• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP to deny PAP two-thirds majority in 2016

Robert Half

Oppositions need 30 elected seats to deny PAP two-thirds majority and I believe WP will be the main opposition party to do it :biggrin:

One-thirds = 29 seats

29 x 3 = 87 seats

Let us strive Towards a First World Parliament :biggrin:

Next election maybe 89 seat increase by 2 seat.
WP alone may not win 25 seat.
The NSP and SPP may win few seat if they start do the walk around now.
In total maybe or maybe not.

PhuaTeKor

With possibly another 1 million plus residents in 2016 to hit the 6.5 million population target, you can safely assume that there may be more than 90 seats in Parliament by the next election. The hurdle to get one-third representation will only become harder.

Char_Azn

If PAP does reform and do what they say. The status quo will probably be kept

If PAP reforms are half ass or they make more screw ups, the opposition will be able to win at least another 2 GRCs but I cannot see them getting 30% unless the PAP screw up was really THAT HUGE

wikiphile

2021 more likely. Don't forget Sinkies will always be Sinkies.

bo wei kong, one of my cousin is 23 years old and she voted PAP despite her elder sister and my aunty voting for WP, why did she voted PAP? She is afraid that if she vote WP it will jeopardise her bf's career prospects at RSAF and the lift outside her flat will 'disappear'. WTF?

Sperminator

Although I am still hopeful that Workers' Party is targetting 33% or more seats from Parliament by 2016... this by facts is not possible.

If we analyze the entire situation, it'll be clear that the above hope will not be possible...

1. Electorate base of the segment age group 56 till oldest (mainly Pro-PAP, few percentage support Opposition) This age group segment, can be taken as an estimated 15% of Singapore's total Electorate Base. (Figures are just an assumption)

i. We have to understand that the above Electorate Segment is supportive of PAP, as they were the true beneficiaries of the PAP policies from 1960s till early 2000s... They have seen the changes of Singapore, from the Charlie Boomtown periods of late 1960s till end of 1990s, and they have seen Singapore change as a nation.

ii. These group of people have also fallen into the 1973 Stop at 2 Policy, and causing them to reproduce 2 or less, causing Singapore's replacement ratio to be fallen less than 2.1 (If I am not mistaken, Singapore's birth ratio is about 1.3 or less) --> Extending this ratio to today, if you look around your friends, most people will stop at 2, or only 1, some don't even want to have baby, or some don't even want to get married.

2. Next we analyze the the 36 to 55 age group, the Economic Pillars of Singapore. These group of people were born from 1956 to 1975. They have seen the growth of Singapore from the 1970s Charlie Boomtown period till 1997 Financial Crisis. I would believe this group of people would be around 45% of Singapore's total population...

This group of people would be perhaps 50% pro-PAP / 50% pro-Opposition, as generally speaking, this group of people are generally well travelled, open to global medias, and do not depend on State Media for their information gathering, research, and thinking. Most of these people have seen the information revolution since introductions of affordable computers in 1980s, and most of these people are able to use Internet.

3. Now we come to the most important segment, 21 to 35 age group electorate segment, the Y Generation, these people were born from 1976 - 1990, totally capable of Internet Communications. The NOW generation. There are information coming to them from all directions, and they are capable of managing global information, and they do have their own opinion, and their own thinking. (I would believe that this group of electorates consist of 20% or less, since there was a stop at 2 campaign in 1973 which was effective. This stop at 2 policy is so successful, that even with the encouragement of baby bonus, cannot reverse this anymore...)

i. From my analysis, the above age group would have a 80% Pro-Opposition / 20% Pro-PAP base.

So the remaining 20% of SGP population are the non-electorates, who are less than 21 as of 27th April 2011.

If we factor the possible NEW CITIZENS of 1 Million from Foreign Talents Importation Policies from 2011 till 2016, we have to analyze where these group of new electorates come from?

1. Investing SGD 1 Million to get instant citizenship (buying 999 years leasehold apartments) + families citizenship.

2. Permanent Residents from Malaysia, Indonesia, India, Myanmar, China, Philippines, Western Countries.

3. Conversion of the PR base to Citizenship after 5 years (of 3 years physically in Singapore, they can be Singaporeans)

So, on assumption that these New Citizens were granted within 2011 to 2016, there is an additional 1 Million new citizens who are supportive to the PAP, let's take the high average of 80% supportive to PAP, and 20% opposition.

