• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF, ntuc fairprice switch off security camera to cut cost

BusNo64

WTF, how much electricity does CCTV consume? KNN what happen if there is a robbery or terrorism committed in one of the cunt fairprice supermart? KNN you are putting your staff and public at risk!! Want to cut cost, cut all the jiak liao bee pap cronies in the supermarket mgt team lah :mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Feb 3, 2010
Security cameras at supermart switched off - because of cost

ON MONDAY, my friend and I went shopping at the Killiney Road FairPrice outlet. Because of the rules, we tied our pet dog, a jack russell, to the base of a small tree at the entrance of the supermarket, before entering.

This is a common practice there among pet owners and we have been doing it for the past four years.

But when we emerged from the supermarket eight minutes later, our dog was missing.

We searched but could not find it. Fearing it had been stolen, we asked the store manager and security staff to check the video footage of their security cameras, one of which covered the entrance.

The shocking reply was that none of the store's six security cameras, including the one focused on an automated teller machine, was switched on because they were too costly to operate.

If that is so, how safe is one while shopping at FairPrice outlets? All we received was a verbal apology from the store.

That was not all.

When I tried to file a report at the Killiney Road Police Post, the officer attending to me told me the police did not handle reports of missing pets.

I visited the police post six times before I was allowed to lodge a report.

Our sadness notwithstanding, I am confounded by two issues: that of the reluctance by the police to deal with missing pets, and the operation of security cameras at FairPrice outlets, all of which are rendered ineffective because of the cost of operating them.

Lennie Hill

ah lennie ...

u shud lodge a report on dat auntie-u-c on not switching on their security cameras? ...

Our sadness notwithstanding, I am confounded by two issues: that of the reluctance by the police to deal with missing pets, and the operation of security cameras at FairPrice outlets, all of which are rendered ineffective because of the cost of operating them.

Lennie Hill

The police got problem even looking for ONE missing terrorist, what hope have you got that they can find your missing pet? You are just wasting time with the (police) report. They are only good at bullying opposition and common law-abiding citizen.

Just mention the magic word...I saw a man looking like "CSJ", "UNLCLEYAP" or andy opposition, stole my Jack Russell...the poodles with drop from the skies...now the use avatars...:D

WTF, how much electricity does CCTV consume? KNN what happen if there is a robbery or terrorism committed in one of the cunt fairprice supermart? KNN you are putting your staff and public at risk!! Want to cut cost, cut all the jiak liao bee pap cronies in the supermarket mgt team lah :mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Feb 3, 2010
Security cameras at supermart switched off - because of cost

ON MONDAY, my friend and I went shopping at the Killiney Road FairPrice outlet. Because of the rules, we tied our pet dog, a jack russell, to the base of a small tree at the entrance of the supermarket, before entering.

This is a common practice there among pet owners and we have been doing it for the past four years.

But when we emerged from the supermarket eight minutes later, our dog was missing.

We searched but could not find it. Fearing it had been stolen, we asked the store manager and security staff to check the video footage of their security cameras, one of which covered the entrance.

The shocking reply was that none of the store's six security cameras, including the one focused on an automated teller machine, was switched on because they were too costly to operate.

If that is so, how safe is one while shopping at FairPrice outlets? All we received was a verbal apology from the store.

That was not all.

When I tried to file a report at the Killiney Road Police Post, the officer attending to me told me the police did not handle reports of missing pets.

I visited the police post six times before I was allowed to lodge a report.

Lennie Hill

If you dont know how to look after you pet , dont expect others to look after it for you. You are the only one to be blame. dont blame the system .

Supermarket security cameras are for their own protection against shoplifting or robbery. If they don't have it or have it but don't switch it on, it's their problem. You want to bring a dog along and expect them to service your dog with protection?

It's the same as parking in a HDB car park and your car gets stolen. Blame HDB for no car park CCTV? Even James Gomez would laugh at that. But if you do lose your car, I'm sure that police will accept your report and investigate at first instance. If you lose your dog and police go around hunting, then I worry.

Lennie Hill

I find this news very amusing... why bring your pet for shopping? and tie them at a small tree?

From my thinking, the owner of the dog is assuming that SGP is a safe haven, well not anymore...

I suggest, DO NOT BRING PETS for SHOPPING, keep them at home, and lock them up in a cage (to prevent these pets from causing havoc while you're away -- putting some water, and some pet food to compensate the doggie's inconveniece)

Or another way is to disguise these pets as your baby, and put the dogs in a baby's tram... heheh....

:D

Supermarket security cameras are for their own protection against shoplifting or robbery. If they don't have it or have it but don't switch it on, it's their problem. You want to bring a dog along and expect them to service your dog with protection?

