• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wow lau.. SMRT leepaired MRT 3rd rail

[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<TBODY>[TR="class: msghead"]
[TD="class: msgbfr1, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD]

<TBODY>
[TD="class: msgF, width: 1%, align: right"]From: [/TD]
[TD="class: msgFname, width: 68%"] Heart Break Kid (HBK75) <NOBR></NOBR>[/TD]
[TD="class: msgDate, width: 30%, align: right"]10:58 am [/TD]

[TD="class: msgT, width: 1%, align: right"]To: [/TD]
[TD="class: msgTname, width: 68%"] ALL <NOBR></NOBR>[/TD]
[TD="class: msgNum, align: right"](1 of 3) [/TD]

</TBODY>
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: msgleft, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD="class: wintiny, align: right"]61424.1 [/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: msgtxt"]using cable ties.. Their engineers graduated from MIT? KNN.. sinkies life cheaper than cable ties.. Mustafa also loves to use cable ties to tie up ur plastic bags..
5oset.jpg

[/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]

Let the record speak for itself.
SMRT was vandalized several years ago by a Swiss national I believe. Rather than take this as a lesson, it did not put in place proper security measures and was again vandalized a second time, right inside its depot. You don't have to be a technocrat to get your security right. All you need to do is take your job seriously.
Now, the incidents of the train blackouts. Firstly the problem with the shoes should have been anticipated but singularities do happen. What I am very concerned about is the emergency power. How can the emergency power NOT come on? This again speaks of gross negligence. Just like those Bangkok discos with blocked off emergency exits, this is the same kind of negligence at a NATIONAL level.
Yet another example connected to the situation. No evacuation plan. The passengers were literally left in the dark because there was no proper evacuation plan and no ensuring that such a plan would work. SMRT handles hundreds of thousands of people everyday. It is GROSS NEGLIGENCE if they do not have a proper plan and ensure that their plan works no matter what.
But the incident with the train power had to happen a second time?
So just like the vandalism had to happen a second time, this has proven that the SMRT management as it stands
1. does not know how to learn from their mistakes,
2. let alone learning from the mistakes of others,
3. let alone anticipating things that have yet to happen, something very important because the SMRT is a public service! As you can infer, the MINIMUM LEVEL OF COMPETENCY is 3 times removed from what has been shown by SMRT!
If the current management in SMRT is the BEST THAT WE CAN DO, then I would suggest that public find some other means of transport. These people have already shown that they cannot learn from their own mistakes and things are just waiting to happen. But what if things happen? If they are not held accountable now, will they be held accountable when there are casualties?
Regardz.

They will soon assemble a troop of Monkeys, to look into this; it will take 52 'monkey years' to determine the cause, in the meantime, the gorillas, baboons & chimps will quietly make exits. This what you get, you pay 'peanuts' you get MONKEYS. Don't worry, everything is under control, please feed more 'peanuts'.

Thank you 60% for your staunch believes.:D

mai siau siau huh. plastic cable tie bery strong one. they can choke lan jiao and cause it to fall off after cutting off blood circuration. this is the kind of singlish i picked up after 1 week. :D

see...there is nothing one cant do if one sets one's heart to it.

mai siau siau huh. plastic cable tie bery strong one. they can choke lan jiao and cause it to fall off after cutting off blood circuration. this is the kind of singlish i picked up after 1 week. :D

this shows that with due diligence and tough checks, this would hve been detected & rectified.

Reading the latest report in the papers this morning, seems that they are hinting the way the tunnel is erected has something to do with this problem -a subtle hint of transferring some blame to LTA? Or paving the road for LTA to give lighter fine to SMRT later?

and I am surprised that they did not specify this temporary measure of restricted speed / longer waiting time will last how long? It seems indefinitely?

Not to mention there were several cases of train breakdowns due to components catching fire.

Maybe, just maybe this will be brought up in parliament:rolleyes:

PAP probably has an excuse ready, it goes something like it's an honest mistake. :)
It will then be swept under the carpet until the next fiasco:confused:

I'm reminded about the story of the turle & the hare. In this case Spore is the hare, taking it easy & sleeping while our neighbours keep moving ahead. It's debateable how far ahead of Spore they already are:confused:

Hongkong MTR fiascos :

Major incidents

At 9:15 am on 14 February 2007, a passenger train broke down when one of the voltage transformers mounted on the train (EMU SP1900) roof exploded. It was suspected that the overheated transformer caused its insulating oil to vapourise, thus causing the explosion. The train borne circuit breaker, which was connected in parallel to the voltage transformer to the train pantograph, was not designed to isolate this kind of fault.

After the incident, all SP1900 EMUs have the voltage transformers replaced. The new voltage transformers are German-made dry type transformers, which will not catch fire even if they fail.

This incident occurred in a tunnel on the southbound section between Kam Sheung Road and Tsuen Wan West, about 2 kilometres (1.2 mi) from Tsuen Wan West. Around 650 passengers had to evacuate through the dark tunnel to the station, and around 340 people returned to the ground through a ventilation shaft at Chai Wan Kok. Eleven people were sent to hospital. Train services returned to normal after 4 hours.[SUP][5][/SUP]

As an apology, the West Rail was opened for free rides on 21 February 2007, the first working day after the Chinese New Year holiday.[SUP][6][/SUP]

<tbody>
[TD="class: msgF, align: right"]rom:

<tbody>
[TD="class: msgbfr1"][/TD]

[TD="class: msgFname"] Heart Break Kid (HBK75) <nobr></nobr>[/TD]
[TD="class: msgDate, align: right"]10:58 am[/TD]

[TD="class: msgT, align: right"]To:[/TD]
[TD="class: msgTname, width: 68%"] ALL <nobr></nobr>[/TD]
[TD="class: msgNum, align: right"](1 of 3)[/TD]

</tbody>
[/TD]

[TD="class: msgleft, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD="class: wintiny, align: right"] 61424.1 [/TD]

[TD="class: msgtxt"]using cable ties.. Their engineers graduated from MIT? KNN.. sinkies life cheaper than cable ties.. Mustafa also loves to use cable ties to tie up ur plastic bags..
5oset.jpg
[/TD]

</tbody>

A 3rd world solution that should not happen here. This can be attributed to using engineers from 3rd world countries. I have experienced such shortcuts that endangered lives and damage to expensive equipment from these people, who thought it is ok despite knowing the correct procedure for such repair.

