• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World Cup deadlock

• Thread starter Thread starter General Veers
  • Start date Start date
1) Have you ever think maybe ST and SH bid $1 more than SH previous World Cup bid? And that's why FIFA rejected it? They say its confidential, so we will never know.

2) If Faroe Island already got the rights to telecast, you think they pay more than Singapore?

3) World Cup is a every 4 years event, it's the time where consumers/tourist/diehard fans spends most. You think PAPA want to see pubs/restaurants/nightscenes to be dead as a ghost town? No spendings, no economy, i dun think PAP will do that.

4) Obviously you are not a soccer fan, i think you never heard of Shankly words "“Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that,”

But dun worry, in the last minutes, a WHITE SHINING KNIGHT will come and rescue us, we will get to watch the World Cup, but we'll have to let him suck our blood to death :D:D:D

(1) You maybe right

(2) I personally think Faroes island pay much lesser than us

(3) I think it is rather foolish for these people (consumers/tourist/diehard fans) to spend on such entertainments.

(4) I followed World Cup since 1986 from a die-hard fan to now a casual fan.
Why ? Because I felt that FIFA & other organising bodies is trying to make a fat profits over many silly die-hard fans. For example, expensive tickets & jerseys.

After all these years, I wised up liao ..never spend a single cent on these type of entertainment :D

I hope Singtel & Starhub give up the bid if FIFA is asking a sky-high fee for this World Cup 2010.
Maybe die-hard football fans is willingly to pay & watch these matches but for average fans is just wasting money.

If Singtel & Starhub get the rights & yet there are not many subscribers to break even the cost. Both of them also lose money :(

Singaporeans should not waste so money watching these matches for just a month.
FIFA should not see Singaporeans as suckers by charging us a sky-high fee.

I would suggest to Singtel & Starhub to stop negotiating with FIFA & tell them we are not interested in paying so much for these matches.
So that FIFA cannot make a profit out of us :D

World Cup matches are purely entertainment & surely we can live without it

Maybe they should work out a deal for something like 40 matches or only the important nations. I mean all due respects to these teams but I've pretty certain no one would be interested in watching New Zealand vs Slovakia or Algeria vs Slovenia

But seriously, its a national disgrace if we had to resort to that. I mean, KNN the freaking country is so freaking rich. They could easily afford to pay for it. Not like they dun have cash to throw at pple

Wahahahah why don't someone pettition to have 1% of each ministars salary and members of parliament to contribute to this?

They can easily afford it, but all the cash goes to them. ;)

Maybe they should work out a deal for something like 40 matches or only the important nations. I mean all due respects to these teams but I've pretty certain no one would be interested in watching New Zealand vs Slovakia or Algeria vs Slovenia

But seriously, its a national disgrace if we had to resort to that. I mean, KNN the freaking country is so freaking rich. They could easily afford to pay for it. Not like they dun have cash to throw at pple

Good idea!!! One way to get around from paying exorbitant prices is to allow pay per view fee for matches to the liking of consumers.
Which is quite true as who would want to watch Honduras vs Chile or boring Swiss vs whoever for that matter.

As soccer fan, I wouldn't consider paying more than $20 for the whole telecast,. more than that I'll tell them to F-off. Anyway what about the airtime for advertises? That's where all the revenue should come from. :confused:

Don't worry, in the end they have no choice, sure they will air it.:rolleyes:

Frankly, even the most ardent football fan won't watch, or won't be able to catch all games through the entire tournament. However, semi-finals and even the final aren't necessarily the best games. For example, the finals of 1990 (Germany 1 Argentina 0) and 1994 (Brazil 0 Italy 0) were some of the worst games ever. On the other hand, some of the best games were in the 2nd rounds or quarter-finals, e.g. Germany 3 England 2 (1970), Italy 3 Brazil 2 (1982) etc.

I think that it's reasonable to expect at least free-to-air live telecast from quarter-finals to the final, especially as it's not really free anyway with the TV licensing fee. MediaCorp always replies to the licensing fee question that it doesn't get paid by it, MDA does. So, I think that MDA should do something about it.

It could be FIFA after seeing how much sh is making from cable tv decided they should have their fair share since subscriber are paying already paying so much. They must have see something to consider the tender price too low.

My take is that due to the accelerating increases in past bids, FIFA has come to rely on milking SG as a cash cow. They know that in SG, prices will always keep increasing (and by ever greater amounts) and never come down. Just look at how the country pays its leaders and you get the idea.

Another reason is that FIFA knows that the World Cup is one of the rare events that light up Singaporeans' pathetic lives once every four years. There is no way they will accept peanuts for doing such a great service to the people.

Hahaha, I think u, like the fucked up Lee family, is too full of your own importance. Why would FIFA think of S'pore as a cash cow and squeeze us? What is a small peesai to them? How much can they squeeze? If you have any brains, u will know they squeeze the Indians and Chinese first and foremost. The world's 2 largest market.

Totally agreed!!!! SINGTEL & STARHUB are just 2 goondu companies run by pondans & pariah pundeks!!!
All countries (3rd world countries included) has already signed up for the telecast rights, & yet our 1st World nation have yet to do so? WTF is happening? ASTRO has only 2.3million subscribers, yet they only pay a fraction more. While our dacronian telcos has probably the same amount of subscribers combined & we pay more, yet they cant agreed on the telecast fee? Think these goondu telcos will probably blame the consumers for being too demanding & ask us to be realistic in the end. FUCK THEIR DESCENDANTS!!!!!!!

Yeah, Burkina Faso, the armpit of the world is broadcasting the World Cup, but not S'pore, the other armpit. What a joke!! Someone should tell Singtel and Starhub that FIFA has substantially increased their asking price for broadcasting rights all over the world. Its not just them that FIFA is squeezing. But everyone pays up, they know the cost of conducting a world cup has also increased a lot for FIFA. And they know they can make money from it. The economic benefits from the hospitality, betting, and other industry is quite substantial. U telling me that SIngtel and Starhuib cannot recoup what they paid for the broadcast rights by charging more for the ads. Its too bad that Lee Con You and Gay Loong are not football fans, but fans of pocket billiard. Otherwise, one short call from any of these dictators and u can quickly see the problem resovled. I would suggest Sinkies just go over to JB and watch the games there at some pub or restuarant. Give their business and the economic benefits to a country who is not as stupid, ie Malaysia.