• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You all happy now? HDP to impose quota on PRs in resale flat

RonRon

HDB considering imposing a quota on PRs in resale flats

By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 27 January 2010 2113 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Housing & Development Board (HDB) is considering imposing a quota on Permanent Residents buying resale HDB flats. This could be done in the same way that racial quotas are imposed to prevent ethnic enclaves.

The issue came up in a dialogue session on public housing with Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew where questions on affordability and aspirations were brought up.

Public housing has come a long way from where it started 50 years ago. Still, issues remain. This includes how foreigners are perceived to affect pricing of flats.

Mr Lee said over the next five years, the intake of foreigners will slow down but that meant Singaporeans would have to increase their productivity.

Going further, dialogue moderator Professor Tommy Koh asked if more could be done to integrate those already here, in much the same way that the Ethnic Integration Policy was introduced in 1989 in public housing estates to get races mingling.

MM Lee said: "Could the same approach be adopted towards integrating new Singaporeans? We are not allowing new Singaporeans whether from China, India, Malaysia or whatever to congregate in the same tower blocks which they are already beginning to do. They buy second hand flats and they congregate. So we have a record of how many new citizens living where and we keep their numbers dispersed. It's a very valuable tool of communal harmony."

HDB later clarified that a quota policy on PRs for resale flats was being considered.

One other issue that came up during the dialogue is that of affordability which has come up repeatedly. One suggestion was to have HDB provide more rental housing units.

MM Lee said: 'I completely disagree with that policy. It will lead us into all kinds of problems. You are getting a dependency group - dependent on the government on constant subsidies, whereas our philosophy is ‘I give you this asset, I will increase the value of the asset as the economy grows but it is yours and you look after it. And we do not have run down public housing like other countries which are rental.’”

Mr Lee was also asked for his take on a recent media report that at least three opposition parties were eyeing National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan's ward with the aim of making public housing affordability an election issue.

He explained: “What is affordabilty? From the point of view of the buyer? And the government that is subsidising you? The government has to price it at a level that is fair to the revenue it is collecting and fair to the individual, not only the present buyer but past and future buyers. If Mr Mah is unable to defend himself, he deserves to lose.

“No country in the world has given its citizens and families an asset as valuable as what we have given every family here. And if you say that policy is at fault, you must be daft."

Mr Lee was speaking before some 500 delegates from 20 countries at a housing conference. - CNA/vm

Why should we be unhappy?

If this can normalize HDB prices, then more power to the PAP.

He explained: “What is affordabilty? From the point of view of the buyer? And the government that is subsidising you? The government has to price it at a level that is fair to the revenue it is collecting and fair to the individual, not only the present buyer but past and future buyers. If Mr Mah is unable to defend himself, he deserves to lose.

“No country in the world has given its citizens and families an asset as valuable as what we have given every family here. And if you say that policy is at fault, you must be daft."

MM Lee, Sir, the policy of giving citizens and families a valuable asset is a good policy.

What is being debated are the issues raised in your first paragraph.

The motion is - "the policies that forms the basis to the first paragraph issues" - are they daft?

Whatever they say now is useless. I call this election talk.
Once bitten twice shy already. I am voting out PAP. The father and son talked so much also no use. The wooden Goh is even more reluctant, the whole gang like LIM SWEE SAY, GAN KIM YONG, CHARLES CHONG, SHANMUGAN, WEE SIEW KIM, LEE BEE HWA, MAH BOW TAN BETTER get out of my uncaring elitist face!

>>If Mr Mah is unable to defend himself, he deserves to lose. <<

Dear Mr Mah will have problem explaining to voters why there is an OVERSIGHT in supply unable to meet demand for flats.

Odds are against Mr Mah. Heck even Old Man BO CHUP Mr Mah!

Whatever they say now is useless. I call this election talk.

It is an unfortunate fact of Singapore politics that issues are made of PAP's unpopular policies in order to gain votes ONLY during Election time.

All of a sudden the physically unhealthy gained energy to contest, the incompetent tries to convince you of their competency.

