• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Yankee Branch Office In Singapore Retrenched 60 PMETs Because EP Salaries Rise Too Much! Can't Find Sinkies Who Can Speak Thai or Viet!

Simple solution: set up shop in Vietnam or Thailand, where you will find plenty of native speakers of those languages.

Set up in Vietnam, they will complain cannot get enough people who speak Thai. Setup in Thailand, they will complain cannot get enough people who speak Vietnamese.

They setup shop in Singapore to evade tax but instead of employing Singaporeans. They employ foreigners to cater to foreign markets.

Either something is wrong here with the mentality of the companies or the government wasn't too bright.

I don't think Singaporeans leaders are very cunning but only like bully Singaporeans.
Bright government would not enter a CECA agreement with India.
How many countries have signed CECA agreement with India?

Set up in Vietnam, they will complain cannot get enough people who speak Thai. Setup in Thailand, they will complain cannot get enough people who speak Vietnamese.
Set up two office lah! :cool:

Strange lor.
Might as well open in Vietnam n Thailand

Isn't it cheper to pay your staff local salary?

You don't even need to set up shop in Vietnam or Thailand. You can go through a hiring agency in these countries without any hassle; and it's at least 3-4 times cheaper than hiring a EP here. Article is just trying to make the policy look bad so Gov can come back and say "see, told you we need FT" and then open the flood gates again.

Anyway, dont complain, Singapore deserves the Gov they voted for.

What about the shitskins working at Chennai biz park? When will they be sent packing to shitskins land?

Workplace diversity and inclusion can give rise to many problems. Language proficiency as an excuse to hiring problems can lead to ethnicity issues later on.