It's the same as parking in a HDB car park and your car gets stolen. Blame HDB for no car park CCTV? Even James Gomez would laugh at that. But if you do lose your car, I'm sure that police will accept your report and investigate at first instance. If you lose your dog and police go around hunting, then I worry.

they have security tape of james gomez scratching his balls, at the elections office....but the CCTV at anywhere elese is switch off, taken down for repairs, servicing or..simply not in use...

It is very likely that this was a case of dognapping unless the dog managed to free itself. Of course the SPF has to investigate. It is silly to use the word 'lose' to describe the situation. With the delay in starting the investigation the SPF has probably made it impossible to catch the culprit.

You have a point to certain extent. There's a possibility of theft of dog of course. But a police criminal report has to stand on certain balance of probability of foul play. Anyway, I don't know how she presented her case. From experience, if police can reject her report so many times, the way she presented her case and whatever evidence available tilted heavily on her dog strayed away itself. A pretty pedigree dog won't be long on the streets of our concrete jungle. It's bound to be picked up by someone. Even if that someone makes no effort to find the right owner, it's not theft, and therefore no police case.

In any case (not about police or theft but about petowner), she's not supposed to tie a dog to a tree in public and left unattended.

You are putting too much emphasis on the poor judgement of the petowner to tie her dog to a tree. Further it isnt a criminal offence to do that.

I would question the SPF officer that refused to take her report. The fact that her report was eventually allowed shows that the officers who initially refused her report were lacking in understanding the issue at hand.

Have you ever tried to make a police report or dealt with an SPF officer? They are as thick as they can be.

Not to digress but a friend recently went to change his address and brought along a recent letter from HDB as proof of te new address. The SPF officer refused to accept the letter, stating that ONLY Internet/Utility Bills, tenancy/ownership agreements are allowed. The officer even had the audacity to point to a poster that listed the 'approved' list. They refused to accept a letter from HDB, dated just last week.

These people are thick and compound the entire debacle with kuailan-ness.

Tell me, if you were the officer receiving th report, what did you think happened to the Jack Russel?

Either the dog ran away or someone untied the dog and took it away - or dognapped. As an officer, if there is a good chance that a crime was committed, then it is the officer's duty to assist the public. If the officer was absolutely certain that the dog ran away then it would be understandable that the officer wouldn't want to receive the report.

Any decent officer would have taken the report and understood that the faster the report was made the better the chances were of finding the dog.

People can be thick but it's quite astounding that hey tend to congreagate within the SPF.

Let's see who is held accountable when some chinamen decide to raid the shelves.

why do these people like to bring along their pets to the supermarket? isnt it very inconvenient if they end up buying too many things?

Have you ever tried to make a police report or dealt with an SPF officer? They are as thick as they can be.

I used to get paid for writing police reports and deciding whether or not there's case to investigate. Perhaps I'm still that thick nuts.

In this case, I think that her report was finally accepted because police can't take her harrassment anymore. It's simpler and cost taxpayers less money in wastage of paid time to take her report, then later classify under open file, dog not found.

why do these people like to bring along their pets to the supermarket? isnt it very inconvenient if they end up buying too many things?

Let people do what they want as long as they do not infringe on other people's freedom or endanger others. Are you a STOMPER? :oIo:

Most people take their dogs out for a walk and if they can purchase something at the supermarket then let them be.

"Because the law is for protection of the people Rules are rules and any fool can see,
(kris kristofferson, "the law is for the protection of the people"..excerpts) :D

Great post, when you are calm, absolutely spot on.

You are putting too much emphasis on the poor judgement of the petowner to tie her dog to a tree. Further it isnt a criminal offence to do that.

People can be thick but it's quite astounding that hey tend to congreagate within the SPF.

By the way, it is technically an offence to tie a pet to a tree in public and leave it unattended. Though a minor offence, and no police will bother with it since the petowner has no intention of ill-treating or abandoning the dog and is grieving over her lost dog.

Everyone has the right to lodge a police report. Its up to the Police Officer to classify the report. They just don't want a report lodged because of the paper work involved and the review process by the Seniors. In this case, they can't assume the dog strayed and it has to be classified as theft for purpose of investigation.

In fact a Police report need not be on a prescribed form. Even a letter or an email can treated as a Police report. The lady can also lodge a report via the internet using the Police website.

These rules apply across the Commonwealth, the French and the US system.

I used to get paid for writing police reports and deciding whether or not there's case to investigate. Perhaps I'm still that thick nuts.

In this case, I think that her report was finally accepted because police can't take her harrassment anymore. It's simpler and cost taxpayers less money in wastage of paid time to take her report, then later classify under open file, dog not found.

Let people do what they want as long as they do not infringe on other people's freedom or endanger others. Are you a STOMPER? :oIo:

Most people take their dogs out for a walk and if they can purchase something at the supermarket then let them be.

STOMPER?? STOMPERs have nothing better to do but to post stupid things like this:oIo::oIo:...

people definitely can do whatever they want but they also need to answer for their own actions. by blaming others wont get his dog back.