• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World's first implantable artificial kidney created.

GoFlyKiteNow

World's first implantable artificial kidney
Dec 4, 2010, 12.58am

photo.jpg

Shuvo Roy, Ph.D
Department of Biomedical Engineering -Lerner Research Institute

NEW DELHI: A US-based researcher Shuvo Roy has created the world's first implantable artificial kidney. What's sensational about Roy's creation is that the organ, no larger than a coffee cup, will be able to mimic the kidney's most vital functions like filtering toxins out of the bloodstream, regulate blood pressure and produce the all- important vitamin D.

The artificial kidney has been tested successfully on a small number of animals. Large-scale trials on animals and humans are expected over the next five years.

Once available, and if affordable, this creation by the Roy-led team at University of California will do away with the need for kidney dialysis.

According to Roy, the device has a filtration section to remove toxins from the blood, alongside a compartment with renal cells to conduct other functions of a kidney.

He believes the artificial kidney could last for decades and require no pumps or batteries. Patients wouldn't require anti-rejection drugs (as is required after transplants) either because there would be no exposed natural tissues for the immune system to attack.

The University of California team is awaiting approval to conduct larger scale animal and human trials. Already, it has successfully tested the implant in a few rats and pigs.

"The payoff to the patient community is tremendous," said Roy. "It could have a transformative impact on their lives...With the right financial support, I think we could reach clinical trials in five years. But it's hard to say how long after that it becomes commercially available due to the uncertainties of the FDA and commercialization prospects.''

"Department of Biomedical Engineering -Lerner Research Institute" ....it must be a mistake here...it should be "A Star".

For 12 bloody years and more than billions of $ later, Phillip Yeo's starter company has not produce anything near to this standard.

"Department of Biomedical Engineering -Lerner Research Institute" ....it must be a mistake here...it should be "A Star".

For 12 bloody years and more than billions of $ later, Phillip Yeo's starter company has not produce anything near to this standard.

it might surprise you, the amount of money we pour in is nothing compared to US in research. not sure about the statistic for US, for UK they spend 1 million a day on research on scientific field. in singapore i believe the figure is about less than 100 million a year. we still have a long way to go my friend.

Artificial kidneys can function w/o batteries? How abt the osmosis process from the man-made organs? Those dialysis machines also nd to plug-on leh n pacemakers do hve minute batteries in order to make our main motor pumps...baffling indeed!

it might surprise you, the amount of money we pour in is nothing compared to US in research. not sure about the statistic for US, for UK they spend 1 million a day on research on scientific field. in singapore i believe the figure is about less than 100 million a year. we still have a long way to go my friend.

Firstly, don't compare what an institute spends i.e. A*Star with what a country i.e. USA, UK etc. spends.

Secondly, do you mean that A*Star pumps in millions of dollars and does not expect any results?

Get real

Sinkapore can't even make hard disks, the easiest electro-mechanical device out there. (Micropolis flunked)

And you want to talk about a artificial kidney???
:oIo:

Get real

Sinkapore can't even make hard disks, the easiest electro-mechanical device out there. (Micropolis flunked)

And you want to talk about a artificial kidney???
:oIo:

But Sinkie sheep have the best test scores in the world. :confused: :rolleyes:

Firstly, don't compare what an institute spends i.e. A*Star with what a country i.e. USA, UK etc. spends.

Secondly, do you mean that A*Star pumps in millions of dollars and does not expect any results?

actually those figures are for countries(whole of sg and UK), heard it when i was attending some talk few years back. its merely a figure to show that how immature the attitude of our govt is towards research. to answer to your 2nd question, try saying that to any researcher see what they reply.

Actually, why should we give a damn what the researcher says? Anyone will want to be paid a lot and not have to show any results.

Yes, you are right. The PAP is immature when it comes to research and perhaps host of other things like doing business overseas.