By voting against the PAP, you are doing a disservice to yourself.

Rather vote either for the PAP or for the opposition, not against the PAP.

Er...you also need to know which opposition's stand you feel is worthwhile - they are not equal

It is an unfortunate fact of Singapore politics that issues are made of PAP's unpopular policies in order to gain votes ONLY during Election time.

All of a sudden the physically unhealthy gained energy to contest, the incompetent tries to convince you of their competency.

By voting against the PAP, you are doing a disservice to yourself.

Rather vote either for the PAP or for the opposition, not against the PAP.

Er...you also need to know which opposition's stand you feel is worthwhile - they are not equal

When PAP put your head on the chopping board. Do you still have time to think how to get out? I rather struggle than to think even if I have get myself cut or lost a limp. This is called survival

I do not know your situation.

But in Singapore, so long as you are willing to work, you can still earn a living.

Not as good as 5 years back.

But you can still survive.

But in Singapore, so long as you are willing to work, you can still earn a living.

If you jus wan to earn a living v easy. But u won't have a quality of life. Mind you, not talking bout eating abalone for dinner everyday.

Simple thing like driving. How many people u know drive and park at Raffles Place? In other countries, people pretty much are free to drive and park anywhere they want.

nonsense ...

some jobs are not do-able as far as the average s'porean is concerned ...

for example, there are so many of those 3 rotating shifts jobs ... but HDB residents be honest - are u able to perform the graveyard (3rd) shift ? can u get good sleep in the daytime in your HDB flat, without being disturbed by all sorts of noises from caged birds to karang guni men shouting to neighbors' renovations to children running ? be honest ...

u can wear earplugs but then u can't hear the alarm clock ...

ppl who work the 3rd shift tend to suffer poor health - heart problems, cancer - probably due to prolonged lack of sleep ...

foreigners live in hostels where everybody works shifts ... so for them, shift work is ok ...

some jobs are just not do-able ...

You know very little about situations. Many are willing to to work and they worked very hard worrying about if they will have enough for their next meal.

What about those with elderly parents, wifes and kids and siblings, what are they going to survive on.

If you jus wan to earn a living v easy. But u won't have a quality of life. Mind you, not talking bout eating abalone for dinner everyday.

Simple thing like driving. How many people u know drive and park at Raffles Place? In other countries, people pretty much are free to drive and park anywhere they want.

And what makes you think the quality of life in Hougang is better than Ang Mo Kio?

Will voting for LTK and CST bring in the abalone or better parking behaviours?

So match your answers with the corresponding votes for the WP and SDA.

I can understand if you have grievances against the PAP but if these grievances lead you to feel that WP or SDA are better alternatives, then you need to detail how they had proven themselves to be better alternatives based on the evidence of 25 years.

You know very little about situations. Many are willing to to work and they worked very hard worrying about if they will have enough for their next meal.

What about those with elderly parents, wifes and kids and siblings, what are they going to survive on.

Maybe by your lights i know less than you.

So tell me, how will LTK and CST change this?

nonsense ...

for example, there are so many of those 3 rotating shifts jobs ... but HDB residents be honest - are u able to perform the graveyard (3rd) shift ? can u get good sleep in the daytime in your HDB flat, without being disturbed by all sorts of noises from caged birds to karang guni men shouting to neighbors' renovations to children running ? be honest ...

ppl who work the 3rd shift tend to suffer poor health - heart problems, cancer - probably due to prolonged lack of sleep ...

foreigners live in hostels where everybody works shifts ... so for them, shift work is ok ...

so you believe that in Singapore, even if you want to work, you cannot earn a living.

so tell me, how will voting for LTK and CST change this?

based your answer on the initiative they had shown in the last 25 years.

now there is gonna be a mad rush by the PRs to buy resale hdb flats before the quota kicks in, pushing the prices even higher. 500k for a 3rm HDB maybe a reality after all! huat arh!

nonsense ...

The Hylam Short Ass said..."it is like a palace"...