'm posting this because I'm at my wit's end.
My daughter was involved in a hit & run on the 3rd Jan 2024 by SNM1858B.
I'm posting now because despite having video footage, witness statement, the traffic police is not doing anything.
We have written to high ups in traffic police and some feedback manager is replying that our concern will be forwarded to the relevent investigator.
The fact that it has been a few months and the driver has not make any police report because he denied having hit my daughter
( This is conveyed to me is a casual manner the IO only on 23/1/24 )
IO also memtioned that he has been advised to make a report as its mandatory and indictate in the statement he did not hit anyone.
Our lawyer is unable to get any details/paid reports. from trafficc police and also due to IO not making him to make a report of incident despite having all the evidence.
This is to bring awareness to victims who have been hit but not deceased and paralysed.
My question is : Does a person has to be deceased/ paralysed before the police is going to bring justice?
Is this what the traffic law in Singapore is? Yet, being the victim, besides going thru psychiatrist sessions, nightmares, etc we have to go through a lot in order to still provide documentations to the lawyer for the relevant organisations( who will in turn take their time) to process.
The sacrifices (parents' time from work) and also the fear and images of the accident that will always be haunting her throughout their life.
To the driver of SNM1858B, please come out of your cowardice and man up to what you have done .
Watch the video since you are in denial of what you have done.

Forum: People above 60 have hard time competing with younger people for gig jobs​

APR 30, 2024

At 68, my sister finds difficulty in securing daily-rated jobs, such as a food server or dishwasher in hotels and restaurants, particularly through various gig job applications.
These jobs pay higher hourly rates than those at coffee shops and hawker centres.
Some job apps declare age limits. But even for those without, where she had been able to get jobs in these establishments before, she now finds her success rate has declined over time.
I suspect this may reflect a trend of age-based discrimination in hiring practices.
I understand there are also other people looking for gig jobs, such as students and foreign workers.
However, older workers aged 60 and above often don’t have a fair chance to compete in this pool of ready and willing gig workers solely because of their age.
As senior workers like my sister navigate diminishing job opportunities as they age, I wonder if human resource departments can be encouraged to adopt positive discrimination policies that reserve roles for seniors, fostering inclusivity and combating ageism in the workplace.

Let us reflect on the significance of May Day in honouring workers and advocating fair and equitable opportunities for all, including the seniors in our community.

Ong Seok Khim

Quote: "
It is also common knowledge that drivers who cause minor accidents can escape or delay civil penalties by simply not reporting an accident, as reporting is not a statutory requirement."

And victims of accidents are helpless when the culprits do not report to their insurers.

Forum: Instil greater road discipline with clearer rules and less tolerance of accidents​

MAY 30, 2024

Most residents in Singapore will agree that, compared with many other countries, our traffic system dangerously lacks discipline.
I think this is due to our misplaced tolerance and acceptance of minor accidents, a lack of rigour in traffic management, and a lack of enforcement.
Currently, traffic accidents that do not involve injury, hit-and-run and certain other criteria do not involve the Traffic Police.
Yet, these minor accidents often have similar root causes as major ones and often differ only in the particular circumstances. A habitually careless driver will go unnoticed by the law until he causes a major accident.
It is also common knowledge that drivers who cause minor accidents can escape or delay civil penalties by simply not reporting an accident, as reporting is not a statutory requirement.
Perhaps it is time to revert to the previous system where the Traffic Police were involved in all traffic accidents, minor or major.
Careless driving needs to be penalised, even for minor accidents, precisely so that it does not result in a death or injury under different circumstances.

Greater rigour is also needed in the traffic management system. Ambiguous signs such as “Slow” and “Reduce speed now” should be replaced with those with specific speed limits, which should be enforced as absolute limits. A speed limit sign must be accompanied by another indicating its end. “Stop” should be distinguished from “Give way”. Motorcyclists should not be allowed to straddle two lanes. Stop lines should not be crossed at traffic junctions.
More enforcement is also needed. Most residents who travel abroad will agree with me that they are more likely to get a traffic fine in many other countries than in Singapore.
Instilling greater discipline entails making the rules clearer, expecting compliance, and not tolerating any accident. Reverting to the previous policy of making all traffic accidents reportable to the Traffic Police will be a good start.

Ang Peng Seng

Forum: Increase MediSave withdrawal limit to lessen cash outlay​

Jul 04, 2024

Recently I had an MRI done at a public hospital. After government subsidies, the bill came up to $1,324.69. I was told I can withdraw up to a maximum of $300 per year from my MediSave to offset the bill. That leaves me to settle $1,024.69 by cash.
I’m a stay-at-home mum and have neither income nor employment medical coverage. My family of four depends on my husband’s income. I have multiple medical conditions and am on follow-up with five specialist outpatient clinics as well as a polyclinic. I need at least one MRI a year to monitor my condition. My medical expenses have greatly taxed my family’s disposable income and savings.
I do not expect the Government to give me more subsidies as I have more than enough in MediSave to pay for my MRI. What I hope is to be allowed to use my MediSave to pay for my expensive outpatient tests.
After all, most of us are already covered by MediShield and integrated plans for hospitalisation. So we would not need to tap MediSave much even if we were hospitalised.
Hence I see no reason why I have to leave the sum in my MediSave which will only benefit my beneficiary after my death, while I have to pay my medical bills with cash while I’m alive. Medical costs have been rising, but not the limit set on the use of MediSave for medical investigations. Is it time for a review?

