• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

YIO CHU KANG ROAD : x 3 EATING HOUSES TO MOVE OUT ON 2 MAY 2012

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
M

Mdm Tang

Video :

<iframe frameborder="0" height="460" width="380" src="http://info.channelnewsasia.com/videoplayer/cnaplayer/videoplayer.php?playerName=cna&skin=player108.swf&bgskin=playerbackground08.swf&filename=120420_sg_eatinghses.flv&adfilebefore=&adfileafter=&playmode=R&debugMode=off&&withHeader=1&isAutoplay=1&videoTitle=Yio-Chu-Kang-eating-houses-to-move-out"></iframe>

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/video/index.php?vidfile=120420_sg_eatinghses.flv

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1196506/1/.html

Yio Chu Kang eating houses to move out

By Lip Kwok Wai, Qiuyi Tan | Posted: 20 April 2012 2044 hrs

SINGAPORE: Three eating houses along Yio Chu Kang Road will have to move out next month, after residents said they've been causing traffic and parking problems in the area for years.

The Urban Redevelopment Authority said it has received numerous complaints since December 2008.

The affected tenants are a prata shop, a shop selling taiwanese porridge and a seafood restaurant.

The shops attract some 300 customers daily.

Residents have complained of illegal parking, and although stall owners have put in measures like a valet parking service, authorities said this did not fully solve the problem.

Stall owners filed an appeal last year to stay on, but were rejected.

NS Rajah, owner of The Prata House, said: "I've got people who've studied at Rosyth School... They come back to The Prata House after 20 years, saying they want to reminisce the old times. It saddens me to think that we have to go."

Francis Ng, owner of House of Seafood @ 180, said: "We have about 28 workers, where are they going to locate to?"

- CNA/cc

Prata house was there for so long and they never had a problem until the 2 crab houses bring their stalls there, then the problem starts. Im very familiar with the stretch of Yio chu Kang road as I had to take bus 147 to school when i was in secondary school and in JC. 147 was a convenient bus to Bugis and Chinatown also.
I had expected that those rich elites to complain but did not expect it took so long. Seem that these rich elites have no tolerance for anything :D

Mosques and temples also cause traffic problems.
Knn again finding quick fix solutions.

You right about the 2 crab houses. People do not invite guests or carry out celebrations in a prata shop. For the crab houses, the guests have no clue about the area and park all over place including in front of people's gate. I went there after a break and was surprised about the number of cars.

Prata house was there for so long and they never had a problem until the 2 crab houses bring their stalls there, then the problem starts. Im very familiar with the stretch of Yio chu Kang road as I had to take bus 147 to school when i was in secondary school and in JC. 147 was a convenient bus to Bugis and Chinatown also.
I had expected that those rich elites to complain but did not expect it took so long. Seem that these rich elites have no tolerance for anything :D

u secondary then take 147, i took 70/103/136 since 1982 and that prate shop had been causing traffic problem since then. it just then those days there are less traffic on the road. But authority damn special, instead of punishing the car owners, they punish the food operator instead. Just put a full time employee there, not to issue summons but directly clamp or tow to polis impounding yard, dont give face and bill the three operators for the cost of putting a full time wheel clamp operator can liao. Let the car owners go thru the procedure of redeeming their car back from LTA.

If LTA can do that in YCK, then they shd do the same to the food operators opposite esso near lim ah pin road, on upper serangoon road. What about those hardware shops near jalan besar where the contractors illegally park their pickup/trucks while he go into the shops for supplies? It a stupid decision, i no fan of that prata shop (no good in my opinion) but to punish them instead of the customers are just too much.

Just guessing that is it they

Now have 5 years to Repent.

Heard that its under Aljunied GRC.

Operators like Prata and Seafood and Porridge

gone to see LTK and Chen but

no effect !!!

5 yrs is a long time!!

the three eating house operators are not voters so govt is punishing the wrong ppl again. So residents win lor. lol...

i stay at Buangkok.

will miss my Chilli Crabs :(

From Buangkok IMH, take bus 72 to AMK, there is another famous crab house there at a HDB coffeeshop. I have never been there but alot of people mentioned they are better than Crab House at YCK.

In singapore where got no parking problems

on Fri Sat Sun .

Now they 5 years No Chilli Crabs

, Prata and Porridge :(

the three eating house operators are not voters so govt is punishing the wrong ppl again. So residents win lor. lol...

Those people who complained, belongs to Lim Hwee Hwa's ward. Her ward took a very heavy beating during the last GE because of the dormitory issue. Time to win back some votes :D

tks for info .

i will try the AMK chillie crabs tonite.

Good luck to LTK and Team Aljunied :(

Those people who complained, belongs to Lim Hwee Hwa's ward. Her ward took a very heavy beating during the last GE because of the dormitory issue. Time to win back some votes :D

dont count on it, singaporeans are generally forgetful and unappreciative. In a few months, new complains will again surface. the group of ppl that have this mentality are mainly those with a bit more $$ than their fellow citizens.

From Buangkok IMH, take bus 72 to AMK, there is another famous crab house there at a HDB coffeeshop. I have never been there but alot of people mentioned they are better than Crab House at YCK.

bro, direction very vague leh, AMK not small u know. no ave or blk number?

Just for you and Madam tang :D

Blk 232 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3. Its a Zi Char Stall.

After eating, you and Madam Tang can hold hands to take a walk at the famous Bishan Park. Walking distance only 5 minutes.

i will be contended if mdm tang can give me longshot tips for tomorrow races.:p

Bro , i think ranked after our SGP

Call Girl Scandal ; the next is The

Singapore Turf Club Scandal .

a) Almost All Sgp and Malaysia Races

are Controlled by Syndicates and Bookies.

b) Sad to say our STC are actually losing

control of itself to these Fixers of Races.

c) i really hope CPIB and CAD and

the Gambling Suppression Bracnh of SPF will

together with STC will entrape all this

crooks once and for all .

mdm tang, i dont bet MRA races anymore. The only time i bet local races are the Gold Cup and international races. i trust the hongkong jockey club better.

local MRA races mostly see ticket movement, totally make handicapping into a joke.

btw, there no bigger fixer of races than the STC. .