• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World Cup deadlock

• Thread starter Thread starter General Veers
  • Start date Start date
G

General Veers

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Dec 20, 2009

World Cup deadlock
Multimillion-dollar divide between Fifa's demands and 2 telcos' offer

By Chua Hian Hou
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
front-hhworldcup20.jpg

Singapore is one of the last places in the world to know if the matches will be telecast live. -- PHOTO: REUTERS

WOULD you be willing to pay three times - maybe more - what you paid in 2006 to watch the 2010 World Cup on TV? That is, pay up to $150 to catch the 64 matches played in South Africa from June 11 next year? No? Then you are probably the reason arch-rivals SingTel and StarHub, which have teamed up to bring live World Cup matches here next year, have yet to lock in the TV rights to the mega-event. Last Tuesday, they announced that they have yet to get the green light from the Federation Internationale de Football Association (Fifa), the World Cup governing body, to broadcast the matches. Singapore is one of the last places in the world to know if the matches will be telecast live, with Fifa having agreed to deals with 202 other countries. Money appears to be the issue. The telcos said that despite putting more money on the table than that offered by StarHub, which won the 2006 broadcast rights, they were unable to reach an agreement with Fifa.

Read the full story in The Sunday Times.

[email protected]

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Dec 20, 2009

World Cup deadlock
Multimillion-dollar divide between Fifa's demands and 2 telcos' offer

By Chua Hian Hou
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
front-hhworldcup20.jpg

Singapore is one of the last places in the world to know if the matches will be telecast live. -- PHOTO: REUTERS

WOULD you be willing to pay three times - maybe more - what you paid in 2006 to watch the 2010 World Cup on TV? That is, pay up to $150 to catch the 64 matches played in South Africa from June 11 next year? No? Then you are probably the reason arch-rivals SingTel and StarHub, which have teamed up to bring live World Cup matches here next year, have yet to lock in the TV rights to the mega-event. Last Tuesday, they announced that they have yet to get the green light from the Federation Internationale de Football Association (Fifa), the World Cup governing body, to broadcast the matches. Singapore is one of the last places in the world to know if the matches will be telecast live, with Fifa having agreed to deals with 202 other countries. Money appears to be the issue. The telcos said that despite putting more money on the table than that offered by StarHub, which won the 2006 broadcast rights, they were unable to reach an agreement with Fifa.

Read the full story in The Sunday Times.

[email protected]

I don't know what is the problem with Singtel and STarhub, 2 very fucked up PAP GLC and pte inc. Every country in the world has cave in to FIFA demands and pay their money. These country know that broadcasting the World Cup in their country is like printing money. Many advertisers, especially beer companies will pay like crazy to advertise during these games. This is where they make back the profit. Not to mention many other sponsorship deals that can be done. If there was a private broadcaster in S'pore, we will not have this problem.

sg Pools which have exclusive betting license and making tons of money should be make to contribute since they are going to benefit the most from the world cup. Otherwise why do they deserve to be given the license.

... WOULD you be willing to pay three times - maybe more - what you paid in 2006 to watch the 2010 World Cup on TV? That is, pay up to $150 to catch the 64 matches played in South Africa from June 11 next year? No? ...
dey r now preparing u psychologically b ready 2 pay $150 2 watch world cup ...

on ze other hand, dey r trying 2 make sum ppl kpkb n finally sum sponsors cum n sponsor ze cost ... but even though dey got sponsor, dun xpect dem 2 lower their charges 4 u peasants ...

suck u peasants dry ... :mad:

sg Pools which have exclusive betting license and making tons of money should be make to contribute since they are going to benefit the most from the world cup. Otherwise why do they deserve to be given the license.
spools is ze cash cow of ze world's bestest paid politicians ... dey r 2 pay ze salaries of ze world's bestest paid politicians ... by sucking peasants dry ...

s pools have the obigation to pay for the live telecast. It will be big damage to them if sg do get to telecast. So soccer fan dont worry leave the worry to them.

My take is that due to the accelerating increases in past bids, FIFA has come to rely on milking SG as a cash cow. They know that in SG, prices will always keep increasing (and by ever greater amounts) and never come down. Just look at how the country pays its leaders and you get the idea.

Another reason is that FIFA knows that the World Cup is one of the rare events that light up Singaporeans' pathetic lives once every four years. There is no way they will accept peanuts for doing such a great service to the people.

why not take this chance fly to bangkok and enjoy world cup there, free of charge.

whoa! football politicking...:D

I don't know what is the problem with Singtel and STarhub, 2 very fucked up PAP GLC and pte inc. Every country in the world has cave in to FIFA demands and pay their money. These country know that broadcasting the World Cup in their country is like printing money. Many advertisers, especially beer companies will pay like crazy to advertise during these games. This is where they make back the profit. Not to mention many other sponsorship deals that can be done. If there was a private broadcaster in S'pore, we will not have this problem.

FIFA and generally all footballing bodies in the world, UEFA, English FA, whatever is always looking for more ways to milk more money. It doesn't come as a surprise that they demand 3 times the fee as last time. These events only come about once in 4 years

I hope Singtel & Starhub give up the bid if FIFA is asking a sky-high fee for this World Cup 2010.
Maybe die-hard football fans is willingly to pay & watch these matches but for average fans is just wasting money.

If Singtel & Starhub get the rights & yet there are not many subscribers to break even the cost. Both of them also lose money :(

Singaporeans should not waste so money watching these matches for just a month.
FIFA should not see Singaporeans as suckers by charging us a sky-high fee.