Yong Wai Ying

Forum: Increase amount allocated for Flexi-MediSave​

Jul 10, 2024

I refer to the Forum letter “Increase MediSave withdrawal limit to lessen cash outlay” (July 4).
In April 2015, Flexi-MediSave was introduced to allow the elderly to use their MediSave more flexibly and reduce their out-of-pocket costs for outpatient medical care.
Currently, Flexi-MediSave lets CPF members aged 60 and above use their or their spouse’s MediSave (if the spouse is also aged 60 and above), up to $300 a year, for outpatient medical treatments and approved vaccinations and screenings at polyclinics, public hospital specialist outpatient clinics and Community Health Assist Scheme general practitioner clinics.
Yearly, $300 is transferred from the patient’s or spouse’s MediSave account to his Flexi-MediSave.
Once the $300 is depleted, the person has to wait till the following year for another $300 to be credited to his Flexi-MediSave.
Any unused portion of the $300 in any year cannot be carried forward to the following year.
Given the increase in prices of drugs over the years, and the frequent visits by patients to specialist outpatient clinics and polyclinics, the $300 a year is barely sufficient, especially for those with chronic diseases.

I had written to the Health Ministry to ask for the amount to be raised from $300 a year to $500, but my appeal was unsuccessful. I hope the ministry will review the matter.

Pavithran Vidyadharan

What if all the owners of properties with 99-year leases want to buy properties with 999-year leases or freehold? How many 999 and freehold properties are there?

Forum: Buyers are aware of HDB lease length when purchase is made​

Jul 23, 2024

I refer to the Forum letters “Don’t allow 99-year HDB lease issue to remain unresolved” (July 19) and “Social changes a reason to look at extending HDB lease” (July 22).
From time to time, concerns regarding the decaying lease of Housing Board flats surface in Singapore. There needs to be a fundamental understanding that when a property’s lease expires, regardless of whether it is an HDB flat or a private property, the land reverts to the state.
This is simply a matter of a product specification which the buyer agrees to when buying a property, knowing that there is a tenure on it.
Thus, there is nothing to resolve no matter how many Singaporeans have put their savings into their home purchase, as it was made out of one’s own free will.
As a citizenry, we must ensure that the issue of the 99-year lease is not politicised by current and future political parties.
Prospective buyers and owners should make sound decisions based on their age vis-a-vis the remaining lease on their property, and not expect any assistance when the value of their property drops with the decaying lease.
Singaporeans can buy a freehold property or one with a 999-year tenure if a decaying lease is an issue they do not wish to handle.

Lee Yong Se

Singapore is the only country in the world which can charge $1 million for resale public housing at 99 year lease. U find me one other country with such a suck cock policy. Haha

As a citizenry, we must ensure that the issue of the 99-year lease is not politicised by current and future political parties.

Too late for that. The genie was already let out of the bottle during the 'asset enhancement' era under Goh Chok Tong, and tethering PAP votes to HDB upgrading.

The younger Sinkies need to dig up and study real history, not the censored and curated 'official' narrative. :cool:

Can't claim vehicle repair cost because the other driver did not report the accident?
You die, your business!

Forum: Unsuccessful motor insurance claim because other party did not report accident​

JAN 1, 2022

My car was hit from behind by another car, and the accident was recorded by my in-vehicle camera. I made an accident report and a third-party claim.
Despite having video evidence that the accident had been caused by the other party, my third-party claim was unsuccessful because the other party did not make an accident report.
Even after reminder letters were sent, the other party refused to report the accident. Reminders with no legal consequences seem ineffective.
Engaging a lawyer to sue the other party is an option but this may be more costly than the repair work.
This leaves me with only the option of making a claim on my own insurance. This would affect my insurance premiums and my no-claims discount.
Searching online, I have found many others caught in the same predicament and feeling helpless.
It does not make sense to me that those who cause accidents with no injuries can get away scot-free by not reporting the accident.

The General Insurance Association of Singapore has published a set of guidelines on its website on what should be done in this scenario. However, these have no legal weight.
It is time to fix this motor insurance loophole.

Lim Gee Wee
Like that also keyi de woh

What’s your choice if u are poor and can’t afford condo?

Either buy the 99 year lease or rent right?

