• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ya Kun Coffee is not able to open their branch at Esplanade You believe ?

Ya Kun eggs are the worst I've ever tasted. It's pre-half boiled, pre-cracked and served cold from the shelf. Looks good, convenient but tastes like vomit. One try and never again. The hygiene of half-boiled eggs on the shelf is also suspect. Give me freshly half-boiled eggs with their shells on and hot. I'll crack it myself.

Oh gosh, never know that it is served cold from the shelf, I like their half boiled eggs compare to other coffee shops - it is not under or overcooked and already cracked (save trouble to crack it myself). Pricey though, so I have changed to eat these at home - pretty easy - boil the water and then boil the eggs for 3 minutes sharp.

Even coffee, now I find the standard to have dropped alot, too many FT at coffee shops, now I prefer to drink Indonesia coffee with milk powder, taste better than the coffee shops outside.

hahaha.....this morning I walked around Chong Pang and noticed that all the kopitiams were open for business....and many of the them were staffed with FTs.
Years ago, you can hardly find any kopitiam open for business on 1st day of CNY.

Because there was no foreign talent. These talented foreigners who give better service give their employers the confidence to open their business for that special day too.

Oh gosh, never know that it is served cold from the shelf, I like their half boiled eggs compare to other coffee shops - it is not under or overcooked and already cracked (save trouble to crack it myself). Pricey though, so I have changed to eat these at home - pretty easy - boil the water and then boil the eggs for 3 minutes sharp.

Even coffee, now I find the standard to have dropped alot, too many FT at coffee shops, now I prefer to drink Indonesia coffee with milk powder, taste better than the coffee shops outside.

3 minute egg is an inaccuracy. A half-boiled egg with the whites just cooked with no transparency and yolk just done takes 4 minutes in just boiled water with heat turned off the moment eggs are added. Water has to be at least 3 times the height of the eggs.

I have also given up even on the so-called breakfast coffee powders from Suzuki and such. After I discovered G7 3-in-1, I never turn back. It's from Vietnam and the aroma hits your nose the moment the hot water's added.

3 minute egg is an inaccuracy. A half-boiled egg with the whites just cooked with no transparency and yolk just done takes 4 minutes in just boiled water with heat turned off the moment eggs are added. Water has to be at least 3 times the height of the eggs.

I have also given up even on the so-called breakfast coffee powders from Suzuki and such. After I discovered G7 3-in-1, I never turn back. It's from Vietnam and the aroma hits your nose the moment the hot water's added.

Don't turn the fire off, boil the water then when the water is boiled add the eggs and boil for 3 minutes sharp. If the eggs are added earlier before the water is boiled, the eggs will be overcooked. :)

I used to have a half-boiled egg dripper. Very accurate and beautifully perfect half-boiled eggs could be made out of it. Sad that it cracked after years of use. Very hard to find it now. Anyone knows where to buy?

G7-18-stick-3box-400.jpg

This ? alamak .... i drink this before. you must be kidding huh ?
Nescafe are a lot more better than this G7 . To finish the whole packets i need to mix with my other 3 in 1 kopi ... :o else wasted... :D

I used to have a half-boiled egg dripper. Very accurate and beautifully perfect half-boiled eggs could be made out of it. Sad that it cracked after years of use. Very hard to find it now. Anyone knows where to buy?

You mean this ??? Try find it at Giant / Carrefour
Cos i happened to see it in Giant Msia..
Not sure if Spore Giant have or not..

5243694209_4987120e1e.jpg

i got this! its useful! :D ya kun standard varies from time to time and outlets too.

Yes, that's it. Thanks. I'll go look for it.

3in1 or Nescafe are no substitute for Real Coffee.

For me, I go for GoldKilli (more and more coffee stalls are carrying this brand now).

Fyi, there are 2 schools of coffee drinkers, one goes for aroma and the second goes for the taste. GoldKilli provides both.

G7-18-stick-3box-400.jpg

This ? alamak .... i drink this before. you must be kidding huh ?
Nescafe are a lot more better than this G7 . To finish the whole packets i need to mix with my other 3 in 1 kopi ... :o else wasted... :D

Used to be a coffee junkie but don't drink coffee nowadays. It's taste associates so well with tobacco that drinking it inadvertently leads to an unsuppressable urge to smoke, as I'm trying to cut down. I drink tea, honey or Milo for breakfast nowadays.

3in1 or Nescafe are no substitute for Real Coffee.

For me, I go for GoldKilli (more and more coffee stalls are carrying this brand now).

Fyi, there are 2 schools of coffee drinkers, one goes for aroma and the second goes for the taste. GoldKilli provides both.

Thanks. I will give a try...
coffee stall selling 3 in 1 ? :eek:

My family kept secret recipe for half boiled eggs.
Eggs in metal tin, those zebra branded ones will do.
Add boiling water into tin, covering eggs completely.
Cover tin and time 3 mintues, after that remove cover let eggs sit for 5 mintues.
This will give u perfect half boil eggs.
Eggs should be room temperature and not straight from fridge.

My family kept secret recipe for half boiled eggs.
Eggs in metal tin, those zebra branded ones will do.
Add boiling water into tin, covering eggs completely.
Cover tin and time 3 mintues, after that remove cover let eggs sit for 5 mintues.
This will give u perfect half boil eggs.
Eggs should be room temperature and not straight from fridge.

Sounds a good way, but I still prefer the eggs piping hot. Leaving it too cool for 5 minutes is unimaginable for me. And yes, I've mastered the art of cracking egg shells straight out of 95-degree'C water. :p

Another thing I do contrary to common practice is, I mix the dark soy sauce and pepper on the dish before cracking the eggs onto it, not after. The pepper spread around the eggs more evenly if you do that first because it spreads around with the soy sauce, not stuck to the eggs in lumps.