I would suggest to Singtel & Starhub to stop negotiating with FIFA & tell them we are not interested in paying so much for these matches.
So that FIFA cannot make a profit out of us :D

World Cup matches are purely entertainment & surely we can live without it

Really jialat, now the whole world treats SG as a giant ATM because they see we can afford to pay our politicians sky-high salaries. They know Singaporeans will still pay up after complaining a lot.

Totally agreed!!!! SINGTEL & STARHUB are just 2 goondu companies run by pondans & pariah pundeks!!!
All countries (3rd world countries included) has already signed up for the telecast rights, & yet our 1st World nation have yet to do so? WTF is happening? ASTRO has only 2.3million subscribers, yet they only pay a fraction more. While our dacronian telcos has probably the same amount of subscribers combined & we pay more, yet they cant agreed on the telecast fee? Think these goondu telcos will probably blame the consumers for being too demanding & ask us to be realistic in the end. FUCK THEIR DESCENDANTS!!!!!!!

GO to bangkok or Malaysia , stay there for a month to watch World cup lah.. complaint complaint complaint. knn.. is that all you can do?

Totally agreed!!!! SINGTEL & STARHUB are just 2 goondu companies run by pondans & pariah pundeks!!!
All countries (3rd world countries included) has already signed up for the telecast rights, & yet our 1st World nation have yet to do so? WTF is happening? ASTRO has only 2.3million subscribers, yet they only pay a fraction more. While our dacronian telcos has probably the same amount of subscribers combined & we pay more, yet they cant agreed on the telecast fee? Think these goondu telcos will probably blame the consumers for being too demanding & ask us to be realistic in the end. FUCK THEIR DESCENDANTS!!!!!!!

Yah loh, I thought swiss standard of living in Singapore? World Cup also need to pay $150. Lucky I'm in Aussie land, all 64 matches free to watch. :D:D:D:D
Why sinKtel, StarCrap so cheapo one? If so cheapo, why don't they just get the radio broadcasting rights instead?

Its hard to judge if FiFa is demanding too much or if they are trying to "maximise" their profit by "under-bidding". I suspect Fifa probably got influenced by the sg government saying they are "1st world" all the time. Being "1st world" comes with the price that some organisation like Fifa expects you to pay "1st world" rates. If sinktel, starcrap can't even afford it, maybe PaPies should stop using "1st world", "swiss standard of living" in describing the country.

http://www.sbs.com.au/web/documents/The+World+Game+Shop+Request+for+Proposal.pdf

Home of ‘The World Game’
SBS has been a champion of international and local football and has developed a reputation for
high-quality programming, credibility and expertise. Next year we will broadcast the world’s most
watched sporting event, the 2010 FIFA World CupTM.1
Exclusive coverage will be delivered across SBS TV, SBS Online and SBS Radio.
Our 2010 coverage will include:
• Live coverage, 24/7 across SBS ONE and SBS TWO.
• All 64 matches live
• Daily breakfast highlights
• The World Cup Show (in primetime)
• Match of the day replays
• Socceroos matches on SBS Radio
• Comprehensive news, stats, fixtures, results tables and analysis on The World Game
website

Singtel & Starhub can do all Singaporeans a favor by withdrawing from the bid.
Please don't bid, win and charge a ridiculous amt, we all know drug addicts will pay anything for their addictions.

as for this

front-hhworldcup20.jpg

Kan ni na bu chao chee bye.....

They receive...give little!!:p same as all the 'freebies' given by the MIW's , they emulate the best of the land. :rolleyes:

I hope Singtel & Starhub give up the bid if FIFA is asking a sky-high fee for this World Cup 2010.
Maybe die-hard football fans is willingly to pay & watch these matches but for average fans is just wasting money.

If Singtel & Starhub get the rights & yet there are not many subscribers to break even the cost. Both of them also lose money :(

Singaporeans should not waste so money watching these matches for just a month.
FIFA should not see Singaporeans as suckers by charging us a sky-high fee.

I would suggest to Singtel & Starhub to stop negotiating with FIFA & tell them we are not interested in paying so much for these matches.
So that FIFA cannot make a profit out of us :D

World Cup matches are purely entertainment & surely we can live without it

1) Have you ever think maybe ST and SH bid $1 more than SH previous World Cup bid? And that's why FIFA rejected it? They say its confidential, so we will never know.

2) If Faroe Island already got the rights to telecast, you think they pay more than Singapore?

3) World Cup is a every 4 years event, it's the time where consumers/tourist/diehard fans spends most. You think PAPA want to see pubs/restaurants/nightscenes to be dead as a ghost town? No spendings, no economy, i dun think PAP will do that.

4) Obviously you are not a soccer fan, i think you never heard of Shankly words "“Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that,”

But dun worry, in the last minutes, a WHITE SHINING KNIGHT will come and rescue us, we will get to watch the World Cup, but we'll have to let him suck our blood to death :D:D:D

That's true.

Indonesia (ok theyre quite populous but theyre also the poorest) are able to deliver free-to-air WC telecasts, why cant Sinkiepore?
U mean during World Cup month, no sponsors ah? Mediacock should milk those big organisations that will benefit the most from WC. Spore pools no money to sponsor meh? Im sure their revenue for the month of Jun-Jul 2010 will quaduple from cheapo $50 punters.