I would assume that the New Citizens would belong to the 36 to 55 Group, as these are the reasons for their wealth, and their reasons of easy access to Citizenship, for they may be skilled.

Let's do a calculation. For easy calculation; 2.3 Million are 2011 Electorate Base for 2011

Weightage by percentage (15%/(15%+45%+20%)) for 56 & above [18.75% weightage] (80% Pro-PAP | 20% Oppo)

Weightage by percentage (45%/(15%+45%+20%)) for 36 to 55 [56.25% weightage] (50% Pro-PAP | 50% PAP)

Weightage by percentage (20%/(15%+45%+20%)) for 21 to 35 [25.7% weightage] (80% Pro-Oppo | 20% PAP)

What you can observe from the above is that, when you introduce 1 Million new Citizens of the 36 to 55 age group, who are just 80% pro-PAP, you will see that there are no way by 2016, the opposition will have 30 Seats.

Dear Electorates, go around your GRC / SMC, and take a good look at your neighbourhood, do you see alot of 999 years leasehold properties being built? If yes, you must ask yourself, are these properties built for true born and bred Singaporeans?

I tell you all, it is not for you! It is for foreign investors! Singaporeans cannot even afford HDB now, how can you even afford a million dollar Apartment? THINK THINK THINK!!!

We are facing Electorate Dilution!!!

steffychun

Oppositions need 30 elected seats to deny PAP two-thirds majority and I believe WP will be the main opposition party to do it :biggrin:

One-thirds = 29 seats

29 x 3 = 87 seats

Let us strive Towards a First World Parliament :biggrin:

No 2016 one mega GRC of 87 members--huge emotional dilemma for people

Z

Zombie

If we analyze the entire situation, it'll be clear that the above hope will not be possible...

quite a bit of work... but i think the answer is applicable only if the people are evenly distributed..

Man On The Street

An election win is not something that is logically put, no matter how detailed the demographics. This election is proof of that. We would expect the rich to vote white because they don't want to rock the boat (or so we think). Au contraire, it is the poor who are voting the whites in because of fear, greed, etc... Even Michelle says so.

The battle for hearts and minds has to be done on the ground, through track records, hard work, connection, communication. The map of the human heart is very complex. If you are looking for a formulae, forget it. Rulers and politicians have been searching throughout the ages and have never found one. The only way to ensure one stays in power is through the barrel of a gun. Then again, it will come back to bite you - refer Egypt, Bahrain, Libya, Syria...

cheowyonglee

bo wei kong, one of my cousin is 23 years old and she voted PAP despite her elder sister and my aunty voting for WP, why did she voted PAP? She is afraid that if she vote WP it will jeopardise her bf's career prospects at RSAF and the lift outside her flat will 'disappear'. WTF?

hahahaah..... my mum scare i cannot get hdb if she vote for PAP.she dont like PAP in my grc... but but... she and my father scare scare.always nag at the PAP ... and hope WP won a grc.but when ask them to vote for wp, knn... scare here and that.

steffychun

Same story previously a top RSAF Colnel in intelligence was demoted to weather forecasting whne he married a Muslim.

An SAF scholar was the deputy of JOPD. He the was demoted to staff officer in the Medical Corps.

Sperminator

quite a bit of work... but i think the answer is applicable only if the people are evenly distributed..

the survey can only be accurate up to the GRC / SMC level... and it is not possible for people to be evenly distributed...

freedom have it's price...

Heart Break Kid

If PAP does reform and do what they say. The status quo will probably be kept

If PAP reforms are half ass or they make more screw ups, the opposition will be able to win at least another 2 GRCs but I cannot see them getting 30% unless the PAP screw up was really THAT HUGE

That quite true but if PAP still cannot address or help to improve the life of middle & lower income families then the next GE PAP is likely to lose East Coast GRC or even Joo Chiat SMC (if JC still around by then) :p

cooleo

Good news for your cousin - she is certified retarded for free.

pocoyo

All sinkies should remain staying at kampong.

No more worries about lifts and upgrading..