• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wow! 10,000 volunteers! Guess who made up most of them? * rolleyes *

Wishing

10,000 volunteers recruited to help tackle dengue outbreak

By Vimita Mohandas
POSTED: 29 Jun 2013 10:33 PM

aedes.jpg

File photo: Aedes larvae (photo: NEA)

SINGAPORE: Some 10,000 volunteers have been recruited as "dengue fighters" to tackle the dengue outbreak.

The volunteers include grassroots leaders and town council cleaners and will be provided by the People's Association.

They will conduct door-to-door visits in 9,000 public housing blocks and 1,000 private estates to distribute mosquito repellent.

Trained to recognise dengue symptoms, spotting of potential breeding sites and dengue preventive skills, the dengue fighters will also share tips and information with residents.

Associate Professor Faishal Ibrahim, adviser at Nee Soon Central Grassroots Organisations, said: "What we want to do is to get all the different stakeholders within the community in Nee Soon Central to get them on board and see how they can play a role in fighting dengue. We want to internalise the whole process, to themselves, to the residents so at the end of the day it's about caring for one another."

- CNA/xq

<object classid="clsid:D</object>

Can't wait for 2016. This kind of crap is not why we pay these guys such a high salary.

Wow! 10,000 volunteers! Guess who made up most of them? * rolleyes *

Well, rolling eyes because of equating volunteering with 2016 or something else?

If 2016, rolling eyes because of white color or blue color?

But to roll eyes is to insult the 10,000 community minded souls who want to do their bit to help Singapore.

Can't wait for 2016. This kind of crap is not why we pay these guys such a high salary.

If smear of shit on sole of shoe go eat joss sticks and candle wax soon, we need not even have to wait for 2016

so far the most mosquito area i encountered is still the seasides(CBD, east coast, west coast) and reservoirs. i think they just fingerpointing to HDB sinkies because NEA and PUB dun wan to arrow themselves.

All those female volunteers, they are mostly 三姑六婆 very good in gossiping news.