They can even pat themselves on the back for paying researchers lots of money for coming here. I mean, if you pay people lots of money with no strings attached, who would not want to come here?

its ok most who never step into this field will have this metality. i believe you never did any scientific related serious research before.

few years back govt keep pulling in big names even nobel prize winner and all pulled out in 1 to 2 years time and goes back to europe where the mentality of the population and govt attitude are more matured in research related areas. for example drugs we taking today are actually drugs discovered 30 to 40 years ago. get the big picture now?

btw researchers are not well paid at all. work for 12 to 14 hrs in a research group is common, even at sat and many might be paid slightly below 5K. you call that well paid?

with regards to the artificial kidney project, i would not be surprise if this research started as early as 20 years ago

Actually, why should we give a damn what the researcher says? Anyone will want to be paid a lot and not have to show any results.

Yes, you are right. The PAP is immature when it comes to research and perhaps host of other things like doing business overseas.

They can even pat themselves on the back for paying researchers lots of money for coming here. I mean, if you pay people lots of money with no strings attached, who would not want to come here?

Research is something you can guide but there is no guaranteed results AND even if you have something, you have NO access to the western markets or mature markets like Japan or Korea. Give me the name of 1 Sinkie company that has passed the trials of FDA.

Medical devices and medication research is something that has always been the strength of Western Companies.

The top 20 pharmaceutical companies are all from Europe and US.

That's why no one has came out to say that Sinkapore is number 1 in pharmaceutical research

What PAP is doing is to give Sinkapore a head start but to be honest, they won't achieve much. They are too far from the mature markets to even know what they want and need. In the end, they are just publishing useless research papers with no commercial use.

btw researchers are not well paid at all. work for 12 to 14 hrs in a research group is common, even at sat and many might be paid slightly below 5K. you call that well paid?

Many sinkie admin, taxi uncles, cooks, etc also work 12 hours a day, include Saturdays and they might not get 3k. So yes, researchers are fucking overpaid.

its ok most who never step into this field will have this metality. i believe you never did any scientific related serious research before.

few years back govt keep pulling in big names even nobel prize winner and all pulled out in 1 to 2 years time and goes back to europe where the mentality of the population and govt attitude are more matured in research related areas. for example drugs we taking today are actually drugs discovered 30 to 40 years ago. get the big picture now?

with regards to the artificial kidney project, i would not be surprise if this research started as early as 20 years ago

you cant get anything out of research merely by pumping money
into swanky buildings ,equipments and calling fancy names to projects.

you cant get anything out of research merely by pumping money
into swanky buildings ,equipments and calling fancy names to projects.

perfect example demostrating why i said majorities here attitude are not mature enough to accept research which might not bear fruition in short terms.

Many sinkie admin, taxi uncles, cooks, etc also work 12 hours a day, include Saturdays and they might not get 3k. So yes, researchers are fucking overpaid.

actually cooks (certain position) and taxi uncle do take home more than 3k. if taxi uncle do not earn more than 3k minus off rent they will be eating grass. if stapling and filing admin job can earn 3k i am sure nobody bothered studying anymore. most of the researcher has a phd, degree/master you are only a RA. getting that might took them more than 10 years of education in university to get it. i am sure you have the brain to compare apple to apple

Actually pay is according to output. taxi uncle and admin give immediate results and get fucked if something screws up. Admin don't just staple and photocopy, those are researcher's jobs. Admin people deal with people whom the researchers pissed off along the way while thinking too highly of themselves, remind researchers of deadline to submit report to continue to get funding. Explain to sponsors if (which is almost always) researchers forgot and don't want to give report, and bear the kpkb from researchers who think they deserve the funding despite not giving reports.

Researchers are too fucking overpaid and underworked for their years of subsidised education wasting taxpayer money. They deserve to be paid 2k a month and cannot claim dinner, 2 shirts and 1 pair of socks from research funds.

Why should anyone give a damn about the nature of research? Unless the PAP pay for the research out of their own pockets, they better show some profits soon.