I don't know much about the maintenance of rail tracks, but I envisage that scheduled checks and inspections are part of their annual maintenance. In my book, there should be an annual maintenance schedule such as monthly, 6 months major, and an annual shutdown. In fact, in such an operation, repairs should be done between the last train of the night and the first train in the mornings. That should be about 5 hours in between, enough time to do major work even.

The question then is, why use cable ties as it is a dangerous thing to do?

A 3rd world solution that should not happen here. This can be attributed to using engineers from 3rd world countries. I have experienced such shortcuts that endangered lives and damage to expensive equipment from these people, who thought it is ok despite knowing the correct procedure for such repair.

I don't know much about the maintenance of rail tracks, but I envisage that scheduled checks and inspections are part of their annual maintenance. In my book, there should be an annual maintenance schedule such as monthly, 6 months major, and an annual shutdown. In fact, in such an operation, repairs should be done between the last train of the night and the first train in the mornings. That should be about 5 hours in between, enough time to do major work even.

What makes you think Sinkland is FIRST world?

LKY brain washed you?

I suspected so. Didn't it occur to you that all the surrounding you see seemed First World but run and managed by 3rd World ppl with 4th World mindset.

Think about it!:D

What makes you think Sinkland is FIRST world?

LKY brain washed you?

I suspected so. Didn't it occur to you that all the surrounding you see seemed First World but run and managed by 3rd World ppl with 4th World mindset.

Think about it!:D

Let's not argue about Singapore or that LKY brainwashed me as you assumed too much. Where did I say Singapore is 1st world? Even if you are in an attack mode, please read and understand before shooting at the hips.

Maybe you are not aware that even 3rd world countries owned high technology equipment. Do I need to elaborate or you still cannot get it?

Maybe, just maybe this will be brought up in parliament:rolleyes:

PAP probably has an excuse ready, it goes something like it's an honest mistake. :)
It will then be swept under the carpet until the next fiasco:confused:

I'm reminded about the story of the turle & the hare. In this case Spore is the hare, taking it easy & sleeping while our neighbours keep moving ahead. It's debateable how far ahead of Spore they already are:confused:

Yo bro:

Just this:

STOP profiteering from converting more retail spaces aka smrt xchange,
if your CORE is atrocious, bloody return to put right your CORE. period.

I am all for talent crossing from one industry into another new industry.
But seriously,
Madam Saw, you are no Air Asia's Fernandez.

Go back to run DFS or something like that.

Take responsibility? sincere?
then cut that crap about running away from current crisis,
under your dismal leadership, this crises amongst other snafus keep arising.

You are the problem NOT the solution.

Get the hell out of the way, for decency sake.

The Board of SMRT, are you earning your directors' fees in good conscience?

Let the record speak for itself.
SMRT was vandalized several years ago by a Swiss national I believe. Rather than take this as a lesson, it did not put in place proper security measures and was again vandalized a second time, right inside its depot. You don't have to be a technocrat to get your security right. All you need to do is take your job seriously.
Now, the incidents of the train blackouts. Firstly the problem with the shoes should have been anticipated but singularities do happen. What I am very concerned about is the emergency power. How can the emergency power NOT come on? This again speaks of gross negligence. Just like those Bangkok discos with blocked off emergency exits, this is the same kind of negligence at a NATIONAL level.
Yet another example connected to the situation. No evacuation plan. The passengers were literally left in the dark because there was no proper evacuation plan and no ensuring that such a plan would work. SMRT handles hundreds of thousands of people everyday. It is GROSS NEGLIGENCE if they do not have a proper plan and ensure that their plan works no matter what.
But the incident with the train power had to happen a second time?
So just like the vandalism had to happen a second time, this has proven that the SMRT management as it stands
1. does not know how to learn from their mistakes,
2. let alone learning from the mistakes of others,
3. let alone anticipating things that have yet to happen, something very important because the SMRT is a public service! As you can infer, the MINIMUM LEVEL OF COMPETENCY is 3 times removed from what has been shown by SMRT!

If the current management in SMRT is the BEST THAT WE CAN DO, then I would suggest that public find some other means of transport. These people have already shown that they cannot learn from their own mistakes and things are just waiting to happen. But what if things happen? If they are not held accountable now, will they be held accountable when there are casualties?
Regardz.

If it's a Japanese organization, they would have kenna left, right and center. I had once repaired machines for a Japanese client and even after the repair had been done satisfactorily, they still threw me questions like: What cause this defect to happen? How did it happen? How to prevent future similar recurrence? What other components can be affected by this damage?

However, I realized that all these questions are actually beneficial because they greatly enhance the knowledge of the problem/fault and how we can further improve our products and ourselves as well.

A 3rd world solution that should not happen here.

Ya man, I would feel more comfortable if they use super glue

Ha ha..........cable tie on 750VDC and more than 300A plus vibration sure cannot last more than 1 min.

I think that the maintenance guy must have gotten the idea from shopping at Mustaffa:D:D:D

If anyone has ever shopped at Mustaffa they'd know that they used plastic ties to secure plastic bags as a security measure. :rolleyes: