• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF! Prices go up during recession!

CENWEN

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
April 2, 2009
Sentosa attractions
Prices go up
<!--10 min-->
Charges at 4 visitor draws raised by between $1 and $6, despite tourism slump <!-- headline one : start --> <!-- headline one : end --> <!-- Author --> <!-- show image if available --> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr></tr> <tr> </tr> <tr> </tr> <tr> </tr> <tr><td colspan="2" class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold">By Lim Wei Chean </td></tr> <tr valign="bottom"> <td width="330">
LUGERIDE.jpg

</td><td width="10">
</td><td valign="bottom">
</td></tr></tbody></table> <!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->
FOUR attractions on Sentosa have increased their prices, bucking what has become almost the industry standard for theme parks and rides - lowered rates, bundled deals and plentiful discounts. Starting on Wednesday, admission charges for Songs of the Sea, the cable car, Sentosa Luge & Skyride and the Butterfly Park & Insect Kingdom went up by between $1 and $6.

This move has baffled some in the industry as Singapore battles a recession and the Singapore Tourism Board (STB) has projected a 6 to 11 per cent drop in tourist arrivals. In fact, to counter the common public perception that Singapore attractions are expensive, STB launched a marketing blitz in February called 2009 Reasons to Visit Singapore, aimed at offering visitors more bang for the buck.

On Thursday, with the Association of Singapore Attractions, it introduced a new pass which gives $2 off or a 20 per cent discount on admission charges to more than 30 local attractions. However, Sentosa Leisure Group's commercial director Susan Ang defended the $2 increase for the twice-nightly show Songs of the Sea, which features a live cast, pyrotechnics, water jets and lasers set to music. She said it was just part of its 'move to phase in adjustments in our admission pricing'. Since its opening in March 2007, it has raised prices by $2 every year, starting from the opening promotion price of $6. Two other Sentosa attractions said their increase was an attempt to give more value for money.

Sentosa Luge & Skyride general manager Lyndon Thomas said it has increased family tickets by $1 but lifted a child's age from 12 years to 16 years, allowing more to qualify for the family rate. He added that customers who buy two rides will also get a $2 discount, 'making the attraction better value for money'. Over at the Butterfly Park & Insect Kingdom, the $6 increase gave visitors a bundled deal with two options: a free 6R photo with new exhibits like the parrots and macaws, or a hot dog and soft drink meal.
Read the full report in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td><table id="story_comments" style="" border="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr id="comments_body" style=""><td>
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr><td class="heading">Latest comments</td></tr> <tr><td id="messageDisplayRegion" width="100%"><table style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table class="Post" style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">That's nuts. I've already stopped patronising most, if not all, F&B outlets in Sentosa during the rare times I visit.
It is either easier, better and cheaper bringing in your own food, or make a quick trip to Vivocity to get takeaways.

The island's only selling point is it got better beaches than Singapore island.
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Posted by: coolbeagle at Fri Apr 03 10:32:43 SGT 2009
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table class="AlternatePost" style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">with daily bombardment of news of massive retrenchment, folding business, long queues of job seekers, wonder where sentosa found the intelligence for the move..
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Posted by: gemini58 at Fri Apr 03 10:10:46 SGT 2009
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table class="Post" style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">They think it is just simple maths....visitors down, so entrance fee up and revenue unchanged. Let's wait and see the result.
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Posted by: alternateview at Fri Apr 03 09:24:23 SGT 2009
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table class="AlternatePost" style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">this may shun locals but not tourists. tourists don't know the previous rates. blur blur come in, blur blur pay.
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Posted by: the_ultimate at Fri Apr 03 08:32:16 SGT 2009
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left"><table class="Post" style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Brilliant strategy from their well paid CEO!
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Posted by: SeenItAll at Fri Apr 03 08:15:19 SGT 2009
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

Angelo

oh.

thats what happen when 1 family is under control.

they do not look beyond their own pockets.

R4g3

even i can get all the admission free, i also hardly go. maybe 2-3 year once, just to bring some foreign friends there.

pls lah only a fool will come to singapore to see.

the only attraction for angmoh is to come and see how sinkies inprison in overprice pigeon hole.
and laugh at us.
like going to the zoo to see some animal.
they should find some really poor people who will let angmoh come in and see their rubbish ridden home. poor people get money from STPB and angmoh come and laugh at sinkies.

Singapore tourist place have no value added. Price of ticket too pricey have not much to see or experience. Just like Wild Wild wet have nothing. Zoo, Night Safari and Bird Park are so pricey . Without corperate donation sure close shop long time ago. Food and drink at tourist spot too pricey almost twice the price. Can drink/mineral bottle 500ml drink at least $2 is a daylight robbery cost less than 40cents, jack up the price at least 500%.
All place are located in very ulu ulu no MRT.

... FOUR attractions on Sentosa have increased their prices, ...

This move has baffled some in the industry ...
watz so baffling? ... :confused: ... rental prices oso increase wat ...