Anxiety, stress and depression affect one-third of Singapore youth, reveals Institute of Mental Health study​

Malay Mail
Fri, 20 September 2024 at 11:28 am GMT+84-min read

Malay Mail

Malay Mail
SINGAPORE, Sept 20 — A nationwide survey by the Institute of Mental Health (IMH) revealed that nearly one-third of youth in Singapore experienced severe or very severe symptoms of depression, anxiety, or stress.
The National Youth Mental Health Study, released on September 19, found that young people aged 15 to 35 reported symptoms such as feeling empty, tense, or upset most of the time, as reported by the Straits Times.
These findings were part of the first epidemiological study on youth mental health conducted in Singapore, according to the Health, Education, and Social and Family Development ministries in a joint release.
ADVERTISEMENT

“Navigating the complexities of youth is challenging enough, but young people today are grappling with unique issues that previous generations did not,” said chair of IMH’s medical board and co-principal investigator of the study Associate Professor Swapna Verma.
“For instance, social media exposes them to constant comparisons, intensifying concerns about body image.”
“The anonymity of the online world has also given rise to cyber bullying, which adds a new dimension of harassment that can be relentless and far-reaching,” she added.
Cyberbullying, body image concerns and excessive social media use were found to be significant factors contributing to the mental health struggles of young people.

Forum: Make insurers pay for third-party property damage if their client is clearly at fault​

Sep 25, 2024

The Motor Vehicles (Third-Party Risks and Compensation) Act 1960 (MV Act) does not require insurers to make insurance compulsory for third-party property damage.
For third-party property damage coverage, an insurer’s obligations arise solely from the contractual relationship with its policyholder.
The insurance contract requires its policyholder or insured driver to report an accident to the insurer.
While the rationale is sound in not-so-clear-cut motor accidents, it should not apply in all situations.
In situations where there is ample evidence clearly showing that their insured driver was at fault in an accident and is 100 per cent responsible for it, the insurers should be mandated to proceed with a third-party claim.
Nowadays, in-car cameras can provide clear footage of an accident. This can be used to determine if the insured driver was at fault in the accident and the extent of his responsibility.
Insurers can now choose to push the case away and claim that they will send reminders to their insured driver.

The most drastic actions insurers can take are to repudiate liability, cancel the policy, decline renewal of the policy and confiscate the no-claims discounts (NCDs).
None of these actions will encourage their errant insured driver to make an accident report.
And none of these actions protects the victim. They serve only to protect the insurer.
The victim will have to either claim from his own insurance policy or file a civil suit against the errant driver. The victim has to pay the cost of repairing the damage done by the errant driver, bear the increased premiums with reduced NCDs and also high legal fees.
The MV Act not only punishes the victims but also benefits the errant drivers and insurance companies.
Upon policy cancellation, the errant drivers can just sign up for another policy with another insurance company with no penalties.
Insurance companies benefit from charging higher premiums for those who claimed from their own insurance and at the same time they have no obligations to pay for property damage caused by their former clients.
The MV Act should be reviewed, with an added clause which requires insurers to pay for third-party property damage if there is sufficient evidence to show that their client is 100 per cent at fault.

Vincent Tan Zongxian

Forum: Look into property tax burden for seniors living in private properties​

Aug 28, 2024

I share Prime Minister Lawrence Wong’s concern that addressing the rising cost of living and improving care for seniors is a critical issue, one that will only become more pressing as our population ages (Govt studying how to tackle cost-of-living concerns, take better care of seniors: PM Wong, Aug 23).
As a community volunteer, I often engage with seniors who express deep concerns about their growing financial burden. What was once a simple lunch at a hawker centre costing $2 has now surged to $6, a stark reminder of how inflation is eroding their financial stability. While initiatives like the CDC vouchers are appreciated, there is a growing sentiment that more substantial action is needed.
This strain is particularly severe for senior home owners of private properties. These homes are not investment properties, but homes that they have built and lived in their entire life. Yet, they now face annual property tax that has risen to thousands of dollars. Without a steady income, this burden is unsustainable and is causing significant hardship for many of our seniors.
I urge the Government to reconsider its property tax policies for senior home owners. It is crucial to ensure that our seniors can enjoy their golden years with dignity, free from the anxiety of financial strain.

Emily Yap Yong An

As a community volunteer, I often engage with seniors who express deep concerns about their growing financial burden. What was once a simple lunch at a hawker centre costing $2 has now surged to $6, a stark reminder of how inflation is eroding their financial stability. While initiatives like the CDC vouchers are appreciated, there is a growing sentiment that more substantial action is needed.

As long as the current PAP regime is in charge, this island will be run as a moneylaundering hub taking in money from dubious sources, and hyperinflation will persist.

The items are more or less the same, it's just your money becoming more and more worthless. :cool:

Forum: Look into property tax burden for seniors living in private properties​

Aug 28, 2024

I share Prime Minister Lawrence Wong’s concern that addressing the rising cost of living and improving care for seniors is a critical issue, one that will only become more pressing as our population ages (Govt studying how to tackle cost-of-living concerns, take better care of seniors: PM Wong, Aug 23).
This strain is particularly severe for senior home owners of private properties. These homes are not investment properties, but homes that they have built and lived in their entire life. Yet, they now face annual property tax that has risen to thousands of dollars. Without a steady income, this burden is unsustainable and is causing significant hardship for many of our seniors.
I urge the Government to reconsider its property tax policies for senior home owners. It is crucial to ensure that our seniors can enjoy their golden years with dignity, free from the anxiety of financial strain.

Emily Yap Yong An
Do you heard of HDB owners were advised down grade to a smaller flat to overcome financial issues by the authority? Is it a concern to you after all?