• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Would you employ cheaper foreign workers if you are a boss?

Highfalutin

Leave the Government out of this.

Be honest like Mark Lee.

Share the pros and cons of employing locals or cheaper foreigners.

Don't let the pro Government lobby accuse us of being one dimensional.

I will start with one reason.

Foreign labour will not job hop at the flick of a coin leaving the employer high and dry for a period at least.

I think it depends on the industry and level of skills required.

All my staff are Singaporeans and Malaysian PRs who has been working with me for many years already.

Had tried a couple of PRCs wokers, maybe wrong person or what, never really fit in.

Will I pay less to employ foreign worker to save a few cents and maybe lose some customers? I think not.

I think it depends on the industry and level of skills required.

Equal qualifications and asking for the same wages. Would you put into consideration the typical Singaporean attitude factor?

Sure I will employ them(FT)
1. Cheaper(basic less 300~50%)
2. No NS/pregnant/childcare leave( easy to manage manpower and save cost)
3. No need to pay CPF (cheaper to pay levy on average $150//head)
4. Can work 6/7 day/week without complaining.
5. Will not resign halfway(contract 2 year)

If the FT can do the jobs same as local sure I will employ them.

same wages same qualifications. definitely singaporeans.

I have met those well qualified "hungry" PRCs, and they are good but they are "hungry". They wanted to leave their employer (my customer) if I would offer 20% more salary. I can't blame them, but they are willing to jump ship for a better salary. My guys? They stick with me through bad times and good times.

The primary reason most likely is because you are what you are. A prince among thieves. An employer is a leader. Followers will stay with, stand by a leader who is not selfish and gives fair consideration to their welfare. You will never be standing alone when trouble brews.

you will be surprised there are many people (especially my customers) are like me with same staff for many years. Its only when needs big expansion, thats where new employees came in, other than that, chip in a couple more hours a week for a short period of time, not a big problem.

Sure I will employ them(FT)
1. Cheaper(basic less 300~50%)
2. No NS/pregnant/childcare leave( easy to manage manpower and save cost)
3. No need to pay CPF (cheaper to pay levy on average $150//head)
4. Can work 6/7 day/week without complaining.
5. Will not resign halfway(contract 2 year)

If the FT can do the jobs same as local sure I will employ them.

These FTs treat Sg as stepping stones only. E.g. experience from my friends.

E.g. Filipino maid come to Sg w/o no experience, after her contract finish she went to HK to work.
E.g My friend's Filipino Colleagues, a few go US, Auz, NZ, after getting experience in Singapore.
My friend ask them why they choose to come to Singapore. They said they have applied to many countries but didn't get any interview and Singapore respond quickly and easier to apply for work permit and PR. They intend to move on to other countries once they have the experience.

I am not singling out Filipinos, it just a coincidence.

You are right, Singaporean's family is here, they won't go anywhere. These people come here to make a killing (that why they jump ship) and return home or move on to other countries once they get the experience.
Singaporeans if jump around also the same few companies (if your industry is small) then jump for what? Make enemies with ALL companies until you work with all the companies before meh?

Of coz will lah....anything that can make my wallet fatter...
will just do that.

Help sinkies for wat???doesn't earn any karma points wat.

:o :( :o

Would you employ cheaper foreign workers if you are a boss? ...
ofcos! ...

chipper, betta, faster! ... :D

<strong style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 0);">wud like 2 employ a foreign gahmen oso! ... chipper, betta, faster! ... </strong> :mad:

Equal qualifications and asking for the same wages. Would you put into consideration the typical Singaporean attitude factor?
if u + tis, den wun la ... mainly bcos of cultural n attitude differences ...

Of coz will lah....anything that can make my wallet fatter...
will just do that.

Help sinkies for wat???doesn't earn any karma points wat.

:o :( :o

That is because MOST people here are different from you.
In my education, I was taught to be a socially responsible person.
That's why there are people who chose to work legal means to get a decent salary and some choose to work illegal means to earn big bucks such as human trafficking, etc.

Making a living by legal means, one do not need to look over your shoulders every night on your way home. Same with PAP ministers but of course they have bodyguards escorting them all the way to the front door.

At least we look after our own people first, tolerate first, give them a chance, & all else fail, to the very last resort....get a substitute!.

Charity must began at home...what attitude...before th foreigners..we were here already...

;)

Leave the Government out of this.

Be honest like Mark Lee.

Share the pros and cons of employing locals or cheaper foreigners.

Foreigners ask what they can do for the company. Sinkies ask what the company can do for them. :rolleyes:

If I were running a retail shop in orchard road, I would not hire a china national who didn't speak english, even if her wages were half of any other candidate.