... He added that customers who buy two rides will also get a $2 discount, ...
ze mor u ride, ze mor u save! ... :biggrin:

... Over at the Butterfly Park & Insect Kingdom, the $6 increase gave visitors a bundled deal with two options: a free 6R photo with new exhibits like the parrots and macaws, or a hot dog and soft drink meal
ze mor flutter-bys & insects u c, ze mor hot dog u can eat n mor soft drinks u can drink ... :biggrin:

Royston46

Wrong move by Sentosa Management!

Let's see them die a slower death in the months to come!!!

Their attractions ain't that fabulous in the first place...

They have overrated themselves just like our First Class Most Expensive Government...

Well done!!!

takcheksian

However, Sentosa Leisure Group's commercial director Susan Ang defended the $2 increase for the twice-nightly show Songs of the Sea, which features a live cast, pyrotechnics, water jets and lasers set to music. She said it was just part of its 'move to phase in adjustments in our admission pricing'. Since its opening in March 2007, it has raised prices by $2 every year, starting from the opening promotion price of $6. Two other Sentosa attractions said their increase was an attempt to give more value for money.

Siao ay.

Every year raise prices by $2. 20 years from now - $40+2+2+6 = $50?

More value for money? Haven't we heard that shit before - when Old Fart said more expensive government is more value for money?

suwrap31m.jpg

CB lah! I've 1 MM, 2 SMs, 2 DPMs and a troop of ministers-w/o-lan to feed in my PMO alone. U want us to work for free ah? Can, up GST to 20% loh! *hee*hee*

nextinfidel

pls lah only a fool will come to singapore to see.

the only attraction for angmoh is to come and see how sinkies inprison in overprice pigeon hole.
and laugh at us.
like going to the zoo to see some animal.
they should find some really poor people who will let angmoh come in and see their rubbish ridden home. poor people get money from STPB and angmoh come and laugh at sinkies.

just look at sentosa with all the volcano land, asian village, rasa sentosa 15 years back....all gone to the grave. same thing will happen again.

commoner

increase all they want lor,,,,

wanna to GST, Pay, rental,,,,, whatever increase lor,,,, but 1st thinh 1st,,, can these jiak liao bees ministers increase tourist or not? can these ministers increase spending powers of locals and tourists or not?

if both also cannot, increase price mean digging the grave faster,,,,,

Vote as many f888ers in PAP out in the next GE as possible

just look at sentosa with all the volcano land, asian village, rasa sentosa 15 years back....all gone to the grave. same thing will happen again.

I really don't understand how they expect people to pay so much $$$ to see some man made attractions. When you compare to Disneyland, a visit to Sentosa costs more.

Places like Phuket is a genuinely pretty place. Sentosa is just so fake & artificial :rolleyes:

price tag for my petshop and cafe in tokyo also increase ...hehehe. why kpkb about the price if you could not afford . if you want $ , be your own boss like me .

xebay11

price tag for my petshop and cafe in tokyo also increase ...hehehe. why kpkb about the price if you could not afford . if you want $ , be your own boss like me .

You own pet shop? Profitable or not? From outside petshops look like cannot make money but then I realised that they are actually food business for pets, ie. recurring business all the time. Share some secrets dude, we all want $$$ and be own boss.

funglung

increase all they want lor,,,,

wanna to GST, Pay, rental,,,,, whatever increase lor,,,, but 1st thinh 1st,,, can these jiak liao bees ministers increase tourist or not? can these ministers increase spending powers of locals and tourists or not?

if both also cannot, increase price mean digging the grave faster,,,,,

Vote as many f888ers in PAP out in the next GE as possible

HOW ELSE DID BASTARD LEE KUAN YEW GOT FROM YOU ALL THAT 400-500++ BILLIONS INTO HIS TEMASICK AND GIC?

EVEN MORE HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS INTO HIS RESERVES

Sinkies got no balls
You all dare not stand with those that tried to speak for you.
SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not give money to them so that they can work for you.
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not support them publicly so that they can speak for you.
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all turn your backs on those that spoke out bravely against LKY
LKY hit out at those who tried to speak for you with his kangaroo courts
You turn your backs and not support them with money and courage.

SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You let them be beaten and bankrupted because you all have no balls
NOW YOU GETTING YOUR BALLS CUT OFF FROM YOU AND YOU AND YOUR FAMILY RAPED AND FUCKED BY LEE KUAN YEW AND HIS COCKROACHES IN WHITE

Why complain now?

Your 400-500++ billions sucked and bled into LKY Temasick and GIC

And even more billions are currently sucked and bled so that LKY can use those money to bastardised and pay his kangaroo courts and running dogs to bleed even more billions from you in future

You got what you all deserved
for your lack of balls

FIND YOUR BALLS TO PUT AN END TO LKY

or open your legs to be further screwed by him

Just boycott Sentosa Island. Have not step into the island for at least 5 years. Last time visit at least once a year.